Hawks/Luke Hodge - worst draftng blunder ever

theorangeapple said:
actually it was the other way round ripper. judd was cutting sydney up, so sydney had to move williams away from judd. after quarter time judd went forward and the tag from bolton followed him. williams got all his possesions because we put flectcher and williams head to head.

does anyone remember judd inspirational work in the opening 10 minutes when he got 2 holding the ball's and won about 3 contested balls on the sydney HFF just infront of the camera. that defines leadership, he got the side up and running if we didnt mess up all the oppourtunities going forward then it may have been a different story by the time the rain came. judd was then put forward for a spark and spark he did- 2 goals in a minute.

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,10677663%5E19774,00.html
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,10673328%5E19774,00.html
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,10673280%5E19774,00.html

Three different authors all disagree with your version.

wce passed on black because he was too slow!
so did a number of another teams looking for a similar sort of player

judd has turned out fine for them
swings roudabouts etc

sydney handed carey to north, how smart was that!
not a draft, they actually had him on the books!

I posted this in the Schammer thread, but it's probably just as relevant here.

No hidden meaning behind it, just the brownlow votes of all players Judd's age or younger. I think you'll find at least 3-5 of this list will have Brownlows in the 5-10 years ahead of us. Also interesting that Shultz and Rivers are the only KPPs in the list. Might say more about the umps than the quality of young KPPs though.

The Young Guns' Brownlow List (Judd's age or younger)
Name Team Votes Age
Chris Judd WC 30 21.0
James Bartel Ge 13 20.8
Byron Schammer Fr 12 19.3
Nick Dal Santo St 12 20.6
Luke Ball St 8 20.3
James Kelly Ge 6 20.7
Daniel Wells Ka 6 19.6
Mark Mcgough Co 4 20.2
Luke Hodge Ha 4 20.3
Gary Ablett Ge 3 20.4
Brendon Goddard St 3 19.3
Adam Cooney We 3 19.0
Jay Schulz Ri 2 19.4
Andrew Walker Ca 1 18.3
Jared Rivers Me 1 19.9
Brett Ebert Po 1 20.8
Ashley Sampi WC 1 20.7

21 or younger in 2003 Brownlow:
Chris Judd WC 12 20.0
Graham Johncock AD 9 20.9
Sam Mitchell HW 9 20.8
Nick Riewoldt SK 7 20.9
Nick Dal Santo SK 5 19.6
Luke Hodge HW 4 19.3
Daniel Kerr WC 4 20.4
Ashley McGrath BL 3 20.3
Gary Ablett GE 3 19.4
Drew Petrie KA 3 20.9
Xavier Clarke SK 3 20.0
Bret Thornton CA 1 19.9
Andrew Welsh ES 1 20.6
Aaron Sandilands FR 1 20.8
Shaun Burgoyne PA 1 20.9
David Rodan RI 1 20.0
Leigh Montagna SK 1 19.9
Luke Ball SK 1 19.3
Adam Schneider SY 1 19.4

21 or younger in 2002
Nick Riewoldt SK 11 19.9
Joel Corey GE 9 20.6
Daniel Kerr WC 9 19.4
Mark McGough CW 8 18.2
Robert Murphy WB 8 20.3
Jason Cloke CW 4 20.4
Paul Chapman GE 4 20.9
Luke McPharlin FR 3 20.8
Matthew Pavlich FR 3 20.7
James Bartel GE 3 18.8
Shaun Burgoyne PA 3 19.9
Mark Coughlan RI 3 20.4
Trent Sporn CA 2 20.0
Josh Fraser CW 2 20.7
Paul Medhurst FR 1 20.8
Leigh Brown FR 1 20.6
Corey Enright GE 1 21.0
James Kelly GE 1 18.7
Sam Mitchell HW 1 19.8
Luke Hodge HW 1 18.3
Brett Johnson HW 1 20.9
Nick Ries HW 1 20.2

hey how bout ya give the bloke a go... he's a possible captain this year he just needs a year or 2 and he will be a superstar, wont stand down to anyone.... took on one of the biggest blokes in the AFL(ottens) in his first game...

stick ya blunder up ya jumper mate.....

go colac.....

kingsleyhunter said:
NO WHERE NEAR THE WORST.

Luke Hodge is just as good as Chris Judd, just wait untill he puts a pre-season together and plays every game in the midfield next season then i will stick it up all your ass's. Hawthorn didnt get Judd because he will be finished at age 26. I hate seeing people say that Hawthorn wasted there #1 pick because they DIDNT. So just keep you mouths shut and watch...
I agree that Hawthorn didn't waste their #1 pick, but I don't agree that Hodge is as good as Judd, and I don't think many others - besides Hawthorn supporters - would either.

pfinn said:
Saints had a chance, Fremantle(i think it was them) gave the number 1 pick up, so that's another team who could of had a shot at him. it's easy to say oh that team that team.... made a mistake cause they didn't recruit that star player. Hird <or insert any star that didn't go number 1> went at 72? or around there, so can we say that every club made a draft blunder..... it can be said for many stars of the game
Hird went in the 90s I think, in the days when they actually recruited that far.

I think in the end, you really have to look at it from the selectors point of view. Take Judd with your first pick, a player who has had both shoulders reconstructed (this is what i heard, correct me if i'm wrong) and may only play a handful of games, and likely a few years tops, chance of playing a full career. Sure he's the most talented, but would you risk it? Hodge and Ball are both very talented and smart players who's skills are sublime, and barring some shocking luck, should be ready to play every week in their second year and will be superb players. The safe decision is to select Hodge or Ball, and after trading one of your club favourites to get the first pick, you don't want to stuff it up. Unfortunately for Hawthorn, they had some shocking luck and the Eagles struck gold. StKilda really got what their selection deserved, one of the top couple of players in that draft. At present the scoreboard has Judd leading Ball and Hodge in third, but who knows? Judd's shoulders may give way and he will retire in a season or two, and Hodge may stand up and become one of the all time greats. Nobody can predict the future, we can all just state our opinions (opinions which will be better respected if they are backed up with facts :rolleyes: ).

And to those Hawthorn supporters who think they ripped off Freo by trading Croad and McPharlin for the No1 pick, have you seen McPharlin play recently? Of course not because he's been injured :p , but before he broke his collarbone (an injury which could happen to anyone) he was in contention for AA CHB due to his sensational play in shutting down his opponent and rebounding from defence with his tremendous pace. Only time will tell, but Freo picked up a quality player and a potentially quality player from that deal.

WestCat said:
And to those Hawthorn supporters who think they ripped off Freo by trading Croad and McPharlin for the No1 pick, have you seen McPharlin play recently?
who said we won that trade? i would have thought most of use agreed that we came out 2nd best.

Only time will tell, but Freo picked up a quality player and a potentially quality player from that deal.
and we knew that and we didn't want him to go, if luke wasn't such a sook our defence would be solid for another decade and we could be out their recruiting top notice forwards.

had the cats kept ben graham:

Bartel >>>> Judd + Hodge + Ball

but now that the cats will never win a flag in Bartel's lifetime:

Judd > Bartel >>>>>> Hodge + Ball

Total Package said:
Everyone knew Judd was the best young player they'd ever seen of his age group... he was by far the #1 pick... but Hawthorn and St Kilda could'nt risk a top pick on a kid who they thought had dodgy shoulders.

I remember once hearing Judd's old Caufield Grammar coach who was a good friend of the Hawthorn recruiter.... and told the Hawthorn recruiter that if they didnt pick Judd with the #1 pick they would regret it for the rest of their lives. They didn't listen to him thankfully for us :D :D

Werent you banned?

Hindsight is a great thing ,so far CJ & Ball have performed better is true but having said that ,i'm glad we got Hodgey his skills are sensational & barring serious injury he will become a future leader @ the club .As for being the biggest drafting blunder ever ,anyone remember the tigers taking Anthony Banik @ #1 in the early 90's ?,or us taking Alex McDonald in 88' now there's two choices that were just crap .Hodge will end up being a career player for the Hawks ,you can never call that a blunder.

Buster the hawk said:
Hindsight is a great thing ,so far CJ & Ball have performed better is true but having said that ,i'm glad we got Hodgey his skills are sensational & barring serious injury he will become a future leader @ the club .As for being the biggest drafting blunder ever ,anyone remember the tigers taking Anthony Banik @ #1 in the early 90's ?,or us taking Alex McDonald in 88' now there's two choices that were just crap .Hodge will end up being a career player for the Hawks ,you can never call that a blunder.

Kane Johnson>>>>>>>>>>Richmond

Pick4(Which later turned into pick2 or , you know...Daniel Wells hahaha)>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Kangaroos

Wayne" I didnt do it !" Carey>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Adelaide

Now that was stupid

Ted Pellitts said:
had the cats kept ben graham:

Bartel >>>> Judd + Hodge + Ball

but now that the cats will never win a flag in Bartel's lifetime:

Judd > Bartel >>>>>> Hodge + Ball

Judd>Ball>Bartel>Hodge

WA ROO said:
Got a better one for you Frank
Three count them three picks by West Coast
no 12 Jaxon Crabb
no 13 Callum Chambers
no 28 Rowan Jones
the significance,in the same draft 1997
no 31 Simon Black
hahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

this is a stupid comment because all clubs passed up on the opportunity to get Black, including your club.

Look, whilst Hodge was a bit of a balls-up that Hawthorn should not have made (and I don't care what any Hawk says, he will never be as good as Judd), the worst drafting mistake ever will go down in history as being Fiora at number 3 and Pavlich at number 4.

i love all the blind faith statemants that r made in here about the hodge ball judd debate. 3 hugely talented youngsters, that the recruiters all found very hard 2 seperate. although after decisons were made , hodge was the guarenteed no1 pick from the so called expert recruiters.
quote mark thompson on talking footy....
" luke hodge was the number one pick , just a huge shame we couldnt get him being a geelong boi, Tuff , hard at it, exquisite skills and great great leadership qualities"......

after saying all that , chris judd is in the best 5 footballers i have ever seen in my life............
4 the record

1. Wayne Carey
2. Leigh Matthews
3. Gary Ablett
4. Tony Lckett
5. Chris Judd

apologies........michael voss, warren tredrea

2 say this kid is a champion at age of 21 ish speaks testament to how good this kid is and will be. footskills r still not the best and i think that is another reason why the hawks steered away from taking him at #1.
Barry Rawlings(x Hawk champion fisrt rover) stated 2 the club when chris judd was 13 that they must get this kid he is a champion and will be a superstar.

love the saint kilda supporters that still compare ball 2 being as good as judd ........shakes head

just remember all the people that drove the knife into luke hodges career, the boi will be a gun barring injuries again like the last 3 years

all 3 of them will be champions its just that judd maybe the best of all time???