Hawthorn rated as premiership chance

Finals football is a different kettle of fish to regular season, even the umpiring is usually a bit more liberal in a final.
The press will stand up in a final because of its high intensity dynamic, sustainable for a whole match, not sure. Most finals revert to a one on one contest at some stage late game especially if close anyway.
Would'nt be suprised if the hawks dont use the chipping style of play unless they want to kill the clock, as they have some great ball users of half back to move the ball quickly and precisely through to the forwards.
Can they win it? no doubt, but they would have to make the most of thier chances.

The only thing ive seen from posters is a lack of knowledge of the hawthorn line-up.

Yes, hawthorn do chip around, but dont think for a moment thats our only game plan.

Anyone whos bothered watching hawthorn games, as soon as we get about 5 goals up, the game plan changes, and we try new things to ensure we can combat different things.

Also, while franklin has kicked the bulk of our goals, this season a lot have been in junk time, hell, hes been our junk time specialist this year.
Other players are chipping in, averaging near 10 different goal kickers.

I hope our opponents go into finals with the same view as those on here.

Hawks are a definite chance. I think i would have it as pies 50% chance, hawks and cats 25%.

Probably more like 40, 20, 20 with West Coast, Carlton and St Kilda making up the other 20

Because when it comes to football people have the memories of a goldfish and what happened last week is the only thing that counts :rolleyes:

It's the bigfooty way!

The only reason The Hawks will beat the pies (with no disrespect to the pies great season and all) is because:

1) Cheney, Lisle and Murphy unfortunately on this occassion(for the pies) will not be the HB line come GF Day they will be in the stands...It will read

Birchall, Schoey, Stratton

2) Young, Mitch and Bateman unfortunately on this occassion (for the Pies) will not be the centre line come GF Day (2 of them will be in the stands.. It will read

Lewis, Hodge, I Smith (Hodge to play on-ball all day)

3) Mitch will have his 'buddy' Sewell giving him a chop out

4) Burgoyne on this occassion will play forward with his 'Buddy' whilst Sizzle & the Pup will be arguing over whose turn it is to 'Savage' somebody in a tackle

5) The Hawks will anihilate the Pies by 1 point come GF Day ( This time the ball will bounce favorably and Breust will walk it in. (apologies to S.Milne and my little mate DalesThomas13) ;)

The only thing ive seen from posters is a lack of knowledge of the hawthorn line-up.

Yes, hawthorn do chip around, but dont think for a moment thats our only game plan.

Anyone whos bothered watching hawthorn games, as soon as we get about 5 goals up, the game plan changes, and we try new things to ensure we can combat different things.

Also, while franklin has kicked the bulk of our goals, this season a lot have been in junk time, hell, hes been our junk time specialist this year.
Other players are chipping in, averaging near 10 different goal kickers.

I hope our opponents go into finals with the same view as those on here.
Maybe you can enlighten us on these "things" which nobody else seems to have noticed. :thumbsu:

I was at the Collingwood v Hawthorn game this year, and left with little doubt that if Hawthorn's game plan doesn't change and same for Collingwood, that the Pies will have no trouble defeating the Hawks for quite a few years. Collingwood ripped Hawthorn's high possession stuff to shreds. Collingwood will not lose to Hawthorn unless the Hawks learn from that defeat.

While I agree that Collingwood's best is better than ours currently and they destroyed us that day, I don't think that game was a true indicator of where each team is.

Hawks were missing Jordan Lewis, might not sound like much, but the 2nd most assists in the league, and probably our best for hitting up Buddy. Anybody watching the first 10 minutes of that game could see one massive problem was us kicking into f50. Also missing Rioli and Sewell, both very important.

Another factor which played into it is the weather. Our stock game plan just doesn't hold up in windy conditions. Harder to hit a target, mixed with Collingwood's top notch pressure and it was never going to be our day. In the end we were lucky Collingwood let up in the last quarter otherwise it could have been a disaster.

I hope on a sunny October afternoon with no wind and a full allotment of players we could give a much better account of ourselves, but our skills would have to be spot on.

Also, got to make it first which would involve probably beating Geelong and West Coast, which is no easy task. If we're not upto the task i hope West Coast can find travelling form and give it a crack.

Very much doubt that Mick Malthouse believes that his pies dismantled the Hawthorn game plan.

The goldfish might like to watch that first quarter again to see how many easy shots Hawthorn butchered and how many difficult shots Collingwood nailed...

Hawthorn are no better than a 50/50 chance to be there in October, if they get there they are still at best a 50/50 chance.

Most teams that finish the year in the top 3 with a 18-4 win/loss record and percentage of 146% are considered to be a reasonable premiership chance.

Not sure why it's taken the zombies so long to come to their senses. Perhaps they've been dumbed down by all the idiotic commentators and Monday panel show "experts"

Last night I watched all the footy shows... Mike Sheahan, Gerard Healy, Paul Roos, Jimmy Bartel, Steve Quartermain, Robert Walls, Luke Darcy, Craig Hutchison, Garry Lyon, GT and Caro... and I have to admit, I feel like a moron.

I reckon they should screen 'On The Couch' in psychiatric wards instead of giving them sedatives

The reason for that is a weaker competition, even West Coast would be seen as a top 2 team normally with their 17-5 record, clearly their not that good.

When was the last time we saw the bottom 3 teams with 9 wins for the season? Hawthorn get to play 5 games against the bottom 3 teams. That's a quarter of their wins and a stack of percentage... Now that puts things more in perspective ;)

nah i wanna know what their game plan is that obviously only the hawthorn fans can see.

if its not this chipchip gameplan what is it? not trolling or anything, im honestly curious

NAH,barely kicked 2 goals in a half vs a flat Carlton at Etihad:eek:
Wouldnt surprise to see them make the GF,given the Cats look tired and have only beaten up on kids recently and the Swannies showed them up for what they are:thumbsu:.
Its simply the Pies to lose this year,cant see anyone making this happen!!.
Sorry

NAH,barely kicked 2 goals in a half vs a flat Carlton at Etihad:eek:
Wouldnt surprise to see them make the GF, given the Cats look tired and have only beaten up on kids recently and the Swannies showed them up for what they are:thumbsu:.
Its simply the Pies to lose this year,cant see anyone making this happen!!.
Sorry

Whilst this is true, it is in part to the fact that we had a very tough run early and a much easier run home. Can only play who you are drawn against. Having said that, I think our form early on was clearly better than what it is now. Still certainly capable, but will need a big lift from several players to feature heavily into September.

its basically flooding but they dont call it that.

They flood half the ground, either the front half, the back half or either wing

that is true to a point

full field press?

ditto...remember that Malty loves his military history and in particular the 'Roman Tortoise Formation' this in principle is the basis behind the press, so you have a front line press and a detached unit behind that is capable of fast side ways movements down the line to repel the opposing defense.

I think it's more the fact that people couldn't stand seeing Collingwood win again, and Geelong are slipping out of form as of late. Therefore, Hawthorn are seen as true premiership chances. They've got a good chance of making it to the GF and from there who knows what could happen.

But really, it's Collingwood's to lose.

nah i wanna know what their game plan is that obviously only the hawthorn fans can see.

if its not this chipchip gameplan what is it? not trolling or anything, im honestly curious

Hawthorn's chip-to-chip game plan is a sensationalized myth.

A closer analysis would describe 'it' as a tactic, moreover, intelligent football; the team doesn't simply bomb the ball long or turn the ball over, but rather keep possession until an option presents itself.

Agree, I think we have been tinkering with a few different plans through out the year. The short kick high possession style was in full flight for a month starting with our first Bulldogs encounter, I'ts been a much more balanced approach since. I think the first half against Carlton is the style we will be aiming to emulate come finals.

so whats hawthorns?

Oh my bad your saying they do the same thing as collingwood?

Poor English aside, you do realise Collingwood are only following the leader with their game plan, i.e. they copied St Kilda, who copied Hawthorn.

St. Kilda never had an offensive focus, like Collingwood do. If Collingwood copied St. Kilda, their press would be based on kicking minimal goals to win a game. They took bits of St. Kilda's press and added their own style to it.

The box formation is a cornerstone of Collingwood's tactic. Neither Hawthorn or St. Kilda had this component in their press. You can't follow the leader when your gameplan & press is entirely different to the previous model, you are making the leader follow you.

St. Kilda never had an offensive focus, like Collingwood do. If Collingwood copied St. Kilda, their press would be based on kicking minimal goals to win a game. They took bits of St. Kilda's press and added their own style to it.

Yes, but you're accusing Hawthorn of copying Collingwood somehow. In fact, everybody's copying Clarko's Cluster, in an evolved way.

I personally think an even closer analysis would describe it as something the Hawks did one day when they were smashing the dogs and the dogs players were too lazy to stop them doing it.

If the Hawks continually let the pies set up their press (Hawks zone, Cat's zone, Adelaide's zone, Sydney's flood - what ever you want to call it) by needlessly chipping it around I agree the Hawks will not be winning. But then I doubt the Hawks will be doing that.

Hawthorn rated as premiership chance