• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Heathcote DFL part 2

I went out to Newbridge for a look and the fact is Calavil would'nt make the five in the Heathcote league and after then heading to the QEO to witness G.Square beat Gisbourne Colbo wouldnt get with in 15goals of either sides, im not trying to start a debate just stating a fact.
The intensity and tempo at Bfl level is a mile ahead of the adjacent leagues.

couple of points. 1st point cant be proven so just speculation. They dont play in the same league so unless they cross all just a guess.

Second point is that Colbo's budget for players against Borough or G Square would be about 33% of what is spent. Agree Colbo wouldnt probably get close but should they?

The BFL is seen as the premier league in the area excluding GV footy so it should attract good players and be a stronger league than HDFL or LVFL. It should be well ahead of other leagues. At present the top 3-4 teams are well ahead but what about the rest?

Thanks all all the good work Captain Obvious. Another super hero save.

I went out to Newbridge for a look and the fact is Calavil would'nt make the five in the Heathcote league and after then heading to the QEO to witness G.Square beat Gisbourne Colbo wouldnt get with in 15goals of either sides, im not trying to start a debate just stating a fact.

Calavil had 3 or 4 players that looked like they were filling in, for ppeople who follow the LV that think their league would beat Heathcote in interleague require some serious medication. I hope it is some how organised in the near future because LV would cop a bigger hiding than Rodney King did!

agree with most of what you are saying. just have to look at l.bu. couldnt win a game in the b.f.l in our last year and made the grand final in the hdfl in our 1st year.

as for calival, they would probably make our top 5. but everyone complains how far locky is away to have a final, so wat happens when they want one??

agree with most of what you are saying. just have to look at l.bu. couldnt win a game in the b.f.l in our last year and made the grand final in the hdfl in our 1st year.

as for calival, they would probably make our top 5. but everyone complains how far locky is away to have a final, so wat happens when they want one??
Calival would go alrite in the HDFL, its a good point mtmen bought up,it would be a great thing if Calival came into the HD. If Broadford were to leave wat would happen to the finals, top 5 or 4

Calivil United's 6 straight flags has been an incrediable effort.:thumbsu:
Where would they finish in the HDFL? I reckon they might have just had Mounts covered this year so that would have slipped them into 5th.

I asked a bloke who went for a look on Saturday what the standard was like he replied '' Not much good Colbo would beat Calilvil by 10 goals and Pyramid by 20 goals''. He thought the fundamental skill mistakes were un believeable by Pyramid with blokes dropping easy chest marks etc. There are so many indicators show the HDFL as a superior comp.

Alot of people involved in that league wont admit that the HDFL is better but it's mainly due to the pride they have in their own clubs so you can't really shame that.

went to watch Calival /Pyramid on at . and I wouldn't mind bottling what they have culture wise . both grades the dogs were not in with a show after winning the 2nd semi in both grades .

I think the main differnce between the two leagues is the feed pool . In LVFL the feed pool is primarily BFL two's who are chasing a bit of bugs bunny . Were as the HDFL is more likely to score top rung BFL players along with GV and MFL and RFL .

In summary They wouldn't be dominant but would be more than competitive . Having said all that as if they'll move

couple of points. 1st point cant be proven so just speculation. They dont play in the same league so unless they cross all just a guess.

Second point is that Colbo's budget for players against Borough or G Square would be about 33% of what is spent. Agree Colbo wouldnt probably get close but should they?

The BFL is seen as the premier league in the area excluding GV footy so it should attract good players and be a stronger league than HDFL or LVFL. It should be well ahead of other leagues. At present the top 3-4 teams are well ahead but what about the rest?

Thanks all all the good work Captain Obvious. Another super hero save.

Heathcote & Elmore would've spent as much on players this year than most Bfl clubs bar E.Hawke , Gisbourne & K.Flat, you'd be suprised.

went to watch Calival /Pyramid on at . and I wouldn't mind bottling what they have culture wise . both grades the dogs were not in with a show after winning the 2nd semi in both grades .

I think the main differnce between the two leagues is the feed pool . In LVFL the feed pool is primarily BFL two's who are chasing a bit of bugs bunny . Were as the HDFL is more likely to score top rung BFL players along with GV and MFL and RFL .

In summary They wouldn't be dominant but would be more than competitive . Having said all that as if they'll move

I agree that the HDFL is the superior minor league in Central Victoria. I have played in all 3 minor leagues (HDFL, LVFL and MCDFL) in both grades of competition and the HDFL far outweighs the other 2 in relation to intensity and skill level. Even the skill level in the HDFL 2's would be on par to some of the senior teams in the other two minor leagues. I think it has to do more with the geographics of the HDFL compared to the other two leagues. The HDFL is pretty central to the BFL (with 3 HDFL teams based in Bendigo) and another 3 teams less than 1/2hrs drive from Bendigo. Where as LVFL and MCDFL have teams based in towns away from major regional centres, which reduces the talent pool.

I have heard that the long term future of footy in Central Vic may be through the introduction of divisions, similiar to what metro leagues play. Would be interesting to see which teams would fit into which Divisions...No doubt some BFL teams would find themselves in the Div 2 comp, with some minor league teams up in Div 1. Only time will tell I guess !....

Whats the latest Doon? Is the league going to have to look at maybe getting Mainland or Calival on board (I know it wont happen but would be interesting)

I agree that the HDFL is the superior minor league in Central Victoria. I have played in all 3 minor leagues (HDFL, LVFL and MCDFL) in both grades of competition and the HDFL far outweighs the other 2 in relation to intensity and skill level. Even the skill level in the HDFL 2's would be on par to some of the senior teams in the other two minor leagues. I think it has to do more with the geographics of the HDFL compared to the other two leagues. The HDFL is pretty central to the BFL (with 3 HDFL teams based in Bendigo) and another 3 teams less than 1/2hrs drive from Bendigo. Where as LVFL and MCDFL have teams based in towns away from major regional centres, which reduces the talent pool.

I have heard that the long term future of footy in Central Vic may be through the introduction of divisions, similiar to what metro leagues play. Would be interesting to see which teams would fit into which Divisions...No doubt some BFL teams would find themselves in the Div 2 comp, with some minor league teams up in Div 1. Only time will tell I guess !....

Sounds good for the senior footy , but what happens to the under 17 and the netballers?, say if colbo and Heathcote were to go up in exchange for the 2 bottom bfl sides . Ask anyone from Locky how hard it was to compete in those grades in the BFL .

as gay as aids.

3rds could hardly field a side. although in lockys last year in the bfl the elmore u/17s were pretty handy... because locky didnt field a side...:(

Whats the latest Doon? Is the league going to have to look at maybe getting Mainland or Calival on board (I know it wont happen but would be interesting)

Latest stormin is that we have our AGM next Wednesday (24th), might be an interesting night. Apparently they want to vote on this RDFL thing prior to the meeting - personally I dont know how the club can when the HDFL haven't been involved in talks :confused:

I did write to the HDFL executive to table at their June meeting, just so they had a bit of warning and understanding about all this and more so if any clubs were keen to put the wheels in motion re: 18's but nothing has happened as far as I know.

My concern is that to best of my knowledge no formal correspondance has been forward to 1. the HDFL, 2. the VCFL or 3. Football Victoria (AFL Vic) about the club's interest in changing leagues.

If someone cane say otherwise please do - opens up a can of worms as Im pretty sure it aint as easy and just saying "we want to go" surely there are channels of protocol/procedure that must be met with such a matter.

Latest stormin is that we have our AGM next Wednesday (24th), might be an interesting night. Apparently they want to vote on this RDFL thing prior to the meeting - personally I dont know how the club can when the HDFL haven't been involved in talks :confused:

I did write to the HDFL executive to table at their June meeting, just so they had a bit of warning and understanding about all this and more so if any clubs were keen to put the wheels in motion re: 18's but nothing has happened as far as I know.

My concern is that to best of my knowledge no formal correspondance has been forward to 1. the HDFL, 2. the VCFL or 3. Football Victoria (AFL Vic) about the club's interest in changing leagues.

If someone cane say otherwise please do - opens up a can of worms as Im pretty sure it aint as easy and just saying "we want to go" surely there are channels of protocol/procedure that must be met with such a matter.

My understanding of the process of Clubs changing leagues is:

1) Clubs forwards correspondence to existing league of notice of intent to leave league

2) If current league objects - matter is referred to VCFL who make final call.

3) If current league doesn't object - club then writes to new league prior to that leagues AGM with notice to join league.

4) If accepted by new league by existing club delegates at AGM, new league writes to VCFL informing them of new team in comp.

When you think it about it is pretty easy to move from one league to another providing there are no objections. VCFL only gets involved when there are objections by current league, and if current league believes it is to the detriment of that league. VCFL then way up the pro's and cons before delivering a verdict. In Nth Bendigo's and Lockington's case both were admitted into HDFL quite easily as the BFL could see them folding in the BFL if they were to continue there - hence they had no objections in them leaving the comp.

Hope this helps !

been interesting reading about this broady situation, if my memory serves me correctly but white hills tabled at league meeting to change to u/18s and dont quote me but I think 4 clubs rejected it elmore colbo lockington and surprise broadford.
This was approx 10 years ago when they were getting abundance of players from assumption cause they were winning every flag year after year, while the clubs struggled to compete for players in bendigo against bfl u18s and u16.5s and remember white hills at that time had won 2 in a row in 17s but they knew the writing was on the wall. So is really about u18s or is it coming down to the travelling every 2nd week

been interesting reading about this broady situation, if my memory serves me correctly but white hills tabled at league meeting to change to u/18s and dont quote me but I think 4 clubs rejected it elmore colbo lockington and surprise broadford.
This was approx 10 years ago when they were getting abundance of players from assumption cause they were winning every flag year after year, while the clubs struggled to compete for players in bendigo against bfl u18s and u16.5s and remember white hills at that time had won 2 in a row in 17s but they knew the writing was on the wall. So is really about u18s or is it coming down to the travelling every 2nd week

Couldnt of been 10 years ago, I was still playing at Elmore and LBU were not in the comp. I think there has been a vote since then but I think you need to look at what would happen it the HDFL went to 18s.

Clubs like Elmore, LBU and Colbo will loose junior players. All clubs have under 14s in GC and parents wouldnt let there 14 year old son play against 18 year olds, that was the reasoning. These clubs would loose their players to Rochy 16s and they wouldnt come back unless they wernt getting a game, it happens to these towns all the time.

As much as I would hate to see Broady go, I dont think its fair that they could hold the league to ransom saying "goto under 18s or we're gone!

Having been involved down this way for year HP, I have never known Broadford to not be in agreeance with the Under 18 concept. There have been times when the writing's been on the wall concerning the vote, with only one or two clubs pushing for such a change. Since the mid 90's Broadford, White Hiils and North Bendigo have been constant in their desire to get the League to under the Underage format. However, until recently, these three clubs have been the only clubs wishing the amend the age limit.

Also, we have never had an abundance of Assumption College footballers. Most are not allowed to play Club football through the season. Having had the local high school in town has drawn some players from neighbouring towns, but I wouldn't call one or at most two a year an abundance.

We never had ACK kids play for us, all those junior flags have come via the BJFC. I know in my two years of thirds we had two kids the first year and one the next from out of town that played coz of the friendship at Broady thru school - no different to a Rochy kid here or there at LBU or Elmore surely.

Still would be 3-4 trips over an hour mate so the travel from where I sit is much of a muchness really. No matter how it's looked at Broadford will b at the ar$e end of whatever comps its in.

As far my football involvement at BFNC it's all been HDFL. A few flags, HDFL rep side, my late father won a two's medal, I have an uncle and a close mate as our club's only two HDFL life members, not to mention the dozens of friendships I've formed over the years - so yeah this thing is upsetting to a lot of people. If we end up going we lose all that.

Clubs are bigger than individuals as we always hear, so if the new generation of BFNC people think this will guarantee a future what do we do????

North and LBU had to do what was best for their club's long term future when they joined the HDFL, and that's all the current committee are doing.

As much as I would hate to see Broady go, I dont think its fair that they could hold the league to ransom saying "goto under 18s or we're gone!

Thats not how it is stormin, it's about ensuring our club a future and I think we all know that means under age footballers coming thru. Whether that is here, there or aywhere on thing has been constant at FNC and that is retention of kids - without a 3rds to provide that by 2011 we a dead111

I have never heard the above statement bandied around and would be ashamed of our club if it did.

Having been involved down this way for year HP, I have never known Broadford to not be in agreeance with the Under 18 concept. There have been times when the writing's been on the wall concerning the vote, with only one or two clubs pushing for such a change. Since the mid 90's Broadford, White Hiils and North Bendigo have been constant in their desire to get the League to under the Underage format. However, until recently, these three clubs have been the only clubs wishing the amend the age limit.

Also, we have never had an abundance of Assumption College footballers. Most are not allowed to play Club football through the season. Having had the local high school in town has drawn some players from neighbouring towns, but I wouldn't call one or at most two a year an abundance.
My apologies it was about 7 years LBU had joined and there point was that they joined because it was u17 for the reasons nesko pointed out before.
If the Assumption thing is not true I apologize again but it is something that has been a talking point around the HDFL for years. The only reason Ibrought any thing about the U18s is to point out that it has been talked about for quite along time and been brought to the league. Holding the league to ransom but correct me if Im wrong but dont the clubs vote on it and if agreed to then goes to the executive to bring something in. Personaly if I was playing at Broady Id rather join a league where you didnt have to travel miles every week trust me it gets to you. Having played in the old Kerang District FL and going to Hay ,Moulamein Ultima Wakool Quambatook about the best part was the bus trips home.

My apologies it was about 7 years LBU had joined and there point was that they joined because it was u17 for the reasons nesko pointed out before.
If the Assumption thing is not true I apologize again but it is something that has been a talking point around the HDFL for years. The only reason Ibrought any thing about the U18s is to point out that it has been talked about for quite along time and been brought to the league. Holding the league to ransom but correct me if Im wrong but dont the clubs vote on it and if agreed to then goes to the executive to bring something in. Personaly if I was playing at Broady Id rather join a league where you didnt have to travel miles every week trust me it gets to you. Having played in the old Kerang District FL and going to Hay ,Moulamein Ultima Wakool Quambatook about the best part was the bus trips home.

Who from the Broadford FNC executive committee has made any statements like this??? If you knew how all this had been handled you'd understand that if you don't communicate with the HDFL then it is impossible to pose such a stupid f**king suggestion.

As Trevor Arnel was quoted as saying in the Addy last week, there are two factions in all this, some are of the opinion that regardless of the age group (17s/18s) thing the RDFL is the way to go, and they seem to be the one's driving this bus - holding no one to ransom for f#*k sake :mad:

Who from the Broadford FNC executive committee has made any statements like this??? If you knew how all this had been handled you'd understand that if you don't communicate with the HDFL then it is impossible to pose such a stupid f**king suggestion.

As Trevor Arnel was quoted as saying in the Addy last week, there are two factions in all this, some are of the opinion that regardless of the age group (17s/18s) thing the RDFL is the way to go, and they seem to be the one's driving this bus - holding no one to ransom for f#*k sake :mad:
Doona for one second hold on I did not suggest that Broadford were holding hdfl for ransom I was making a point to a suggestion someone else said thats what was happening in all honesty mate if you feel so strong about all this why dont you call for a spill of the committee and see where you go before this meeting. Only a suggestion, because none of this affects me either way, Im just putting my two bobs worth in.

Cheers

Doona for one second hold on I did not suggest that Broadford were holding hdfl for ransom I was making a point to a suggestion someone else said thats what was happening in all honesty mate if you feel so strong about all this why dont you call for a spill of the committee and see where you go before this meeting. Only a suggestion, because none of this affects me either way, Im just putting my two bobs worth in.

Cheers

It just needed to be done through the appropriate channels, with respect and at all times ensuring the integrity of an 118 year old club remained in tact - geez a spill of the board seems drastic, besides Ive got no interest in joining a committee for a few years yet to be honest so it wont effect me a great deal either way

My understanding of the process of Clubs changing leagues is:

1) Clubs forwards correspondence to existing league of notice of intent to leave league

2) If current league objects - matter is referred to VCFL who make final call.

3) If current league doesn't object - club then writes to new league prior to that leagues AGM with notice to join league.

4) If accepted by new league by existing club delegates at AGM, new league writes to VCFL informing them of new team in comp.

When you think it about it is pretty easy to move from one league to another providing there are no objections. VCFL only gets involved when there are objections by current league, and if current league believes it is to the detriment of that league. VCFL then way up the pro's and cons before delivering a verdict. In Nth Bendigo's and Lockington's case both were admitted into HDFL quite easily as the BFL could see them folding in the BFL if they were to continue there - hence they had no objections in them leaving the comp.

Hope this helps !

wasnt the case with locky. we were denied to leave the bfl wen we 1st tried. we were forced to play another year in a comp that was ridiculously "out of our league":rolleyes: subsequently our seniors were pumped every week and our 3rds failed to field a side and they all went and played for elmore in the hdfl. best side elmore has had in a looong time i reckon 2!:D hey nesko who was that tubby 6 year old that played in the backpocket and already had chest hair??? i think he wore number 13...:p

It just needed to be done through the appropriate channels, with respect and at all times ensuring the integrity of an 118 year old club remained in tact - geez a spill of the board seems drastic, besides Ive got no interest in joining a committee for a few years yet to be honest so it wont effect me a great deal either way

Sounds like the problem down your way is the committee itself. You obviously have a love for the club, and have coached the seniors for a couple of years. You would think that you would have been asked to make some kind of input into the decision. Sounds like the move to the RDFL had already been made.

Shit this thread is slow, slower than Farva in fact! So has anyone retired or is already on the move?

Dunno of anyone from Colbo on the move as yet but i dare say Cheezel Cheatley might be chased by Bendigo clubs. Won Colbo's B&F yesterday to claim the triple (Premiership, Cheatley and Club B&F), Patty Obrien 2nd and Nick Knight 3rd.
Actually Tim Hill will not play for Colbo next year as he has moved to Beulah for work. Will probaly play for them, not sure which league it is though.