Heathcote DFL part 2

If the Soveriegn backing of Global Banks doesn't help to free up the bond markets in the US and put an end to the credit squeeze, the effects of a global slowdown may impact our little league here in Australia more than we realise. A slowing economy, means slowing businesses, which will mean sponsors keeping their hands in their pockets. A poor harvest won't help some clubs either. Could be interesting times.

I hope you're taking the p!ss here.. Sure, it may be a little harder to find big sponsors, but people will still want to both play and watch footy as they have done for 100 odd years. All four agriculturally funded sides (Elmore, Colbo, Mounts, LBU) have not struggled in the last 6 years despite the whole period being a drought, so what makes you think a tightened economy will affect district footy?

i didn't say it was the end of the world. just might change club spending a bit. could be a good thing with some of the duds running around that are over paid. maybe if the whole economy melted down people would just play footy for the fun of it alone!!! haha. as if!

Actually, the financial meltdown will help exports eg. farming products, mining, etc as the dollar has fallen as a result making our goods and services cheaper on the world economy, and potentially putting more money in the hand of the farmers. But I digress, how does this relate to the HDFL? For as long as anyone cares to remember, Mounts, Colbo, Elmore and others have been paying players, regardless of economic conditions on the world markets. No one cares, its not amateurs.

Congrats to Doona for his re-appointment for 2009 with Broadford FNC!
I'm looking forward to 2009 even more now mate! :D

maybe all players get a pay cut . That would be the logical move .Nation wide

Last week i reported on Heathcote chasing 2 big name players,1 from Ovens & Murray the other from the Goulburn Valley,and now i've been told H/Cote are now in talk's with a player who played with Montmorency last year in Divison 1 in the Northern Football League,they were beaten by Heidelburg in the Grand Final

How about we dispense with the rubbish "I've heard from a guy that someone I can't/won't mention is going to blah"! This ain't famous faces from 'Sale of the Century'...so come out with it, put a disclaimer that it may in fact be only a rumour (so you've covered yourself), name the said person... or don't post! We all know it's the silly season, no need to make it even more so with silly guessing games!

Speaking of which, I've heard a rumour that Broadford are in talks with a key position player who played in the EDFL Grand Final (Premiership). Anyone want to buy a vowel? :D

How about we dispense with the rubbish "I've heard from a guy that someone I can't/won't mention is going to blah"! This ain't famous faces from 'Sale of the Century'...so come out with it, put a disclaimer that it may in fact be only a rumour (so you've covered yourself), name the said person... or don't post! We all know it's the silly season, no need to make it even more so with silly guessing games!

Speaking of which, I've heard a rumour that Broadford are in talks with a key position player who played in the EDFL Grand Final (Premiership). Anyone want to buy a vowel? :D

That would be interesting news for the RDFL Clubs:rolleyes:

Last week i reported on Heathcote chasing 2 big name players,1 from Ovens & Murray the other from the Goulburn Valley,and now i've been told H/Cote are now in talk's with a player who played with Montmorency last year in Divison 1 in the Northern Football League, they were beaten by Heidelburg in the Grand Final

Will fit in at Barrack Reserve then :D

Heard the Saints lodged an official "timekeepers only in the box" rule to be adopted for HDFL season 2009 & beyond at the pre-AGM meeting on Wednesday . . . . . $hit I hope the RDFL don't get wind of this :rolleyes:

In all my time watching football at Harley Hammond Reserve I've never seen a goal kicked from up there and doubt I ever will.

Will fit in at Barrack Reserve then :D

Heard the Saints lodged an official "timekeepers only in the box" rule to be adopted for HDFL season 2009 & beyond at the pre-AGM meeting on Wednesday . . . . . $hit I hope the RDFL don't get wind of this :rolleyes:

In all my time watching football at Harley Hammond Reserve I've never seen a goal kicked from up there and doubt I ever will.

Ho Ho old mate,How did the finger go yesturday run hot did it

How did the finger go yesturday run hot did it

Wasn't required to use it, was a game where the players were pretty much left to their own devices and all I virtually did was call "over" . . . . . .

http://**********************/?p=1020

Will Mick Simpson be still involved? Ripper fella Mick who would be a great set of eyes from the sidelines for the new bloke :thumbsu:

I see in the central vic article is says Kinder has been agressive in recruiting, will be interesting to so who they are able to attract. Always seem to pick up a few from LV clubs but cant think of many big names to come through the kennel in recent times.