• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Heathcote DFL part 2

Heathocote outplayed going down by 21 points to locky at their homeground! What has happened to heathcote. Some great momentum going into the business end of the year.
I'm going to be the one to say that it's time that Meldrum's leadership of the club needs to come into question. They had a very good team last year that underperformed when the pressure was on. The side nearly went off the rails early last year but pulled it back together. I think they were blaming a youthful team for the outcome last year but how long can they hold such an expensive team together.
Meldrum this year was on holidays in the off season (and good luck to him) but he comes back and all recruiting is done. They have an awesome unit on paper but yet again not pulling it together. Top spot should have been theirs but went down to a well drilled colbo unit. One could forgive that but to go down to lockington!!!
They seem to be relying on pure talent alone and the game plan is lacking and I question whether Meldrum has the ability to make a unit gel and perform well enough to win the big games that matter. If the team won't unite behind him then they have massive troubles. I know heathcote will be scratching their heads at this result but i also get the feeling that they have a lot of question marks over the man at the top. This is not knocking his ability as a player but rather his ability to manage and inspire a team to the ultimate goal.
That's a fair bake Pharoahs. Big Al did most of the recruiting before he left to go on holidays and the club applied the finishing touches. Nothing wrong with that. The club won eleven in a row and I know it's not ideal to lose a couple leading into the finals, but there have been a few reasons why we may have struggled a bit the last couple of weeks and expect some of them back this week. Against Colbinabbin we had four shots at goal early in the last quarter that could have gone a long way to winning the game. Unfortunately, we kicked points and Colbo got it over us in the last fifteen or twenty minutes. In front all day bar the last twenty minutes. Didn't see the game yesterday but don't get too fussed about the result. As for your comments about his ability to inspire a team, have you been in the rooms with him before the game? I have, and personally think he has developed into a fine coach, and an inspiring one at that. By the way, it sounds as if you have an interest in Heathcote, care to elaborate?

Heathocote outplayed going down by 21 points to locky at their homeground! What has happened to heathcote. Some great momentum going into the business end of the year.
I'm going to be the one to say that it's time that Meldrum's leadership of the club needs to come into question. They had a very good team last year that underperformed when the pressure was on. The side nearly went off the rails early last year but pulled it back together. I think they were blaming a youthful team for the outcome last year but how long can they hold such an expensive team together.
Meldrum this year was on holidays in the off season (and good luck to him) but he comes back and all recruiting is done. They have an awesome unit on paper but yet again not pulling it together. Top spot should have been theirs but went down to a well drilled colbo unit. One could forgive that but to go down to lockington!!!
They seem to be relying on pure talent alone and the game plan is lacking and I questin whether Meldrum has the ability to make a unit gel and perform well enough to win the big games that matter. If the team won't unite behind him then they have massive troubles. I know heathcote will be scratching their heads at this result but i alsoget the feeling that they have a lot of question marks over the man at the top. This is not knocking his ability as a player but rather his ability to manage and inspire a team to the ultimate goal.

I heard they had at least 5 senior players out yesterday. Doesnt look good for next week as a few will miss again is the word about.anyone care to elaborate?

They seem to be relying on pure talent alone and the game plan is lacking and I question whether Meldrum has the ability to make a unit gel and perform well enough to win the big games that matter. If the team won't unite behind him then they have massive troubles. I know heathcote will be scratching their heads at this result but i also get the feeling that they have a lot of question marks over the man at the top. This is not knocking his ability as a player but rather his ability to manage and inspire a team to the ultimate goal.

Had a few good players out and Locky keep spruiking they are dangerous. The word is that at least 5 senior players will be missing for Heathcote next week as well including centre and FF

Your writing heathcote off way too early mate, they are a very good side and i would think that if they lose to elmore will have no problem toweling up mounts or locky. all good sides can be off their game once in a while, have a look at elmore? gunna write them off

Heathcote had a lot of players down through Injury/conditions/pressure, I dont think you can point your finger at the coach.
I heard him speak for the first time on Sat and RWB I agree speaks very well.
Good sides, sides that hold form like colbo do the simple things well and have a few that do the extraordinary.
Full credit to Locky no Newth Pritchet or Maddison and were able to do what no other team has done this year...
Locky might be the smokey? Considering Elmore and Heathcotes recent form....
You would have to say there has to be an all time F*&%$ up for Colbo not to be in the Granny!!!!
Going on form any 1 of the other 4 teams could make it....
Anyone care to tell us if Mounts have found something or were White Hills Ord?

Heathcote had a lot of players down through Injury/conditions/pressure, I dont think you can point your finger at the coach.
I heard him speak for the first time on Sat and RWB I agree speaks very well.
Good sides, sides that hold form like colbo do the simple things well and have a few that do the extraordinary.
Full credit to Locky no Newth Pritchet or Maddison and were able to do what no other team has done this year...
Locky might be the smokey? Considering Elmore and Heathcotes recent form....
You would have to say there has to be an all time F*&%$ up for Colbo not to be in the Granny!!!!
Going on form any 1 of the other 4 teams could make it....
Anyone care to tell us if Mounts have found something or were White Hills Ord?

What has no other side been able to do this year sims???

Sorry Roota other than Mounts!!!! Win at Heathcote that is.
Stating that would have to give Mounts and Locky confidence if Elmore can knock Heathcote off this week!!!!
Are Mounts getting back to early season form Roota?

Sorry Roota other than Mounts!!!! Win at Heathcote that is.
Stating that would have to give Mounts and Locky confidence if Elmore can knock Heathcote off this week!!!!
Are Mounts getting back to early season form Roota?

No worries sims. The boys played a very good game on Satdy which was pleasing.

Missing a bigger point that know one defeated Colbo at home all year. 2nd year running I am told. Fair home ground advantage.

In regards to the earlier point about Colbo not making the grand final, footy is so unpredictable especially in finals. What happens if Colbo had 6 blokes injured in 2nd semi and had to play prelim the next week? As a team I'd like to take on half a side if injuries occurred at the wrong time.

The evenness of the Colbo team should see them get there but who knows as form and injuries can dictate outcomes. Preparation and actual game day are 2 different things.
I still reckon Heathcote V Colbo granny. Bring on the finals

PS _ I dont want anyone injured but gees I hope Elmore and Heathcote smash the shite out of each other this week.:D

I don't think that you take much in to the Heathcote Lockington Match. the five was set and the game was a dead rubber. Heathcote would have been happy to get through the match unscathed. But it was still a good win by Locky at Heathcote though.

Have to agree! Its hard to get up when there is nothing at stake. Heathcote would haved loved the win and well done to locky. Locky for me are the dark horses.. they are starting to hit there straps at the right end of the year. Cant take too much out of colbos win over the bottom placed huntly and am still not convinced they are there yet. They did what heathcote did and that was play to their strengths, big ground obviously suited them.
I reckon Elmore are still flag favourites and you will see why this week when they beat heathcote by 10 goals... Sorry heathcote supporters but its the business end and Elmore know how to win in Aug/Sep..
Locky over mounts
Elmore over Heathcote

Pharaohs I am happy to discuss all of the points you have outlined above. Just PM me or come and introduce yourself at the next Heathcote game you attend. I offered the same opportunity to 'allballs' earlier in the season to discuss the comments that he made about me on this thread from behind an alias, but funnily enough, that offer was never taken up.....

Don't worry about these clowns big fella. I've known you for long enough to believe in your capabilities as both an on-field leader and tactician as coach. Think this joker overlooked the fact that you were at Heathcote for more than just a season and started your recruiting for this year at the end of last.
With the grand final to be at Huntly *shudder* it really is anyone's contest. All you've got to do is get into the big dance and the Saints will be a big chance.
Although LBU and Mounts may cause an upset this August (should be September), I think the GF will be Colbo versus Heathcote/Elmore.
But as Roota said, its completely different in finals and you just never know :thumbsu:

Travaglia, Soladino (will he play finals?), Anderson, Waters as mentioned, Tom Tobin went off with corky/hammy in first ten minutes, Millard.......???Thompson and Morgan both were grabbing there hammies during the game.. Morgan came off in the last Quarter.
Mabe it was a dead rubber and getting through the game without any more injuries was Heathcotes main goal.... Doubt it!!!

But as previously posted Locky had no Newth because he had to milk the cows (Thats apparently true), No prichett who is one of there best rebounders and maddison who played his best game this year against Elmore Iv ever seen him play...

Should be 2 great games this weekend. Where is Mounts locky played?

Missing a bigger point that know one defeated Colbo at home all year. 2nd year running I am told. Fair home ground advantage.

In regards to the earlier point about Colbo not making the grand final, footy is so unpredictable especially in finals. What happens if Colbo had 6 blokes injured in 2nd semi and had to play prelim the next week? As a team I'd like to take on half a side if injuries occurred at the wrong time.

The evenness of the Colbo team should see them get there but who knows as form and injuries can dictate outcomes. Preparation and actual game day are 2 different things.
I still reckon Heathcote V Colbo granny. Bring on the finals

PS _ I dont want anyone injured but gees I hope Elmore and Heathcote smash the shite out of each other this week.:D
Nice spelling bud. I wonder if anyone new that know one nows??
HAHAHAHA
Im killing myself with my funny....

Travaglia, Soladino (will he play finals?), Anderson, Waters as mentioned, Tom Tobin went off with corky/hammy in first ten minutes, Millard.......???Thompson and Morgan both were grabbing there hammies during the game.. Morgan came off in the last Quarter.
Mabe it was a dead rubber and getting through the game without any more injuries was Heathcotes main goal.... Doubt it!!!

But as previously posted Locky had no Newth because he had to milk the cows (Thats apparently true), No prichett who is one of there best rebounders and maddison who played his best game this year against Elmore Iv ever seen him play...

Should be 2 great games this weekend. Where is Mounts locky played?

Will ando or salad be able to play due to bombers and pios? Has Ando play enough games? Can hardly count Marc Millard as an out as he wont play again this year. If thats the case LBU were missing Paul crockford, Matt Carnie and Brad Smitt who is one of the better forwards if he didnt injure his back round 1. My point is that you can only beat who is out there and I dont think people are giving LBU enough credit, just blaming injuries.

Salad will be available this week. Anderson or Weeks can't play with their respective clubs.

Nice spelling bud. I wonder if anyone new that know one nows??
HAHAHAHA
Im killing myself with my funny....

Posted By cellar dweller
Re: Official GVFL Thread (part 2)

If your going to be a professional football you probably need to put a bit more thought into where and for who you play!
Also sound like a contract may be an issue as well.

Before you go bagging other people out for this sort of stuff, fix yourself up mate. We all do it every now and then.
Ps. Why dont you go ask a Sherrin what its like to be a professional football!

Posted By cellar dweller
Re: Official GVFL Thread (part 2)

If your going to be a professional football you probably need to put a bit more thought into where and for who you play!
Also sound like a contract may be an issue as well.

Before you go bagging other people out for this sort of stuff, fix yourself up mate. We all do it every now and then.
Ps. Why dont you go ask a Sherrin what its like to be a professional football!
Ive always said my spelling wont be right. Also dont care if it is wrong. As long as people understand I dont care about the anyones spelling.
Was funny to see the great man who says that Im always so wrong and he is so perfect make a clown of himself. You have taken a quite a bit off my funny now though. Was looking foward to his reply but is good to see he has you to back him up. Whats Sherrin's # or email?

We had our vote count on Sunday with Grant Wearne & Ozzie Myers (40 votes) joint B&F winners for 2008, Gilly next on 23, Drew James (22), John Taylor & Mitch Collier (21). Willie Price (43) won the ressies, from Daniel Scattolin/Adam Bright (23), then Jamie Hetherton, Nathan Simpson and Sean Duggan (19).

Netball winners were Ebony Heers (A's), Brooke Fletcher (A-res), Rachael Bennett (B's) and Rhonwyn Horsburgh (C's) - capped off a fair weekend with around 160 at Saturday nights $1000 draw.

On another note It's good to see the HDFL bring back the rookie/rising star award, with no rep footy is it time they possibly introduced a team of the year? A lot of comps do it, with the 21-22 players presented with a plaque or certificate at presentation doo's, perhaps even a HDFL jumper to recognise the honour.

Just a thought???

Oh yeah and we're still waiting for pharoahs repsonse to RTZS :eek:

We had our vote count on Sunday with Grant Wearne & Ozzie Myers (40 votes) joint B&F winners for 2008, Gilly next on 23, Drew James (22), John Taylor & Mitch Collier (21). Willie Price (43) won the ressies, from Daniel Scattolin/Adam Bright (23), then Jamie Hetherton, Nathan Simpson and Sean Duggan (19).

Netball winners were Ebony Heers (A's), Brooke Fletcher (A-res), Rachael Bennett (B's) and Rhonwyn Horsburgh (C's) - capped off a fair weekend with around 160 at Saturday nights $1000 draw.

On another note It's good to see the HDFL bring back the rookie/rising star award, with no rep footy is it time they possibly introduced a team of the year? A lot of comps do it, with the 21-22 players presented with a plaque or certificate at presentation doo's, perhaps even a HDFL jumper to recognise the honour.

Just a thought???

Oh yeah and we're still waiting for pharoahs repsonse to RTZS :eek:

I'd be interested to know where pharoahs is from? Seems to think he knows a fair bit bout Heathcote, the coach, how much people are being paid and the feelings of the players..