• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Heathcote DFL part 2

Went as well as expected I spose mate, had 60 interested Broadford people present, obviously the poor timing meant our netballers couldn't attend, and the RDFL sent 5 delegates over.

RDFL sold some good things, was some good questions, and I think what was set out was achieved - and that was gathering information as until this point not much had been afforded to our members or more importantly life members.

Again it seemed obvious the over riding thing is thirds footy and we need to give ourselves every chance at a future. AGM has been set for Sept 24th, guess we will know more after that

Geez, sounds like he might be from Broadford as that fit's out demographic :D

Sounds good Doona,and by the way did the HDFL attend your meeting:thumbsu:

There would be a fair few blokes that fall into that category RWB

Ill put my hand up for being in that catergory, not sure if any can top my achievments but, he has kicked 28 in 3 games against me!!!!:thumbsdown: dont remember a hands in the back. Just get confused by all the red nuts in that forward line!

Sounds good Doona,and by the way did the HDFL attend your meeting:thumbsu:

No, but not thru their own devices - Im told they asked if they could come but our president basically said no. Personally it woulda helped the discussion having two sides to this argument :confused:

Word has it that Millard is no certain starter for the big one tomorrow, even though he has been named. Apparently Travaglia and Hancock are on standby - can anyone confirm this ?

dont post a word bond.the saints boys will find you:eek:

I will though

Grand Final: (Winner of 2nd Semi final v. Winner of Preliminary final)
» Heathcote 3.2 8.4 9.6 12.11 (83) v » Colbinabbin 3.1 4.3 9.8 16.9 (105) Trickey's Diesel Oval-Huntly 2.15pm

Goals
Colbinabbin Linton Jacobs 3, Brent Millar 3, Nick Knight 2, Shaun Makepeace 2, Samieuela Fotu 2, Lucas Hill 1, Samuel Hill 1, Nick Pacher 1, Christopher Ryan 1
Heathcote Matthew Waters 6, Josh Shaw 3, Luke Carroll 1, Lech Featherstone 1, Michael Ring 1
Best
Colbinabbin Ben Johnston, Patrick O'brien, Samuel Vale, Samuel Mcrae, Timothy Hill, Lucas Hill
Heathcote Luke Bell, Josh Shaw, Daniel Carroll, Lech Featherstone, David Thompson, Michael Ring

A game of two halves. Heathcote had Colbo's measure in the first going in around 4 goals up, but Colbo really clicked in the third quarter and made some good changes that worked. Colbo kicked 12 goals to 4 in the second half and got up by 22 points.

I thought Sam Vale should have got best on, but doubt he will care - the Colbo boys will be lucky to remember they won by 10pm tonight....

dont post a word bond.the saints boys will find you:eek:

Ha ha ha, actually expected Bond on here by now. Contrasting halves of footy today - congrats to Funky Millar and his boys on their win. When the game was there to be won the Hoppers grabbed the contest by the throat. Think they were 25-26 points down at the half, but then booted 12 goals to 4 to get the job done. Saints had their chances in the last term, a couple of dropped marks within range, 3-4 sprayed shots on goal, but again Colbo too good and deserved 2008 HDFL premiers :thumbsu:

Good weather, crowd seemed good size, and hats off the the Huntly FNC who seemed to have it all under control. One gripe though - was it just me or was the scoreboard out of whack most of the 2nd half? I battled to get me head around the actual score at times.

Colbinabbin 16.9 (105) def. Heathcote 12.11 (83)

Colbinabbin:- Linton Jacobs 3, Brent Millar 3, Nick Knight 2, Shaun Makepeace 2, Samieuela Fotu 2, Lucas Hill 1, Samuel Hill 1, Nick Pacher 1, Christopher Ryan 1
Best:- Ben Johnston, Patrick O'brien, Samuel Vale, Samuel Mcrae, Timothy Hill, Lucas Hill

Heathcote:- Matthew Waters 6, Josh Shaw 3, Luke Carroll 1, Lech Featherstone 1, Michael Ring 1
Best:-Luke Bell, Josh Shaw, Daniel Carroll, Lech Featherstone, David Thompson, Michael Ring

Mounts got over the line in the two's, LBU 100 odd point victors in the 3's.

Ha ha ha, actually expected Bond on here by now. Contrasting halves of footy today - congrats to Funky Millar and his boys on their win. When the game was there to be won the Hoppers grabbed the contest by the throat. Think they were 25-26 points down at the half, but then booted 12 goals to 4 to get the job done. Saints had their chances in the last term, a couple of dropped marks within range, 3-4 sprayed shots on goal, but again Colbo too good and deserved 2008 HDFL premiers :thumbsu:

Good weather, crowd seemed good size, and hats off the the Huntly FNC who seemed to have it all under control. One gripe though - was it just me or was the scoreboard out of whack most of the 2nd half? I battled to get me head around the actual score at times.

Colbinabbin 16.9 (105) def. Heathcote 12.11 (83)

Colbinabbin:- Linton Jacobs 3, Brent Millar 3, Nick Knight 2, Shaun Makepeace 2, Samieuela Fotu 2, Lucas Hill 1, Samuel Hill 1, Nick Pacher 1, Christopher Ryan 1
Best:- Ben Johnston, Patrick O'brien, Samuel Vale, Samuel Mcrae, Timothy Hill, Lucas Hill

Heathcote:- Matthew Waters 6, Josh Shaw 3, Luke Carroll 1, Lech Featherstone 1, Michael Ring 1
Best:-Luke Bell, Josh Shaw, Daniel Carroll, Lech Featherstone, David Thompson, Michael Ring

Mounts got over the line in the two's, LBU 100 odd point victors in the 3's.

Colbinabbin far too good in the second half. Heathcote would be shattered after that, they would have thought that Colbo was gone at half time. Featherstone is a gun. Will be interested to see if Heathcote retains the playing group after the loss. Not far away, but not good enough today.

great first half.went missing in the second along with waters.mcrae was good but how cheezle johnston did not win bog is amazing.same guys picking it might have been running the scoreboard doona.:confused:

So who got the umpires BOG?

Well done colbo, the most well drilled team i have played against..............

Thoroughly deserved premiers..............

So who got the umpires BOG?

Well done colbo, the most well drilled team i have played against..............

Thoroughly deserved premiers..............

Down in Waranga, nestled in amongst the trees,
there is a town that is beautiful to see
and from that town there comes a team of champions
who play the game magnificently
Up there Colbo, up there colbo, up there colbo you'll do me
for where brave an where bold for the grand old green and gold
up there colbo you'll do me.
Out came heathcote dressed up in the S&%@ they wear
out came colbo 1, 2,3
Whos that bloody champion youve got in your forward line
we'll do him over very smartly
Up there Colbo, up there colbo, up there colbo you'll do me
for where brave and where bold for the grand old green and gold
Up there COLBO you'll do me!

Well done to Colbo yesterday. It appears the Elmore win last year was just another blip in the Colbinabbin/ Mount Pleasant dominance of the league over the past 20-odd years.
An interesting fact that since 1990, either Mounts or Colbo have participated in every senior Grand Final, with Mounts winning 9 (from 12 attempts) & Colbo winning 7 (from 9). The only other wins were by Heathcote in '92 (def. Mounts by 40pts), Broadford in '96 (def. Mounts by 5 pts) & Elmore last year (def. Colbo by 99 pts). However in that time Mounts & Colbo have only faced off twice ('99 & '00 for 1 win apiece). Is there any other league around that has been so 2-team dominated over the last 20 years?

As an interesting side point, in the same period of time, Mt. Pleasant have won 9 reserves flags (from 11) & Colbo 1 (from 3) & not once have they played off against each other. So the two clubs have been involved in 14 of the past 19 reserves Grannies also.

There's bound to be arguments now as to whether the Saints picked the right 22 for the GF - perhaps that man Skeeta (page 9) in the Yabba should have gota run!!!

Well done to Colbo yesterday. It appears the Elmore win last year was just another blip in the Colbinabbin/ Mount Pleasant dominance of the league over the past 20-odd years.
An interesting fact that since 1990, either Mounts or Colbo have participated in every senior Grand Final, with Mounts winning 9 (from 12 attempts) & Colbo winning 7 (from 9). The only other wins were by Heathcote in '92 (def. Mounts by 40pts), Broadford in '96 (def. Mounts by 5 pts) & Elmore last year (def. Colbo by 99 pts). However in that time Mounts & Colbo have only faced off twice ('99 & '00 for 1 win apiece). Is there any other league around that has been so 2-team dominated over the last 20 years?

As an interesting side point, in the same period of time, Mt. Pleasant have won 9 reserves flags (from 11) & Colbo 1 (from 3) & not once have they played off against each other. So the two clubs have been involved in 14 of the past 19 reserves Grannies also.

Yeah kinda makes you wonder why we even bother hey ;)

Bad luck to HJ32 and Kano, the boys were gallant - and congrats to Roota on his medal in his first ever GF appearance I believe :thumbsu:

There's bound to be arguments now as to whether the Saints picked the right 22 for the GF

Now that it is all over was Millard on 1 leg after quarter time as he couldnt kick and ran to his left?
Also great moves at half time in regards to Pacher onto Waters and moving around the rotations of the Colbo midfield to free up runners through the centre of the ground. Colbo started to dominant the corridor which thy had not had a chance to do in the first half.
Sam Macrae good effort to win the VCFL medal as BOG.

There's bound to be arguments now as to whether the Saints picked the right 22 for the GF - perhaps that man Skeeta (page 9) in the Yabba should have gota run!!!

History has always proven that you can't carry a person through to a GF if they're not 100% fit, regardless of how good they are. Only have to look at Millard yesterday to see he was almost a cripple. My sources were right in saying that he struggled to train on Thursday night - yet Heathcote still took the punt ! Why did Heathcote overlook that fine specimen in Skeeta ? At least he would have been able to run Forest run ! If we were at the gallops Millard would have been put down after qtr time ! I reckon Travaglia was a bit stiff not to get a run.
Anyway well done to Colbo (again!). Bring on 2009....

History has always proven that you can't carry a person through to a GF if they're not 100% fit, regardless of how good they are. Only have to look at Millard yesterday to see he was almost a cripple. My sources were right in saying that he struggled to train on Thursday night - yet Heathcote still took the punt ! Why did Heathcote overlook that fine specimen in Skeeta ? At least he would have been able to run Forest run ! If we were at the gallops Millard would have been put down after qtr time ! I reckon Travaglia was a bit stiff not to get a run.
Anyway well done to Colbo (again!). Bring on 2009....

I don't want to go there saintsby12pts, I was only making fun at a down time for ya's by mentioning "Skeeta" :thumbsu:

Yeah kinda makes you wonder why we even bother hey ;)

Bad luck to HJ32 and Kano, the boys were gallant - and congrats to Roota on his medal in his first ever GF appearance I believe :thumbsu:

reckon roota owes farva and the loyal locky boys on his bog performance. mustve stood out to the umps a bit when every time he got within ten meters of the ball there were cheers of RRROOOOOOTTTTTTAAAA!!!!! good on ya mat, thanx for bringin the cup over.

at the lbu vote count right now. carl "snoop" treacy and anthony "tony" baker drew for the B&F with matt "bonsciani" 3rd.

im off to go get nude!!!!!