Heathcote District FL

Goodluck to Bakes hope he dose come back great player. All the best to the Full Backs It going to be tough one.

all backs in general id say. with irwin comin back and dalts stayin. also smythe with a good midfield feeding him will be hard to stop. all these new rules arent making it easy for backman..

Hey Brent Dude
Any update from training last night as to whether this game is going ahead and if so, will it still be at Meridian Oval?

Fantom:thumbsu:

Fanto....the game will go ahead, but wont find out until tonight where it is to be played. Apparently Harcourt are happy to play it at Meridian. I dare say alot of the Hillies boys who have been training on the ground for the best part of 2 months now would not be quite so keen. Its just to hard and dusty at present, and with the water FINALLY getting pumped onto it Monday I see no point in churning it up even more and risking any serious injuries this close to season start.

Will give you the heads up tomorrow morning mate once Walshy gives us the good word on the track tonight!

Goodluck to Bakes hope he dose come back great player. All the best to the Full Backs It going to be tough one.

I'm standing a little on the outside here, but from what I can remember around the League when I was involved more heavily was that the League was finding it hard to promote itself and move forward, attracting the better middle aged and younger players, instead of the players who were nearing the end of the careers. Not allowing a player who has kicked over 100 goals in this competition and other major leagues seems to me that the executive are holding the league back. Remember its the year 2007, not 1907 when matches were played on the farmers paddocks between neighbouring towns.

In addition I have spoke with Doona and have been asked for my opinion on some instances through the pre-season. I know that he is shattered by the stance and takes the attitude of the HDFL as personal against him and the club. In the six months since his appointment and with the help of the committee they have turned it into a positive place to be. Bakes had a lengthy meeting with Doona and members of the committee last week before signing a clearance/registration and had agreed to a one strike and he was out policy, and that strike did not necessarily have to involve anything on the field, and he was prepared to sign a contract with the club to agree to these terms.

I believe that the League are questioning the reputation and credibility of doona as a bloke and have indeed made this a personal attack.

Should Adrian had applied to play with a different club in the League such as a Mounts, Colbo, Elmore, or White Hills whether they wiould have taken such a firm stance?:confused:

let the boy play i say. he is as entertaining as anyone i have seen play the game. with a improved broady side, i'd say he could notch a hundred quite comfortably. if the league dont want blokes like him playing, i say we might aswell jump into the lycra body suits and play netball, sounds like there trying there hardest to make it like that.

doona, anything of intereest come out of the meeting last night

Maybe the league and Broady committee should get together so they can discuss all underlying issues with Baker.
Surely a common sense solution could rise from that rather than just knocking back his rego/clearance form (have they knocked it back?)

I know that he is shattered by the stance and takes the attitude of the HDFL as personal against him and the club. In the six months since his appointment and with the help of the committee they have turned it into a positive place to be. Bakes had a lengthy meeting with Doona and members of the committee last week before signing a clearance/registration and had agreed to a one strike and he was out policy, and that strike did not necessarily have to involve anything on the field, and he was prepared to sign a contract with the club to agree to these terms.

I believe that the League are questioning the reputation and credibility of doona as a bloke and have indeed made this a personal attack.

Should Adrian had applied to play with a different club in the League such as a Mounts, Colbo, Elmore, or White Hills whether they wiould have taken such a firm stance?:confused:

I would hardly think it has anything to do with Doona as a bloke at all. That is crap. I am sure, and we have read it here, that Doona is a good bloke, and has made massive headroads into the psyche at Broadford, but I don't see why Baker should be allowed to play in a league, where he has received major suspensions before.

Sure, he is a few years older, and has signed a one strike and he is out of the club contract, but what happens if something doesn't go his way, and that strike ends a bloke's career. Leopards rarely change their spots. He has had a couple of chances in the HDFL and blown them.

It probably has to do with club stigma's too and they are hard to break. For example on this site:

Broadford - thugs
Mounts - up themselves
Elmore - chokers
Huntly - crap/easy money
North - thugs/crap
Locky - chokers
Colbo - prettyboys
Heathcote - never quite good enough
White Hills - try to buy premierships

I don't agree with a few of these, but that is what comes across in general.

So I would think it is partly to do with Baker being not wanted in the league, and that the league don't want Broadford to keep the stigma attached to them, that would certainly return to the club, with the return of Baker.

Maybe the league and Broady committee should get together so they can discuss all underlying issues with Baker.
Surely a common sense solution could rise from that rather than just knocking back his rego/clearance form (have they knocked it back?)

Baker has brouyght this on himself. well done to the league for showing strength and not letting him in. He is an idiot on a good day. Does not reflect on doona but on baker himself...he should have learnt his lesson and changed his attitude after each report. He thought he was bigger than that. Everyone talks about how the league is getting strength and respectability about it, well it is because we keep the rubbish out of it. Look after the young up and comers. HOw quick you all forget!

Broadford - thugs
Mounts - up themselves
Elmore - chokers
Huntly - crap/easy money
North - thugs/crap
Locky - chokers
Colbo - prettyboys
Heathcote - never quite good enough
White Hills - try to buy premierships

Don't have Mounts have every right to be up themselves having repeatedly taken home the bacon? Also, I think you should add easy money onto Elmore's list. That's all I've heard about them on this site. Haven't heard much about their choking.

why is money a continual issue on this site. are we that naive to think that every club is not spending dollars on player??? (some may say they arent)
elmore were average two years ago, they get some recruits and all of a sudden there throwing it away, lets not judge them on a year. atleast give them 4 or 5 then see what happens.

Fanto....the game will go ahead, but wont find out until tonight where it is to be played. Apparently Harcourt are happy to play it at Meridian. I dare say alot of the Hillies boys who have been training on the ground for the best part of 2 months now would not be quite so keen. Its just to hard and dusty at present, and with the water FINALLY getting pumped onto it Monday I see no point in churning it up even more and risking any serious injuries this close to season start.

Will give you the heads up tomorrow morning mate once Walshy gives us the good word on the track tonight!

Appreciate the feedback Bm General. My daughter loves the footy and was pretty disappointed when she couldn't make it to Bedrock last week to watch the game. If the Hillies do play a match this weekend and I don't find out where it is I'll be in real strife.

I would hardly think it has anything to do with Doona as a bloke at all. That is crap. I am sure, and we have read it here, that Doona is a good bloke, and has made massive headroads into the psyche at Broadford, but I don't see why Baker should be allowed to play in a league, where he has received major suspensions before.

Sure, he is a few years older, and has signed a one strike and he is out of the club contract, but what happens if something doesn't go his way, and that strike ends a bloke's career. Leopards rarely change their spots. He has had a couple of chances in the HDFL and blown them.

So I would think it is partly to do with Baker being not wanted in the league, and that the league don't want Broadford to keep the stigma attached to them, that would certainly return to the club, with the return of Baker.

This argument could on and on and on - appreciate the support of some and understand the concerns of others but lets just wait and see what Mr. Robertson and the remainder of the executive come up with. I'd be more interested to see how we are tackling our final weekend off as the Baker thing is outa my control.

We had 49 guys do their final beep tests tonight, with a few injured booked in for next week. The BFNC have their annual Swap Meet this Sunday and then we're into it from next Tuesday.

How many clubs playing games or what are your plans?

Doona, Liam Collier who played Wallan u/19's last year, will he be pushing for ones for you blokes.

We've had big numbers at training since November, and young Gagsy (Liam) has probably only done 9-10 of our 32 sessions so not early but ya never say never. Our biggest drama is getting him off the poker tables, he seems caught up in this poker phenom that is circulating thru the Mitchell Shire.

That's Liam for you, got talent the young kid just need to get him on the training track.

Good to see you guys trying to get Baker, dissapointing of the league not trying to accept him. When is your first home game, since our season has been delayed I might come have a look.

That's Liam for you, got talent the young kid just need to get him on the training track.

Good to see you guys trying to get Baker, dissapointing of the league not trying to accept him. When is your first home game, since our season has been delayed I might come have a look.

Round 1 next Satdy (28th) we play host to Huntly :thumbsu:

We had 49 guys do their final beep tests tonight, with a few injured booked in for next week. The BFNC have their annual Swap Meet this Sunday and then we're into it from next Tuesday.

Any interesting/surprising results Doona? You don't have to name names ...

Appreciate the feedback Bm General. My daughter loves the footy and was pretty disappointed when she couldn't make it to Bedrock last week to watch the game. If the Hillies do play a match this weekend and I don't find out where it is I'll be in real strife.

Fanto, game has been shifted back to next week after much discussion. Our ground obviously just not quite up to a playing standard as of yet.

why is money a continual issue on this site. are we that naive to think that every club is not spending dollars on player??? (some may say they arent)
elmore were average two years ago, they get some recruits and all of a sudden there throwing it away, lets not judge them on a year. atleast give them 4 or 5 then see what happens.

Andy, if a club wants to fork out a load of kanga, they would want a quick return on their investment. I think 4-5 years is too long to wait, especially as many high-priced recruits move on after the year ends.

Starting to wind up the recruiting period for the Regional Leagues Fantasy Footy League ... applications are drying up ... but would still love to get at least to four teams!

(69 players, 11 more to enable a fourth team!)

METRO VIC (25 players)
Diamond Valley FL (10)
1. Kickass (Div 1 / Eltham)
2. mattyr (Div 1 Bundoora)
3. Iceman27 (Div 2 / Wallan)
4. Force (Div 2 / Watsonia)
5. Bubble Wrap (Div 2 / Watsonia)
6. Giveyathemail (Div ? / Lalor)
7. Jewelsandbullet (Div ? / Montmorency)
8. Dv_Worm (Div ? / Coburg Amateurs)
9. rompermfc (Div 2 / Macleod)
10. ifyoucandodgeawrench

VFL & VAFA (Vic) (7)
1. can't mark can't kick (VAFA / D1)
2. harper (VAFA / D2 / South Melbourne Districts)
3. youngblood (VAFA / D2 / Aquinas)
4. The Tigers Nuts (VAFA / D3 / Old Westbourne)
5. the lemon wedge (Port Melbourne / VFL)
6. Joe Dirt (VAFA / A Grade)
7. FitzroyRamone (VAFA / C Grade / Fitzroy Reds)

Essendon DFL (5)
1. Subway (Essendon DFL)
2. colgate (Essendon DFL / Strathmore)
3. coreybrown (Essendon DFL)
4. litening (Essendon DFL / Airport West)
5. oldfashiondefender (Essendon DFL)

Western Region FL (3)
1. Gemini17 (WRFL Div 2)
2. Blueboy16 (WRFL Div 2)
3. thesilkmeister (Western Region FL)
x. the lemon wedge (WRFL Div 1 / Port Colts) - VFL / Port Melbourne (Bigfooty RL FFL)

WEST MELB & WEST VIC (20 players)
Riddell DFL (4)
1. billylid (Riddell DFL)
2. Itsmyshow (Riddell DFL)
3. Trublueroo (Riddell DFL)
4. Bluecrew #2 (Riddell DFL)

Western, Mallee, Wimmera (9)
1. Bakers_Patrons (North Central FL / Wycheproof-Narraport)
2. Centre Sqaure (North Central FL / Wycheproof-Narraport)
3. clifton's lookalike (Central Murray FL / Tyntynder)
4. Whispers (Geelong FL)
5. The Prawn (Millewa FL)
6. MasterOfROC (North Central FL / St Arnaud)
7. ALWHTE (Mininera & DFL)
8. theopacman (Western Border FL / Hamilton Imperials)
9. sheep dogger (Geelong FL)

Bendigo FL / Loddon Valley FL (7)
1. gerta (Loddon Valley FL)
2. A_JET8 (Bendigo FL)
3. Norfolk & Clew (Bendigo FL / Golden Square)
4. max powers. (Bendigo FL)
5. The fatman (Bendigo FL / Kyneton)
6. davis 24 (Bendigo FL / Kyneton)
7. Courageunderfire (Bendigo FL / Kyneton)
x. caveman (Bendigo FL / Kangaroo Flat) - Roys FC (Sweet FA)
x. maroon and blue (Bendigo FL / Eaglehawk) - Roys FC (Sweet FA)

EASTERN MELB, EASTERN VIC & OUTSIDE VIC (24 players)
Northern, North-Eastern, Eastern & Gippsland regions (15)
1. FOOTYBOSS (Goulburn Valley FL)
2. Johnny Tapp (Goulburn Valley FL)
3. Zippa (Goulburn Valley FL)
4. Joeyboy (Kyabram DFL)
5. VT#23 (Kyabram DFL / Violet Town)
6. sparra (Kyabram DFL)
7. The Iceman #49 (Kyabram DFL / Violet Town)
8. iwantanotherflag (Picola & DFL / Katandra)
9. Slush Puppy (Kyabram DFL)
10. Darc21 (Ovens & Murray FL / Wangaratta Rovers)
11. goodies (Ellinbank DFL)
12. Marto121 (Picola & DFL)
13. slugga (YVMDFL)
14. MadMan V1.2 (Southern FL / Div 3 / Skye)
15. More Than A Game (Tallangatta DFL)
x. Pie4Life (MPNFL) - Dragons (Sweet FA)
x. OldMav (MPNFL) - Bigfooty Bombers (Sweet FA)
x. Frankston Rover (MPNFL) - Frankston Sharks (Sweet FA)
x. diablo14 - (MPNFL) Frankston Sharks (Sweet FA)

Outside Victoria (9)
1. Bella Buffalo (South Africa)
2. cckid (Ontario AFL / Canada)
3. roorat (Northern Tasmanian FA / Deloraine)
4. bakerman (Tasmania / Southern FL / Premier / Kingborough)
5. head67 (Riverina FL)
6. morphous (Queensland)
7. SJM41 (Queensland / ? FL / Redland)
8. Injury prone (WAFL / Perth)
9. billybrownless16 (Tasmania / Southern FL / Premier / Lauderdale)
x.Ljp86 (WAFL / Subiaco) - Dragons FC (Sweet FA)

Note : Players numbered x. are players who are only available under permit. They do not count amongst the 20 players required for a team, as if they are unavailable just one week, then that team will be unable to field a full contingent. The team's for which these players are primarily registered, are listed alongside the players' names.[/QUOTE]

Andy, if a club wants to fork out a load of kanga, they would want a quick return on their investment. I think 4-5 years is too long to wait, especially as many high-priced recruits move on after the year ends.

Who are the "gun players" that are on "big money" at elmore?

lets name some names here boys?

Any interesting/surprising results Doona? You don't have to name names ...

Of the 49 odd guys I think we had 21 get beyond 14 with wo guys over 16. A few of the two fella's didnt make double figures but thats expected when they arrived 3-4 weeks ago. Just another way of looking at improvements for us, together with the training attendance records as 62 aint gunna go into 44 next weekend.