Heathcote District FL

On The Money said:
Doona was wondering if you could shed any light on weather Braody look like snaring these guys from Melb? Taylor and Co. You would think with the loss of Bruni up forward and finishing 6th that they will need to bring in 5 or 6 quality to give it a shake. Obviously Dunne is a good start.

If it's Sam and Aaron Taylor then I'd expect Sam to be a fringe senior player, will get a go but will have to work very hard to play regularly. Azza was a handy footballer before deciding to pursue a socialite career, has trimmed down excessively and I reckon if he continues to get himself fitter then he's capable of again being a handy senior defender.

T.Perry said:
There has been a lot of talk that he is planning on going back to Lancaster, but on their website it shows that he has not been cleared to play there, or even put in a clearance to play there..

I thought it was a given that he would be lining up in the KDL, but maybe he does plan on staying with Locky..?

Mitch has not been at LBU training, I am pretty sure he is heading back to play with his mate Coach Carver, unfortunately.

Doona2 said:
Dunno much about who they've got in the way of recruits to be honest. Where does this Taylor & co. come from? There have been some youngish faces, assuming from Craigieburn where the coach (Peter Brown) is from at training but as to names and their ability dunno

I know Daniel Fletcher is flying, as is Dunney, Rowbotham, Mick Edwards & Nick Redenbach. Havent sighted '05 B&F and sole ruckman Bernie Hourigan on the track, full back Glenn Cooper was talking retirement and I think fellow defender Duane Bruni is leaving. Matt Finch and Eddie Neilson have applied for clearances back from Yea. Lawrie Angwin is playing Im told but the nights Ive snuck a peek he hasnt trained

I do think they'll need a bit more firepower across H/B and thru the middle to get it down to Dunney if they're to give it a shake as you suggest. Practice game snext 2 Satdy's which just might give Brown an insight into what shopping still needs to be done

Thanks Doona, I had heard from a source close to the club that were down the line with possible recruits from Melb one being Taylor think he name is Sam.

White Hills made a mess of Marong yesterday at Scott St about 22 goals to 7. Edwards was on fire while the Angove brothers had a tone of the ball. They also had a big lump in the ruck that gave them first use of the hit outs. Good signs for the Demons. Can anyone else give us a rap up of practice matches. Think Broadford might have had one, Think Locky touched Serpentine up but im un aware of much of the details.

On The Money said:
White Hills made a mess of Marong yesterday at Scott St about 22 goals to 7. Edwards was on fire while the Angove brothers had a tone of the ball. They also had a big lump in the ruck that gave them first use of the hit outs. Good signs for the Demons. Can anyone else give us a rap up of practice matches. Think Broadford might have had one, Think Locky touched Serpentine up but im un aware of much of the details.

Elmore played serp and gave them a 100pt floggin, locky play calival and won by a couple of goals

On The Money said:
Can anyone else give us a rap up of practice matches. Think Broadford might have had one, Think Locky touched Serpentine up but im un aware of much of the details.

I believe the Roos had a 6 quarter job over at Romsey & were up by 3-4 goals after 3 terms. Scores were then wiped for the senior lists with Romsey winning by about 8 goals. Not sure who Broady had out, Dunney booted 3-4 but Daniel Fletcher and Alwin Neilson never played.

Was pleased to hear that one of the '96 boys in Stuie Denness performed quite well in the earlier game and that his comeback (and body) appears on track. Stuie has had a terrible run the past 6-7 years with very bad injuries & operations - fingers crossed he can re-invent himself as a senior player as his former team mates celebrate their 10-year flag reunion.

Think Heathcote mightve played Lancefield . . . .

Doona2 said:
I believe the Roos had a 6 quarter job over at Romsey & were up by 3-4 goals after 3 terms. Scores were then wiped for the senior lists with Romsey winning by about 8 goals. Not sure who Broady had out, Dunney booted 3-4 but Daniel Fletcher and Alwin Neilson never played.

Was pleased to hear that one of the '96 boys in Stuie Denness performed quite well in the earlier game and that his comeback (and body) appears on track. Stuie has had a terrible run the past 6-7 years with very bad injuries & operations - fingers crossed he can re-invent himself as a senior player as his former team mates celebrate their 10-year flag reunion.

Think Heathcote mightve played Lancefield . . . .

went and watched the heathcote/lancefield game and the saints looked good with a few to come back including big waters. prob won by about 12 goals.

heard too that romsey had about 5 good senior players out but still outclassed the roos by about 8 goals in the senior match with dunne prob being broadfords best. i heard romsey's best was Al Meldrum who heathcote apparently just missed out on signing in the off season

who's playing who in praccy games this weekend?
i hear w.hills might be playing north bendigo.
apparently new elmore high priced recruit dave favleki carved serp up last week.

nesko_25 said:
Elmore played serp and gave them a 100pt floggin, locky play calival and won by a couple of goals

any further details mate, recruits performances??? Who have the bloods got this week?

Not sure if this has been posted yet, but Troy Mitchell has put in for a clearance to play at Lancaster..like most people presumed.

HJ32 - how are Colbo travelling and how is Locky going? What are your predictions for how the senior side will go this year?

HJ32 said:
Colbo play wedderburn this sunday at Wedderburn in a 6 quarter match

Whatever happened to this Winsell character, I take it he aint heading to Hopperville anymore HJ32?

I've hardly been around in recent weeks TP, due to cricket commitments and travelling with work. From what i've seen thus far, the numbers at pre-season training have been the best I have seen in my 7 seasons at the club, and all the young blokes are keen as mustard to get some experience at playing senior footy. Most people are probably seeing the names heading to Colbo and are expecting the side to be right up there again, however I'm taking a more conservative approach and tipping that we will improve marginally on last year without predicting finals action just yet... we were 20 goals behind mounts, Hillies and locky last year, so there's a fair bit of work to be done. Throw an improving Heathcote, Huntly and Elmore into the mix and each week is going to be tough. Trips to Broady and North are always tough assignments no matter where they are on the ladder.

will be a crack HDFL Season

I haven't heard much on the Winsall thing Doona in the past few weeks. I think he's getting fair pressure from his home club to stay.

Will let you know in the next week or two

HJ32 said:
I haven't heard much on the Winsall thing Doona in the past few weeks. I think he's getting fair pressure from his home club to stay.

Will let you know in the next week or two

What about Slate's any chance of him returning?

Slater is well settled in Wodonga (just bought a place up there) and is coaching the Wodonga Bulldogs Reserves. He's taking over from the Lion King of Seymour in Chris "the beast" Martin, however Marto will be his right hand man....

Azza was a handy footballer before deciding to pursue a socialite career, has trimmed down excessively and I reckon if he continues to get himself fitter then he's capable of again being a handy senior defender.[/quote]

All true Doona2, but I think it would be a little narrow minded to mention only his work down back. If my memeroy serves me correctly he was a utility with quite a bit of toe and flair.

blackbeard said:
Azza was a handy footballer before deciding to pursue a socialite career, has trimmed down excessively and I reckon if he continues to get himself fitter then he's capable of again being a handy senior defender

All true Doona2, but I think it would be a little narrow minded to mention only his work down back. If my memeroy serves me correctly he was a utility with quite a bit of toe and flair.

You gotta be a Broady boy blackbeard or someone close to us!!! The big sphintker was a handy utility yes, toe is questionable (you must mean toey) and well flair I dunno about that either . . . . as a good mate of Azza Im just rapt to see him giving it another crack before he gets too old like me and spews he never played footy

How did Colbo fare up at Wedderburn and what happened at the Mounts v Lancaster clash?

Wedderburn 18-16 to Colbo's 13-10

both sides happy to get the first game out of the way

impressive for Colbo was Lock, Vale, Ladd, and Hughes

Impressive for Wedderburn was Hutton, DeAraugo, Connors and little snowey headed fella in the middle

HJ32 said:
Wedderburn 18-16 to Colbo's 13-10

both sides happy to get the first game out of the way

impressive for Colbo was Lock, Vale, Ladd, and Hughes

Impressive for Wedderburn was Hutton, DeAraugo, Connors and little snowey headed fella in the middle

Vale is only a young fella 15 I think is he likley to play all season in the seniors?.

How did Broadford go on the weekend at Mernda? It would be good to see the roos recapture a bit of touch this year after the clean out that seems to have taken place over the last few seasons.