Heathcote District FL

Brentmeister or any White Hills people (you too Hillbully). How was Poopsie's and Spicka's Testimonial night?

Yeah couldn't let Saturday's Addy article about two of the HDFL's ripper blokes go unsighted.

Honours loyal brothers
09 June 2007

THE White Hills Football Club will tonight pay tribute to two of its favourite sons - Dave and Brad McConnell.

The brothers will play their 200th senior games for the club this season.

To honour their service to the club, White Hills is staging a testimonial for the duo following today's home game against Lockington-Bamawm United.

Dave and Brad have been integral members of the club - on and off the field - since their junior days.

Dave, a former coach of the under-17s and reserves, will play his 200th senior game next Saturday against Heathcote.

Brad is set to reach the milestone against North Bendigo on July 28.

The Demons have lacked on-field success, but the brothers have stuck by White Hills, despite the lure of joining more successful clubs.

"From 1995 to '97 we were on the bottom of the ladder and we were getting flogged every week," Dave said. "We were only getting 10 blokes to training.
It was hard at times, but there's more to it than just winning and losing."

"I met my wife (Zenda) at this club and I've made so many good mates as well. It's a great club to be a part of."

Finals appearances in the Heathcote District Football League have been rare for the Demons in the past 15 years, but the 2004 finals series will be one the brothers will always remember.

"2004 was the career highlight and lowlight for me," Brad said.

"Winning the second semi-final and knowing we were in a grand final was great, but losing the grand final (to Colbinabbin) was very disappointing."

As for tonight, the modest duo are unsure what to expect.

"I'm a bit humbled by it, to be honest," Brad said of the testimonial.

"I haven't heard of many testimonials for country footballers ... I'm very honoured that the club has decided to do this for us.

"We're not sure how the night's going to work, but being a White Hills function it won't matter if there's 20 people or 200 people, it will be a great
night," Dave added.

Brentmeister or any White Hills people (you too Hillbully). How was Poopsie's and Spicka's Testimonial night?

Yes, great night to follow on after a great day mate. Looking forward to the hit out with you blokes this week. Do you think that the Big Ump will be there to pass on a few of his special comments. He must have been able to play in his day!!:confused:

Thank's Hill Bully I will never write a bad word about u . Even with everythink i have heard about u and yes i will be there with bell's on. It should be a great game very inportent game for both side's and if u have got a spare half hour on saturday i will give u a run down on my football career then again it might take an hour.And i have some really very special comments for the game on saturday :thumbsu:

to the bloke farva was talking shit 2 in the cri yesty... stop sitting on the fence and have a crack. u know who u are. that tip placed last night. cant remember collecting though. expecting a reply soon big fella.

anyway, dont know what happened to locky on the weekend. being 5goals up at half time and losing by 8 is rather frustrating. i didnt think we were unfit but maybe we are as it seems to be the trend all year,losing it in the last qtr. jimmy angove played a great game for the hills. i didnt think anyone really stood out for the cats. the axe in the 1st half was good. liam"dick and ribs" main went down in the first minute. fractured tibia, the injury run continues for the cats.

was a good night had by all down at the clubrooms for spicka and poops. plenty in attendance to hear a few stories and share a few beers with the two fella. was a ripper night with the last few leaving the rooms at around 3.30 in the wee hours apparently.

Doon, I thought your young ruckman, Wearne was very good on the weekend. How old is he? As was dipper. He seems to find more space than the apollo 13 and is quite elusive for a big bloke. I thought the decision to play dunne down back was interesting as i don't think he hurt us as much as other times when he plays in the guts or up forward..

The comp at this stage seems to be very even and if you don't turn up on saturday you're a chance to be beaten by any other side. Some good games coming up in the next few weeks also. :thumbsu:

Doon, I thought your young ruckman, Wearne was very good on the weekend. How old is he? As was dipper. He seems to find more space than the apollo 13 and is quite elusive for a big bloke. I thought the decision to play dunne down back was interesting as i don't think he hurt us as much as other times when he plays in the guts or up forward.

Hadn't seen a lot of Wearney b4 this season but have been rapt in his progress and his ability to play out of his weight division in the ruck.

Dunney missed 4 rounds due to suspension and was crook last week so thought it was best to leave him out of the guts for as long as possible as he still running into match fitness - but he managed to sneak in there with 10-15 minutes to go of the last term.

I take it thats a rap for us you saying we won without Dunney having an influence, if so I say thanks :thumbsu:

Thank's Hill Bully I will never write a bad word about u . Even with everythink i have heard about u and yes i will be there with bell's on. It should be a great game very inportent game for both side's and if u have got a spare half hour on saturday i will give u a run down on my football career then again it might take an hour.And i have some really very special comments for the game on saturday :thumbsu:

I'd be happy to have a beer with you where will i find you and is that block head RWB gunna be there. You two would be a bit like the two old blokes that have the special comments on the Muppets. Statler and Warldorf!!:thumbsu:

Sav day rumours again. Andy Grant tried to hit Fev and Jay Spizzica. It could spell trouble for bloods.

Liam Main fractured leg for the cats. Dunno why Roo Byrne didnt play, Jarrad Baldy has been playing with broken ribs.

HJ, what happened to the gathering at the QEO yesti. I was going to come and have a chat to you after the game but you left.

sorry mate.

Super hangover after monsterous golf day on Sunday, couldnt fit a gas in:eek:. I left with about 5-10mins to go in the last quarter as it was freezing cold. I spent a fair bit of time catching up with Poops McConnell.

I'd be happy to have a beer with you where will i find you and is that block head RWB gunna be there. You two would be a bit like the two old blokes that have the special comments on the Muppets. Statler and Warldorf!!:thumbsu:

Heard that comment somewhere before about the Muppets.Anyway can you give me your tip for the game or is it to early in the week for u to stick your neck out.I think RWB has got a thumb print on the top of his head . My tip is Heathcote by 3 goals if they have a full side u know if they lose this game they will be looking down the barrel to stay in the 5 going into the secound half of the season:thumbsu:

Ever heard of spell check Ump? Or even a dictionary? There is no thumb print my good friend, somebody has to keep the country safe. You are a bit negative on the Saints there my friend as they are absolute morals to play finals footy, more so if they win the last two games of the round. Would have been nice to knock off Broady as that would have really set the season up but as Danny Frawley says, it's no use looking in the rear view mirror!

That's great you simpleton, putting the great RWB on the blockhead. Have you been brave enough to reveal your identity to all your White Hills 'mates' yet. Just letting you know, won't be there at the footy, refuse to go anywhere you are. Saints by 5 goals.

Ever heard of spell check Ump? Or even a dictionary? There is no thumb print my good friend, somebody has to keep the country safe. You are a bit negative on the Saints there my friend as they are absolute morals to play finals footy, more so if they win the last two games of the round. Would have been nice to knock off Broady as that would have really set the season up but as Danny Frawley says, it's no use looking in the rear view mirror!

Morals!!!

It's great bigfooty, u only have to throw out a little line and u get a big fish.I would have liked to catch somethink a bit closer to Heathcote:thumbsu:

I was backing up the RWB not jumping on the hook. aA me old mate spudda said at work today they wont play that bad again this year the Saints, certs to play finals!!!

You are speaking jibberish again. Where will Featherstone be playing this week, with us or the Pios?

If he is with the Pio's I hope he keeps that fist in the holster if he bags a goal, loves to give the old fist pump in the oppositions face dont he??? Would that b frowned upon in the TAC Cup?

I was backing up the RWB not jumping on the hook. aA me old mate spudda said at work today they wont play that bad again this year the Saints, certs to play finals!!!

I did not say they would not play final's, i said they could be looking down the barrel of being out of the 5 going into the secound round if they lose on Saterday. And by the way is spud still licking the mint leaves to make the sugar stick on. Sorry about the spelling i have had a big VB day:thumbsu:

Youthful enthusiasm, not enough of it anymore.:thumbsu:

Fair enough, I actually had a word to one of my young lads for clapping Juddy when he dropped a mark and it spilt to the boundary, a lot can happen in a game of footy a season or a career just dont like seeing things that may bite u on the bum I spose

Sav day rumours again. Andy Grant tried to hit Fev and Jay Spizzica. It could spell trouble for bloods.

Liam Main fractured leg for the cats. Dunno why Roo Byrne didnt play, Jarrad Baldy has been playing with broken ribs.

Heard today from a reliable source that fev has a broken nose thanks to one A Grant, Can you confirm this Bloodhound?

Sounds like bluey has the boys firing but june is a little early for the bloods to self distruct, they usually do it around september.