Herald Sun SuperCoach 2008: Part 2

MY TEAM WITH A RECORD OF 0-3 - it's really annoying me

BACKS: CORNES, H.SHAW, S.FISHER, KENNELLY, MATTNER, BRADSHAW, N.BROWN (S.THOMPSON & PROUD)
MIDFIELD: GOODWIN, KORNES, COONEY, PRIDDIS, MITCHELL, STEVENS (PALMER, BIRD)
RUCKS: COX, SIMMONDS (KRUZER, LEUNBERGER)
FORWARDS: RIEWOLDT, PAVLICH, FEVOLA, RIOLI, B.JOHNSON, N.THOMPSON, GAMBLE (DEW, REID)

I don't know why I can't get a decent score!! :confused::confused: Admittingly I just brought Mitchell and Pavlich in ie for Round 7. Any hints, it's frustrating!!

Next week, might downgrade Leuenberger and free some cash to get Chapman and J.Brown for N.Thompson and Gamble (and if there is any left upgrade Stevens to maybe Dal Santo)

I need to make the finals as I'm the reigning premier:thumbsu::thumbsu:

EDIT - yes, Dew, Priddis and now Cornes have been injured (and I had Hall and Lucas before too LOL)...sorry about babblering on..LOL

I don't think there is anything wrong with my team, except no Judd, Bartel and Ablett. Feedback would be appreciated.

These are the 'guns' i picked from the start and their price change:

H.Shaw - $18,000
D.Milburn - $83,600
L.Gilbee - $100,100
C.Newman - $70,100
N.Dal Santo - $96,100
D.Cox - $32,000
N.Riewoldt - $89,300
J.Brown - $147,200
B.Johnson - $183,100

And the guns that have been good

M.Mattner + $100,100
L.Hayes + $4,500
D.Bradshaw + $233,400

Although i wasn't planning on Mattner and Bradshaw being guns so it's only really Hayes. So basically my guns are currently sucking and still going down in price. Anyone else having this problem. Forwards in particular have been very hard to pick,most teams would have cox plus he has played well anyway, and elite backs have also been troublesome.

I've had a reasonable run. Pav and Roo have dropped, however I can't complain considering BJ, Browny and Chappy. Hayes and Cross have served me well from the start.

Hurting a little in the backline with Milburn, Gilbee and Bowden.. but as Benny would say.. such is life. :eek:

If Browny and Chappy show me something they're both coming in next week.

Fingers crossed Bowden finally gets a gig this week and rips it up.

Shaw -18000
Cornes -37300
Milburn -28100
Jones -16100
Waters -99100
Stanton - 18300
Cox -32000
Gilmore :( -67000
Pav -84200
SJ -75300
Lynch -108400

d'oh! definitely could have picked better at the start of the year. :)
btw nice enhancements to TOO SERIOUS site..you gave me a shock when it popped up.

Good work

Is Dean Cox confirmed out again?

Or will he play?

AFL WEBSITE -

THE WEST Coast Eagles have confirmed that Shannon Hurn has a fractured fibula and will miss at least a month of football.
With gun midfielder Matt Priddis still on the sidelines indefinitely with a groin problem, Mark LeCras similarly afflicted and star swingman Adam Hunter having scans on his left knee - combined with a losing streak that's now reached five matches - losing another experienced body is something West Coast can ill-afford.
Hurn injured the leg when fellow defender Brett Jones crashed into it early in Saturday's clash with the Western Bulldogs, and assistant coach Peter Sumich confirmed the loss on Monday, although he also had some brighter news for the West Coast faithful.
"It's a fracture of the fibula, so out for probably four to six [weeks]," Sumich said.
"It's only a small fracture, they're saying.
"[Dean] Cox looks OK, he'll be fine at this stage.
"[David Wirrpanda] Wirra's OK. Initial thoughts were he'd done a calf, but with Wirra's magic powers, he came back on five minutes later. That's the message we got in the box – he'd done a calf – but he's fine."

AFL WEBSITE -

THE WEST Coast Eagles have confirmed that Shannon Hurn has a fractured fibula and will miss at least a month of football.
With gun midfielder Matt Priddis still on the sidelines indefinitely with a groin problem, Mark LeCras similarly afflicted and star swingman Adam Hunter having scans on his left knee - combined with a losing streak that's now reached five matches - losing another experienced body is something West Coast can ill-afford.
Hurn injured the leg when fellow defender Brett Jones crashed into it early in Saturday's clash with the Western Bulldogs, and assistant coach Peter Sumich confirmed the loss on Monday, although he also had some brighter news for the West Coast faithful.
"It's a fracture of the fibula, so out for probably four to six [weeks]," Sumich said.
"It's only a small fracture, they're saying.
"[Dean] Cox looks OK, he'll be fine at this stage.
"[David Wirrpanda] Wirra's OK. Initial thoughts were he'd done a calf, but with Wirra's magic powers, he came back on five minutes later. That's the message we got in the box – he'd done a calf – but he's fine."

When is Priddis (and Dew) back? I'm been waiting for that guy to come back for yonks. If they don't come back...by the break.. Ablett and Bartel here I come. Originally they said Priddis is out for 3 weeks..LOL yeh right

MY TEAM WITH A RECORD OF 0-3 - it's really annoying me

BACKS: CORNES, H.SHAW, S.FISHER, KENNELLY, MATTNER, BRADSHAW, N.BROWN (S.THOMPSON & PROUD)
MIDFIELD: GOODWIN, KORNES, COONEY, PRIDDIS, MITCHELL, STEVENS (PALMER, BIRD)
RUCKS: COX, SIMMONDS (KRUZER, LEUNBERGER)
FORWARDS: RIEWOLDT, PAVLICH, FEVOLA, RIOLI, B.JOHNSON, N.THOMPSON, GAMBLE (DEW, REID)

I don't know why I can't get a decent score!! :confused::confused: Admittingly I just brought Mitchell and Pavlich in ie for Round 7. Any hints, it's frustrating!!

Next week, might downgrade Leuenberger and free some cash to get Chapman and J.Brown for N.Thompson and Gamble (and if there is any left upgrade Stevens to maybe Dal Santo)

I need to make the finals as I'm the reigning premier:thumbsu::thumbsu:

EDIT - yes, Dew, Priddis and now Cornes have been injured (and I had Hall and Lucas before too LOL)...sorry about babblering on..LOL

I don't think there is anything wrong with my team, except no Judd, Bartel and Ablett. Feedback would be appreciated.

You have a great team there dude, way better than mine. I can't understand why you are 0-3 either. Hang in there though cause I just won my first game last week and have a guaranteed win against the bottom team this week! The tide can change quickly! :D

Bad guns:

A.Goodes - $9,300
H.Shaw - $18,000
B.Stanton - $18,300
D.Cox - $32,000
D.Milburn - $83,600
M.Pavlich - $84,200
L.Gilbee - $100,100
(in at round 3, when valued at peak)
J.Brown - $147,200

Good guns:

L.Hayes + $4,500
G.Johncock + $23,900
A.Cooney + $29,600
B.Deledio + $32,200
J.Waite + $42,600 (Not a gun yet, but getting close)
D.Bradshaw + $233,400
C.Rioli + $292,400 (if you're average 98 you're a gun if you ask me)

The ones in bold hurt the most, especially considering they're big guns, guys who should be averaging over 110. Everyone else is either doing ok or can quickly get back to average with a couple of good games.

You have a great team there dude, way better than mine. I can't understand why you are 0-3 either. Hang in there though cause I just won my first game last week and have a guaranteed win against the bottom team this week! The tide can change quickly! :D

Thanks mate. I didn't think my team was that bad to be 0-3. Lost by 15pts last week :mad::mad::thumbsdown::thumbsdown: and sitting last.

Man losing by 15 points sucks and must be heart breaking. Being on the bottom of the ladder must be even worse. Hang in there mate, I reckon your luck is about to change this week! :D:thumbsu:

Sweet thanks heaps, i'm assuming it is .com.au just .com was a very strange website about the injuries..

Yeah Too Serious is an amazing site Walsey keep up the good work.. :D

Have you updated the injuries this week?? Just wondering coz of Chornes??

Any news/thoughts/comments/ponderings on the returns of T.Tuck and M.Gardiner this week. Both due back from injury. I expect Gards will be close to getting a game with King out but who would Tuck come in for? Wouldn't mind holding onto them as both have good BEs and more growth.

They are both my only non-playing Ruck & Mid. If Tuck is fit but not selected it might be time to cash in for a new tasy CC :rolleyes: and some desperately need $$. :eek:

A.Davey definite to go to trade heaven this week so will be able to pick up some talent.

Sweet thanks heaps, i'm assuming it is .com.au just .com was a very strange website about the injuries..

Yeah Too Serious is an amazing site Walsey keep up the good work.. :D

Have you updated the injuries this week?? Just wondering coz of Chornes??

:D I pull a feed from InjuryUpdate.com every day...

So the Cornes injury won't be on my site, until it is up on theirs. :)

Ok starting to have real problems!

I have Priddis still out and no idea what is wrong with him i now hear he has some groin problem!

Cornes out till round 9 and no playing bench player to cover for him

Pfieffer on the ground and i here he has an injury worry, which if he misses will leave me two down in the backline

What do i do?
I have Wone and Bird as my mid benchers which are covereing for Priddis pretty well
But Cornes injury could not be any worse and absolute nightmare for me!
Cornes for H.Shaw?

EDIT: also thinking Cornes with a Break Even of 192 and may take a a game or two when gets back to hit top form again, might be able to pick him up again later at a great price?....yes i know i know trades are precious! but its pointless if i miss the finals of my league coz i didnt pull the trigger on trading cornes.
hmmmm much to think about.
Do i bight the bullet and trade Cornes to Shaw?
Do i try and ride it out with tough league games to come?
1-2 at the moment

any advice would be much appreciated

Ok starting to have real problems!

I have Priddis still out and no idea what is wrong with him i now hear he has some groin problem!

Cornes out till round 9 and no playing bench player to cover for him

Pfieffer on the ground and i here he has an injury worry, which if he misses will leave me two down in the backline

What do i do?
I have Wone and Bird as my mid benchers which are covereing for Priddis pretty well
But Cornes injury could not be any worse and absolute nightmare for me!
Cornes for H.Shaw?

EDIT: also thinking Cornes with a Break Even of 192 and may take a a game or two when gets back to hit top form again, might be able to pick him up again later at a great price?....yes i know i know trades are precious! but its pointless if i miss the finals of my league coz i didnt pull the trigger on trading cornes.
hmmmm much to think about.
Do i bight the bullet and trade Cornes to Shaw?
Do i try and ride it out with tough league games to come?
1-2 at the moment

any advice would be much appreciated

How many trades have you got left though?

If Cornes was out for longer than 2-3 I could almost condone a trade out and trade back in if you have a monster amount of trades left.

However... its a bit meh..