Roast Highly regarded players whose legacy has been ruined by their media careers

Dane Swan. Have never got the fanfare he creates. Absolute boring bogan. Comes across as this typically uninteresting and crass footy clown who can’t offer anything apart from humourless gags and now constantly being one of the great uneducated chorus just paying out on Dan Andrews and lockdowns. Don’t forget the assault on the bouncers early in his career. Apparently it made him the person he is today and shaped his career, so good to know it took beating the shit out of someone to give him that motivation in life.

Wayne Carey. The fact he is even on TV and radio given his history is an indictment on his employees and society. Bloke should be in jail and cast out of the media and AFL fraternity for his behaviours. We all get the privilege of seeing a sexist, misogynistic woman basher on TV every week. Wow. Standards.

Montagna, Dunstall.
Agree, these two and Reiwoldt are good.

Buckley was great when he had his stint in media back in 08-09.

G.Lyon (IMHO) does a good job of mixing game knowledge, with the footy club style humour.

The rest range from meh to embarrassing.

It is a lucrative job for the boys though, so plenty want their turn on the gravy train.

Much better podcasts floating around by fans who can give better opinions on footy.

Front Bar has nailed their little niche, as they have actual comedians who are footy fans.

Most shows just overlap and don't really have a unique angle

360, couch, footy class, talking footy, first crack....they are all the same, just different talking heads crapping on over the same topics....none really must watch, none doing anything different.

Listening to Ling on the radio it's like a different person, tends to have interesting things to say and isn't the sycophantic pile of cringe you get on Friday night. I had to double check that it was him.

100%

Channel 7 turns people into knobs. Even back in the day BT was good on MMM.

Jonathon Brown.
I like Brown and he seems like a pretty cool guy

But…

If you were to ask him why a game was won or lost he will always answer ‘winning team just wanted it more’ EVERY TIME

No game has apparently been lost due to skill differences, coaching etc. Just a good ole thirst for the contest! 🙄

I don't mind Ling personally

Kane Cornes was always a bit like that imo. A sore loser, bit vindictive, intense. Media career hasn't really changed that for me, he has actually embraced who he is.

Ultimately, 'ruined' is a bit much. A lot of the guys who reveal themselves to not be the sharpest tool in the shed (e.g. Schwarz, Jako, etc.) were key position ramjet types anyway, and they progressively go on to boring media careers that don't do anything to their legacy. Gotta give them some concussion benefit of the doubt as well.

Of ones that I hear or see on a regular basis :

Ling
Nathan Brown
Daisy Thomas
Dixon (I was waivering on him but he blew it with his holier than thou rant about Clarkson)

I've come to terms with Dermie, he's a flog but I can half listen to him now.

Dunstall is that absolute anti of all those being mentioned in this thread. He's like donuts to Homer Simpson, is there anything he can't do?

Kane Cornes, then Cooney, then Darcy....daylight...the rest.

Special mention to Daisy Pearce. Being handed a mic has done nothing but embarrass her and the women’s game overall. Offers no thoughtful insight into anything - just screeches random stats and blatant observations. She’s appalling to listen to, and looks so rigid and forced in front of the camera. Just comes across as dumber than a plank of wood.
You're kidding right? Daisy is a breath of fresh air compared to the likes of Abbey Holmes and Kelli Underwood. Hell, I'll take Daisy's analysis over many of the blokes. She knows her stuff.

Cooney for sure. Dane Swan is the evolved version and I can see him headed in the same direction.

It’s like watching the Family Guy ep of South Park with these guys. Add key word *Brownlow*, imply you don’t mind racking some gear and you’ve got the perfect cheeky campaigner one liner.

So, what, you think PointsBet is giving Shaq $20 million or something? And - if so - what on earth for?

I don't see any amount that would make sense from a PointsBet business standpoint, that would also be any more than chicken feed from Shaq's perspective. That's why it's so strange.

I can't imagine it would be near 20 million but I am sure he would be on a ridiculous number. I am not sure you are aware of just how much money these betting agencies make per year. Their net profits are profound. Australia is a rich country by comparison to most. We also love to gamble. Aussie's gamble over 150 billion every year. That includes pokie machines, racing and sports gambling.
Celebrities who are mega rich like Shaq also have a lot of cash tied up in investments. While we hear about someone's net worth and think they have endless amounts of money at their disposal, it's not always the case. The super wealthy never use their own money as a rule of thumb.

Same goes for Wahlberg, he probably earns about 10 million per movie for 4 weeks of full time work. He'd barely have to do a weekend's work for these betting ads and would get paid handsomely for it.

I can't imagine it would be near 20 million but I am sure he would be on a ridiculous number. I am not sure you are aware of just how much money these betting agencies make per year. Their net profits are profound. Australia is a rich country by comparison to most. We also love to gamble. Aussie's gamble over 150 billion every year. That includes pokie machines, racing and sports gambling.
Celebrities who are mega rich like Shaq also have a lot of cash tied up in investments. While we hear about someone's net worth and think they have endless amounts of money at their disposal, it's not always the case. The super wealthy never use their own money as a rule of thumb.

Same goes for Wahlberg, he probably earns about 10 million per movie for 4 weeks of full time work. He'd barely have to do a weekend's work for these betting ads and would get paid handsomely for it.
I think cashing in when it's show in another country helps too. I doubt you would want to do it with those ads running on TV where you live.

Even though he is not even a former AFL player, Andrew Gaze has to be THE most inept commentator on the planet, he should be fu**en deported.

Is there a worse , allegedly english speaking, commentator on or in any sport than this moron?
Gaze makes Tom Browne look like a Mensa candidate.
The dickhead was employed to commentate the Olympic basketball and yet was totally unable to even describe the basic goings on on a basketball court.
Did he have a couple of years of horrific concussions before his career ended?

I would sack the goddamn manager of that network so heinous is Gaze's mindless dribbling and morono-babble.

If he needs psychiatric help for gods sake give it to him.

Don't just give him a pity job.
WTF did Gaze kill your whole family or something?

Thanks for the economics lesson. Gambling agencies don't throw money away. They ban clients who consistently win money from them. It's at the very least debatable that someone like Shaq gets more traction than the hot chick/Nicky Whelan option, so why wouldn't you go the latter option?

It's either so the senior execs have an excuse for a photo op with a hall of fame or Shaq is a cheap whore for any load of s**t product or both. I seem to recall him being a spokesman during the powerbrand craze, so I'm favouring the 'Shaq comes cheaper than expected and has a bewildering lack of concern for the quality of the products he endorses' theory.

Shane Crawford would be an ideal candidate for this thread. Great player. Won Brownlow and was in the top 10 players in the league for over a decade.

After his career finished he became a clown on TV. Footy show ruined him. These days I don't think anyone remembers Crawford for his footy but instead for his idiotic character his betrayed which is a shame because he was a brilliant player.

Sent from my CPH2025 using Tapatalk

Shane Crawford would be an ideal candidate for this thread. Great player. Won Brownlow and was in the top 10 players in the league for over a decade.

After his career finished he became a clown on TV. Footy show ruined him. These days I don't think anyone remembers Crawford for his footy but instead for his idiotic character his betrayed which is a shame because he was a brilliant player.

Sent from my CPH2025 using Tapatalk

I don't think he comes across as that bad. He's pretty likable and non-offensive IMO.

Montagna, Dunstall.
I like Dunstall’s punditry but even makes a dill of himself on Bounce.

Fair shouts too with Montagna and Riewoldt. But that’s like 3 out of 30+.

Roast Highly regarded players whose legacy has been ruined by their media careers