Roast Highly regarded players whose legacy has been ruined by their media careers

Shane Crawford would be an ideal candidate for this thread. Great player. Won Brownlow and was in the top 10 players in the league for over a decade.

After his career finished he became a clown on TV. Footy show ruined him. These days I don't think anyone remembers Crawford for his footy but instead for his idiotic character his betrayed which is a shame because he was a brilliant player.

Sent from my CPH2025 using Tapatalk
Crawford was always pretty harmless at least, and also mostly unseen and unheard these days.

What he did for for charity when he ran and biked across Australia was something that no other footy player has ever come close to doing, and for that alone he is a top human.

I like Dunstall’s punditry but even makes a dill of himself on Bounce.

Fair shouts too with Montagna and Riewoldt. But that’s like 3 out of 30+.
The aim of everyone on the bounce is to be a dill, so I don’t really bring that into this convo.

Hmmm…the original poster bags Pav and then goes on to say Fyfe will the next to ruin their reputations…quick check, yup a WCE fan.

Anyway, for what it’s worth I find Pav to be pretty vanilla in his analysis during games, and if he struggles to string a coherent sentence together on Nine News then at least he’s in good company with the viewers.

Totally agree about Dunstall being the best, you actually feel this relief wash over you when you realise it’s him commentating with either Huddo or Adam Pappalia.

I never thought I’d say this, but the couple of times I caught Jack Riewoldt as the co-commentator I found myself thinking ‘who’s this summariser who’s talking sense and providing really good tactical insights’ - only to then find out its Jack. I hope he gets a bit more air time next year and doesn’t descend into the stating the bloody obvious that most ex-players do.

Superb job by Pavlich describing what the ball looks and smells like today, tripping up on his words. Idiot.

Crawford was always pretty harmless at least, and also mostly unseen and unheard these days.

What he did for for charity when he ran and biked across Australia was something that no other footy player has ever come close to doing, and for that alone he is a top human.

Chap by the name of Cable rode across Australia. Just saying Crawf ain’t the only one to do it.

Brendon Goddard is doing ok on radio. Not a player I had a great love for, but he is very honest on radio, and calls a spade a spade. So he is actually enhancing his reputation.

I like Brown and he seems like a pretty cool guy

But…

If you were to ask him why a game was won or lost he will always answer ‘winning team just wanted it more’ EVERY TIME

No game has apparently been lost due to skill differences, coaching etc. Just a good ole thirst for the contest! 🙄
Yeah, he is a good bloke and is a good mate of my brother. I'm just ragging on him purely from a footy commentator POV. I find he'd be better suited to an NRL commentating gig - he's got that "too many concussions" vibe about him nowadays.

And it'd be more like "the plahs just wanted it more, sah ..." :D

Staggered by the lack of Dermie in this thread. If he’s not unnecessarily over-analysing in a vain attempt to showcase his completely unique understanding of the game, then you can just feel him desperately trying to find a way to relate the topic back to himself.

Wayne Carey also. Aside from the whole overlooking of his scumbag personality, for a bloke who goes by the King, his special comments are woeful. Never heard him offer anything even remotely insightful.

Staggered by the lack of Dermie in this thread. If he’s not unnecessarily over-analysing in a vain attempt to showcase his completely unique understanding of the game, then you can just feel him desperately trying to find a way to relate the topic back to himself.

Wayne Carey also. Aside from the whole overlooking of his scumbag personality, for a bloke who goes by the King, his special comments are woeful. Never heard him offer anything even remotely insightful.

To his credit, Dermott does have an unparalleled ability to praise himself whilst talking about someone else.

100%

Channel 7 turns people into knobs. Even back in the day BT was good on MMM.
It's funny you say that, I remember the first time hearing BT and JB on the radio and thinking they're off the ****ing chain.
I guess they get away with a hell of a lot more. Especially BT. Good shit.

Made me dislike JB less, couldn't stand him from the picture I had of his persona on the footy show.

I guess Dermott's a bit like David King, Gerard Healy, Matthew Lloyd, Dal Santo, Robert Walls in the past and a few others: I often disagree with him, but at least he does a bit of research and earns his keep.

Carey's a bit like Leigh Matthews: unless it's something directly related to a key forward and how they're playing, he's useless. If it was a non-AFL champion repeating some of the utter drivel they spout in the commentary box they'd be bashed from pillar to post. Carey has a huge chip on his shoulder about Geelong as well for some reason..

Shane Crawford would be an ideal candidate for this thread. Great player. Won Brownlow and was in the top 10 players in the league for over a decade.

After his career finished he became a clown on TV. Footy show ruined him. These days I don't think anyone remembers Crawford for his footy but instead for his idiotic character his betrayed which is a shame because he was a brilliant player.

Sent from my CPH2025 using Tapatalk

Crawford's been one of the smart ones though in that he's moved into that lower bracket of TV hosts where he'll host anything. Travel shows, kid's shows, horse racing, telethons - I hardly if ever, see him on footy telecasts. I love Shane but I don't think he was ever destined to become an Associate Professor or anything so I reckon he's done more than OK.

I think everyone has a soft spot for the kid, because of the way he played the game, everyone wanted to play footy like derm, and everyone enjoys his giggles when someone gets smashed, plus he actually has a pretty high footy IQ, when he puts in a bit of effort

I guess Dermott's a bit like David King, Gerard Healy, Matthew Lloyd, Dal Santo, Robert Walls in the past and a few others: I often disagree with him, but at least he does a bit of research and earns his keep.

Carey's a bit like Leigh Matthews: unless it's something directly related to a key forward and how they're playing, he's useless. If it was a non-AFL champion repeating some of the utter drivel they spout in the commentary box they'd be bashed from pillar to post. Carey has a huge chip on his shoulder about Geelong as well for some reason..

What the hell has Pavlich done wrong

David King is almost bearable now but he was cancer to the ears for a while
What the hell has Pavlich done wrong

David King is almost bearable now but he was cancer to the ears for a while
Pavlich played for Fremantle , The Poster is a West Coast fan. Otherwise he would have included Sumich and Jackovich.

Roast Highly regarded players whose legacy has been ruined by their media careers