Hodge and Sammy

Hodge or Mitch's Career?

Sorry to spam, but unrelated interesting stat post:

The Hodge/Mitchell partnership holds the record for the highest number of games in which a pair of players have polled votes.

Mitch was possibly (in fact almost certainly) the better week in week out player and probably equally as good as a big game player.

However in terms of importance to us being a powerhouse I just tip the scales to Hodge. Hodge sacrificed his own individual standing in the game for the team's greater good more than any player I can ever think of.....and that still didn't stop him being a genuine star anyway. However he could have been even better individually if he wasn't so all round brilliant. Added with his leadership. The great Luke Hodge.

Mitch was possibly (in fact almost certainly) the better week in week out player and probably equally as good as a big game player.

However in terms of importance to us being a powerhouse I just tip the scales to Hodge. Hodge sacrificed his own individual standing in the game for the team's greater good more than any player I can ever think of.....and that still didn't stop him being a genuine star anyway. However he could have been even better individually if he wasn't so all round brilliant. Added with his leadership. The great Luke Hodge.
Mate you summed it up perfectly :thumbsu:

Yes, I gave it to Hodgey by a whisker. I love winning premierships, and I love the big game players who do it best at critical times on the big stage. Hodgey's had 4 great Grand Finals, all of which we won. And has 2 Norm Smith medals to show for it.

And the one nameless Grand Final we lost, the great man couldn't play in the crucial last quarter.

For Grand Finals, Hodgey's right up there with Dermie and Gary Ayres.

Very difficult question. Up there with 'Who is a bigger sook out of the Scott brothers?'. Almost impossible to split.

Sam was more of an accumulator than Hodge, consistently getting 30+ possession games. Was also an excellent user of the ball, probably the best 20-30m kick in the game the past 10 years. Super quick hands and often the architect of plays which result in scores. Another thing to consider about Mitchell is that he completely reinvented himself as a player over his career. When he began his career he was dubbed with the nick name 'the extractor' because he was often in and under packs and digging the ball out with quick hands. Over the second half of his, he became the play maker who was rarely seen off his feet.

Sam also showed excellent leadership within the team. Let's not forget that the players voted him to be captain in 2008 after Vandenberg retired. Even after the role was given to Hodge it was clear that Mitchell was still a respected leader in the group. Hodge and Mitchell both had different approaches which I think complemented each other which made them more effective than they would otherwise be.

From my point of view, Sam has been underestimated by the wider football community for just how good he is. Whilst the media was fawning over Judd, Ablett and Swan, they were often overlooking Mitchell who sits comfortably in their company. This is the reason why Mitchell has only received 3 AA's in his career when he should have been named 5 or 6 times, 2012 a prime example of bullshit. The umpires haven't missed him though, he is the leading vote getter of all time tied with Ablett.

Hodge on the other hand could play a big game unlike any other player over the last decade. For me he sits there with the likes of Voss whom I loved to watch in the Brisbane GF days. Sam was also a big game player, his 2015 Finals series was amazing and could have gone close to the Norm Smith in 2014, and despite Burgoynes last quarter heroics in the 2013 PF, it was Sam's effort over the 4 quarters that set the stage. However Hodge could just go to another level where you just knew that he was going to make the Hawks win.

He was also more of a natural footballer than Sam and his best probably shades Sam's slightly but Sam was able to player at or near his best more consistently than Hodge.

So I voted Sam, because of his unparalleled consistency for over 300 games. Hodge is only just edged out, but it took the best Hawks player I have ever witnessed to top him.

Very difficult question. Up there with 'Who is a bigger sook out of the Scott brothers?'. Almost impossible to split.

Sam was more of an accumulator than Hodge, consistently getting 30+ possession games. Was also an excellent user of the ball, probably the best 20-30m kick in the game the past 10 years. Super quick hands and often the architect of plays which result in scores. Another thing to consider about Mitchell is that he completely reinvented himself as a player over his career. When he began his career he was dubbed with the nick name 'the extractor' because he was often in and under packs and digging the ball out with quick hands. Over the second half of his, he became the play maker who was rarely seen off his feet.

Sam also showed excellent leadership within the team. Let's not forget that the players voted him to be captain in 2008 after Vandenberg retired. Even after the role was given to Hodge it was clear that Mitchell was still a respected leader in the group. Hodge and Mitchell both had different approaches which I think complemented each other which made them more effective than they would otherwise be.

From my point of view, Sam has been underestimated by the wider football community for just how good he is. Whilst the media was fawning over Judd, Ablett and Swan, they were often overlooking Mitchell who sits comfortably in their company. This is the reason why Mitchell has only received 3 AA's in his career when he should have been named 5 or 6 times, 2012 a prime example of bullshit. The umpires haven't missed him though, he is the leading vote getter of all time tied with Ablett.

Hodge on the other hand could play a big game unlike any other player over the last decade. For me he sits there with the likes of Voss whom I loved to watch in the Brisbane GF days. Sam was also a big game player, his 2015 Finals series was amazing and could have gone close to the Norm Smith in 2014, and despite Burgoynes last quarter heroics in the 2013 PF, it was Sam's effort over the 4 quarters that set the stage. However Hodge could just go to another level where you just knew that he was going to make the Hawks win.

He was also more of a natural footballer than Sam and his best probably shades Sam's slightly but Sam was able to player at or near his best more consistently than Hodge.

So I voted Sam, because of his unparalleled consistency for over 300 games. Hodge is only just edged out, but it took the best Hawks player I have ever witnessed to top him.
Even though I voted Hodge this post is awesome

I don't really like choosing, but for leadership and to make the whole team play to a higher level and win flags which really is what it's all about then Hodge by a bees, but we're talking legends here.
A preferable option for me is where do they sit in the history of players at HFC.
For mine clearly top 10, knocking on top 5.
Mathews, Dunstall, Hudson I think stand out alone in the top 3, but who goes in next.
It's hard to say anyone else is ahead of them.
I think Hodge is top 5.
Is Mitch ahead of
Tuck, Knights, Dermie, Ayres, Franklin etc, I don't think they sit higher, equal perhaps and I loved Knights and Tucky.

(Edit I can't compare to anyone prior to the 70s)

I don't really like choosing, but for leadership and to make the whole team play to a higher level and win flags which really is what it's all about then Hodge by a bees, but we're talking legends here.
A preferable option for me is where do they sit in the history of players at HFC.
For mine clearly top 10, knocking on top 5.
Mathews, Dunstall, Hudson I think stand out alone in the top 3, but who goes in next.
It's hard to say anyone else is ahead of them.
I think Hodge is top 5.
Is Mitch ahead of
Tuck, Knights, Dermie, Ayres, Franklin etc, I don't think they sit higher, equal perhaps and I loved Knights and Tucky.
Tucky is my favourite Hawk of all time, underrated, even amongst Hawk fans, let alone the rest of the league.

Sat on the fence till I read all posts to now.
Finally voted for Hodgey.
Why????
No idea:huh::eek::(

Actually after a bit more thought - Hodge by a wisker
And that wisker is - Hodge had the pressure of #1 draft pick and I do not know of a better #1 draft player than Mr Luke Hodge.

Yes, I gave it to Hodgey by a whisker. I love winning premierships, and I love the big game players who do it best at critical times on the big stage. Hodgey's had 4 great Grand Finals, all of which we won. And has 2 Norm Smith medals to show for it.

And the one nameless Grand Final we lost, the great man couldn't play in the crucial last quarter.

For Grand Finals, Hodgey's right up there with Dermie and Gary Ayres.
Hodge is the "modern" day Ayres for me - hard as f***, ruthless, and just took it up a level in the big moments.

Honestly couldn't split them.

Mitchell more consistently great(not to say Hodge wasn't constantly great), Hodge influence in finals (not to say Sammy wasn't hugely influential in finals)

I think if you had a top 4 team and could add one to your side, you'd pick Hodge.

If you had a bottom 10 side, you'd pick Sam

Ian Law was my favourite player until Matthews came along.
Sammy is now second. The architect of so many great plays.
Hodge is in that fantastic group that includes,well you know who they are ......
Been an absolute pleasure to watch these two play together.

Carna Hawks!

Everything for me says Sammy. Utter joy. 2nd only to Lethal (watching from late 70s) as the greatest player to my eyes.

Hodge the one club player, and that weighs heavily with me. Hodgey gets my vote.

Just as an aside ...

Hodge, player number 813 to pull on a Hawks guernsey. Glass, number 916.

That's over 100 players to have pulled on the colours since Hodge started playing! Dunno how many others he may have played with that were already on the list, but that's a phenomenal amount of teammates. Not sure how many more were on the list in his time that never even made their debut? Scary thought.

Anyhow, what triggered my interest was that I think I heard someone from North was player number 1000 or so? It got me to wondering how many top notch Hawks there had been. Surprised at the 10% difference, especially given we would have played more games including finals, and this would have allowed (in theory) more opportunities for players. On the other hand, I guess it was the stability of our teams that contributed to our ongoing success.

Everything for me says Sammy. Utter joy. 2nd only to Lethal (watching from late 70s) as the greatest player to my eyes.

Hodge the one club player, and that weighs heavily with me. Hodgey gets my vote.

Just as an aside ...

Hodge, player number 813 to pull on a Hawks guernsey. Glass, number 916.

That's over 100 players to have pulled on the colours since Hodge started playing! Dunno how many others he may have played with that were already on the list, but that's a phenomenal amount of teammates. Not sure how many more were on the list in his time that never even made their debut? Scary thought.

Anyhow, what triggered my interest was that I think I heard someone from North was player number 1000 or so? It got me to wondering how many top notch Hawks there had been. Surprised at the 10% difference, especially given we would have played more games including finals, and this would have allowed (in theory) more opportunities for players. On the other hand, I guess it was the stability of our teams that contributed to our ongoing success.
I reckon it would be even closer if we'd done this before the Sammy to WCE announcement.

Yeah, no doubt, but Hodge has been playing some absolute champagne footy all the same. Champions like him and Burgers, or a Tuck just ooze experience, and genuine footy nous, and this is a pleasure in itself to watch.
Sammy, Ive watched possibly 60 minutes of him this year (against that Duckwood grub). Not a knock on him but I cant say I derived that same joy that Hodgey has delivered this year. probably the deciding thing.

As much as it was a shock to have Sam move on, it has softened the blow for the ending of the playing careers of both he and Hodge which is coming all too soon. 2 of the best to ever play for our mighty club at the same time. It has been an absolute privilege to watch them play. Going to be a cracking game aginst the dogs and can't wait to see his banner and Sammies too.
Sammie to coach us and Hodgey to do the Fagan role.

Hodgey! Absolutely you can have a favorite child. I'm team third child all the way! Daughters a sook and eldest boy is a campaigner!

Back to Hodgey, whilst Mitchell is only passed by Greg Williams in my life time as a centremen, Luke Hodge's leadership and take one for the team mentality is as rare as Ross Lyon Premierships! As good as someone like Crawf was, he wasn't a great Captain. Whereas someone like Vanders was better, with skills slightly superior to Will Langford. To have Hodge's leadership in an absolute stud of a player would have Dana White calling him a "Once ever", type player and leader. Hopefully Cooper is half as good as his old man, because I can't bare the thought of yelling out "Kick it to Smith!"

Getting over Luke Hodge retiring is like saying you don't care about D.Jarman leaving for Adelaide. You're lying! I'm okay with Mitchell leaving and taking Jobe's tainted Brownlow with him!

CHAMPER

Hodge and Sammy