Holding the ball up

It is OK to do it, but we do it too much.

Seems like once we get a goal or two we have to go temp. Really bugs me. Lets for once go out there & burn a team & stuff this tempo crap. Against the better sides we are horrid at it anyway.

It became absurd at times yesterday.
Must be because we've been on free to air Tv for the last two weeks and it's a good opportunity for a player to give the impression to the football world that they are a tactical thinker and a student of the game.
In reality it means I'm f@#ked and I need to catch my breath because I've been running sideways and backwards for the last five minutes because these other bastards keep holding the ball in the air.

Boo, incorrect.:thumbsdown: I reckon he's been one of the least offenders in this case. The main offenders are Pratty, Rawlings and CJ and probably others that are escaping me now

LT :thumbsdown:

He does it between wing and HFF early in quarters as well.

The sceptic in me says that it signifies "OK, the oppo have an extra man or two ahead of me and, quite frankly, I'm buggered and want to kill a few seconds and gain a rest!"

I HATE IT!!!!!!!!!!! I don't give a stuff what is intended by it. We are CRAP at IT and instantly pass an advantage to our opponents.

When we move the ball quickly, with precision, we can match almost every other team. When we slow it down we are POX!

T'toes

In reality it means I'm f@#ked and I need to catch my breath because I've been running sideways and backwards for the last five minutes because these other bastards keep holding the ball in the air.

That's what I was trying to say mate. Exactly right!

T'toes

The tactic involves them signalling that they will either go sideways, or down the line to a contest, to be spoiled over the line for a throw in. This is how it looks anyway.

They do it after there has been a few up and down field rotations of the ball, or if the opposition has just snared a couple of quick ones by the looks.

But yesterday, they did it all the ****ing time, and it just compounded the shitness, the almighty shitness.

I can see the point of slowing the game down when the opposition has got a run on and we are trying to break the momentum. However I think our interpretation of a "run on" is at times flawed. It seems to me that if we kick five goals and the opposition claws one back we are interpreting this as a "run on" and trying to slow down the play.
Also I think we go overboard when we have the momentum in trying to slow the game down so that we don't lose that momentum. This is especially prevalent against teams that have won two games for the year. We appear to feel threatened by them.
I prefer the Geelong method. Back yourself to be better than your opposition and if you get a sniff of a run on move the ball quickly and belt the crap out of them.

This staterted to get on my goat in the final against Geelong last year when we were started doing it at the start of the 2nd qtr when only a couple of goals down.

It's a crap tactic, we lose momentum, we turn it over and the oposition smiles and the body language of OUR players deteriorates.

It is the reason we lost against Hawthorn & StKilda, the reason we have a shite percentage and the reason we can't put away teams. We're at our best when coming from behind, switching, running, taking risks, getting it in quick to the forwards ... backing the talent of our players. Why not have the guts to do this for a whole game (ala Geelong). Speaking of which, the only times this year we attacked most of the day was against Geelong and Bulldogs ... both great performances.

I'd like to hear an explanation from the coach as to why the players are instructed to do it because it's beyond me!

I guess you have an opportunity to ask him in a couple of weeks time.

Good thinking Pharro, I'll ask the question at the Coach's dinner. Along with the thinking behind the instruction to Brady not to try and tackle Gablett.

Were you in the Shinboner room last year when Laids was trying to explain the art of corralling?

They do it after there has been a few up and down field rotations of the ball, or if the opposition has just snared a couple of quick ones by the looks.

Oh that's a new one. I thought that the we only ever resorted to holding up the ball/slowing the tempo, If we have scored a few goals in a row, are 4-5 goals up, looking comfortable and courteous enough to hand all the momentum of the game to the opposition. For most of this year's games we have done this. Bloody amazing really. It is just staggering because if we actually continued with the tempo and attacked we would see ourselves more often than not in a more favorable position.

Slowing the game down should be abolished. It is bullshit and a stab in the guts to the supporters of the club who want to see it do well.

So we're all pretty much in favour of holding the ball up then.

FWIW I reckon we went out there yesterday to win by 28 points.

The previous game probably took its toll on both us and the Pies and we just wanted to win the game with minimum fuss.

Time will tell (i.e. next week) if this is correct.

I hate it, get rid of it for ffs, yeah we hold it up turn the ball over and we look like idiots.
As a professional football team they are meant to be setting a good example for the kids and trying to earn more respect from the football world (the media etc) but we have always lacked respect and we are not helping our reputation with this.

Good thinking Pharro, I'll ask the question at the Coach's dinner. Along with the thinking behind the instruction to Brady not to try and tackle Gablett.

Were you in the Shinboner room last year when Laids was trying to explain the art of corralling?

That has been explained numerous times by the players and the supporters who post on here who have a clue.

There was no point in trying to tackle him because he would just step around you. Corralling him and forcing a turnover was probably better than seeing him screaming down the ground for an easy possession.

Maybe if our players especially our forward line did something that is not quite sprinting but a bit quicker than walking then maybe we wouldn't have to hold the ball up so much.

RUN FFS. Why are we so ****ing stagnant when we have a great fitness coach.

So we're all pretty much in favour of holding the ball up then.

FWIW I reckon we went out there yesterday to win by 28 points.

The previous game probably took its toll on both us and the Pies and we just wanted to win the game with minimum fuss.

Time will tell (i.e. next week) if this is correct.

That plus the fact the Dome is known to take it out of your legs. Good thing because the Lions just played a tuff one there last Sat Night.:thumbsu:

Yeah nah, but I was at a different dinner last year when Dean explained the tactic and then 4 days later our team went out and smashed an opposition with that very tactic.

Yeah i can only recall one player doing it in the last term.
They didnt play any different and they still won without doing that stupid shit.
was good to see they realised how frustrating it is for us supporters and other ppl watching the game.

Yeah i can only recall one player doing it in the last term.
They didnt play any different and they still won without doing that stupid shit.
was good to see they realised how frustrating it is for us supporters and other ppl watching the game.

You reckon they didn't do it because a few found it annoying? You serious?

Holding the ball up