How did Port Adelaide lose its soul?

I thought that too at first, but if Russell Johnston goes in the list, then why not Warren? If Port had a `SA only' policy back then, Gary wouldn't be at Port, and Wazza would probably be dyed in the wool Crows or Collingwood.

He is one of the guys that delayed a year for Port's AFL entry IIRC; if he had no attachment to Port, he may have gone in 1995 draft (and gone to Freo, Fitzroy or West Coast.)

While I agree with your premise tribey to include Warren in your list is silly and misleading. Born in SA raised in SA educated in SA came through Port's system and his dad has been a coaching fixture at Port for a number of years.

Carl Fragomeni, Steve Curtis, Robert Whatman, Tony Martyn, John Spry, Stephen Clifford ... I could go on and on, yes. Warren Tredrea, no.

It's hardly a leap though. If we only picked noble South Australians since 1870, those salt of the Earth free-settlers who drink echoes or not at all, we don't pick Gary Tredrea.

Ergo, we don't get the benefit of his coaching nor Warren under the father-son rule.

Kind of like the Germans still expecting to have the goals of Miroslav Klose if they'd kept up with National Socialism.

I thought that too at first, but if Russell Johnston goes in the list, then why not Warren? If Port had a `SA only' policy back then, Gary wouldn't be at Port, and Wazza would probably be dyed in the wool Crows or Collingwood.

He is one of the guys that delayed a year for Port's AFL entry IIRC; if he had no attachment to Port, he may have gone in 1995 draft (and gone to Freo, Fitzroy or West Coast.)

Russell Johnston didn't have a father who was recruited from interstate to play for Port, stayed in SA and fathered son Russell who then played for Port.

Russell was born in Casterton, was recruited by Collingwood, played league football for Collingwood and was traded to Port as part of the Mark Williams move to Collingwood. He belongs on a list of interstate league footballers that Port recruited.

I get the probability cycle but Warren doesn't belong on that list. His father does, but Warren is as South Australian as Balfours frog cakes and fritz and sauce. Not only does his father have an extensive hsitory with Port Adelaide he worked as a wharfie. That makes Warren as Port Adelaide as a navvy's blue singlet and smoko break.

It's hardly a leap though. If we only picked noble South Australians since 1870, those salt of the Earth free-settlers who drink echoes or not at all, we don't pick Gary Tredrea.

Ergo, we don't get the benefit of his coaching nor Warren under the father-son rule.

Kind of like the Germans still expecting to have the goals of Miroslav Klose if they'd kept up with National Socialism.

Sure it's not a leap but you could buy into a long and detailed philosophical, spiritual, religious or even artistic discussion of the choice of man vs the destiny of man. Not with me tho. ;)

As described above I just think it is misleading to include Warren on a list of guys Port recruited from interstate to make a point. His father yes, Warren no. Warren is a step removed from that list.

And don't forget Warren has openly admitted he nearly walked out on Port at the end of 1998 because he didn't think he was getting a fair go as a key forward. If Mark had not become coach Warren's Port connection and history might have amounted to nought. Sliding doors and all that.

IIRC about ten years ago Freo were playing like crap and their crowds were dwindling then all of a sudden they became popular to follow and success came along after that. Does anyone know the formula they used to turn their fortunes around?

Not sure exactly what they did but I know the club consulted with them extensively a couple of years ago to find out.

One of the big advantages they had was a popular stadium and a WCE that had a huge waiting list.

I cant help but think if only the northern stand had never been extended both clubs (and teh SANFL) would be in a much better position.

One of the major reasons given for Freo's growth was the unavailability of West Coast tickets, especially once the mining/wealth/population boom kicked in. The Perth housing boom is reported to have driven up prices by 146 percent between 2002 and December 2007.

Freo attendances in that time went from an average home attendance of just over 21,000 in 2001 (compared to West Coast 32,600) to mid 37,000 by 2007.

Their ladder position in that time was:

2001: 16
2002: 13
2003: 5
2004: 9
2005: 10
2006: 3
2007: 11

Yeah I disagree with that

Same, 2010 and 2009 every game I went to eg 80% I left feeling bored and dissatisfied with our wins or draws, we played soulless football.

I think we have to now accept that our AFL experience has been a complete failure.

We deserved to be in the AFL - no question - but a combination of our own malaise, SANFL greed, and supporter apathy towards AFL football have all contributed to where we are now.

The only way us joining the AFL was ever going to work was going it alone. We tried in 1990 and didn't get over the line. Any other format was destined to be compromised, and fail.

And here we are now in 2011...... :rolleyes:

I think we have to now accept that our AFL experience has been a complete failure.

I disagree, yes things should have been dficult but some good years, 3 years top of ladder, 2 pre season and one flag is not a bad return for 14 years ask Freo, Richmond or others. We are struggling no question, but the AFL venture a failure? no way.

If we can get through this next stage in our existence things will improve. Our biggest issue is everyone outside PAFC negativity towards us and we need to pull together as supporters and draw on that and become stronger and better.

Surely we can get through a few bad years without slitting our throats

Think about what Greg Boulton uttered once we'd secured the second SA AFL licence - "This means that there will always be a Port Adelaide Football Club"..

In hindsight, the stupidest comment ever attached to our AFL journey.

Same, 2010 and 2009 every game I went to eg 80% I left feeling bored and dissatisfied with our wins or draws, we played soulless football.
Yeah, I too felt bored and dissatisfied by the soulless football we played but I haven't lost my passion for Port Adelaide. My heart and soul belong to Port and if players/coaches/administrators are just going through the motions, then it is incumbent on people like me to fight tooth and nail to remove these passengers.

Joining the AFL was meant to secure the clubs' future forever.

The reality is it has fractured supporters forever, cost us our nickname, jumper, colours, homeground, confused 99% of people in this state about our history and heritage, put off side every other SANFL supporter in South Australia, costs us millions more money than we ever expected, and cost us our soul as a football club.

Why is it fractured? I don't recall any of this talk of fractured supporters pre 2005.

I remember supporters not liking Choco but non of this seperate club rubbish, I wish I had a film research index as I would love to traul through the papers to see when this crap started.

Every SANFL supporter hated us any.

As for the $$$$ I think the Crows are showing it's just not us, it's just hitting us worse.

Think about what Greg Boulton uttered once we'd secured the second SA AFL licence - "This means that there will always be a Port Adelaide Football Club"..

In hindsight, the stupidest comment ever attached to our AFL journey.

If anything it serves to highlight the naivete of the board and the myopic nature of the all-encompassing goal they had sought to achieve.

There were so many other factors the club was up against.

The initial profit-'sharing' agreement with the SANFL which resulted in a 30000(ish?) breakeven and 80%(ish?) of annual operating profits lost - off the back of the millions spent on Club 96 and the licence fee itself.

Having to overcome the ridiculous branding of the Crows with their monopolisation of every South Australian emblem under the sun which cost us an underestimated amount of our supporter base (including me).

The disastrous approach to the PAFC-PAMFC divorce, which only served to fracture our identity, supporter base, cost both clubs millions and have us come out the other side wrongly blamed for it all.

The club was so professional in its direct pursuit of the second licence, but approached everything else with a "she'll be right mate!" naivete that has come home to roost over the past 10 years - with two more waves of it immediately after the flag was won in 2004 when we lost an enormous chunk of invaluable IP and replaced it with nuffies and then again when we were nuked in the 2007 Grand Final and nothing was done other than stuffing our heads in the sand - "the best 0-4 side ever!!!11".

Yeah, I too felt bored and dissatisfied by the soulless football we played but I haven't lost my passion for Port Adelaide. My heart and soul belong to Port and if players/coaches/administrators are just going through the motions, then it is incumbent on people like me to fight tooth and nail to remove these passengers.

I wouldnt expect most that post here would have lost their passion for the club, but that doesnt include the 15,000 odd who cant be bothered showing up anymore, dont want to be associated with a losing club, and who are predominantly contributing to the serious financial difficulties our club faces. I'd say that yes, the supporter base as a whole needs to take a lot of responsibility for our current predictament.

Every SANFL supporter hated us any.

I disagree, many had a very healthy respect for the way Port approached football - the problem came when Port entered the AFL and the local media ramped up it's negativity campaign.

I must admit that I'm surprised you of all people have been worn down to the point you want to pull the pin. The only pin I would be pulling is from a grenade aimed at the SAFC HQ!

Geez, we haven't even finished last yet and already we've lost our soul, money, supporters and (allegedly) players. The negative sentiment has got to the point that it's laughable. Much of this wouldn't be out in the media if we were perfoming well on field. I'm starting to think sports journos are just the bizarro world version of real estate agents.

By the way:

Link

Clubs post membership record
Port Adelaide recorded the second-largest increase of 12 per cent, due to its merger with the Port Adelaide Magpies in the SANFL, while Richmond and Melbourne also recorded double-digit growth.

Link

So we have something to build on. If anything, now is the worst time possible to quit the club. There is so much momentum building that by the time we're permanently at Aelaide Oval we'll be a far healthier football club.

If it all collapses now or in the near future, footy in SA will be effectively dead. Sure the SANFL crowds and memberships are up but they are no where near self-sustainable levels.

Come on silverfingers, stick with us and ride it out. Football just isn't worth following if there isn't a Port Adelaide Football Club.:thumbsu:

I think most supporters now see that Port are at the mercy of the SANFL and THEY DO NOT LIKE IT.

They have voted with their feet and money.

We want Port to be Port Adelaide. We are not a club that accepts outside interference, we want to be in charge of our own destiny.

We have not lost our soul we are trying to get it back from the SANFL.

Yes we must change but as Tredders has said it has always been Port Adelaide to do the heavy lifting for the good of footy.

Will we finish bottom I don't know but it could be the best thing for SA footy in that no longer could the SANFL, radio broadcasters and newspaper people deny there is a problem in SA.

To my mind the real trouble started with KG and Cornes saying it was not safe to go to a Port showdown that opened the floodgates of the negativity that we have seen.

This is the result.

We deserved to be in the AFL - no question - but a combination of our own malaise, SANFL greed, and supporter apathy towards AFL football have all contributed to where we are now.

The only way us joining the AFL was ever going to work was going it alone. We tried in 1990 and didn't get over the line. Any other format was destined to be compromised, and fail.

And here we are now in 2011...... :rolleyes:

^ yep... this is pretty much how I feel/think about it.

I think the biggest fundamental problems have been caused by:

1) SANFL - PAFC and AFC evolving/created out of this competition have always been at the SANFLs mercy.

2) VFL/AFL - AFL has evolved out of the VFL whose politics is dominated by Victorian agendas and media.

These 2 factors haven't created an "equal" playing field for all teams.

It reminds me of our previous national soccer leagues... it wasn't until those leagues, power groups and politics were all scrapped and the league built up from scratch as the "A League" did that seem to mature.

IMO... Australian Football needs to go through a similar process. Scrap all teams (they can revert back to their former VFL, SANFL leagues if need be) and start afresh. X number of teams from each State/City, new national administration, etc... but AFL is too big and dominant for that to happen.

I'll continue to directly support the PAFC in whatever comp they exist (AFL. SANFL etc)... but I am honestly caring less and less about the AFL and SANFL.

I'm just sick of the BS in both leagues.

The average person on here hasn't lost their passion for the club, but where on earth are the 20,000 people that attended round 22 2007, but didn't come last week?

Twenty.

Thousand.

People.

More than half the Port supporters that went to that game didn't come last week. I'm not talking about people like us who go week in week out and then all week post on messageboards, i'm talking about your average fan. Our average fans are soft and fairweather.

The most disgusting part about it (and i'm sure you've all experienced similar things) is that as a die hard, everyone at my workplace knows who I support, so when we get 16800 to a game and lose embarrassingly, i'm the one who cops it from everyone else at work while the fairweather w***ers put their head down and don't say a word.

The average person on here hasn't lost their passion for the club, but where on earth are the 20,000 people that attended round 22 2007, but didn't come last week?

Twenty.

Thousand.

People.

More than half the Port supporters that went to that game didn't come last week. I'm not talking about people like us who go week in week out and then all week post on messageboards, i'm talking about your average fan. Our average fans are soft and fairweather.

The most disgusting part about it (and i'm sure you've all experienced similar things) is that as a die hard, everyone at my workplace knows who I support, so when we get 16800 to a game and lose embarrassingly, i'm the one who cops it from everyone else at work while the fairweather w***ers put their head down and don't say a word.

It's good eh.

Took the role of piñata at the girlf's uncle's 60th in country Victoria on Saturday night.

Said I went for Port and was subjected to genuine lulz for a good 30 seconds before seemingly endless comments about wooden spoons and being below Gold Coast.

Makes me feel better when talkback Bert from Christies Beach says he's been a Port Powers supporter all his life but won't go to a game ever again because he went to the Freo/Saints/North game for the first time in 5 years and we lost.

How did Port Adelaide lose its soul?