How did Port Adelaide lose its soul?

On this morning's sports show Rucci went on and on about Port supporters giving the club up by not stopping a constitutional change in a 2008 AGM. But as usual he wouldn't specify what he meant. Can anyone enlighten me and the others I have asked who didn't know?

He included even the die hards who go every week and buy merchandise and have their kids support Port.

The panel spent so much time on vague answers that in the end it smelled like a strategy to stop every Craig hater calling in and demanding his head.

He was ranting about Port supporters being traitors and that it was their fault Port was in it's current predicament. Which really fired me and my girlfriend up.

My girlfriend was the Catherine from the email that was read out, who called him the biggest traitor and accused him of putting his journalism [which she said was a term she used loosely in that case :D] before his support of the PAFC.

After the email was read out he deflected from being called a traitor by bleating about the supporters being weak for allowing this change to our constitution.

We drafted a second email saying he has a unique reach for a Port supporter by way of his prominent place in the Adelaide media and there are better ways of mobilising the supporter base than by insulting them and if he knew about this change to our constitution that was such a bad thing why no articles from him at the time about it.

That one didn't get read out.

And exactly right SPG. This always has been Rucci's way and if he knew of this at the time why didn't he make the song and dance then?

Yeah that was what much of our second email to 5aa was about.

He has the opportunity to do much for the club through his media profile, and berated the supporters for not being proactive enough, yet he brings up an event which he sat back and did nothing about himself? :rolleyes:

I heard that email read out.

I get his angst about the constitution change but I cannot recall getting an opportunity to challenge it. I wasn't at the AGM but usually any change like that is communicated to members to digest before a vote. And I don't remember him saying anything about it at the time.

I assume if Port get control of the licence - which Rucci seems to think will happen - then those clauses become redundant as long as we continue to exist as Port Adelaide up to that time.

As I posted before it smacked of an attempt to divert some heat from the Neil Craig debate and succeeded to some extent.

He was saying there is a real chance the SANFL will rename us before we make it to Adelaide Oval due to this constitution change and that the supporters are blindly hoping the move will be our saviour which wasn't justified?

Didn't back it up with any reasons why, or how the change made this possible renaming easier well not before I turned off anyway. I only heard it in the first place because I was in the car, only place I ever listen these days.

He was saying there is a real chance the SANFL will rename us before we make it to Adelaide Oval due to this constitution change and that the supporters are blindly hoping the move will be our saviour which wasn't justified?

Didn't back it up with any reasons why, or how the change made this possible renaming easier well not before I turned off anyway. I only heard it in the first place because I was in the car, only place I ever listen these days.

The thing is any name change will ridiculous and only short lived if the AFL give us back our license.

As much as it would suck the first order of busineess when we have our license back would be to change back to PAFC (for anyone who wanted to get voted in again).

The thing is any name change will ridiculous and only short lived if the AFL give us back our license.

As much as it would suck the first order of busineess when we have our license back would be to change back to PAFC (for anyone who wanted to get voted in again).

I always thought a name change a ridiculous idea, the fastest way to get 90% of Port supporters to drop off would be a name change and who are they going to attract that the Crows wouldn't already have?

I think Rucc is losing it.

Consider this: if the PAFC isn't in the AFL any more, what value does Rucci offer to The Advertiser?

He certainly won't keep his place because of excellent journalism.

We lost our soul once all taggers had to do was to selfishly look after their man all skilled players had to do was to be skilled when the ball was near them and the important one ... chuck in a few grunts to take the blame when it goes pear shaped.

When's the last time you ventured down to Alberton and had a look around? The framed memorabilia, the trophies, the oval, the new facilities.

The AFL as a whole is getting more and more plastic and contrived - and we've blown our own feet off nonstop for the past 4 years - but the eternal club, our club remains.

Duds, spuds and netherdowells come and go, but the club is forever. And it is currently being let down by each of its estates.

I can understand your frustration. We all feel it. But one day we'll be right again, Port Adelaide as Port Adelaide can be. And you will want to be on the crest of that tsunami of payback as the club is once again in the business of rocking faces and taking names.

Rather than burning that bridge, instead stir the embers within you every now and then. You don't want to be in that carpool lane of regret.

I'm not even talking about when September or even a flag is next in the offing, but when Butcher kicks his first bag or Hartlett/Gray/Boak have their first 90-disposal masterclass. When we unearth the next Chad Cornes or Brendon Lade and you can see the makings of greatness materialise before your eyes. When teams will run out at Adelaide Oval shitting their pants.

Our ground. Our game. Our club. Our veins.

Great great post :thumbsu:

It. Is. Alive.

Got a general question for the Port supporters about their current situation.

Is it possible for the club to move to the Adelaide Oval prior to its redevelopment completion?

I have a feeling that AAMI has an agreement in place but blocks you, but I personally think the sooner you move into the city the better. a 20,000 seat stadium with half of it under construction would be better for you then AAMI.

What do you all think?

Is it possible for the club to move to the Adelaide Oval prior to its redevelopment completion?

I have a feeling that AAMI has an agreement in place but blocks you, but I personally think the sooner you move into the city the better. a 20,000 seat stadium with half of it under construction would be better for you then AAMI.

What do you all think?

I imagine we all agree, unfortunately the SANFL/Crows wouldn't let it happen.

What do you all think?

The move to Adelaide Oval is only a small part of "Current Situation" according to the ladder placings at the moment.

The Adelaide Oval move is the answer for some of our conned Port Supporters........for its NOT!! Its just a move to pay out outstanding debts for the SACA and SANFL.

This club needs to take control by playing its games at Alberton Oval, ITS our only answer, but for some its too hard.

Getting to the peak is hard.......you dont learn your ways if its given (rented/leased) or shown the way to you....

I would be very surprised if it does go ahead.....I find it hard to see how the SANFL is going knock down Footy Park when it just spent close to 10-20 million.....in the last 2 years!!

I think I will ignore the herp derps that obviously aren't capable of stringing a coherent sentence together and instead sling insults.

numerous posters: Hey, heaps are people aren't supporting Port anymore, I wonder why?
morell: I don't follow Port or the AFL anymore because of a, b, c, d and e
derp: omg how can you NOT support Pr0t! you just don't like it because of c
morell: Well that's true derp, c is quote annoying, but really, pales into insignificance compared to a, b, d and e.
herp: omg you suck! I cannot believe you don't support Pr0t anymore just because of c!
morell: Well to be accurate there is lots more to it, as outlined earlier, but, yeah, notsureifserious.jpeg
herpa: Go away morell! why are you posting here? You just don't like it cos of c
morell: well no, herpa, in fact ... ah **** it! nevermind!

and focus on the quality posts, like this one:

When's the last time you ventured down to Alberton and had a look around? The framed memorabilia, the trophies, the oval, the new facilities.
I took my nieces to the family day, as I do every year. Quality place, quality people, will go there again more than likely. Probably just for the family days though - as that actually provides value for money, pleasant and comfortable atmosphere, entertainment, good food and a resourceful use of my time. Unlike attending AFL games these days.

The AFL as a whole is getting more and more plastic and contrived - and we've blown our own feet off nonstop for the past 4 years - but the eternal club, our club remains.
Yeah it does, but really, what is the true point of it existing in such an environment? According to our motto we exist to win premierships, an admirable ethos, but in the cold hard light of day, because of the aforementioned plastic and contrived league Port are playing in, even winning premierships means nothing. Ask yourself what it really means to win a flag in the AFL or in other words - what do you have to do well in order to win a flag?

Large bank account
Good amount of recent high draft picks
Favourable fixture from the AFL
Limited injuries - but this could probably be tied back to $
Good timing - the ‘ol premiership clock.

Nothing to do with investing time in juniors, having a great football learning environment, having an inspiring leader or coach, playing with a great game plan or even having better players! - nothing about what I thought was important to winning football is relevant anymore in the modern AFL game - especially over a season or many seasons. It is all about money, draft picks, favourable fixturing and limiting injuries - with a smidge of good timing.

So yes, whilst the club I grew up loving does still exist, it’s kind of like watching your sweet 18 yr old daughter on the strippers pole when you thought she was going to be a doctor.

Even despite all the above, I would probably still support my 18 yr old stripper daughter, if what she was doing was in any way interesting or entertaining to watch. Instead, right when you think she is going to do some sort of magic twirl with just the grip of her arse cheeks in comes the stripper judge to say that it’s not allowed and it’s against the rules and the she is banned from competing because she forgot to put the lid back on one of the other strippers makeup.

Duds, spuds and netherdowells come and go, but the club is forever. And it is currently being let down by each of its estates.
Yeah, this is part of it. The club being penetrated and virally run from the SANFL is also part of it.

I can understand your frustration. We all feel it. But one day we'll be right again, Port Adelaide as Port Adelaide can be. And you will want to be on the crest of that tsunami of payback as the club is once again in the business of rocking faces and taking names.
I have no doubt Port will be successful again, it’s almost ordained - but if I was true to my word - because of the complete basket case that Port currently are, do they really deserve to be?

Rather than burning that bridge, instead stir the embers within you every now and then. You don't want to be in that carpool lane of regret.
Not burning any bridges nor do I have any regrets. Port and the AFL were becoming smaller and smaller parts of my life anyway.

I'm not even talking about when September or even a flag is next in the offing, but when Butcher kicks his first bag or Hartlett/Gray/Boak have their first 90-disposal masterclass. When we unearth the next Chad Cornes or Brendon Lade and you can see the makings of greatness materialise before your eyes. When teams will run out at Adelaide Oval shitting their pants.
When Port unearth the next Chad Cornes or Brendon Lade, will that unearthing be because of Port's enviable ability to nurture youth, teach the game, provide leadership and a junior environment for him to develop...

Or will it be because Port had pick #3 in the 2015 draft and nabbed some lanky kid from Warrnambool, Victoria.

So what would Port have done to reap such a reward? Finish lower on the ladder than their opponents.

**** that shit, **** the AFL, **** all the contrived, manipulated, corrupt bullshit that makes up the current competition.

Our ground. Our game. Our club. Our veins.
Indeed. It is such a shame.

Its true that the AFL gets more and more plastic every year, but really, is that any different to any other major sporting organisation in the world? Is it any different to the NBA? Or the NFL? Or the NHL? Or the Premier League? Or the Serie A? Every major sporting organisation is contrived. Anything that relies on a draft and/or salary cap will be contrived.

But for every morell who is genuinely jaded with the sport/league as a whole, we would have 1000 who just dont want to go because we are shit. These are the ones we need to get back and we need to find another 5-6-7000 genuine supporters who will be there in the bad times.

I think there is a genuine loss of interest in AFL in South Australia. Sure both SA AFL teams are shit at the moment but what that has done is expose a wider discontent with the AFL as it currently exists. I'm sure though that once the teams start winning again the interest will return, at least in the younger supporters.

Edit:

Yeah, this is part of it. The club being penetrated and virally run from the SANFL is also part of it.

Amen. If the members lose the club, the club loses the members.

I have no doubt Port will be successful again, it’s almost ordained - but if I was true to my word - because of the complete basket case that Port currently are, do they really deserve to be?

Do Carlton, Hawthorn and St Kilda deserve it given all 3 were all basket cases? This would be a wider issue with the AFL in general. Ultimately though, the AFL is the highest level of competition we have and we're in it. It's the system we have to live in and while it's far from perfect we are working towards a better system. Recent examples include the father/son rule being made fairer and priority picks have been stripped back a bit

Not burning any bridges nor do I have any regrets. Port and the AFL were becoming smaller and smaller parts of my life anyway.

Fair enough and I've seen it happen to people around me as well.

When Port unearth the next Chad Cornes or Brendon Lade, will that unearthing be because of Port's enviable ability to nurture youth, teach the game, provide leadership and a junior environment for him to develop...

Or will it be because Port had pick #3 in the 2015 draft and nabbed some lanky kid from Warrnambool, Victoria.

So what would Port have done to reap such a reward? Finish lower on the ladder than their opponents.

**** that shit, **** the AFL, **** all the contrived, manipulated, corrupt bullshit that makes up the current competition.

Indeed. It is such a shame.

Probably a bit of both. Of course you'd expect high draft picks to become elite footballers, but every now and again there is a gem in the later rounds. Gray would have to be in the running for our MVP this year and he was taken at pick #55. Carlile was pick #44, Cassisi pick #50. There's no doubt though that the best talent goes high in the draft. I take it you're not happy with the draft system. Are you proposing we change to a zone system or do you have a better system in mind?

morell, I have no respect for you at all.

I can understand stand some fans not buying membership anymore for whatever reason, but to totally jump off the club is a joke.

My dad still loves Port but does not buy a membership anymore after 22 years because of the way the club has treated him and other members. We were all moved after they put them bloody bay covers in, AFTER he had payed for a membership. He got no response as to why and didn't get to pick other seats to sit in, just had to take what they offered or nothing. Absolutely disgraceful stuff from whoever runs the club's membership. As if it wasn't bad enough, the club never sent out a letter or email or called my dad to renew his membership at the end of 2010 after being a member for so long. No contact from the club whatsoever.

I have said and will say, whoever is actually working in membership, or at the club shop for that matter do not deserve to work at the PAFC. By far the most amateur, laziest employees you will ever encounter.

It's not like we have 60k members and somehow don't have time to send a letter or call, we need everyone we can get.

Oh and I got my 2011 membership 1 month into the season, after going into the club 3 times to get it when it didn't arrive in the post :thumbsdown:

I agree that the system of drafts is reasonably contrived. You play **** for a few years, get priority picks and a bunch of first rounders, then have the natural talent to be good and beat the teams that have now aged and need to start again.

But that's not the only way to look at it. Currently Port have 12 (? - not sure exact but know its a fair few) first rounders playing, our 'reward' for being **** the last few years, however we are still not winning. Look at Richmond. They've been arguably one of the worst performing teams for 20 years. They, until the last 18 months, were constantly in the bottom 8, getting high and priority draft picks, but didn't have the right inredients (culture, training, coaches etc.) to develop to a premiership team. Now look at the Eagles, they were spooners last year, but their massive success this year has almost nothing to do with their 'reward' picks in the last draft (arguably Darling has helped).

Then look at Sydney, who have never looked like 'bottoming out' in the last 20 years, but have maintained this show of strength the whole time, with teams genuinely looking at playing the swans at home a real challenge. Top that with a flag in the last half decade.

We need to re-capture that soul of Port Adelaide, re-develop the fighting spirit that Tribey mentioned, that will have our current players constantly fighting on field, while the younger guys are doing everything they can to earn a spot in the greatest team in the comp.

Its true that the AFL gets more and more plastic every year, but really, is that any different to any other major sporting organisation in the world? Is it any different to the NBA? Or the NFL? Or the NHL? Or the Premier League? Or the Serie A? Every major sporting organisation is contrived. Anything that relies on a draft and/or salary cap will be contrived.

But for every morell who is genuinely jaded with the sport/league as a whole, we would have 1000 who just dont want to go because we are shit. These are the ones we need to get back and we need to find another 5-6-7000 genuine supporters who will be there in the bad times.

It doesn't mean those sports' minor comps are noble organizations, untainted by the mighty $plastic ! If AFL is plastic, that makes today's SANFL the AFL's manufacturing swarf and refuse tip. I think the equivalent facilities in Vic & WA operate in a much more environmentally friendly way though.

And no one argues the best comp isn't the best comp. Winning footy is often "unattractive" in a different way from the worst footy. Watching bad sides go at it can be great entertainment. Winning makes up for a lot of c**p, thinking winning is easy isn't healthy. Nor is hanging on to myths about who and why people go to footy. If it is the age of plastic, we'd better learn to be flexible and to value surprise as much as predictability.

So 6k more die hards. The low return bums on seats. Well it won't be from the 11K "die hards" at last weekend's 4 SANFL games. Rather work for the long term on our own bandwagoners, and on nicking sponsors, frankly.

Converting bandwagoners to die hards will take time. The club is on the AFL journey, success never comes easy, or often, at the highest level you stick at it when times are tough, ie most of the time. No guarantees of performance, it's not a circus. No comfortable shallow pond. Far more like competition in real life. Brand yourself with that, kiddies. The conversion is a job for us more so than the club. Die hard is a state of mind independent of last week's result, "attractive" footy, "freakish skills" or decent catering. They won't jump on board on their own except when it suits them, so adopt a bandwagoner, the true journey starts NOW while we're crap. If they survive a "down" cycle they'll be FAR more resilient for the next. Mentally tougher, more committed than following Port in SANFL 20+ years ago left them. If we just watch them jump onboard an "upward" cycle they'll just drop off again.

Speaking of sponsors, 2k more high return corporate asses in boxes seems an easier target by comparison. Not "easy", "easier". Certainly should be for AO than it is at AAMI. While the rest of us are reheating meat and potatoes, cooking bandwagoners into "heart and soul" the club's job is slicing up fillet steaks. You have to do both. In the age of "plastic" professional sport, "heart and soul" has become "heart and soul and wallet".

Very true. If it was just this, lets call it morell's issue "b", then it would be bearable.

but when it's combined with the a, c, d and e shit filled sandwiches that makes the whole AFL meal unpalatable.

I am playing footy this year, but last year when I did my knee I was a mere spectator, and let me tell you, the whole experience of watching Div 6 amateur football was more enjoyable and entertaining than the AFL.

Have a kick at half time, listen to the coaches, tap the players on the arse. Connected, community, local football. Happy days.

I think there is a genuine loss of interest in AFL in South Australia. Sure both SA AFL teams are shit at the moment but what that has done is expose a wider discontent with the AFL as it currently exists.
Forza, always a quality poster, this is pretty much all I am saying.

Do Carlton, Hawthorn and St Kilda deserve it given all 3 were all basket cases? This would be a wider issue with the AFL in general.
Do they "deserve" it, probably yeah, in that every other franshise is in the same boat, so they can only do what they can do.

Having said that I reckon one of the last true premiership flags, in that it was won by a team forged in hard work, development, good coaching and determination - was probably Port in 2004. Since then nearly every team has either been laden with high end draft picks, father sons or an exorbitant football budget - maybe Sydney being the exception, always has a lot of respect for them. ;)

Ultimately though, the AFL is the highest level of competition we have and we're in it. It's the system we have to live in and while it's far from perfect we are working towards a better system. Recent examples include the father/son rule being made fairer and priority picks have been stripped back a bit
Very true. If it was just this, lets call it morell's issue "a", then it would be bearable.

but when it's combined with the b, c, d and e shit filled sandwiches that makes the whole AFL meal unpalatable.

Fair enough and I've seen it happen to people around me as well.
I suggest you call them sooks and whingers. That will bring them back into the club.

Probably a bit of both. Of course you'd expect high draft picks to become elite footballers, but every now and again there is a gem in the later rounds. Gray would have to be in the running for our MVP this year and he was taken at pick #55. Carlile was pick #44, Cassisi pick #50. There's no doubt though that the best talent goes high in the draft. I take it you're not happy with the draft system. Are you proposing we change to a zone system or do you have a better system in mind?
Whilst true, this is at the micro level, at the macro level the more high end draft picks you have, the more success you will have. Which is then related to where you finish on the ladder, which therefore makes a mockery of the entire concept of "competition". The cyclical nature of the AFL is now so entrenched into the psyche of everyone from administrators to players, even supporters - that you get people on this very board saying they want to win the spoon.

I don't have the answers on how to fix it, but I do find it strange that there are a lot of SA kids playing at say, the Bulldogs, whereas we have a lot of Vic kids.

Maybe force clubs to make their first pick from the state they are based in. I don't know, if we can put a man on the moon surely we could work out something that means clubs stay representational and connected to the community without sacrificing an even competition.

morell, I have no respect for you at all.
lol. Throw another tanty.

I think being able to identify with the club's players is a key factor in maintaining interest and support from the fans. Currently Port fails in that area - our youth is primarily Victorian born and bred. Sure the zone selection may not always work in your club's favour as you may take a player ahead of when he was forecast to go, but this would even out over the years, and I think the positives outweigh the negatives. It wont happen though.
Spot on.

Having said that I reckon one of the last true premiership flags, in that it was won by a team forged in hard work, development, good coaching and determination - was probably Port in 2004. Since then nearly every team has either been laden with high end draft picks, father sons or an exorbitant football budget - maybe Sydney being the exception, always has a lot of respect for them. ;)

Agree about the 04 flag.

I know it deos not fit 'in' with the general consensus of the board here, but i actually agree on a lot that Morell says. I will always 'follow' Port, which is probably where we differ slightly, but my life 'away' from an ever increasing unpalatable 'AFL' takes up more time and 'enjoyment' at this stage.

I dont have to go into the whys and wherefores of why the AFL is now 'stinking it up' as most reasons have been mentioned by a few of the posters on the last page or two, but I really can see and sympathise with the disenchanted.

So what do you do when the club breaks your heart, the league consumes your soul and the missus nicks your wallet?

me ? I tend to mope around a bit when that happens. the missus always brings the wallet back when its empty. doesn't have my PIN numbers in it. you're right though, you have to limit the damage to yourself somehow, and everyone has their own way.

How did Port Adelaide lose its soul?