How many Grand Finals have you been to?

1991 - We lost.
1992 - We won.
1994 - We won.
2005 - We lost.
2006 - We won.

Been to 5 for 3 wins and 2 loses, so not a bad strike rate.

Lucky enough to be on the ground and in rooms before and after the game. Also went to the 5 Grand Final dinners.

I agree - I would never go if Geelong wasn't in it doesn't seem right when so many supporters whose team are in it miss out.

1 only - 2007....one of the happiest days of my life
2008 - I turned down a seat...had a bad feeling so I watched it at home alone
2009 - Watched in the UK wishing I was there but not sure if I could have handled the stress!

3/4 of a grand final. Me and some mates took esky's down when there was a hole in the MCG and saw Port Adelaide beat the Lions. Could see 3/4 of the playing surface and the big screen. Was a great day.

My dad and I have been to Geelong's recent ones

I can't picture myself being at a Grand Final when Geelong's not playing. I'd feel I would be taking up someone else's seat.

I'm the same: 07, 08, 09. In on the MCC ballot in 07, camped out for the last two. And I echo your sentiments with taking someone else's seat, I'd probably just as soon watch it on a big screen with a beer and a snag if Geelong weren't playing. Though a big rivalry (Carlton/Collingwood/Essendon, WC/Freo, Ade/PA) would be tempting...

I'm not shitting you here, I've been to every AFL Grand Final since 1986.

Simply put, I am an AFL member, and have been since 1984, and I used to line up at 6.00 in the morning at the G (and once at Waverley) to get a great seat.

These days it's a little harder to get in, but basically unless Essendon or Carlton are playing in the GF, there are plenty of GF tickets left over for non competing club AFL members after the competing clubs members have a crack.

Sit up top most years now (unless the Pies are playing), but still enjoy the day as much as ever.

I miss having the Under 18's on before hand though, think the day just doesn't feel the same without any real pre match "event", as we all the pre match entermtainment sucks so bad it's embarassing.

I love going to the GF each year, it's one of my favourite days of the year.

Standouts for me were;

* 1986; First GF, just found the whole thing so overwhelming, oh yeah, and Carlton lost, so it was a good day all round.

* 1990; Obvious reasons, greatest post match party ever too.

* 1991; Batmobile, enough said.

* 1992; Watching an interstate team win the flag, I was happy, loved WCE ever since then. (2nd team now)

* 1997; Adelaide and Jarman, that's all that needs to be said.

* 2002; Most intense Grand Final I've seen, was just a fight in poor conditions for 3 hours.

* 2003; Brisbane; Greatest performance I have ever seen, they were utterly ruthless from minute one.

* 2005; Closest GF obviously, was just amazing, the whole crowd was on edge. Not unhappy to see the Swans win one either.

* 2008; Biggest upset I have seen in a GF, geelong really blew it, and Hawthorn were staggeringly better then they have been before or since that day.

So, overall, that means this year will be my 25th AFL/VFL Grand final.

Not sure if this has been done before, but I am intrigued due to supposedly how hard tickets are to get.
Might as well add which year/s and what you thought of the whole event.

I have been to every one since 2002, this one will be my 6th
2005 - Cried
2006 - Cried
1971 for a win 1975 for a loss. Never been to another which is very dissapointing for me but it is hard to get tickets. They cost a fortune especially for packages from interstate now.
The corporates have a black market for them and get stacks to farm out to people some of who don't give a fxxk about AFL footy just enjoy the high life in a box and have "bussines s'" and are connected.The rest have to fight tooth and nail with fellow members and hard case followers for the other tickets that they hope to get for the big day. Where in the name of christ do the bloody scalpers get there tickets also. Fair dinkum the world of sport is stuffed up in a lot of unfair ways these days.
Dimetriou and Anderson should give up there GF seats this year and let a couple of real supporters have a turn in a corporate box a couple of pensioners or something like that.There's a challenge for you "Dim" do that this year, and go and watch the game in a pub in Richmond or in the city with real people.

02 and 03.

Cried like little baby Licuria in 02, but had the result picked from the FIRST BOUNCE in 03. Literally.

Among my crew at the football, I'm known as the exaggerator, and something just felt off about them that day.

As soon as the ball was bounced, I said "Shit, we're gonna get SMASHED today!". And one of my mates just went off at me.

Yeah, funny how that turned out that day.

7----- 5 wins 2 losses

67 amazing after such a long wait
69 belted the cats in the first semi and never looked back
72 the one that got away
73 attonement
74 the world was against us, never going to lose that one
80 stuck amongst some maggie supporters who left just after half time
82 helen d amico

A total of 7 Grand Finals.....1989, 1991, 1992, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1999.

I had a ticket for 1993 (gave it to a Carlton supporting work colleague) and also for 1997 (gave it to a mate who follows St Kilda.)

So the painful truth is that I personally witnessed my team lose 4 Grand Finals and then missed their redemption years of 2007 and 2009. How's that for bad karma? :rolleyes:

PS: Message to God - I'm absolutely not complaining. :):thumbsu:

Haha not only is it bad for you but if ya get a hold of tickets ya mates teams lose to. Stay away from GF tickets especially when Geelong are playing ok :D

i remember sitting in the middle of a whole bay of essendon supporters behind the goals in the ponsford stand during the 1999 preliminary final - greatest game i've ever attended. sadly the week after, i was up in the nosebleeds (one of the top rows of the olympic stand) and was sitting behind 3 rows of west coast supporters! grand finals should be about enjoying the experience with your own supporters who have been there throughout the thick and thin, instead of being surrounded by corporates and neutral fans

How many Grand Finals have you been to?