How the Roos nabbed Arocca

What do you mean?
Eddie basically runs your club as well, Queen's Birthday keeps your pathetic club afloat. If Eddie wanted to play a new team on QB, i've no doubt the AFL would agree to that, and it would probably mean the death of the MFC.

Was tongue in cheek, hence the next paragraph beginning with the word seriously.

Now back to bed, the grown ups are talking.

And I reckon his job at carlton is far more tenous due to the constant politicking that takes place at Carlton. he may run the show, but only at the say so of the back room boys who never like anyone to have too much control if they cant have it themselves.

So who runs the show at Collingwood? I don't think Gary Pert will ever be going out on a limb & disagreeing with anything Eddie says or does. In fact I doubt there are too many AFL clubs where the power doesn't lie with the 'back room boys' as you call them. Most clubs are only a couple of bad seasons or even a couple of bad games (see Geelong circa Round 2, 2004) away from sharpening the knives & in some cases using them. Certainly no paid employee of an AFL club has a job for life, just ask Leigh Matthews.

Eddie is too busy elsewhere. I'd say the board makes decisions and the CEO makes it happen.

As evidenced last year and 2006, when Eddie definitely wasnt around and the CEO(s) had the place to themselves. Seemed to work OK.

The landscape at AFL clubs is a bit different these days as they headhunt topnotch CEO's who wont put up with too much back room interference. After all, when they inevitably leave, they still have to have the rep of being able to keep control.

The only problem at Carlton is that they took 10 years to accept footballing socialism was alive and I dont think they will have rid themselves yet of that back room mentality. swanny may sort them out, he may fall on his sword. But you would know that there are some at carlton whose egos wont allow an easy transition if it means they are less involved.

Fair enough but I think you need to take off the rose colored glasses.

Say what you want about the way Carlton went about it but I know which way I would prefer my club to go about headhunting a CEO.

Melbourne generally decide these matters in true blueblood style - with a game of soggy biscuit.

Or in Joe Gutnick's casem they consult a Zionist sorceror.

Bwahaha! You arnt very bright. As if Eddie could run a football club.

1) all his money has come from being an overpaid media personality at 9.

2) His internet business went bust, wich is a big achievement.

3) Couldnt run channel 9.

Yep he would be running the club.

Good signing - Well done Roos. He'll need to earn his pay huge task.
On the Brayshaw mate thing all well and good. It's much more enjoyable pulling the rug on Collingwood though a la Swann -

Fair enough but I think you need to take off the rose colored glasses.

Say what you want about the way Carlton went about it but I know which way I would prefer my club to go about headhunting a CEO.

Yeah I think I'll stick with the one that doesn't dump a shit load of bad karma. To each his own.

What's unethical about making an offer to someone without telling their employer first ????.

Sounds like a serious conflict of interest and very poor business skills by JB to me.

If Eddie had turned around and thrown more cash at the guy, the Roos may have lost their man, or been engaged in a bidding war.

So by making the offer without telling the employer, you believe the person you're poaching is bound in some way not to try negotiating with their current employer to match or better the offer? Have you ever employed anyone?

[QUOT=Bring-Back-Powell;9918576]To be CEO of the Melbourne football club would be one of the most prestegious jobs in Australia.

Steve Harris is a very lucky man![/QUOT]

Do you want to bring Powell back 2b CEO? Cos he was ptrty sh1t at footy lol. Does ne1 kno if the Melb CEO is a paying job?

He certainly is. Like everything else Melbourne he has become a master of anonymity.

And their president is supposed to be some marketing and advertising guru.

He can't be too flash. Melbourne have the lowest profile, relevance and care factor in the competition.

But they got a new logo.;)

And their president is supposed to be some marketing and advertising guru.

He can't be too flash. Melbourne have the lowest profile, relevance and care factor in the competition.

But they got a new logo.;)
The only reason the Kangaroos have a higher profile than Melbourne was because they were nearly dead last year and hense were in the paper everyday. All negative press by the way.

At least our president didn't borrow a copy of ' an Introduction to Business finance', rip out a page and stick it onto the powder puff North survival plan. Ahh, JB stick to the footy show son :eek:

The only reason the Kangaroos have a higher profile than Melbourne was because they were nearly dead last year and hense were in the paper everyday. All negative press by the way.

At least our president didn't borrow a copy of ' an Introduction to Business finance', rip out a page and stick it onto the powder puff North survival plan. Ahh, JB stick to the footy show son :eek:
How's that prestige job of CEO going at melbourne????:thumbsu:

How the Roos nabbed Arocca