I Have A Problem!

You know, being a Fremantle supporter, one has to be honest and say that our club has not handled some trades well in the past. Heck, it's been Bay 13 fodder for years. Now normally it dosent matter who we draft becasue we'll get trolled, whether they win a rising star or evolve into a spud. At least I know now there is a club(s) that continually make worse trade decisions than Fremantle.

We got one of them (James Sellar)... and the thread has had aout 500 replies... :)
You wouldn't want him for Pavlich..would you ?

Really? Why would you bother after taking Tyrone Vickery in the draft:confused:?
See if you can spot the differences:
Warnock cost Carlton 2 picks(including a top 30 pick) in the National draft .
Browne cost Richmond a 3rd round rookie pick.

Warnock was recruited to be Carltons first choice ruck for the next few years but could spend the next couple of years running around in the Bullants, seeing as Hampson is such a gun.

Browne has been picked up as a project player who will most likely spend the next couple of years running around at Coburg in their seconds.

See if you can spot the differences:
Warnock cost Carlton 2 picks(including a top 30 pick) in the National draft .
Browne cost Richmond a 3rd round rookie pick.

Warnock was recruited to be Carltons first choice ruck for the next few years but could spend the next couple of years running around in the Bullants, seeing as Hampson is such a gun.

Browne has been picked up as a project player who will most likely spend the next couple of years running around at Coburg in their seconds.

I will try and dumb it down a bit. Why do you need a project ruckman of the same age when Vickery is going to be such a gun? Use the pick on something else.

Before Warnock, Hampson was the only pure ruckman at Carlton. Carlton have a lot of depth in the Forward Line, Midfield and Back Line. The only place that we are lacking depth is in the ruck division, hence the need to recruit another ruckman.

I hope this has cleared things up for you.

This comment deserved a second post from me..

ROFL.jpg

Belly%20Laugh%20Logo%201.jpg

obama_afro.jpg

If I went out and bought $500k of ABC Learning and Babcock and Brown shares I would still have made better trade decisions than Fremantle.

The crown is all yours.

I'm sure Carlton wear it.

Carlton traded pick 16 and 46 to Fremantle for Stephen O'Reilly who played 12 games for the Blues. AND Carlton had to pay him illegally outside the cap. AND he blew the whistle on them. AND the Scum had to pay a fine. AND they got kicked out of the draft and had to recruit hacks. AND it meant that their multi-million investment in Denis Pagan was a waste because he had no players.

Stephen O'Reilly for - Pick 16, pick 46, $1m fine, pick 1, 2, 17 and 33 in the 2003 draft, pick 1 in the 2003 PSD, 1st and 2nd round picks in the 2004 draft.

Daylight second behind this one. :thumbsu::thumbsu:

You selected Squibbs the average tagger with a number one pick.:eek:

Before Warnock, Hampson was the only pure ruckman at Carlton. Carlton have a lot of depth in the Forward Line, Midfield and Back Line. The only place that we are lacking depth is in the ruck division, hence the need to recruit another ruckman.

Depth in the fwd line?? has fev got some twin brothers playing in the 2's that we have not heard of yet??

As for your back line just because you have lots of crap backline players doesn't mean you have depth.

Carlton traded pick 16 and 46 to Fremantle for Stephen O'Reilly who played 12 games for the Blues. AND Carlton had to pay him illegally outside the cap. AND he blew the whistle on them. AND the Scum had to pay a fine. AND they got kicked out of the draft and had to recruit hacks. AND it meant that their multi-million investment in Denis Pagan was a waste because he had no players.

Stephen O'Reilly for - Pick 16, pick 46, $1m fine, pick 1, 2, 17 and 33 in the 2003 draft, pick 1 in the 2003 PSD, 1st and 2nd round picks in the 2004 draft.

Carlton traded pick 16 and 46 to Fremantle for Stephen O'Reilly.

That's it?? Even if you chuck in Mansfield, Davenport, Chambers, Longmuir, Eccles we are not in the same league as the Dockers. Have you got one right?

* Chris Tarrant from Collingwood for Paul Medhurst and draft selection #8
* Dean Solomon plus draft selection #52 for draft selections #42 and #47
* Josh Carr from Port Adelaide for selections #11, #27 and # 45.
* Heath Black from St Kilda, three way deal with Troy Simmonds and Aaron Fiora.
* Des Headland for Adam McPhee, selections #3 & 19
* Trent Croad with McPharlin for selections #1, #20 and #36
* Luke McPharlin with Croad for selections #1, #20 and #36
* Jeff Farmer for selection #17 + a wage of 500k
* Peter Bell for Jess Sinclair and selections #6, 8 & 37
* Troy Longmuir for selections #19 and #63
* Adrian Fletcher with selection #26 for selection #5
* Daniel Hargraves for selection #18
* Stuart Anderson for Winston Abraham
* Chris Bond with selection #5 for selection #2
* David Hynes for Phillip Matera and selection #3
* Dale Kickett for selection #39
* Tony Delaney for selection #4
* Phil Gilbert for Jeff Farmer
* Chris Groom for Andrew McLeod
* Scott Watters for selection #21

That's world class!:D

Depth in the fwd line?? has fev got some twin brothers playing in the 2's that we have not heard of yet??

As for your back line just because you have lots of crap backline players doesn't mean you have depth.

Hang on there, Deano, he never said what quality of depth they had in the backlines...;)

funny that, we picked one up in the draft :D

Rare finds that for sure :p

We have about 8 on our list. We couldn't get rid of one of them during Trading week.:eek:

I will try and dumb it down a bit. Why do you need a project ruckman of the same age when Vickery is going to be such a gun? Use the pick on something else.
Are you trying to tell me Carlton traded 2 picks in the draft for a project ruckman? Because that is all Browne, a 3rd round rookie draftee, is for us at this stage. If they did then they are well and truly the kings of the trading blunders.

Actually I'm starting to think trading 2 picks in a strong ND for a project ruckman in Warnock is closing in fast on replacing daylight in second.

Carlton traded pick 16 and 46 to Fremantle for Stephen O'Reilly.

That's it?? Even if you chuck in Mansfield, Davenport, Chambers, Longmuir, Eccles we are not in the same league as the Dockers. Have you got one right?

* Chris Tarrant from Collingwood for Paul Medhurst and draft selection #8
* Dean Solomon plus draft selection #52 for draft selections #42 and #47
* Josh Carr from Port Adelaide for selections #11, #27 and # 45.
* Heath Black from St Kilda, three way deal with Troy Simmonds and Aaron Fiora.
* Des Headland for Adam McPhee, selections #3 & 19
* Trent Croad with McPharlin for selections #1, #20 and #36
* Luke McPharlin with Croad for selections #1, #20 and #36
* Jeff Farmer for selection #17 + a wage of 500k
* Peter Bell for Jess Sinclair and selections #6, 8 & 37
* Troy Longmuir for selections #19 and #63
* Adrian Fletcher with selection #26 for selection #5
* Daniel Hargraves for selection #18
* Stuart Anderson for Winston Abraham
* Chris Bond with selection #5 for selection #2
* David Hynes for Phillip Matera and selection #3
* Dale Kickett for selection #39
* Tony Delaney for selection #4
* Phil Gilbert for Jeff Farmer
* Chris Groom for Andrew McLeod
* Scott Watters for selection #21

That's world class!:D

You listed some of our former trades. WOW:thumbsu:
However none of them come close to the O'Reilly trade which exposed the rotten core. Some of our tades you cut and pasted above do suck.

Collectively they dont touch;

BTW - I wouldnt really expect to know what your talking about regarding Fremantle FC but Dale Kickett was a champion. Phil Reads good mate:rolleyes:
You list recruiting Troy Longmuir as an error? Perhaps so but the Blues recruited from Fremantle... your real good at this:rolleyes:

...But it wouldn't be fair unless I cut and pasted your trades as well.
Many thanks to thatswhatimtalkingabout.
Anti carlton Hero No 95
The carlton drafters

Make no mistake, these men used to be at the very top of their profession in the seventies and eighties as, armed with the fattest cheque book in the land and a rich, fertile football zone in Bendigo, they pilliaged and plundered the best talent available.

And then.....

And then the salary cap and draft came into force, putting these men into dangerous foreign territory, a world where open deceit and cheating was no longer tolerated. All they had learned was now no more. One can only assume that all resources were immediately concentrated on how to rort the salary cap, leaving only Clarry - the 86 year old, half deaf, Camel noey smoking bloke who likes to sit up the back of the Heatley Stand to do the drafting.

Because this is what happened;

1986 National Draft
Pick 12 : Dom Fotia, West Torrens, SANFL
Pick 23 : Doug Smart, North Adelaide, SANFL
Pick 38 : Simon Minton-Connell, North Hobart
Pick 51 : Andrew Herring, Wynyard, Tas
Pick 64 : Darren Newlan, Golden Square, VCFL

1987 National Draft
Pick 12 : Peter Bubner*, Central District, SANFL
Pick 26 : Stephen Oliver, Castlemaine, VCFL
Pick 39 : David Kernahan, Glenelg, SANFL
Pick 52 : Stephen Gemmell, Cobram, VCFL
Pick 65 : Dean Adams, Shepparton, VCFL

1988 National Draft
Pick 40 : Glen Johnston, Nth Launceston, Tas
Pick 54 : Michael Sexton, Sandhurst, VCFL
Pick 68 : Grant Povey, Claremont, WAFL
Pick 82 : Anthony Loone, Deloraine, Tas
Pick 96 : Michael James, St Patricks, Ballarat APS - (Father/Son selection)
Pick 110 : Chris Mulcair*, Marist Brothers, Bendigo APS - (Father/Son selection)

1989 National Draft
Pick 7 : Stephen Edgar, East Fremantle, WAFL
Pick 21 : Peter Doyle*, Union, VCFL
Pick 35 : Chris Bond, North Hobart, Tas
Pick 53 : Derek Coghlan, Lemnos, VCFL
Pick 67 : Ben Judd*, Sturt, SANFL
Pick 81 : Sam Gross, Boort, VCFL
Pick 95 : Jeremy Smith, Sandy Bay, Tas
Pick 109 : Colin Corkery*, Cork, Ireland

1990 National Draft
Pick 2 : James Cook, North Hobart, Tas
Pick 7 : Damian Hampson*, Subiaco, WAFL
Pick 31 : Nick Faull, Golden Point, VCFL
Pick 59 : Cameron James, Morwell, VCFL
Pick 73 : Anthony McDonald, Ballarat YCW, VCFL
Pick 87 : Danny Morgan*, Boolarra, VCFL

1991 National Draft
Pick 18 : Matthew Hogg, Footscray, AFL
Pick 28 : Cale O'Keefe, Sth Launceston, Tas
Pick 44 : Brett Sholl, Nth Melbourne, AFL
Pick 54 : Leigh Snooks, Derinallum, VCFL
Pick 57 : Anthony McDonald, Carlton, AFL
Pick 78 : Matthew Dickson, Sandhurst, VCFL
Pick 79 : Bevan Smillie, Essendon, AFL

1992 National Draft
Pick 13 : Andrew McKay, Glenelg, SANFL
Pick 43 : Adrian Whitehead, Wodonga, VCFL
Pick 58 : Chris Peel, Swan Districts, WAFL
Pick 61 : Luke Rayner*, Geelong U18, VCFL
Pick 73 : Tony Plim*, Golden Square, VCFL
Pick 88 : Troy Bond, Port Adelaide, SANFL
Pick 103 : Ben Harrison, Devonport, Tas
Pick 118 : Scott Spalding, Perth, WAFL
Father/Son : Darren Walsh, Golden Square, VCFL

1993 National Draft
Pick 18 : Simon Beaumont, Central U18, VMFL
Pick 48 : Matthew Hopkins, West Adelaide, SANFL

1994 National Draft
Pick 15 : Scott Camporeale, Woodville-West Torrens, SANFL
Pick 33 : Mark Cullen*, Eastern U18, VMFL
Pick 41 : Adam White, Eastern U18, VMFL
Pick 67 : Tony Bourke, Ballarat U18, VCFL
Pick 79 : Aaron Hamill, Tuggeranong, ACT
Pick 89 : David Nicholson*, Western U18, VMFL
Pre-Draft Supplementary : Matthew Blagrove*, Carlton Reserves, AFL RES

1995 National Draft
Pick 62 : Adrian Burdon, Tasmania U18, Tas
Pick 63 : Jacob Anstey, Tuggeranong, ACT
Pick 69 : Daniel Marshall, Dandenong-Southern U18, VMFL
Father/Son : David Walls, Southport, Qld

1996 National Draft
Pick 38 : Sam Smart, Norwood, SANFL
Pick 52 : Damien Lock, Bendigo U18, VCFL
Pick 74 : Chris Jackson, NSW-ACT U18, NSW-ACT
Pick 81 : Anthony Franchina, Carlton Reserves, AFL RES
Father/Son : Lance Whitnall, Northern U18, VMFL

1997 National Draft
Pick 7 : Kris Massie, Dandenong U18, VMFL
Pick 23 : Adam Chatfield, NSW-ACT U18, NSW-ACT
Pick 55 : Craig Black Dandenong, U18, VMFL
Pick 70 : Trent Hoppner, Preston U18, VMFL
Pick 80 : John Hynes, Prahran U18, VMFL
Pick 83 : Ben J. Thompson, Kedron Grange, Qld

1998 National Draft
Pick 6 : Murray Vance, Murray U18, VCFL
Pick 38 : Brendan Fevola, Dandenong U18, VMFL
Pick 58 : Ian Prendergast, Oakleigh U18, VMFL
Pick 67 : Brett Backwell, West Brisbane, Qld
Pick 78 : Not utilised
Pick 87 : Not utilised

1999 National Draft
Pick 60 : Richard Kelly, Perth, WAFL
Pick 73 : Ryan Houlihan, Murray U18, VCFL
Pick 80 : Jeremy Dukes, Prahran U18, VMFL
Pick 86 : Trent Hotton, East Burwood, VMFL
Pick 90 : Andrew Merrington, St Bernards, VAFA
Pick 92 : Adam Mathews*, Murray U18, VCFL
Pick 93 : Joe Allen, Gippsland U18, VCFL

2000 National Draft
Pick 4 : Luke Livingston, Bendigo U18, VCFL
Pick 11 : Trent Sporn, North Adelaide, SANFL
Pick 15 : Simon Wiggins, Tasmania U18, Tas
Pick 31 : Blake Campbell, Murray U18, VCFL
Pick 46 : Sean O'Keeffe, Murray U18, VCFL
Pick 61 : Callan Beasy, Bendigo U18, VCFL

2001 National Draft
Pick 39 : Justin Davies, Murray U18, VCFL
Pick 46 : Jarrad Waite, Murray U18, VCFL - (Father/Son selection)
Pick 75 : Sam Cranage, Carlton, AFL
Pick 84 : Not utilised

2002 National Draft
Pick 45 : Kade Simpson, Eastern U18, VMFL
Pick 60 : Cameron Croad*, Oakleigh U18, VMFL
Pick 72 : Brad Fisher, Eastern U18, VMFL
Pick 79 : Karl Norman, Wangaratta Rovers, VCFL
Pick 84 : Mick Martyn, Kangaroos, AFL

2003 National Draft
Pick 2 - Priority Selection : Andrew Walker, Bendigo U18, VCFL
Pick 57 : Ricky Mott, Fremantle Rookies
Pick 63 : Glen Bowyer, Hawthorn, AFL
Pick 69 : Jordan Bannister, Essendon, AFL
Pick 72 : Adrian Deluca, Port Melbourne, VFL
Pick 75 : Stephen Kenna, Box Hill Hawks, VFL
Pick 78 : Not utilised
Pick 80 : Not utilised

2004 National Draft
Pick 9 : Jordan Russell, West Adelaide, SANFL
Pick 25 : Adam Hartlett, West Adelaide, SANFL
Pick 41 : Luke Blackwell, Swan Districts, WAFL - (Father/Son selection)
Pick 73 : Chris Bryan, Frankston, VFL
Pick 77 : Anthony Raso*, Dandenong Stingrays U18

2005 National Draft
Pick 1 - Priority Selection: Marc Murphy, Oakleigh Chargers U18
Pick 4 : Josh Kennedy, East Fremantle, WAFL
Pick 20 : Paul Bower, Peel Thunder, WAFL
Pick 36 : Jake Edwards, Western Jets U18

2006 National Draft
Pick 1 : Bryce Gibbs, Glenelg, SANFL
Pick 17 - Priority Selection: Shaun Hampson, Mt Gravatt, Queensland
Pick 19 : Shaun Grigg, North Ballarat
Pick 35 : Mark Austin, Glenelg, SANFL
Pick 51 : Clinton Benjamin*, Claremont, WA
Pick 67 : Joe Anderson, Darwin, NT
Pick 81 : Not utilised

2007 National Draft
Pick 1 - Priority Selection : Matthew Kreuzer, Northern Knights U18
Pick 36 : Steven Browne, West Perth, WA
Pick 46 : Dennis Armfield, Swan Districts, WA
Pick 65 : Not utilised

2008 National Draft
Pick 6: Chris Yarran*, Swan Districts
Pick 40: Mitch Robinson*, Tassie Devils
Pick 65: Rhys O'Keeffe*, North Adelaide
Pick 80: Caleb Tiller*, Murray Bushrangers
Pick 85: Pass

Given the reasoning a successful draftee is one who plays 100 games or more, I have limited my findings to the drafts 1986 - 2001 inclusive, 15 drafts that netted the Blues 90 picks.

Of those 90 picks, 11 players went onto play 100 games or more, and 4 of those 200. Not bad you think? Well, 2 of those 11 were father/sons, so they don't really count.

So 'Clarry' is shooting 9 out of 90 or a 10% success rate.

Bad news Blues fans, with that sort of 'success' I suspect 'Clarry' might be on someone else's payroll.

So charge your glasses and three cheers for 'Clarry the Carlton Drafter' - a true Blues Anti Hero.

So it may be hard for you to accept, but you are worse at the recruiting & trade game then Freo'... ouch.

You listed some of our former trades. WOW:thumbsu:
However none of them come close to the O'Reilly trade which exposed the rotten core. Some of our tades you cut and pasted above do suck.

Collectively they dont touch;

BTW - I wouldnt really expect to know what your talking about regarding Fremantle FC but Dale Kickett was a champion. Phil Reads good mate:rolleyes:
You list recruiting Troy Longmuir as an error? Perhaps so but the Blues recruited from Fremantle... your real good at this:rolleyes:

...But it wouldn't be fair unless I cut and pasted your trades as well.
Many thanks to thatswhatimtalkingabout.

So it may be hard for you to accept, but you are worse at the recruiting & trade game then Freo'... ouch.

Thanks for the recruiting history of the Blues there champ.

Shit as it was, we still managed to win two premierships in that time. But of course, the Dockers recruiting was so much better than the Blues. So how many have they won again :rolleyes::eek:

lolzapallooza!

Really? We picked one up with a later pick in the rookie draft.

As did we :):thumbsu:

I Have A Problem!