I'll retain my membership - & you should too!

Bjay

Jan 28, 2000
Proud Lions fan in Brissy
Brisbane Lions
I am a Brisbane Lions supporter and member, have been for many years, and 2010 will be no exception.

Did I vote "No" in the poll about drafting Fevola? Yes, I did, but I am not a footballer, a coach, or an experienced recruiter. I didn't want to lose Braddy and Risca, and have, at times, hated Fevola. I'm sad that we have lost Hendo, but we have lost promising youngsters before, and we have survived, even thrived, and we can do it still.

At times I also un-loved Martin Pike, Adam Heuskes, Craig Lambert, (even Blake Caracella who was a really nice bloke) and quite a few others, but when they became Lions, they became part of the club I have followed and loved all my adult life, starting with Fitzroy & the Bears (I was a late starter).

I am ready to embrace Fevola, (though not figuratively), as long as he is true to the club, as he is a very good, even great, player, and everyone deserves a second chance (or even a third or sixth chance).

Our beloved club is on the brink of something great, the Voss era! We had a good 2009, possibly because we put our faith in Vossy, but definitely because we had players who were ready to give their all towards a common goal.

I am ready to give my all for our club, and this means supporting the choices made by those who know more about the game than this humble supporter.

Being a supporter and member of the Lions is all about the club, which is greater than the sum of it's players.

SUPPORT YOUR CLUB - we have a chance to hold on to the coat-tails of a great team for the next best ride of our lives! If you've never held a membership, now is the time to get one - you'll want to be there in September!

Bring on 2010!

Yep. Totally agree

Those people who have beebn writing how they won't be renewing their membership because of one man, they make me sick to my stomach.

I say, if they are gonna be piss weak like that, go support Gold Coast, don't come back riding our bandwagon when Vossy's plan comes to fruition

I agree with Bjay. People might dislike an individual like Fevola, but AFL is a team game. There can always be an individual player in a team who some people may dislike for various reasons. I am sure that Akermanis had his detractors during some of his time as a Brisbane Lions player, even when we were winning premiership prior to the 2006 debacle.

For what it's worth, there are times when some of what J.Brown says tends to annoy me. Perhaps not so much for what he has said in itself, but perhaps more in the sense of him representing the club as captain. I don't have a problem with ocker humour, but I don't think it transpires that well to some of the contexts in which he uses it. I guess that might seem minor by comparison to the exploits of other players though, and possibly that includes Fevola.

Fevola has been punished by his previous club by no longer being able to play for them. If he requires further punishment by the AFL or the criminal justice system, then he will have to wear that as well.

There is no point in me, on top of that, trying to add my own level of punishment to him, or to the club for that matter, by not continuing to be a member.

The guy deserves a second chance and I'm sick of carlton supporters taking the moral high ground and bagging Fevola now that he has gone.

Blokes like Mathieson are a disgrace - its easy to point the finger at Fevola, but why havent Carlton been held accountable for their handling of Fevola?

Totally agree with Bjay, if you're ripping up your memberships, stagin protests outside the Gabba or even switching your allegiances to other clubs - what sort of a supporter are you? yes thats directed at certain members of the Lions board, where nothing but negative bullcrap has been posted by them. I'm sure you will be the first ones to bite your tongue if the Lions did strike success with our new recruits and even if we dont I'll still be supporting our team. Get behind them, if not then shut up and go elsewhere!

The guy deserves a second chance and I'm sick of carlton supporters taking the moral high ground and bagging Fevola now that he has gone.
Don't you mean fifth chance?

Blokes like Mathieson are a disgrace - its easy to point the finger at Fevola, but why havent Carlton been held accountable for their handling of Fevola?

But I do agree with you on this. Carlton have let Fevola get away with a hell of a lot and then play poor us when he goes too far once too often. Mathieson is a rather the hypocrite considering that fact that his club did not much over the years.

I am ready to embrace Fevola, (though not figuratively), as long as he is true to the club, as he is a very good, even great, player, and everyone deserves a second chance (or even a third or sixth chance)

I'm with you, figuratively be damned, lets embrace him literally.

Maybe even some naked dancing at the german club i dont know let me know how it goes.

I'm with you, figuratively be damned, lets embrace him literally.

Giving Fev a cuddle. What a scary thought. :p

Come to think of it, a cuddly Fev would do wonders for his image! Charmo would get a little jealous.

I too, voted no to Fevola. Unfortunately for Carlton they had no choice, they probably didn't handle him right from the get go, and had no option but to get him out, and think of the bigger picture and culture of their club.

We however, have a coach who can see the elite skills of Fevola coupled with Premiership heroes Brown, Black, Power and Bradshaw provides a window to another premiership before time. Anyone who saw the bulldogs/lions final will know that we were as good as the result of that game compared to the top 3 teams. So drafting some solid experienced players with finals experience and backing himself to resurrect them is something we will all look forward to.

So in saying that, I think Fevola is an idiot, but I would love nothing morre than to see him turn himself around, because from what I hear he actually does some nice things for the kids.

As for tearing up memberships- rubbish. Every time I hear that I laugh, as if when your team is in finals.

Cant wait for 2010. Rich to Brown to Fevola

I've registered my interest in getting a Victorian membership & with local umpiring doubt I'd be able to get to too many Games in Melbourne. Hope beginning of the afl season before local footy starts I'd be able to get to games also go to the family day in Melbourne so i can wish fevola all the best at his new club.
Its a bugger Ballarat doesn't have a supporters group surly their be plenty of Brisbane supporters where i use t work up in the wimmera their was a few.

go Lions 2010 :thumbsu:

Definitely keeping our silver memberships! As I said in another thread, The LOVE of the game is greater than any LOVE of a Club or player. If you want to regularly watch AFL games in Brissie without the hassle of organising tickets each week, then you need a Lions’ membership. Besides, watching Fevola and Browny kick goals for the Lions’ is going to be super exciting, and Fevola has always been good for entertainment. :p

I live in Townsville so i am not a member as things are tight and highly unlikely to get to a game live, however with the big fev as well as the rest of the team hoefully building on this year's form i will be getting a country membership for next year:thumbsu:

Agree - a new start may be just what he needs. Especially in a team with strong leadership.

I'll be ramping up mine and the missus' membership next year.
Due to the faint chance we make the GF.
Gret idea lionroar, may have to take up the September option ourselves :thumbsu:

I'll retain my membership - & you should too!