Injuries 2019

i think Cox is better for our structure than Taberner

I would have to agree.

He offers something when the ball hits the ground, is actually pretty quick and his field kicking is really good. All areas in which Tabs is a liability.

Yeah I'm another who don't think we lose too much with Cox in for Taberner. With Lobb coming back, the only real big loss for me is AP. His leadership back there will be severely missed, although I don't think the structure will be impacted too much.

Logue himself is a good defender and has attributes that AP doesn't possess (ie is a long raking kick). But ideally once Logue is in form you would ideally have him as the 3rd defender with Hamling and AP as the KPDs. Logue's main improvement will come from using his attributes (ie pace and kick) to impact offensively. His first instinct in his rookie season was to look sideways and I did see some improvement in that area on the weekend so it'll be interesting to see how he goes over the next few weeks. I also think he is a good kick so hopefully it was just rust on the weekend and not a trend.

I think 3 tall fwds and a ruck can work - just always have 1 off them on the bench.
I would rather another running player on the bench. Ideally someone who can allow Mundy or Fyfe to rest forward more. Should be able to be achieved with the returns of SHill and Blakely, plus Bennell and Cerra to return.

Agree with most. However with Tabs and Lobb out, players are suddenly on notice and less passengers. Hogan and Cox are forced to do more, contribute more as a result of having no foil in Tabs. Hogan got away with quite a lot, now he's the main target and playing like it.
Cox is now at more contests, having to exert himself more then usual. It's counterreactive tbh. IF those two don't perform, the team's in big trouble up forward. Funny how we played better in 2013 with Pav out, and when he comes back, everyone's almost backing off.

I would rather another running player on the bench. Ideally someone who can allow Mundy or Fyfe to rest forward more. Should be able to be achieved with the returns of SHill and Blakely, plus Bennell and Cerra to return.
Yeh our KPP do tend to play very high minutes which could be a contributing factor in our strong last quarters with our runners getting rested.

Everyone fit and in form i would be going with

Logue Hamling Ryan
Wilson Pearce Blakely
Hill Mundy Langdon
Walters Hogan Bennell
Switta Lobb Matera
Sandi Fyfe Hill
Cox Brayshaw Cerra Conca

So i guess I'm essentially choosing cox over duman or bewley

Logue Hamling Ryan
Wilson Pearce Blakely
Hill Mundy Langdon
Walters Hogan Bennell
Switta Lobb Matera
Darcy Fyfe Hill
Taberner Brayshaw Cerra Conca

Reckon that Taberner is still better than Cox and Darcy should be our priority so I'd put him in based on that over Sandilands.

Yeh our KPP do tend to play very high minutes which could be a contributing factor in our strong last quarters with our runners getting rested.

Everyone fit and in form i would be going with

Logue Hamling Ryan
Wilson Pearce Blakely
Hill Mundy Langdon
Walters Hogan Bennell
Switta Lobb Matera
Sandi Fyfe Hill
Cox Brayshaw Cerra Conca

So i guess I'm essentially choosing cox over duman or bewley
Whatever works really. Depth brings options.

I still think there are advantages to be had by having (for example) Duman/Bewley in instead of Cox, allowing all of those midfielders to rotate through and Fyfe/Mundy to rest forward, and Cerra/SHill/Blakely/Conca to rotate back. Both Walters and Bennell would rack up significant midfield time as well. Lobb, Hogan and one of Mundy or Fyfe will contest or mark everything.

I would have to agree.

He offers something when the ball hits the ground, is actually pretty quick and his field kicking is really good. All areas in which Tabs is a liability.
What a load of utter bollocks. Tabs was actually one of the better tall forwards in the 2019 afl season for tackles inside the forward fifty when he went done with injury. He's also miles faster than cox and ive seen them go against each other in 50 metre repeat sprints heaps of times at training. Its not even a close contest. Probably time to go to spec savers if you think Cox is pretty quick too. Its his clear weakness. Of all the key position players on our list he would be by far the slowest in sprint work. Including Dixon.

Yeah, Tabs averaged 7 disposals 5.5 marks and 0.9 goals more than Cox per game, but somehow those stats differences are just luck and the guy marking the ball less than half as much per game playing as a marking tall forward fits our needs more. Or maybe, just maybe those who bagged him mercilessly over the years dont like being proven wrong so they make up rubbish to simply avoid the obvious comment that they underrated what he offers.

What a load of utter bollocks. Tabs was actually one of the better tall forwards for tackles inside the forward fifty when he went done with injury. He's also miles faster than cox and ive seen them go against each other in 50 metre repeat sprints heaps of times at training. Its not even a close contest. Probably time to go to spec savers if you think Cox is pretty quick too. Its his clear weakness.

Yeah, Tabs averaged 7 disposals 5.5 marks and 0.9 goals more than Cox per game, but somehow those stats differences are just luck and the guy marking the ball less than half as much per game playing as a marking tall forward fits our needs more.

Tabs has been on the list 7 years with multiple more pre seasons , team meetings, games , the list goes on and he still hasn't got the football smarts that Cox has who is still inexperienced.
I,m not knocking Tabs but Cox is the future gun key forward .

Tabs has been on the list 7 years with multiple more pre seasons , team meetings, games , the list goes on and he still hasn't got the football smarts that Cox has who is still inexperienced.
I,m not knocking Tabs but Cox is the future gun key forward .
On 2019 form I dont think Cox looks like a future gun key forward. He's gone backwards in my view this year, albeit with an injury interrupted end to the preseason. His form at Peel was very poor in terms of kicking goals when playing forward and since coming into the team he's averaged less than half as many goals as 2018. I also think Tabs still has his best footy ahead of him and id love to know how Cox is better for our structure overall. Tab's running up the field frees up space for the likes of Walters and Matera to get goalside in play and run into open goals. Not to mention his ability to bring the ball to ground in a marking contest was a key in helping Matera to kick roving goals from marking contests in the early 2019 rounds. In my view he offers way more on the lead than Cox who actually rarely gets seperation on his opponent. Im pretty sure opposition coaches would rather cox playing as the Tabs and Hogan combination requires an opposition to have two aerobically gifted tall defenders in the team. As opposed to Hogan and the less athletic Cox combination. Tabs also kills Cox in terms of marks inside forward fifty where in the first five rounds he was in the top three in the afl. Thats actually our biggest statistical weakness compared to other teams and we've dropped off significantly in that department since Cox came into the team and Mathew out of the team.

I know I'm way behind the times, but Alex Pearce's sad eyes in that post-surgery picture just break my heart. Poor bugger.

On 2019 form I dont think Cox looks like a future gun key forward. He's gone backwards in my view this year, albeit with an injury interrupted end to the preseason. His form at Peel was very poor in terms of kicking goals when playing forward and since coming into the team he's averaged less than half as many goals as 2018. I also think Tabs still has his best footy ahead of him and id love to know how Cox is better for our structure overall. Tab's running up the field frees up space for the likes of Walters and Matera to get goalside in play and run into open goals. Not to mention his ability to bring the ball to ground in a marking contest was a key in helping Matera to kick roving goals from marking contests in the early 2019 rounds. In my view he offers way more on the lead than Cox who actually rarely gets seperation on his opponent. Im pretty sure opposition coaches would rather cox playing as the Tabs and Hogan combination requires an opposition to have two aerobically gifted tall defenders in the team. As opposed to Hogan and the less athletic Cox combination. Tabs also kills Cox in terms of marks inside forward fifty where in the first five rounds he was in the top three in the afl. Thats actually our biggest statistical weakness compared to other teams and we've dropped off significantly in that department since Cox came into the team and Mathew out of the team.
[/QUOTE

Tabs isn't that good , after 7 years on the list he should be tearing it apart.He still makes the same errors. He crowds the forward line by getting to contests he shouldn't be involved in bringing his defender with him. Hogan is performing much better with the more footy smart Cox . You underestimate a young Cox .

nice melt but the team stats point the complete opposite way. Cox, who is still so young, will get there and very quickly if he can gain some confidence.

Injuries 2019