Injuries 2019

Tabs wasn't average this year, he was bordering elite

How quickly some forget...
Agreed. Some on here have set views that they will refuse to change. Ill make a sportsmen bet he was in the Top 6 of the best and fairest at the time of the injury. Actually think there is a heap of upside still in Mathew. Imagine if he can improve in 2020 as much as he did from season 2018 - 2019. The other thing that could improve his play is if we could recruit some quality kicks into the forward line or just get Bennell back to top form. At the Eagles derby this year he ran his man into the ground and could have run into at least three open goals if there was a remotely accurate kick. Instead he was open and his man Barrass marked the ball on those three occasions. Tabs still has a ton of improvement in him in my view and is a massive key for us going forward.

I liked Cox's game as a forward on the weekend and as a regular critic of him I thought his competing in contests and second efforts were great. Regardless of the game his future still won't be in that half of the ground.

Tabs wasn't average this year, he was bordering elite

How quickly some forget...

Elite really:rolleyes: Darling isn't elite but I would sure as hell have in my side in front Tabs. Elite forwards would walk into any side , Tabs wouldn't get a game in Carltons side.
Tabs is average to handy , nothing wrong with that.

I would like to see what Cox will be doing after he has been on our list for 7 years.
Tabs has been here since 2012, it's a hell of a long time to still be an average conveyance .

One of the best contested marks in the game and was clearly our best forward before he got injured. "average" yeah righto. Whilst Cox, who has gone backwards this year keeps getting spoken about as a future gun with no evidence to suggest that at all.

Ok you convinced me Tabs is elite, I knew it from the first time I saw him 7 years ago, all those average games at Peel were just aberrations, the slow plays, the brain fade turnovers all a figment of my imagination . And Cox as a 20 year old holding down a key forward role has no future. Ok.

Ps what was Tabs doing at 20?

Ok you convinced me Tabs is elite, I knew it from the first time I saw him 7 years ago, all those average games at Peel were just aberrations, the slow plays, the brain fade turnovers all a figment of my imagination . And Cox as a 20 year old holding down a key forward role has no future. Ok.

Ps what was Tabs doing at 20?
This year alone Tabs destroyed the wce defense and touched up Phil Davis. He was the only tall forward doing anything at the start of the year. Hes a whipping boy on here which should be unbelievable, but it's the freo board, we bitch about needing a forward for years, then continuously mock the only forward who can take a mark and actually shows consistency. Tabs had to learn his craft behind Pav, Mayne (was a gun back then). Cox is filling a role, but is easily replaceable on 2019 form. Cox has potential, but talks of him being a future gun is a bit over the top. Now that Darcy is back and Lobb expected to return in 4 weeks, Cox should be out. This time next year, Lobb and Tabs get games ahead of Cox.....easily.

Can't believe the hype Cox gets by some on this board. Had a decent game on the weekend but has been average at best this season. Gets out-positioned and worked under the ball far to easily.

Tabs is miles ahead of him in every facet of the game bar field kicking, Cox might end up being the better player but he has a long way to go. A determined/focused attitude over pre-season would be a good start. The amount of times I've seen him in pre-season hitouts not giving it his all or shirking contests shows he could definitely improve his commitment to training/improving.

Last year I was a big fan of Cox ... not so much this year given some of his very poor and costly turnovers.
I'm still more than happy for him to be in Freo's current 22, but I struggle with comments of him being selected instead of Taberner.
Freo's 2019 game plan is very much contested football and current day (injuries excluded) Taberner and Lobb are better than Cox.

I don't think anyone can say that Cox is a more dominant player than Tabs at the moment but that he seems to have all the attributes to be a really fine forward - good size, sticky mitts and some real footy smarts while perhaps Taberner, who has done really well to make the most of himself is lacking a bit of smarts and awarenesses.
Tabs can take a strong grab and has a big tank but I'm not sure how good he is at bringing others into the game around him and moving the ball in creative ways.
Cox and Hogan have already created a strong dynamic that helps the smalls around them, Taberner at times seems to lack that awareness.
Its the vibe of the thing.

I would have to agree.

He offers something when the ball hits the ground, is actually pretty quick and his field kicking is really good. All areas in which Tabs is a liability.

In no universe is cox quick but he can follow up on the deck.

Hogan was out of form early in the year but any non biased examination of their form when both were playing had to have tabs ahead and our best forward at the time.

Hogan is the better player though and I look forward to seeing Hogan in form after a preseason playing with tabs next year. Cox is behind where I thought he would be fitness wise but is very clean disposal wise. We are in a good place with Lobb for KPF's. Crazy times.

For me, long term tabs is competing with lobb as a deep fwd/ruck or Hogan as up the ground CHF and I'd have Hogan and Lobb. Cox is competing with McCarthy and Sturt as a medium forward or logue as the 3rd tall back.

He's got great hands and agility in traffic - I wouldn't be averse to giving him a go as an inside mid and seeing how he went.

I liked Cox's game as a forward on the weekend and as a regular critic of him I thought his competing in contests and second efforts were great. Regardless of the game his future still won't be in that half of the ground.

I'm not sure he can make it as a defender at AFL level. Defenders have a greater need for speed off the mark, as they aren't dictating the play and have to react to their opponent. Hamling, Logue and Pearce are very fast/nimble for their size and would leave Cox in their dust.

This year alone Tabs destroyed the wce defense and touched up Phil Davis. He was the only tall forward doing anything at the start of the year. Hes a whipping boy on here which should be unbelievable, but it's the freo board, we bitch about needing a forward for years, then continuously mock the only forward who can take a mark and actually shows consistency. Tabs had to learn his craft behind Pav, Mayne (was a gun back then). Cox is filling a role, but is easily replaceable on 2019 form. Cox has potential, but talks of him being a future gun is a bit over the top. Now that Darcy is back and Lobb expected to return in 4 weeks, Cox should be out. This time next year, Lobb and Tabs get games ahead of Cox.....easily.
The Pavlich, Taberner, Mayne combination is pretty much my ideal tall forward set up. Good diversity, different strengths and abilities. At the moment I think we are struggling to get the same balance in that area of our forward structure.

I don't think anyone can say that Cox is a more dominant player than Tabs at the moment but that he seems to have all the attributes to be a really fine forward - good size, sticky mitts and some real footy smarts while perhaps Taberner, who has done really well to make the most of himself is lacking a bit of smarts and awarenesses.
Tabs can take a strong grab and has a big tank but I'm not sure how good he is at bringing others into the game around him and moving the ball in creative ways.
Cox and Hogan have already created a strong dynamic that helps the smalls around them, Taberner at times seems to lack that awareness.
Its the vibe of the thing.

Nailed it.
Was about to say the same thing, with less eloquence.

Cox's strengths appeal to the old-school footy lover, he's smart, involves himself and others intelligently and reacts well to the situation.
Tabs can football in technical terms (mark, run, kick) but doesn't appear to quite 'get' the bigger picture. You can see its being trained into him, hence why his development curve has been long and gradual.

Not sure where Cox ends up if we play Darcy and Lobb together.
Hogan a certainty
Lobb there 60/40
Farq knows between Cox and Tabs

Anyway - booooo to injuries

Elite really:rolleyes: Darling isn't elite but I would sure as hell have in my side in front Tabs. Elite forwards would walk into any side , Tabs wouldn't get a game in Carltons side.
Tabs is average to handy , nothing wrong with that.
The age thing actually means nothing Salim. Scott Gumbelton looked a future gun when he was young. So to did Aaron Black at one point. Ditto Jack Anthony and Lachie Hansen who started as a forward. Ryan Murphy at Freo was considered a potential star when he was around twenty as well and his career didnt mount up to much after the early promise either. Not to mention genuine gun key forwards like Josh Kennedy and Tom Hawkins all struggled to impact in the first four years on the list. While James Podsiadly had a couple of years that were better than any years many early draft key pick key talls have in their career and he was drafted post 30 years of age. Taberner took a long time to develop the body required to hold his own in a marking contest. Now that he has he's a different proposition as he can still cover a heap of ground. What he was like at 20 has no relevance whatsoever as he was easily pushed under the ball for the first five years of his career after starting very light. Personally think his improvement in the last two years is a super promising sign that he has more development in him.

Sorry Salim. You are talking about a player who was in the top three for contested marks, right up to a week or two before the injury, while also being high for marks inside the fifty, in the top three for disposals for key tall forwards and was covering a heap of ground in games this year. He would have kicked way more than the handy 1.4 goals game if we simply had more good kicks kicking him the ball. The amount of times he was open in the forward fifty was more than any freo player in a fair while. The idea that he woudlnt get a game at Carlton is absurd also. Compare his stats this year to the ones Mckay has had. About the same amount of goals per game, but Tabs wins a heap more of the ball and Mckay is the Carlton number 1 key tall forward.

Im also not sold on Cox yet. He has strengths, but he also has weaknesses. HIs pace is a genuine concern for mine, while his strength is his strong marking and footy smarts. I see him as promising, but footy has had a ton of promising players who dont develop. Either way anyone thinking he is a certainty to be an absolute gun is deadset kidding themselves in my view. He could be a gun if he continues to improve, but he could also end up like Ryan Murphy who peaked in his third year on a list. Much more likely he'll end up somewhere in the middle of the comparison in the last sentence with everything being equal.

Just my view of course - this is after all a forum for opinions - but I reckon Cox has a much much higher ceiling than Taberner.

And that’s not to diss Taberner - it doesn’t always have to be love/hate; or sack the coach/extend his contract; or elite/spud etc.
Fair enough mate, everyone has their own opinions. Personally, I'd take Tabs over Cox with ease. I think as of right now there is a better chance Cox becomes a tease and never fills his potential, could become more of a Shane Kersten or Carltons version of Mitch McGovern than a gun.

SUPERMAN!

Its a bird, Its a plane, Its.... Lobb!!!

When Sandi is back I think we should rotate Sandi and Darcey and play Lobb as forward and second ruck.

Love to see Sandi and Lobb in the Derby. But I suspect it will be Darcy and Lobb.

Injuries 2019