Ins & Outs Round 11 vs Pies

IN: Roughead, Wood, Everitt, Moles
OUT: Minson, Addison, Stack, Aker (club susp)

Moles to play midfield allowing Higgins to play forward (initially at least)
Everitt to play forward

Higgins and Hahn put on notice
Reid maybe one more game before he gets a recall

When was the last time Coon & Griff simultaneously had a great match ?

When was the last time Boydy was clearly "BOG" ?

When was the last time Crossy was clearly "BOG" ?

When was the last time Cross, Boyd, Cooney & Griff all put in a solid 4 quarter performance ?

When was the last time Gilbee was "BOG" ?

It seems the players who are supposedly our best, are sort of just being there rather than playing exceptionally.

Just doing enough, keeping away from the fans displeasure but not actualy tearing the game a new "rse-hole" like some of the Essendon players did last week.

Something missing from the players we consider are our best at the moment, and sadly I think the 5-6 of our best are too pre-occupied about I'm allright I've done enough ("ME")

Rather than 1%'s ..I'm heavilly tagged so I will tackle, I will help, I will bump, I will chase, I will sheppard, I will spoil, I will provide an option, I will tag....("US")

The Bulldog midfeild needs to go back to square one and earn respect.

Because at the moment most clubs do not respect it.

They think the Bulldog midfeild is

"SOFT"

If they think our midfield is soft they are wrong. During the week in the Herald Sun it was mentioned that we have won the contested possession count 7 of 9 matches with an average of +10, number one in the AFL. We also won contested possessions and clearances last night. Our midfield has flaws but it isn't soft

We seriously need to look for other options other then Hall when going forward, I think we need Higgins to stay foward and we need some more leading options just so we dont always go to Hall.

Gee the mods on here are over the top...we have fought wars to try and get freedom of speech.....anyway that's off topic (Mods reading this will know what I'm talking about).

Out: Aker, Minson, Stack, Addison
In: Roughead, Moles, Wood, Everitt.

I had thought Eagleton should not have been dropped last....Aker was the man who had to go...just on form/fitness and nothing to do with off field. Still think that.

But, Eages would have wanted to tear it up yesterday, but he didn't.

Sammy Reid, might need another game at Willi, but he's close too.

Need to have some pressure on a few in the team...that pressure will really come when Bobby and BJ are ready and Cal Ward.

Higgins is coping it on here...but gee, good player..not sure we'd drop him. I think Hahn, Hill, Grant, would all be out before him...not having a crack at Grant either, he stays in too...I think he's doing well....but he's not better than Higgins yet.

Why do people want to bring in Eagleton? this kind of love for eagle is very pigdog like; Wood, Reid, Moles and Everitt had better VFL games and can play his role.

I like what Reid, Moles and Wood can bring to our side. Two of these must come in this week. I have great memories of the teams dominance when Reid played those few games for the doggies last year including:

Defeated the Hawks by 88 points
Defeated Brisbane
Defeated Geelong
Defeated Collingwood

It seems we are missing the extra bit of intensity in the midfield: Moles can bring it on occassion, but looking forward to what Reid can bring this season. Boyd and Cross can't to do it alone and I think Ward's contribution in the midfield is underestimated.

Ins Roughead, Everitt, Moles, Wood
Outs Minson, Aker, Stack, Addison

Reasons

I know Bulldog Joe will try to defend him, but Minson was quite poor around the ground. He was good in the ruck but I don't like it when he moves forward. Roughead was only left out because of injury last time anyway and he's been playing well for Willy.

Everitt I thought was very unlucky to be left out last week, as I think he's an automatic in. I don't think there's room for both Everitt and Williams in the backline, so I would play Everitt elsewhere. Aker needs a rest even if he's suspended by the club.

Moles was 1st emergency last week and has been good for willy. I would play him in the midfield, with Higgins and Gia spending more time up forward. Stack seemed to struggle early on last week, but I thought he got better and more involved towards the end. I wouldn't be overly surprised if he stays in, but I think Moles is a better option at this stage.

I'm not overly sure on this selection of Wood, but I did hear he made some excellent passes on the weekend. I also think he could be a good match up for Didak. Addison's disposal was terrible and he looked slow. I can't see a place for him with Picken in the side anyway.

Others

Heard Eagle wasn't great, needs to be dominating VFL.
Reid was okay but still needs more fitness.
The rest are injured or not ready for AFL. Our depth is looking thin ATM.

OUT: Stack (omit) Akermanis (Susp)

IN: Moles Everitt

It looks like we have been playing a mid short so 2 forwards out for a mid and a util seems ok.

Higgins and Giansiracusa must be playing as forwards, Giansiracusa after a month of brilliant footy has copped heavy tags last 3 weeks and struggled to break them as he isn't used to be being tagged. Higgins is struggling bigtime so should go back to where he was so good last year in forward line with small stints in midfield rather than other way around.

Addison for mine stays despite bad game as we always have trouble containing Collingwood with Swan, Didak, etc running rampart, needs to be given a job and stick to it closely not letting his opponent get metres like he did friday. If he is out Wood should come in.

Reid not quite ready but will def be in side within couple of weeks.

Harbrow Lake Gilbee
Hargrave Williams Morris
Griffen Boyd Picken
Grant Hahn Hill
Higgins Hall Giansiracusa
Hudson Cooney Cross

I: Minson Everitt Moles Addison

E: Wood Reid Eagleton

Out

Hahn - looks too slow, not getting to the ball enough, and does not do enough for mine as a senior player. His lack of pace is exposed more because of the lack of willingness to run by others around him.

Addison - same comments as Hahn about pace.

Stack - not sure how many games to give a new guy but i don't think he has shown enough improvement in the areas of concern (work rate, hard running) over his time in the ones.

Aker - too slow. It was said Dogs were looking for a 16 game season from him this year so this wil be a good week to rest/punish him.

Ins

Disappointed that no one seems to have a run of sustained outstanding form in the twos. Maybe the guys don't want it bad enough.

Everitt - should have been in earlier

Moles - seems willing to work hard so that gets him my vote. Question marks about skills but time to set an example that hard work will be rewarded.

Wood - against my principle of requiring numerous consecutive good performances before promotion but injuries have played a part and changes need to be made to let the senior group know they do not keep their spots no matter what.

Eagleton - i am a fan. Also i think we need his run and pace. We seem to be picking progressively slower sides this year and it burned as badly this week.

Comments

Hill - Does not seem to have the drive to improve. Happy to coast along doing just enough to hold his spot. That X factor stuff is great but in the pressure of a GF i feel he will only be found out. Like turning up to class in your VCE year but only studying the night before the exam. Trust me it don't work.

Jones - I don't think a big game against the Pies is the time to throw a kid in. Let him develop at Willy for the moment and reap the benefits next year. This is a time for senior players to show the way and if we have to leave it to a player in his first year it is worse than i thought.

in: Moles, Everitt, Eagleton (things are crook aren't they?)

out :
blokes who put themselves first - Akers
blokes who believe their own hype - Mr 48% disposal effectiveness (worse than Minson FFS!) Shaun Higgins. You are most certainly NOT the new Ben Cousins, mate
blokes not living up to their not all that impressive past - Hahn (or Hargrave for that matter)

Inter Griffen -- Cooney -- Minson -- Giansiracusa

Cooney had a disappointing game but he hardly needs to be sent a message. He was dominant against North and is having a good year. Griffen is in career best form

Eagleton - i am a fan. Also i think we need his run and pace. We seem to be picking progressively slower sides this year and it burned as badly this week.

He was omitted because his pace & run isn't what it was a few years back, and also that his kicking penetration and accuracy has also dropped.

From reports he wasn't super on the weekend and I don't think he is the answer anyway.

In: Roughhead, Ward, Eagleton.
Out: Minson, Aker, Stack.

Methinks Higgins will be persisted with unless he's carrying an injury that prevents him from playing on the weekend. Eagleton plays well against the pies. We are definitely missing Callan Ward. What's happened with Everitt? He played a couple of good games and has gone missing from the side.

Ins: Bulldog supporters. Where were they last night? Pathetic turnout that matched the pathetic performance.

Absolutely spot on...I mean, WZF? Where was everybody? Dad and I thought there'd be about 30K Dons and 15K Dogs...there were about 40K Dons and 5K Dogs, at the very very most! Shiteful...in fact, worthy of a new thread.

Ins: Everitt, Eagleton
Outs: Aker, Stack

If 40,000 Essendon supporters turned up, then how many Bulldogs supporters could realistically have been admitted anyway?
Against teams like Collindwood, Essendon and Carlton, particularly if they are going well, if it's their home game, we are always going to be seriously outnumbered.

Methinks Higgins will be persisted with unless he's carrying an injury that prevents him from playing on the weekend. Eagleton plays well against the pies. We are definitely missing Callan Ward. What's happened with Everitt? He played a couple of good games and has gone missing from the side.

Everitt missed 2 games with an ankle injury. He returned to the Williamstown team on Saturday and from reports played very well.

Ging to be a lot of changes which isnt the best but I think there is a case for all of them.

Out: Stack, Hahn, Aka (rest only), Minson, Addison

In: Roughead, Moles, Reid, Wood, Everitt

Ging to be a lot of changes which isnt the best but I think there is a case for all of them.

Out: Stack, Hahn, Aka (rest only), Minson, Addison

In: Roughead, Moles, Reid, Wood, Everitt

No disrespect but I'll go to the game naked if we make 5 changes. (please please please don't make 5 changes:D)

I tihnk we probably need to make some more changes than 1 or 2 but not all at once againt Collingwood.

Ins & Outs Round 11 vs Pies