rick James

Suspended
Veteran 10k Posts
Dec 8, 2004
How important are they to a premiership side?

We've seen Geelong blossom under Tom Harley, and Sydney were at their best being led by Brett Kirk. Likewise West Coast won their first non-steroid flag under Chris Judd.

Recently the only aberration is Hawthorn, whose team appears to be populated largely by boofheads - but is it pretty critical to most teams to have someone who has an above average (for a footballer, meaning anywhere from 85-100 IQ) intelligence level to lead them?

Say the doggies moved Robert Murphy up to captain, and the Pies did the same with Harry O... would we see the Dogs and Maggies in the GF this year?

(I think by mentioning those two, in light of Harley's retirement and Judd's degeneration into another Carlton moron I've covered 100% of intelligent footy players in Australia.. am I right?)

Or is the Brisbane model the better one to follow? You know that whole hyper-competitive, super-violent model?

Hard to gauge imo. But I think intelligent people may eventually have a place in the AFL, which could be interesting because they haven't had much to do with the game since its inception.

Re: Intelligent and socially aware leaders

Say the doggies moved Robert Murphy up to captain, and the Pies did the same with Harry O... would we see the Dogs and Maggies in the GF this year?

Why would we make Murphy captain?? Brad Johnson is an intelligent, social aware leader. Most captains are

• Banned

Why would we make Murphy captain?? Brad Johnson is an intelligent, social aware leader. Most captains are

Actually you're right, Johnson doers seem a pretty smart cookie. Murphy just leapt out at me more I think.

I wouldn't say most captains though. Most captains are AFL players, and most AFL players are idiots.

• Banned

Wayne Carey would say not that important.

I'd say its a new era. Guys like Wayne are obsolete now.

I'm not trolling btw, I just really think that intelligence is starting to play a real part in AFL - partly because of media commitments, but also on the leadership and discipline side.

Judd is academically intelligent and comes across as a smart guy but socially he always calls himself an introvert so odds are he isn't the right personality to be a leader. I'd say being a leader is more of a social skill rather than intelligence.

Jonathan Brown is a good captain because he has good social skills, is a likeable footballer and the sort that demand respect. He doesn't seem the intelligent type.

Judd is academically intelligent and comes across as a smart guy but socially he always calls himself an introvert so odds are he isn't the right personality to be a leader. I'd say being a leader is more of a social skill rather than intelligence.

Interesting point. I've always found Judd to be really good in interviews and promotion, and leading by example you simply can not doubt him - he's an amazing on field leader - I just don't think people listen to him.

And I think, more than anything, he's just one of those old soul types. He can't get through to other footy players, because he's already thinking 20-30 years down the track, and most footy players are idiots.

You definitely need the balance, and I think Tom Harley was the best example in recent years, but Brett Kirk is right up there too.

Nice troll.
I don't consider it a troll. It brings up a good point about the nature of leadership within AFL clubs.

Mathew Pavlich is another good example of an intelligent and socially aware leader.

I don't consider it a troll. It brings up a good point about the nature of leadership within AFL clubs.

Mathew Pavlich is another good example of an intelligent and socially aware leader.

I'd agree on Pav, can't believe I forgot him.

Jonathan Brown is a good captain because he has good social skills, is a likeable footballer and the sort that demand respect. He doesn't seem the intelligent type.

100% correct.

Not in my time as a West Coast fan and member during Judd's time,
did i ever see him consult a player in a lift-your-chin-up way,
give anyone a spray,
and apart from 'leading from the front', i have never watched him fly the flag like a true captain or do anything outside his obligational responsibilities as one.

Johnathon Brown as a captain would give his right leg for his club,
Judd just bailed and went back home.

How can one truely lead a club if they dont even want to be there!?

Pavlich comes across as slightly selfish, similar to what Judd is. Not in a bad way but I don't think Pav is one of the standout leaders.
I think what he has been trying to lead has been more of the issue than his leadership ability.

Selfish? I haven't noticed that, to me he seems to have a lot of time for supporters and isn't the arrogant "I'm a footy player" type.

Ah. Good to see one of the internits greatest fleas pop his antennae up again for a scope.

For the many uninitiated - Rick James flogs harder than you at Sunday brunch-time when mum and dad have gone out and you're replaying Andy MacDowell flicks.

For Rick James -

Enjoy this guy you 100% goose
097979-dean-bailey.jpg

Welcome back, rJ.

Slightly off topic but I've come to see why you were so fond of Brock Mclean. Very good player who'll make the transition to champion now that he's at a proper club. :thumbsu:

Back on topic, no doubt a good leader is an important part of any team but it really comes down to how determined the group as a whole is.

A captain (and core group of senior players) capable of instilling that mindset into a group will no doubt be of great benefit but I'm not so sure great intelligence is required to do. I'm a firm believer that footy is played mostly above the shoulders.

Mate I love Brock, he's the only good thing that's ever happened to Carlton. Apart from Pratt dying, which was mighty convenient if you ask me.

I guess it puts to bed all those 'McLean vs Walker' threads though right? As if it was ever a contest anyway.

Ah. Good to see one of the internits greatest fleas pop his antennae up again for a scope.

For the many uninitiated - Rick James flogs harder than you at Sunday brunch-time when mum and dad have gone out and you're replaying Andy MacDowell flicks.

For Rick James -

Enjoy this guy you 100% goose
097979-dean-bailey.jpg

Bit off topic matey, I might have to report you. I mean, fancy slagging off Melbourne when you barrack for St Kilda, like, where the hell do you get off? It's just unheard of man, doesn't even make sense.

And how do you get off when you support a team that doesn't even want to win?

Were you amongst the faithful cheering McMahon's kick through?

Recently the only aberration is Hawthorn, whose team appears to be populated largely by boofheads - but is it pretty critical to most teams to have someone who has an above average (for a footballer, meaning anywhere from 85-100 IQ) intelligence level to lead them?

Yeah, no trolling here....oh looky, the thread's been moved to Bay13. :rolleyes:

Intelligent and socially aware leaders *MB Thread*