Is Buckley A Good Coach?

The senior coach is an important club figure and a legitimate topic of discussion. It's fair to do so and everyone has a right to express their view.

The mod team observed that the thread was dominated by a few protagonists and their points were repeated i.e. 8 years of regression vs marked improvement in 17,18 etc Pretty much everyone with a strong opinion has already expressed it here.

What further degraded discussion was the simplistic "sack FIGJAM" or "he's a legend" type posts.

This thread will remain open. If your view has slightly shifted or you have new thoughts please share. In an effort to encourage quality discussion repetitive statements and circular arguments will from now on be deleted as will silly posts suggesting that we sack a coach on match-day.

FYI Gone Critical Anzacday Maggie5

“putting greater emphasis on possession and forcing the opposition to defend”

Opposition don’t defend when we go backwards…

I'm surprised the lads playing forward haven't had varying degrees of hypothermia waiting for the pill.. but then again.. they all play coming out of a back pocket at various stages of the game.

All good re.

Pfewwwwwwww.

Which pies team turns up this week? The over defensive team who feel good about our dour game plan, or the new attacking pies, who suddenly after lots of media attention, will continue with our "planned progression" to become an icon of how the game should be played.

Or perhaps for this week only, Nicola Spurria might be our replacement coach this week if she continues her advice "duck, don't catch that ball" and of course with the classic health advice "sanitize your hands before you eat your chips", she could be our dietician. I'm sure she's been giving advice to the club for quite some time.

For some reason, I get the sinking feeling, we don't know what we want, and even if we did, we haven't got the cattle or the courage to go get it.

Let's hope we meet the crows when they're having a bad day.

I listened to Buckley's presser today. The questioning from the media is not dissimilar to the tone and intent of a group of good mates chatting over a beer or two. There is not one journalist with the guts to hold Buckley to account when he blatantly contradicts himself or talks crap.

He spoke of his support for the current board and made it clear he wants them to remain. He said they were part of a very good organization which is helping us to progress. If I was a journo I would have asked the following:

Graham Wright said there are ongoing salary cap issues. Your very good organization oversaw the debacle concerning your cap and had to offload three players, one of whom you are still paying hundreds of thousands of dollars to play for another club. You talk about the Do Better Report yet the whole reason for the report and the new committee who oversees its implementation is due to the findings which told us the Collingwood Football Club has been guilty of a long period of systemic racism. Your very good organization was running the club during which many of the accusations of racist behaviour were documented. Is that not a good argument for a clean sweep and a fresh start?

You said you don't see your game plan as defensive. Would you please explain why you boasted that your club has the third best defensive record in the league over the past month ( and lost all but one of those games) if defense has not been the focus of your game plan? Can you explain the multiple occasions when players were free and in the corridor but chose to stop and go sideways rather than kick to a contest or teammate running into space ahead of them?

Why does your team struggle to kick goals if defense and maintaining possession of the ball is not the overriding concern of your game plan?

If you don't intend to be dour, why are you?

Do you have an agreement with the current board that you will continue as coach next year?

One last question. You said you would willingly step aside as coach if you felt your message was no longer getting through or the team was not performing. How bad does the situation have to get before you would be true to your word?

I listened to Buckley's presser today. The questioning from the media is not dissimilar to the tone and intent of a group of good mates chatting over a beer or two. There is not one journalist with the guts to hold Buckley to account when he blatantly contradicts himself or talks crap.

He spoke of his support for the current board and made it clear he wants them to remain. He said they were part of a very good organization which is helping us to progress. If I was a journo I would have asked the following:

Graham Wright said there are ongoing salary cap issues. Your very good organization oversaw the debacle concerning your cap and had to offload three players, one of whom you are still paying hundreds of thousands of dollars to play for another club. You talk about the Do Better Report yet the whole reason for the report and the new committee who oversees its implementation is due to the findings which told us the Collingwood Football Club has been guilty of a long period of systemic racism. Your very good organization was running the club during which many of the accusations of racist behaviour were documented. Is that not a good argument for a clean sweep and a fresh start?

You said you don't see your game plan as defensive. Would you please explain why you boasted that your club has the third best defensive record in the league over the past month ( and lost all but one of those games) if defense has not been the focus of your game plan? Can you explain the multiple occasions when players were free and in the corridor but chose to stop and go sideways rather than kick to a contest or teammate running into space ahead of them?

Why does your team struggle to kick goals if defense and maintaining possession of the ball is not the overriding concern of your game plan?

Do you have an agreement with the current board that you will continue as coach next year?

One last question. You said you would willingly step aside as coach if you felt your message was no longer getting through or the team was not performing. How bad does the situation have to get before you would be true to your word?

So just a return to the good old "everything is Buckley's fault" days again.... righto.

What you seem to be hoping for is that a bunch of footy journos will suddenly decide to take themselves seriously and interrogate a football coach as if he's some sort of elected representative.

Buckley is quite generous with the media, given the fact that he owes them exactly nothing.

He bats away some questions, garbles his response to others, is occasionally forthcoming...but overall he gives them plenty of time and equanimity.

Unlike you, I'd suggest the most journos understand these dynamics quite well.

I reckon you would send Bucks to sleep.

So just a return to the good old "everything is Buckley's fault" days again.... righto.
Also a fair few of the usual sycophants on here who insist “nothing is Buckley’s fault”, and that there’s no middle ground. Not referring to you in that comment. Buckley is being disingenuous when he claims he is not endorsing the current board with his latest comments.

Clearly he has been given a nod and a wink re his position, on the clear understanding he comes out and backs the Korda team. Gutsy move Bucks. Pretty well sealed your fate if Browne gets in though.

Your mate you inadvertently outed is gone. Got him banned you did. You're a great re. Best bumbling sleuth on the board. You're like Maxwell smart. Even if you can't tell Bucksboys from a Richmond troll, you still got your man.
I believe I made the first official Bucksboy reference, I should get the credit

Also a fair few sycophants on here who insist “nothing is Buckley’s fault”, and that there’s no middle ground.

A middle ground would be.. hazard a guess and say.. 97% anti Buckley.. 3% pro Buckley..

Therefore..

Anti Buckley agree with 3% of pro Buckley.. pro Buckley agree with 97% of anti Buckley.

That there is middle ground and that re.

Seriously? You don't think they try to push us back or control our movement? That's just a ridiculous statement.
Watching our games it’s not. Playing us is a defenders dream. You have ample time to set up. Hence why none of our forwards ever have space or 1 v 1’s. its a glaring issue that’s continued for months.

Well Bucks wants unity and not turmoil within the club, so of course he will back the current board, as there are some very good people on there, to be fair.
And l don't think its going to matter if its a Korda or Browne lead board, l really believe they will extend Bucks for another two years. That may cause alot of meltdown on here, but it will stabilise the club and more importantly the playing group, knowing the coaches future is settled.

Well Bucks wants unity and not turmoil within the club, so of course he will back the current board, as there are some very good people on there, to be fair.
And l don't think its going to matter if its a Korda or Browne lead board, l really believe they will extend Bucks for another two years. That may cause alot of meltdown on here, but it will stabilise the club and more importantly the playing group, knowing the coaches future is settled.

The decision on Buckley will be on the advice of GW either either if he is retained it will against the wish of the majority. The only way he is retained is if there is absolutely zero viable alternative going by his record and game style. Retaining him will cause more destabilizing not right the ship.

What you seem to be hoping for is that a bunch of footy journos will suddenly decide to take themselves seriously and interrogate a football coach as if he's some sort of elected representative.

Buckley is quite generous with the media, given the fact that he owes them exactly nothing.

He bats away some questions, garbles his response to others, is occasionally forthcoming...but overall he gives them plenty of time and equanimity.

Unlike you, I'd suggest the most journos understand these dynamics quite well.
You don't get it. Buckley doesn't talk to the press because he owes them something. He talks to them because he owes us something.
He is the caretaker of our football club.
Just as a politician should be held to account for the people he purports to represent, so too, our footy coaches owe their members and supporters clear explanations as to why things are going badly or well and what direction they plan on taking the club.

The decision on Buckley will be on the advice of GW either either if he is retained it will against the wish of the majority. The only way he is retained is if there is absolutely zero viable alternative going by his record and game style. Retaining him will cause more destabilizing not right the ship.
Is your use of a double either intentional?

Watching our games it’s not. Playing us is a defenders dream. You have ample time to set up. Hence why none of our forwards ever have space or 1 v 1’s. its a glaring issue that’s continued for months.
Do you sometimes wonder why you know more than experienced AFL coaches?