Is Collingwood's Forward Line The Best in the League

If we can get going, we will boot some mighty big scores:

HF: Caracella, Rocca, Rusling.
FF: Fraser, Tarrant, T.Cloke.

Richards in the ruck, Buckley and Burns beginning onball before pushing forward for the last five minutes of the term, and Didak playing on the wing.

It is an awesome forward line, no question, and if the midfield can hold it together (2002/3 style), we will be flying.

Zero, our midfield without Buckley and Fraser (I'd start the former in there but since you requested):

C: Lonie, Didak, Davies/Johnson/R.Shaw/Rowe.
R: Richards, Licuria, Burns/Lockyer.

Not awful.

And Boof said I was delusional, look at Collingwood's attack, way worse than everyone else bar the Hawks, and it's supposedly the best in the comp! Even allowing for Rocca's absence, that's crap. We now know who the delusional one is!!!!

What? Rocca missed all bar four matches (cuts a large hole), Tarrant was injured from round five onwards, Travis Cloke was in year one, Fraser and Richards (who complement each other) missed a huge chunk of the year) whilst Didak played with a niggling knee injury as a result of a pre-season mishap, and Caracella played the last six weeks with a groin/hamstring niggle.

Injuries, my friend. :)

It's a good forward line, but it has the 'potential' tag hanging over it's head. Too many players yet to prove their consistency or brilliance in the game. Rocca and Buckley aside, they will be unpredictable.

In terms of balance, I think Melbourne has some good options

Yze Neitz Davey
Robertson Miller Pickett/ Holland/ Green/ Bruce

But like Collingwood, there will be too much reliance on the fitness of our captain and vice captain.

I agree with you. Potential is the word. But you guys will cause some major carnage again next season with your forward line. I saw about seven Demons matches live this season, and, boy, when you were on, unstoppable.

boof said:
Let's have a look at it.

Half Forward: Buckley, Rocca, Fraser
Full Forward: T Cloke, Tarrant, Caracella

Part time forwards: Rusling, Didak, L Davis, B Holland, Egan.

That's a pretty awesome forward line and there are not too many defences in the league that could contain all of them. If that forward line stays together, expect a big year from the Pies. It's a perfect mix of talls, mediums and smalls with both pace and bulk.
Add in a Kennedy or a Ryder from the draft, and a quality midfieldier to help with supply and Collingwood are looking pretty good.

Still not as strong as St Kilda and without the midfield to supply it, it won't fire again. A good forward line-yes, a great forward line-no!!

boof said:
Let's have a look at it.

big call especially when fraser is clearly going to be your number 1 ruck choice, and buckley your number 1 on ball choice. i just belive without restructuring the team the too much to have a powerful forwardline st kildas would be easily the best in the league.

Half Foward: Hamill Rewoldt Kositske
Full Forward: Milne Geurig *

* could be gwilt, or one of those midfeilders that are being rotated through.

that forward line is unstoppable. id say that hammil was clearly better than tarrant and hammil is ona hff, rewoldt and kositske are both better than rocca and clearly better than Cloke, and id say that yes buckley and carrcella are both better players that milne, but i think milne would be more handy around the sticks. and then theres geurig (sorry dunno how to spell) who is a coleman medelist. its pretty clear that that forward line put forward is most their stars put into the forward, that st kildas usual forward line is alot better.

boof said:
Let's have a look at it.

That's a pretty awesome forward line and there are not too many defences in the league that could contain all of them. If that forward line stays together, expect a big year from the Pies. It's a perfect mix of talls, mediums and smalls with both pace and bulk.
Add in a Kennedy or a Ryder from the draft, and a quality midfieldier to help with supply and Collingwood are looking pretty good.
Yeah I agree, Collingwood a friggen awesome. I love them.

doppleganger said:
josh has produced much more quality football & has shown he can play well in big finals games......what the feck has d.hille done??

The same Hille that won Essendon a "big finals game" against Melbourne last year?

you tell me that the *** David Hille has done.

he pantsed Frasier the last time he played on him in r20 last year for a start so dont give me this bull**** that Hille is inferior to that fairy.

Johnson#26 said:
Tarrant was injured from round five onwards.

He was injured from the start actually. He tore a ligament in his foot in the pre-season, but he had to keep playing and it didn't get a chance to heal. The knee and groin injuries were separate.

zero said:
hey, whats the deal with putting your best midfielder and starting ruckman into the forward line only when posting on a "look at our great forward line" thread

can someone post collingwoods midfield without buckley and fraser? methinks it might look a bit sick

exactly, fanning in the ruck aint gonna get the ball in the forward line to begin with

goDees22 said:
exactly, fanning in the ruck aint gonna get the ball in the forward line to begin with

well if the ghost that walks guy 'stretch' richards can go injury free next year, fanning can continue to notch up games at willi. Fanning has played under 25 games of football since he was 16. That is a fairly staggering statistic, but does help explain a few things. :)

dave_27 said:
The same Hille that won Essendon a "big finals game" against Melbourne last year?

you tell me that the *** David Hille has done.

he pantsed Frasier the last time he played on him in r20 last year for a start so dont give me this bull**** that Hille is inferior to that fairy.
really am bit unsure as to what u define as being "pantsed"

rnd 20 2004, when collingwood clearly have nothing to play for and essendon going on to play finals

check the stats at finalsiren.com

rates josh as collingwoods best player, he had 20touches & 11 marks to go with 16HO
hille had 11touches & 2marks to go with his 21HO, but he snagged four goals, he probably kicked them when resting forward and laycock was in the ruck too!!
so you reckon that is being "pantsed"

in the big clash in the final rnd in 2003, when both teams actually had something to play for ie pies & bombers both needed to win to sort out finals position

fraser again had 20touches, 24HO kicked the match winning goal
hille 10 touches, 21HO

think you will find that josh is a much better player than hille

but yes hille is a quality tall & fraser is a dud even tho fraser has had a better career so far

doppleganger said:
really am bit unsure as to what u define as being "pantsed"

rnd 20 2004, when collingwood clearly have nothing to play for and essendon going on to play finals

check the stats at finalsiren.com

rates josh as collingwoods best player, he had 20touches & 11 marks to go with 16HO
hille had 11touches & 2marks to go with his 21HO, but he snagged four goals, he probably kicked them when resting forward and laycock was in the ruck too!!
so you reckon that is being "pantsed"

in the big clash in the final rnd in 2003, when both teams actually had something to play for ie pies & bombers both needed to win to sort out finals position

fraser again had 20touches, 24HO kicked the match winning goal
hille 10 touches, 21HO

but yes hille is a quality tall & fraser is a dud even tho fraser has had a better career so far

better career my ar@e!
never see him on the ground. always injured, would be the greatest wate of a number 1 draft pick in the last 15 yrs. hille is a much more influentual player

rioli brownlow said:
better career my ar@e!
never see him on the ground. always injured, would be the greatest wate of a number 1 draft pick in the last 15 yrs. hille is a much more influentual player
gee u essendon supporters are ridiculous

he has done more than hille has, by a long way

it is just that so much is expected of josh that when he has a game where he gets 20+ disposals & takes 11marks aswell as getting 16 hitouts people reckon he gets "pantsed"

look it up for urself mate josh has better career stats then hille
he has played in more finals than hille,been one of collingwoods best in all of them bar the 2002QF against port when he was sick

the fact that when fraser plays full seasons collingwood makes grand finals, and when he is out injured all year we finish down the bottom four actually shows his importance.

doppleganger said:
gee u essendon supporters are ridiculous

he has done more than hille has, by a long way

it is just that so much is expected of josh that when he has a game where he gets 20+ disposals & takes 11marks aswell as getting 16 hitouts people reckon he gets "pantsed"

look it up for urself mate josh has better career stats then hille
he has played in more finals than hille,been one of collingwoods best in all of them bar the 2002QF against port when he was sick

the fact that when fraser plays full seasons collingwood makes grand finals, and when he is out injured all year we finish down the bottom four actually shows his importance.

nah just shows you have no ruck depth

Hille has been good for us, he's a great leader and vital to our side.

Likewise Fraser at Collingwood. Fraser takes the points, just.

But you would expect that, he was taken 39 picks earlier and Hille has only been playing the sport for a dozen or so years.

Longy413 said:

But you would expect that, he was taken 39 picks earlier and Hille has only been playing the sport for a dozen or so years.

and came back from a serious car accident when he was in year 10,was nearly killed

Longy413 said:

hooray

a sensible post from an essendon supporter, thanx for restoring the faith longy!!

exactly right, hille has been good for essendon

fraser has been better for collingwood, its just a shame that sooo many people expect soooo much from him

has produced more than most champion young ruckman do in their first 100 games, and then been struck by injury, if he can play a full season again watch out

doppleganger said:
nah coz

richards, c.cloke & rocca

who would be our next three in line all missed pretty much the entire season as well

clearly u have no idea

i will grant you richards.
but c.cloke is about as useful as a hat full of a@@holes(sorry collingwood supporters i meant)(same meaning anyway)

and rocca is a better forward option

rioli brownlow said:
but c.cloke is about as useful as a hat full of a@@holes(sorry collingwood supporters i meant)(same meaning anyway)

funny as c.cloke who collingwood would by all accounts is a dud has better career stats than the super promising jason laycock

so fraser better than hille but yet in essendon supporters eyes hille quality & fraser a dud

c.cloke better stats than laycock, yet c.cloke is as useful as a hat full of arse holes and laycock is one of essendons most promising youngsters

quite funny really

doppleganger said:

so what? you go out on the field and bust your gut.

are you suggesting Fraser went in half as sed because collingwood seasons was over?

he probably kicked them when resting forward and laycock was in the ruck too!!
so

he didnt actually, 3 of those were roved from open play while he was in the ruck.

debateable.

where did I mention Fraser was a dud? Dont put words into my mouth.

dave_27 said:
so what? you go out on the field and bust your gut.

are you suggesting Fraser went in half as sed because collingwood seasons was over?

he didnt actually, 3 of those were roved from open play while he was in the ruck.

debateable.

where did I mention Fraser was a dud? Dont put words into my mouth.
everybody knows that teams can simply go thru the motions, ie want the season to end
ur right u called fraser a fairy, other supporters called him a hack, rubbish, worst number one pick etc.

you also said he was "pantsed" by hille

josh getting 20touches & 11marks, what more do you want him to do??
also 2003 rnd 22 when game meant everything to both teams fraser again dominated

fraser is better than hille, as he should be being the number one pick

just illustrating again how people quick to jump on josh simpl;y because they expect sooooo much from him, yet he has still produced much more than most of the other youngish rucks who have potential whilst josh is shot down continually

rioli brownlow said:

Cam Cloke is a decent footballer actually. He will always give you 110% in the ruck, and he certainly uses his body very well. I don't know how much improvement he has left in him, but hopefully his ruckwork continues to improve.

Cam isn't the complete footballer, but he isn't a dud either.

Goals / Games average..

Caracella - 181 Gms / 218 Gls. Rocca - 184 Gms / 286 Gls. Buckley - 254 Gls / 256 Gls.
Didak - 79 Gms / 105 Gls. Tarrant - 141 Gms / 263 Gls. Fraser - 113 Gms / 104 Gls.

1232 Goals, doubt any forwardline can boast that stat.

doppleganger said:
everybody knows that teams can simply go thru the motions, ie want the season to end
ur right u called fraser a fairy, other supporters called him a hack, rubbish, worst number one pick etc.

you also said he was "pantsed" by hille

josh getting 20touches & 11marks, what more do you want him to do??
also 2003 rnd 22 when game meant everything to both teams fraser again dominated

fraser is better than hille, as he should be being the number one pick

just illustrating again how people quick to jump on josh simpl;y because they expect sooooo much from him, yet he has still produced much more than most of the other youngish rucks who have potential whilst josh is shot down continually
fraser is 24 in january is about to enter his 7th yr of senior footy these 2 points alone makes you wonder how much upside is left in the bloke.
for mine he doesnt take enough strong marks hasnt really bulked up and gets beaten in his pet position the ruck far to often.imo he would have to be one of the more disappointing no1 picks taken in the nd.

Is Collingwood's Forward Line The Best in the League