Is David King's criticism of Mark LeCras fair game?

So apparently a bloke can't have an opinion anymore.

Nice work, AFLPA mole, I see you

This AFLPA schtik is already boring.

David King thought Sydney would win the 2014 Grand Final... hes ruddy dumb
He tipped against the Hawks like 95% of the time in finals when we were on top, no exaggeration and by often large margins. Gets paid truckloads yet you'd find better analysis on Bay 13, and why? No personality, average footballer.

I don't have an issue with those in the media making a harsh call if they can back it up with the stats or vision to prove the point, that's what they get paid to do. I do have a problem with "sources said" or making up bullshit stories based around gossip they've heard like Mark Stevens does on a regular basis.

I would expect though that they acknowledge they were wrong should the player or club turn it around. Gary Lyon had a lot of negative crap to say earlier in the year about Melbourne (which was correct at the time) but has since acknowledged he got it wrong - says lots about a person who can apologise when they've got it wrong.

FWIW the statement "never play again" is over the top - it should of been "he needs to be dropped and take the time to reflect on whether it's time to hang the boots up" - but that doesn't sell ad space

"
King, Dunstall, Dixon (the worst offenders in my eyes) - please oh please give us the benefit of your obvious and considerable wisdom and go and coach. It is obviously so easy, go on, and at least that way you'll be off my telly.
They're not going to be off you're telly if they're coaching.

It was a sensationalist comment to grab a headline. Miss a tackle and your career is over, fair dinkum. His career may be over, but it wont be because of that one tackle.

As long as David King's career can stand up to the same scrutiny, then good luck to him.
this... as soon as i heard what king said.... i figured king had a swag of bucks on the weagles.
kings opinion was made in anger.

They are all fine and their opinions aren't any different to other random plebs on the street.

For some reason everyone kicks up a fuss and attack the person behind the opinion.

Kane Cornes is the perfect example. He gave two separate opinions this month and was slammed as an attention seeker. Yet if you look at comments on BF, most people agreed or at the very least they created discussion points during the week.

King is no different with his LeCras opinion. Most West Coast fans seem to be agreeing with him.

It's their job to give opinions and I never understand the fuss. The only difference is they get paid to do it but an opinion is an opinion. We all know the majority are ex players who land decent jobs in the media, so don't expect articulate thoughtful opinions all the time.

Thought was a little harsh, to basically come out and say lecras should lose his job. Essentially what he has said. Lecras should be dropped sure, but a little harsh to say he should never play AFL again.

and yet on these boards there are threads dedicated to Buckley and other coaches losing their jobs and no-one seems to bat an eyelid.

Players in today's game are more open to criticism than they were before. Not that I subscribe to the opinion that players are fair game to public trials by media - its more of the media's lack of morals when it comes to drumming up any tripe it can to get a good story.

And the public buys into it, that's 1/2 the problem

I wouldn't say they're more open to it, there's just more forums in which they can be criticised.

They're only more open to it if they choose to read it, watch it or listen to it. They have that choice.

I thought it was pretty passionate. He played a lot of football with Simpson and thinks some west coast players are letting his mate down. Fair call too.

At least they don't have a special round table discussion about Buckleys future every other week for 15 minutes.

Should be more of it, too many media 'personalities' sit on the fence because they don't want to offend anyone. They're paid to provide an honest assessment and if that involves bagging a bloke so be it.

Agree completely. One thing Matthew Lloyd does and he also puts his hand up and acknowledges that he's wrong sometimes as well.

King tried to forge a media game based on complicating the uncomplicated. Saw an opportunity to wedge a spot relying on a bit of tech to baffle the crowd.
Throw a few clique words and terms in and voila !

Bloke is the worst bandwagonner i can recall in recent memory. Is wrong more often than Max, my miniature schnauzer....and Max is shithouse at picking winners when asked.

Never have i seen a bloke spout so much utter shit that spells nothing more than "i sit on the fence".

Having said that i recently recorded two Vic shows up here that come on about midnight. Footy Classified and Talking Footy. Dear god never again. Matthew Lloyd may have been a great FF, but can someone please tell him i dont need to be told the bleeding obvious for the seventh time this week. Only Carey was worth listening to. When an interstate team was mentioned it was only to lead into 10 minutes about the pies. In the scheme of things who the hell gives a flying F if Buckley holds his job ? Tiges win...bang...15 minutes of knob polishing. Dons lose and its not about who beat them, but 20 minutes of meaningless dribble about the Dons.

There's definitely room for a half decent AFL show. On the couch is about all i can watch without throwing the remote at the dog.

King had his chance and was shown up to be pathetic. Time to move him along.

If i wanted a laff about the footy i watch that Front Bar show. Molloy and Pang are great but the other guy needs to be taken out the back and shot. How the hell he keeps getting on the box is beyond me. Contrast that to Luke Darcy trying to be funny with some sort of "say that again" shit requiring a fake chuckle from some hipster dufus "journo" i've never seen that must be smoking someones johnson out the back to get a gig....and then...and then...

I wouldn't say they're more open to it,

Yes my apologies for the wrong choice of words there. The intent to the comment was that in today's world of technology and focus on money in sports, AFL players are more likely to attract public criticism than the average Joe. Players ultimately do have the choice and responsibility to ignore it but that's easier said than done when it comes to hateful articles (which I'm not saying that King's was) being seen by their family and friends.

We only need to look at how the dirty laundry of D.Chick and B.Cousins has been played out in the media as an example. Its one thing when its a comment on a website, much more difficult when your face is all over the news and print media

There's definitely room for a half decent AFL show. On the couch is about all i can watch without throwing the remote at the dog.

Poor Max!

The only difference between BF and David King is that he used his real name. Melting over a melt which is so much more tame than the anonymous vitriol poured out on these pages every week is a bit ridiculous.

Or, you know, the difference of King being paid handsomely to air his opinions in a public forum. Posters on BF are not remunerated (unless you include 'likes') for their commentary, regardless of the insight, or lack of, provided. It is King's job to provide analysis of teams and players in the competition and this may include singling out and criticising individual players from time to time. I don't have a problem with that. I do have a problem with the blatant overreaction to one clip (and I know that LeCras is a serial offender in defensive pressure but I am making the point more generally about King and Healy and co. making blanket statements off one clip or one display of 'body language') and lack of nuance in the work of a lot of these analysts. King is hardly alone in this regard but for someone who Fox Sports trumpets 'as the best analyst in the game', a lot of his analysis is hardly groundbreaking or incisive.

What is most frustrating is the accountability these analysts put on players - "LeCras shouldn't play again" - isn't reciprocated by the networks that employ these analysts. King and co. shouldn't be so quick to "go whack" considering the inconsistency of their own performance on the job. If they are to hold players to such a high standard that they hysterically magnify individual moments in a game of thousands of such moments, they should expect the same of them. Bigfooty posters do not need to heed such warning; they are fans first and foremost, not analysts, and don't have any responsibility to the players or others.

Is David King's criticism of Mark LeCras fair game?