Coach Is it time for Dimma to go?

Is it time for Dimma to go.

• Yes

Votes: 97 43.9%
  • No

Votes: 126 57.0%

I'm watching a different team to you then.

Go and watch Richmond of 2017 and tell me the players are as engaged, have the some love and connection for each other and play for each other and the coach.

Everyone was invested, every player was all in for the team, to the gameplan and for each other.

It's visibly different now, and that's not surprising. We were the greatest "team" I've ever seen in terms of playing as one unit, regardless of talent. Now we look disconnected and disjointed as hell.

But you are taking this from how many games? IMO it needs to be more or less a whole season of malfunction before you are sacking someone like Hardwick. We have lost 2 games by more than a goal in our last 21. One was by 14 and last night's was the first blowout - and our biggest margin loss out of our last 42 matches.

So yes, we are no longer the incredible machine that produced 3 flags in 4 years, but those circumstances are incredibly difficult to create. You had peak Rance, Cotchin, Riewoldt, Martin all at once. And a game plan designed around our players that nobody knew how to deal with. We don't have an all timer like that in his prime right now, nor do we have a unique game plan, because other clubs have taken elements of ours and also worked out ways to counter us.

I would agree that if some of last nights failings are not addressed over coming weeks then it is time to worry. But a lot of what looked so bad is players like Ralphsmith and Balta making howlers that you cannot defend. A lot of that sort of stuff is fixable.

The problem was never his gameplan in the first place, it was caracellas. Not sure if dimma has the tactical know how to come up with a new one. Hes more of a man manager than a strategist- not sure our cutrent assistants cut it either
Funny how Dimma never gets the credit.
Gee wizz your successful clubs.Teams wanna know the formula.Can't get the senior coach lets get his offsiders.Look at the hawks.Dimma/Fagan/Simpson/Goodwin all were under Clarkson at some stage.
Samething happened to us.Like the hawks our stars are older.But no lets not give any credit too our coach.Instead lets put him down.
What a moronic but typical thread made by one of many who never ever give credit where its due.

We have had a great time and now we have regressed back to the mean and rejoined the pack. Nothing unusual and totally predictable and little or nothing any coach can do about it. We may still final and we will have some good wins this yar but the flags are over and that had to happen. Its not Dimma.

But you are taking this from how many games? IMO it needs to be more or less a whole season of malfunction before you are sacking someone like Hardwick. We have lost 2 games by more than a goal in our last 21. One was by 14 and last night's was the first blowout - and our biggest margin loss out of our last 42 matches.

So yes, we are no longer the incredible machine that produced 3 flags in 4 years, but those circumstances are incredibly difficult to create. You had peak Rance, Cotchin, Riewoldt, Martin all at once. And a game plan designed around our players that nobody knew how to deal with. We don't have an all timer like that in his prime right now, nor do we have a unique game plan, because other clubs have taken elements of ours and also worked out ways to counter us.

I would agree that if some of last nights failings are not addressed over coming weeks then it is time to worry. But a lot of what looked so bad is players like Ralphsmith and Balta making howlers that you cannot defend. A lot of that sort of stuff is fixable.
You don't sacked anyone at round 5. I'm just advocating that if by round 17 we've cooked the season and are missing finals, which looks very likely, it has to be time to maybe have a conversation about someone else coaching in 2024. The writing has been on the wall since 2021, 2022 and carried into this year. There's been long term signs not just the first 5 games.

Should be doing due diligence from now though on who some short-list targets are.

I reckon we did well during the premiership years to continue drafting and guys like bolton and balta have come in well, and then gibcus, sonsie etc are excellent. Moving out of last year's and this year's draft was a mistake though as we have so many players coming to the end we needed the picks. Our rebuild would have haopened on the run with young players like gibcus taking the spot of retirees, and as our younger guys reached 50 games we would be up there again. Taranto and hopper are better now but set us back, otherwise I reckon we were reloading well for another go, and hardwick would have stayed in the game.

As it is now I think it's retirement for cotch, tarrant, reiwoldt, and grimes this year. Our first pick is round 2, so we will drop off. Will dimma stay? We half did a rebuild but paused it last year and this year.

You don't sacked anyone at round 5. I'm just advocating that if by round 17 we've cooked the season and are missing finals, which looks very likely, it has to be time to maybe have a conversation about someone else coaching in 2024.

Should be doing due diligence from now though on who some short-list targets are.
Why tho
It will be the same list and that is our current issue and the fact it’s in a transitional period

A different coach wouldn’t of had any effect on the game last night
The game plan had us in the contest right until the last 15 minutes when it went off the boil

Silly free kicks, seasoned vets out of form and a lot of youth due to injury cost us more than the actual gameplan

I'm watching a different team to you then.
Go and watch Richmond of 2017 and tell me the players are as engaged, have the some love and connection for each other and play for each other and the coach.

Everyone was invested, every player was all in for the team, to the gameplan and for each other.

It's visibly different now, and that's not surprising. We were the greatest "team" I've ever seen in terms of playing as one unit, regardless of talent. Now we look disconnected and disjointed as hell.
There has always been an issue with selections under Dimma and it has become more apparent since Dimma took up the weed jumped the fence and Mrs Hardwick left .
Some players can keep dishing up shit after shit and get picked whilst others never get a real chance , if picked they play in a foreign role .

Taranto and Hopper will be the death of Dimma’s career . He will continue to play them for as many minutes as possible as midfielders and they just aren’t good enough in traffick nor quick enough .

Why tho
It will be the same list and that is our current issue and the fact it’s in a transitional period

A different coach wouldn’t of had any effect on the game last night
The game plan had us in the contest right until the last 15 minutes when it went off the boil

Silly free kicks, seasoned vets out of form and a lot of youth due to injury cost us more than the actual gameplan
Nice to see some level heads have entered that chat to put the toys back in the cot

Gameplan wise we have been in every game this year

Don’t know why it’s Dimma’s fault we have injury’s and our players are failing to execute basic skills and lack of discipline

Guess it’s easy to go for the low hanging fruit instead of taking a breath and looking at the whole picture in context

I reckon we did well during the premiership years to continue drafting and guys like bolton and balta have come in well, and then gibcus, sonsie etc are excellent. Moving out of last year's and this year's draft was a mistake though as we have so many players coming to the end we needed the picks. Our rebuild would have haopened on the run with young players like gibcus taking the spot of retirees, and as our younger guys reached 50 games we would be up there again. Taranto and hopper are better now but set us back, otherwise I reckon we were reloading well for another go, and hardwick would have stayed in the game.

As it is now I think it's retirement for cotch, tarrant, reiwoldt, and grimes this year. Our first pick is round 2, so we will drop off. Will dimma stay? We half did a rebuild but paused it last year and this year.

What we are now seeing is that with the salary cap and free agency it is near pointless doing a rebuild that includes loads of top end young talent coming through together. You are just going to end up developing some of them for other clubs to take and enjoy in their prime. You only do that if you have no alternative. We had better alternatives and we took them.

I still think Dimma has the fire to get us back. But the problem is you need to surround him with the right people. He even admitted this in 2017 after winning. Between 2017-2020 we had an all star team of caracella, rutten, mcrae and leppa, which was a chnage from the 2016 coaching team. Obviously what we have now is not the same quality but its more of a reflection of how good it was back then. Everyone has weaknesses, its just dimma needs the right people to compliment and also not yes men.

His issue is his ability to understand frcc FCC

There has always been an issue with selections under Dimma and it has become more apparent since Dimma took up the weed jumped the fence and Mrs Hardwick left .
Some players can keep disking up shot after s**t and get picked whilst others never get a real chance , if picked they play in a foreign role .

Taranto and Hopper will be the death of Dimma’s career . He will continue to play them for as many minutes as possible as midfielders and they just aren’t good enough in trafficked nor quick enough .

Hopper was fine in traffic last night. Neither Hopper nor Taranto were recruited with the expectation they would explode out of stoppages Judd style. The club will be planning around the likes of Bolton doing that. It is just going to take time for the midfield to gel because it requires sophisticated teamwork and an understanding between the players in there.

Laugh at the narrative that some of you goons are running with that it wasn't dimma who won our flags it was his assistants lol
How have those assistants fared at other clubs when in the main job? Yeah they haven't. The only one who looks ok is Fly and he is only just starting his journey.

Hopper was fine in traffic last night. Neither Hopper nor Taranto were recruited with the expectation they would explode out of stoppages Judd style. The club will be planning around the likes of Bolton doing that. It is just going to take time for the midfield to gel because it requires sophisticated teamwork and an understanding between the players in there.
Think we see a lot of this in games as well
Tend to see Hopper and Taranto link up very well with each other but less so with the other boys and visa versa
It shows that they have played alot of footy together and understand how each other play and what strengths they have

Just going to take time for them to start getting that connection with the rest of the side

No worries Dimma
You keep on insulting Dimma.:p
In all seriousness.Kudos for you at least congratulating Dimma on his 300th unlike some on here who seen to have a vendetta.
On your question in hand.
Who is out there?
Personally i think Grigga is the man we'd be looking at as of all reports he's a pretty smart guy football wise.
When will it happen?
I think Dimma has earn't the right to go out when he feels the time is right inwhich he has said that himself.

Dimma is as Dimma has always been.

It's what's around him that counts, to cover his coaching deficiencies. David Teague, McQualter who else? Whoever, they're clearly not up to it.

Classic example today, Swans tag Dusty for 4 quarters. Meanwhile Papley runs around with no one on him.

I don't see the forwards and defenders huddle like they used to during the quarters. The team connection is gone.
That sounds like an on field leadership issue and I hate to say it but I reckon thats a bigger problem than Dimma right now. The dual captaincy is a massive flop. Baker is captain next year. Thats a guy who inspires.

That’s all well and good but when you play them Both together in the midfield , alongside Prestia it spells trouble as has been seen .
One of them with Prestia and a Bolton Cotchin or Baker who are good and elusive in traffic may work but not all 3 of Hopper , Taranto and Prestia

You keep on insulting Dimma.:p
In all seriousness.Kudos for you at least congratulating Dimma on his 300th unlike some on here who seen to have a vendetta.
On your question in hand.
Who is out there?
Personally i think Grigga is the man we'd be looking at as of all reports he's a pretty smart guy football wise.
When will it happen?
I think Dimma has earn't the right to go out when he feels the time is right inwhich he has said that himself.
I'll honestly thank him for everything hes done. Especially how he transformed from what he was 2016. He admitted he needed to share some jobs. He did that and bang, great dynamics in our coaching staff.

Sadly we lost some of those assistants now, and I'm not sure he trusts his assistants again, like he did.

Game Day, I also think he is lacking. tactically.

but honestly, I just wanted to see a rough idea of what others thought.

My biggest issue with Dimma is his relationship with the AFL and he has adopted a " Me vs them" attitude, which you can NEVER ever win against the AFL.

I love punk as much as the next guy and generally love a guy who has a "F-U, i wont do what you tell me" attitude- but its not what you want running a footy club. It wouldn't even be an issue for me if it wasn't for the fact that lack of respect for the officiating & that lack of discipline wasn't filtering into our onfield play.

I remember Richo being dropped for poor body language with a handball to Rodan in the goal square. What are we doing about the 22 50's Bolton gives up every single week? And Pickett? And the plethora of other examples of idiotic free kicks and 50's we are giving away? This has been going on for 3 years now - i actually don't even enjoy watching us play as everytime we do these idiotic frees/50's, we play in a way that i hate my teams to play.

I rate discipline in a gameplan & ethos overall, always.Discipline is always set from the top. Its no surprise that since Dimma has taken on this new persona (after 2020), we have seen these issues become worse & worse. I know no-one likes to hear it either - but when your headcoach acts like this to the authoirty, has an affair on his wife & then talks openly about how he is smoking weed to treat his back pain and makes jokes about smoking bongs etc in the workplace - your overally company discipline and expectations towards authority tends to deteriorate. I think this team looks broken

Players are a product of coaches, I truly believe it we looked like we didn't have a good pre-season. when we played Melbourne there was warning signs easily they cut us up you can still tell from Practice matches how we are going.
100% agree

The coach makes cheap shots at the AFL over things he doesn't agree with - next minute your players are giving away 50's and free's like they are lollies

Coach Is it time for Dimma to go?