Analysis Is Leppa the Right Man for the Job?

2 Years in, Is Leppa the Right Man for the Job?

Lol. That's some selective stats right there. Why compare 33 to 37 games, just to get Leppa's losses past Neeld's?
I'm not going to argue that he is better, but fair dinkum, if you're going to make comparisons, make them fair/real. Why not Leppa's first 33 games, instead of his worst? 9W 24L
You lose all credibility picking the eyes out to suit your story. Surely by similar logic, Leppa is a far superior coach, because he hasn't been sacked mid season.

Oh and of Neeld's games, how many first round draft picks did he have playing and the averge age of that list?. Comparing coaches is folly, because they never go into any season with the same cattle. If that is your metric for judging a coach then so be it.
I'm still undecided, by the way.
However you look at it Leppitsch can't coach and that is pretty obvious. The fact the club haven't sacked him is embarassing

That is still only your opinion..

..no-one will know for sure until everything at the club aligns re new facilities,very few injuries etc.

..just atm can't see who would do better under the exact same circumstances we have now..

That is still only your opinion..

..no-one will know for sure until everything at the club aligns re new facilities,very few injuries etc.

..just atm can't see who would do better under the exact same circumstances we have now..
So you want him there for another 4 years??

Our injury list is alright currently so that is no excuse.

The talk of a joint facility came from Qld Minister for Sport, the comment about standalone facility came from Swann in a press conference.

The 4th Qld NRL team has been talked about for ages and whilst the Broncos have been good at blocking it, the current Qld government and Brisbane Mayor want it. It is a question of when not if that happens.

The Queensland government may want the NRL team but unless that mega facility consortium actually puts together a business case that paints it as something more than a massive revenue black hole then the Brisbane Bombers will be playing somewhere other than the airport. It's a seriously silly project as present.

The Lions proposal (which is much more than the "Lions only" project you paint it as) is far more advanced.

So you want him there for another 4 years??

Our injury list is alright currently so that is no excuse.

What about the list that is available?

The reason I'm not repeatedly opposed to Leppitsch is that I think our list is that bad, that I'm not convinced anyone else could bring a whole lot more success.

We're like GWS/GC in their first year without the draft concessions. We are terrible, but this terribleness is independent of the terribleness that we were before Leppa arrived.

My two cents, after going through a list re-generation in his first two years, basically season 2016 is his first year in charge of his "own team"
So why sack a coach that has only had 12 months, with his "own team" ??
Give him 2017 ( player changes / end of season draft ) hopefully a better draw in the first half a dozen rounds and let's see what transpires.

It's not a fair comparison, but after a flag in 2010, change of coach with Buckley coming in, player changes, Buckley now has his own team. Mind you, it's good to see them tumble down the ladder ;)

What about the list that is available?

The reason I'm not repeatedly opposed to Leppitsch is that I think our list is that bad, that I'm not convinced anyone else could bring a whole lot more success.

We're like GWS/GC in their first year without the draft concessions. We are terrible, but this terribleness is independent of the terribleness that we were before Leppa arrived.
Everyone said the Carlton list was worse than ours before the start of the season. We are worse than Essendon at the moment with their top up players that is how bad we are, it isn't a talent thing it is purely because they don't care and our coaching is pathetic.

The simple fact is our defence is pathetic and that means we are applying no pressure in the midfield

The Queensland government may want the NRL team but unless that mega facility consortium actually puts together a business case that paints it as something more than a massive revenue black hole then the Brisbane Bombers will be playing somewhere other than the airport. It's a seriously silly project as present.

The Lions proposal (which is much more than the "Lions only" project you paint it as) is far more advanced.
The Lions proposal is a fair way developed I agree, the thing is the Queensland government won't provide any financial assistance as it stands and that is a very real problem for us.

The Lions proposal is a fair way developed I agree, the thing is the Queensland government won't provide any financial assistance as it stands

Heard differently.

Everyone said the Carlton list was worse than ours before the start of the season. We are worse than Essendon at the moment with their top up players that is how bad we are, it isn't a talent thing it is purely because they don't care and our coaching is pathetic.

The simple fact is our defence is pathetic and that means we are applying no pressure in the midfield

Well, they were wrong because they have heaps of top draft picks and experienced players.

We do not.

Even if we're better than Essendon, I still think we have the worst list in the comp ... but I'm hopeful that in the next few years we'll draft/trade well (both in and out) and start seeing some improvement.

But in terms of where every club is at, our list is no different. Sure we have injuries but everyone does.

Take 4 best 22 players out of any bottom rung side and the result will be telling.

Well, they were wrong because they have heaps of top draft picks and experienced players.

We do not.

Even if we're better than Essendon, I still think we have the worst list in the comp ... but I'm hopeful that in the next few years we'll draft/trade well (both in and out) and start seeing some improvement.
Top draft picks doesn't mean that you are a good player. In the 2008 draft Jack Watts went at #1, Tom Rockliff didn't even get picked in the draft and went at pick #5 in the preseason draft.

Top pick doesn't mean top player. We have plenty of talent on the list that just isn't performing.

Hanley, Rockliff, Zorko, Martin, Rich, Taylor, hell just about everyone just haven't been performing on a regular basis, it is maybe one good game in three or four for most of the squad, with a few exceptions. The players just aren't buying into the game plan and we are in Leppa's third year so its no excuse about new players not knowing it, they just aren't implementing it and Leppa isn't trying anything different.

We do not.

I have seen this argument before and it is a cop out IMV.

Carlton senior players (our 'equivalent' in brackets): Murphy (Rich), Gibbs (Beams), Kreuzer (Martin), Walker (Rockliff) , Simpson (Hanley), Jamison (Merrett), Tuohy (Christensen), White (Lester), Curnow (Bewick), Armfield (Zorko). Plus we have Robinson and Bastinac who I haven't mentioned. They have Casboult, Thomas and Everitt.

Where Carlton have gone past us is undoubtedly getting more out of their role players. We have an inability to develop players to come in and play a role and this is, by far the biggest failure of this coaching staff so far. Youth it always going to take a little while to get going but we have been unable to develop strategies to carry the load in the meantime. I suspect this is purely game plan related. Carlton look to be playing to a structure and a shared philosophy where as our game plan looks much more chaotic at times.

In terms of youth, our keys are generally our youngest players which has undoubtedly made things harder. But Carltons experienced keys aren't exactly world beaters - Jamison, White, Casboult, Everitt, Rowe, Jones plus Weitering as a young KPD. Don't think they are the difference between being us and being an okay team.

Leppitsch lost me the moment he isolated himself from the other coaches by standing around the corner in the coaches box and turning away from the team out of camera's view.

Have never seen such bizarre antics by a coach.

Even if we were in Hawthorn's position I'd be asking questions, but when we're an out and out basket case with clear fractures within the club and between players, coaches, support staff and admin, his antics are even more outrageous.

I don't know if he can coach, I suspect he can't, but I just don't see how he comes back from here, nor do I particularly want him, sadly.

Leppitsch lost me the moment he isolated himself from the other coaches by standing around the corner in the coaches box and turning away from the team out of camera's view.

Even if we were in Hawthorn's position I'd be asking questions, but when we're an out and out basket case with clear fractures within the club and between players, coaches, support staff and admin, his antics are even more outrageous.

I don't know if he can coach, I suspect he can't, but I just don't see how he comes back from here, nor do I particularly want him, sadly.

Sorry mate, but that's such a stupid thing to be turned off on someone and I'm surprised you admit it TBH. Not that it really matters to me, but I'd always thought that was just the camera angle in the box at the Gabba - at Metricon I saw him right next to the other staff in the box.

I can't say I'm rapt with him as a coach, but all this body language bullshit doesn't really come into it for mine.

Really? How long did he do that for?