List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion

Kane has really triggered me on this post. He's the SAME GUY that'd say (if we lost the grand final) "is Mcclugage really an 800k player? Should they have signed berry for 500k for 5 years?".

Hipwood certainly took less money for more years - he isn't on heaps. Harris has taken less for team success. Doedee signed because Adelaide low balled him.

Levi and Will both signed 4 year deals - if we sign Allan for 5 for example - that overlaps most of Levi's.

Also, good teams who have talented players lose a few - that's the beauty of an equalized comp.

He should be celebrating the work of Dom Ambrogio to get us to this point.

Finally - Neale, Cameron, Zorko roll off the cap in the next 3 years. We'll have room.

This. Will and Levi’s deals are already budgeted for though we’ll need to start thinking about Will’s big extension for when he is out of contract next.

I can’t see how we’d have an issue bringing in an expensive key forward.

Last point is that salary cap spending is not equivalent between teams - most of the teams currently not trying to win are rolling around at 95% spend, we are pretty clearly going to be close to 100%.

Those teams should be banking that extra space and attracting players but the evidence is pretty clear that players are willing to take slightly less to stay/join a successful environment.

This. Will and Levi’s deals are already budgeted for though we’ll need to start thinking about Will’s big extension for when he is out of contract next.

Last point is that salary cap spending is not equivalent between teams - most of the teams currently not trying to win are rolling around at 95% spend, we are pretty clearly going to be close to 100%.

Those teams should be banking that extra space and attracting players but the evidence is pretty clear that players are willing to take slightly less to stay/join a successful environment.

Will is locked in until 2026 so he could take another 4 to get himself to 2030 free agency. It'll look identical to Nick Daicos deal who is currently signed up to 2029 getting him to free agency for the first time.

The point is sound that at some point we're likely going to have trouble managing salaries for all the younger players coming through. The insistence that the player contracts should be public knowledge to is bullshit. Sam Edmund (the other bloke) was a pretty good counterpoint.

Specifically on Oscar Allen, the equation is pretty straightforward. Assuming Joe Daniher was on $1m and left a year early, then in 2025 that $1m is either banked or brought forward onto other players' contracts. So let's say we bring forward $200K in 2025 to 5 other player contracts, reducing their contracts in 2026 by $200K. Oscar Allen comes in on a 5-year contract at $1.2m. He gets the $1m hole left by Joe retiring (2026 going forward), plus the $200K x 5 banked from 2025. simples.

Add into that, the salary cap increases $750K in 2024, $2m in 2025, and about another $700K by 2027.
2023: $15.02m
2024: $15.79m
2025: $17.76m
2026: $18.29m
2027: $18.44m

$1.2M is a lot of money - so Oscar Allen better have a really good 2025 without injury issues.

Clearly we'll need to let a couple go who we'd prefer stayed over the next year or two.

Maybe I don't see it like player agents do but when you consider the tax issue what's the financial/career difference between playing at the Lions on 900k or somewhere else that is going nowhere on 1.2 mill ? . Especially when a lot of your post playing career marketing is linked to whether you've won flags /been at a successful club.

Personally I think we're in a sweet spot as far as attracting players go and if we continue to manage the situation well we can keep that going for quite a while yet. I'd say post the 2025 season we could see a bit of a cleanout with maybe 3 retirements and a player or two go for more money elsewhere. But we have the depth to cover it.

The key is to keep enhancing the environment we've created because that's our golden ticket.

$1.2M is a lot of money - so Oscar Allen better have a really good 2025 without injury issues.
I'm not sold on Oscar myself but clearly if he attracts that sort of money then the injuries that have been holding him back should be redeemable. You'd have to think his best footy is ahead of him in that case.

A lot can change over the course of the next season. Someone else could put their hand up out of nowhere.

Will is locked in until 2026 so he could take another 4 to get himself to 2030 free agency. It'll look identical to Nick Daicos deal who is currently signed up to 2029 getting him to free agency for the first time.

Yeah I expect this to be what he does, but he will be a million dollar player in his next deal comfortably.

Mmm but it is purely so he can call for contract $ to be public. Framing it as a way to ‘clear’ us and Geelong from rorting is such an innovative way for him to get back to his usual talking points.

You’re four steps ahead

I'm surprised by the apathetic reaction of WC fans on their board. The majority seem to not mind at all if he leaves if they get a decent pick.
It'll be interesting to see how his knee holds up this year.

I think it’s about context though…Allen is far more structurally valuable to us than them and the opposite is true for a top pick

I’m not a fan of salaries becoming public for so many reason. Outside the obvious, strategically from a club perspective I think it’s unfair to have to declare how you are structuring payments and manoeuvring things around. Clearly, there is an art to it, and something you shouldn’t have to reveal to other competitors (clubs/organisations). Kane is spruiking a completely self-interested, media-centric view that for mine, serves no functional benefit outside heaping more pressure and bullsh1t on clubs, players managers and everyone in between.

2 out of contract players that we may struggle to keep long term imo are Kai Lohmann and Logan Morris.
They will receive ridiculous offers from Melbourne Clubs to tempt them home.
We also have Starce weighing up options possibly.
Being the current Premiers, clubs will come hard for our players and in all likelyhood we probably can’t keep them all, sadly!

Kai already faced the go or stay issue and emphatically chose brisbane. No reason he isn't s committed as hipwood etc.

last time he would have been getting offered rookie level wages to go home. this time he will be getting significant money thrown his way by the norfs and richmonds of the afl. completely different scenario, especially when our competitors will likely have more money to offer him.

I'm surprised by the apathetic reaction of WC fans on their board. The majority seem to not mind at all if he leaves if they get a decent pick.
It'll be interesting to see how his knee holds up this year.

Allen doesn’t fit their list profile, they’re setting up for a competitive list in 5-6 years at which point he’ll be close to the end of his career. They’d probably like to keep him, but if he wants out this is the maximum value they’ll get for him which will help their future; so might as well.

last time he would have been getting offered rookie level wages to go home. this time he will be getting significant money thrown his way by the norfs and richmonds of the afl. completely different scenario, especially when our competitors will likely have more money to offer him.

Nah the numbers he was getting offered (reportedly) were crazy, similar to what Rankine was offered by Adelaide. He turned that down for a fringe player level salary; he’s committed.

he was getting offered the money and years rankine was despite having only played a handful of games at afl level?

sorry, i find that very hard to believe.

There's a key stat that people are overlooking for Allen.

Taking his 2023 stats (only played 11 last year so it's a write off), he's kicked 53 goals while wearing blue and gold. That's an average of 26.5 goals per Brisbane Lions colour. Add maroon into that mix and he's on for 80 guaranteed. Who wouldn't want to be an instant coleman favourite?

But it doesn't end there. If we include the Fitzroy red from the Melbourne guernseys then his potential skyrockets to over 100 goals per season. Generational.

This is a brilliant piece of recruiting from our staff who clearly understand the finer details.

There's a key stat that people are overlooking for Allen.

Taking his 2023 stats (only played 11 last year so it's a write off), he's kicked 53 goals while wearing blue and gold. That's an average of 26.5 goals per Brisbane Lions colour. Add maroon into that mix and he's on for 80 guaranteed. Who wouldn't want to be an instant coleman favourite?

But it doesn't end there. If we include the Fitzroy red from the Melbourne guernseys then his potential skyrockets to over 100 goals per season. Generational.

This is a brilliant piece of recruiting from our staff who clearly understand the finer details.
There are amateur football analysts and professional football analysts. But you, my friend have taken it to a whole new level.

Welcome to big footy. 😂

Clearly we'll need to let a couple go who we'd prefer stayed over the next year or two.

Maybe I don't see it like player agents do but when you consider the tax issue what's the financial/career difference between playing at the Lions on 900k or somewhere else that is going nowhere on 1.2 mill ? . Especially when a lot of your post playing career marketing is linked to whether you've won flags /been at a successful club.

Personally I think we're in a sweet spot as far as attracting players go and if we continue to manage the situation well we can keep that going for quite a while yet. I'd say post the 2025 season we could see a bit of a cleanout with maybe 3 retirements and a player or two go for more money elsewhere. But we have the depth to cover it.

The key is to keep enhancing the environment we've created because that's our golden ticket.
Someone who is an accountant should explain it properly, but professional athletes pay tax differently.

I googled it once, but way too complicated for me. Suffice to say, they pay tax differently than your average person, and take home more than someone on the same wage with a “normal” job.

List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion

Write your reply...