Is Luke Hodge the new Paul Dear?

Dear oh dear (no, not the Paul variety).

Isn't it mildly sad when solid B-grade posters such as CLA and Frankston Rover fall back to the 101 ripostes ("gees your team XXXXXXX are shit and when did you last win a flag") or variations of this theme?

Der.

That approach has been used on me a thousand times and all it ever does is make me yawn. Are you incapable of anything better?

Biffinator.

I think it's sadder when a fellow solid B-Grader resorts to using his thesaurus to write threads about premierships, Norm Smith's and winners when his side has be so shit for so long they are considered a joke.

Didn't you blokes sack Norm Smith? The best coach you ever had.

Dear oh dear indeed.... :eek:

Biff
( nice to see you are back in form)... make the best of the first 5 weeks;)

TOP OP POST!

WE had already recruited Stewy Dew prior to the 08 GF.... Roosey wanted MORE GUTS!

Hodgey, mistakenly believed the literal interpretation of Dews ....pre GF SMS...!!!:eek:

He ( and Buddies) was convinced that he ought get a ....GUTZ like Stewy!!!!

Hope that clears up dilemna & conjecture:D

Luvin... that FOOTY is FINALLY back!!!:thumbsu:

I hope and pray that a Hawks supporter (most likely hodgepodge) posts the 'highlights' package of Hodgey's GF, from On the Couch.

It is the worst highlight reel, of any Norm Smith medallist, any kind of medallist, ever. Fancy giving a bloke a Norm for lining up on an injured Matty Stokes, spending all day being 3rd man up in marking contests, and kicking the ball off the ground. There's a reason your junior footy coach hated it when you kicked the ball of the ground. It's because it's weak, it's the soft option.

Spot on LLD.

The best bit of that segment of OTC is when Clarkson who is clearly still horny after the premiership tells us how courageous Hodge was when he 'near broke his leg in half' when he kicked the ball off the ground.
If you watch that piece of play the only thing Hodge could have broken his leg on was the Geelong player who dived head first at the ball and had his head almost kicked off by Hodge who decided the contest was too hot.

It is the worst highlight reel, of any Norm Smith medallist, any kind of medallist, ever. .

Noooo, I won't have that

Buckley got one when his direct opponent won Brisbane the game.

Spot on LLD.

The best bit of that segment of OTC is when Clarkson who is clearly still horny after the premiership tells us how courageous Hodge was when he 'near broke his leg in half' when he kicked the ball off the ground.
If you watch that piece of play the only thing Hodge could have broken his leg on was the Geelong player who dived head first at the ball and had his head almost kicked off by Hodge who decided the contest was too hot.

Hay for threfirst time ever I finally went to briefly to see the Kings X ...Mardi Gras.

You and LLD were superb:thumbsu:

How you can EVEN.... pretend to KNOW ANYTHING! ....about football is a credit to your creed!

Hodge was simply let me try ...speledtink itz for U
.. S. E. N .S. A. T. I. O. N. A .L

Reminds me of Greg Dear (& also you two :D.).... unaccountable! & loose!

Comrade LLD - can i please ask you a question: am I wrong to suggest that there was a Joel Bowden-esque element to Luke Hodge's game in the 2008 Grand Final?

I know that you will answer objectively - for everyone's benefit.

Cheers, Biffinator.

Of course I will.

Spot on LLD.

A great example of the Bowden-esque features of Hodgey's game.

While Joel Selwood attacks the footy and gets his scone over the pill, Hodgey seems to think he's Ryan Shawcross tackling Alan Ramsey and recklessly, spinelessly swings his leg at the area. It's a wonder Joel is still all with us today, and in some perverse Hawk bizarro-twist, Hodgey gets lauded by Clarko for his actions.

Noooo, I won't have that

Buckley got one when his direct opponent won Brisbane the game.

At least Buckley did some highlight-worthy work during the match.

The best part of play involving Hodge is his longer-than-average distance handball through the middle.

The rest is outmarking Stokes, or floating across the pack, sometimes spoiling, sometimes doing nothing.

Hay for threfirst time ever I finally went to briefly to see the Kings X ...Mardi Gras.

You and LLD were superb:thumbsu:

I'd be deleting this one with a little hindsight Corpy, it's a little worn out. Let me know if you want this quote to disappear.

Lol the bitterness from cat fans in this thread is hilarious.
Still sooking after Hodgey receiving the NS ahead of crybaby gary in the 08 grand final.
Time to get over it handbag flogs.

0,5001,6977005,00.jpg

"Never mind the score where is my norm smith wa wa wa :("

Another luke hodge thread wooo

the jealousy continues

its funny that melbourne doesnt have a player on their list with even half the talent luke hodge has

not even skull **** or jackie squats or whatever the **** those hacks are called

Comrades.

OK, so Joel Bowden should have presented the Norm Smith Medal on Grand Final Day 2008 but let's move on.

The real issue here is this: is Hodgey morphing in Paul Dear V2.

For instance, his practice of pretending that he has been severely maimed in the heavy traffic, only to make a miraculous Lourdes-like recovery on the boundary line once the "ouch-less" bandaids have been applied, is starting to wear thin.

Hodgey - here is the best advice you will ever receive: drop the acting and start playing hard, accountable football and the accusations that you are starting to resemble Paul Dear will die away!

Biffinator.

Are you talking about the time he had cracked ribs or the other times when he's run back with the flight or put his head over the ball?

I mean, he's no Travis Johnstone or Jeff White but our No. 1 draft pick is a premiership player - just like Paul Dear.

I'd take that and I'd sure you would too, comrade.

Hodgey - here is the best advice you will ever receive: drop the acting and start playing hard, accountable football and the accusations that you are starting to resemble Paul Dear will die away!

Biffinator.

I dont think Hodgey cares about the ramblings of a senile old man.

Was voted above 43 others for the 2008 Norm BTW. Which is more than Dear had to beat so any comparison is moot.

Are you talking about the time he had cracked ribs or the other times when he's run back with the flight or put his head over the ball?

I mean, he's no Travis Johnstone or Jeff White but our No. 1 draft pick is a premiership player - just like Paul Dear.

I'd take that and I'd sure you would too, comrade.

Comrade, from what I understand, he also grits his teeth and gives off that He-Man stare whenever he sustains a paper-cut.

And I really don't give a damn what kind of "head over the ball" heroics he displays down at the Robert Peel hotel. As the Beatles sang on the rooftop, it is time for Hodgey to "Get Back" or its PDV2 time.

Biffinator.

I think the poor old Biffinator has old wounds that are just not healing, probably from the time that Dipper destroyed that skinny useless Robert Flower at waverly in the jim Stynes brain fade game, I can still see the tears on the demon supporters faces just like those of handbagger supporters in 2008, such a wonderful sight. Possibly he is upset that Melbourne drafted Watts and not Nic Nat and he just has to take his frustration out on a player who will tear melbourne a new hole in the first round, not to worry Biff you can take the Volvo up to the snow after your season is stuffed by round 4.

Comrade, from what I understand, he also grits his teeth and gives off that He-Man stare whenever he sustains a paper-cut.

And I really don't give a damn what kind of "head over the ball" heroics he displays down at the Robert Peel hotel. As the Beatles sang on the rooftop, it is time for Hodgey to "Get Back" or its PDV2 time.

Biffinator.

Comrade,

The fact that this thread has degenerated into ****ter innuendos shows you're about as funny as cancer.

How sad. :(

Biffinator.

It's a bit late for that, Biff. ;)

nxlst2.jpg

He's clearly talking about the time, in his very first real match after his GF efforts, Hodgey took a dive and collapsed to the ground following a Stevie J airswing.

You just knew, from that moment on, that Hodgey would be in for a tough season. It's like the slavering praise from fawning Hawks everywhere had gone to his head, while some other mass of solid matter had gone straight to his lard-arse.

It's a trademark move for Hodgey. Cop a standard tackle or bump, of the kind players receive dozens of times a match, but only Hodgey can express the anguish, using his highly tuned and trained facial muscles. He lingers just long enough for the trainers to start their way over, so he can then bravely wave them away, though he will lumber off still holding his aches.

KruZin - really well done.

Hodgey loves his strapping. It adds to his "walking wounded & yet still hanging tough image". One day he will be pushed up the race on one of those mobile intensive-care units (complete with multiple drips), and with more bandages on him than King Tut.

Then, to the acclaim of the Hawthorn wangers, his super-human powers will reassert themselves and he will take to the field of battle like Mars Redivus (and trot down to the HBF by himself).

While it is lots of fun to behold this spectacle, I pay good money to the Melbourne Cricket Club to watch football, not theatre.

Nor are such antics putting any distance between his reputation and the baleful spectre of Paul Dear - Once were Warriors indeed.

Biffinator.

So we've got 1 very bitter Cats fan who still hasn't gotten over the 08 loss and 1 sad Melbourne fan who has now dropped his embarrassing grab for cheap laughs by mention gay bars.

This thread needs to be stickied ASAP. :rolleyes:

So we've got 1 very bitter Cats fan who still hasn't gotten over the 08 loss and 1 sad Melbourne fan who has now dropped his embarrassing grab for cheap laughs by mention gay bars.

This thread needs to be stickied ASAP. :rolleyes:

And a couple of straggler Hawks boiz doing their best imitation of a minister in Saddam's war cabinet.

Is Luke Hodge the new Paul Dear?