Is Travis Cloke going to GWS?

Geelong have managed to ride the wave with Bartel, Selwood, Scarlett, Enright, Ottens etc.

WCE with Judd, Kerr, Cousins, Cox etc.

These are all players who could have been #1 earners at any other club.

It's just overly enhanced and scrutinized because its Collingwood.

We will get by and retain our big guns.

Lol

Both West Coast and Geelong lost one of their best players to another club for $$$$.

So by your logic Hawkins is a better forward then Riewoldt?

And Leon Davis is one of the best FP players to ever play the game?

Good point you got me there.Hawkins is a spud. I know he killed us but he wont ever do it again. I honestly dont know how he has played for geelong for so long.Even the geelong supporters were calling for his head a few months before the grand final. They know he is a spud. you wouldnt dare hear them say thaT NOW though. I never said leon davis was one of the best fp players to play the game. I think he held us back in alot of ways.

The Davis reference was in regards to you implying a player who has a Premiership Medal around his neck is better then any other player he is compared to.

Maybe but remember Goddard was BOG in the first 2010 Grand Final. Cloke hardly had a touch and Collingwood drew and then won the replay game with CLoke having been lifeless again.

Cloke only really has had one good season.

Goddard in the Collingwood team would be a superstar.

So by your logic Hawkins is a better forward then Riewoldt?

And Leon Davis is one of the best FP players to ever play the game?

Yes but your previous post suggested that your logic suggests of only watching Richmond games. So how do expect someone to respond when you make an outlandish comment like Riewoldt been far better forward than Cloke? Far better? Really? :confused:

Maybe but remember Goddard was BOG in the first 2010 Grand Final. Cloke hardly had a touch and Collingwood drew and then won the replay game with CLoke having been lifeless again.

Cloke only really has had one good season.

Goddard in the Collingwood team would be a superstar.

I hope you're not implying that he currently isn't one.

Yes but your previous post suggested that your logic suggests of only watching Richmond games. So how do expect someone to respond when you make an outlandish comment like Riewoldt been far better forward than Cloke? Far better? Really? :confused:

I watch a lot of AFL in general, not just Richmond, so I feel qualified enough to make a judgement call on something other then Richmond.

Riewoldt is younger, playing in a lot worse team, with little experience around him, Riewoldt is sublime on both sides of his body, is equal or better then Cloke as a contested mark, has a better aerial game, is more accurate/reliable at shooting for goal, is better defensively and also one of the best for scoring involvements.

So when factoring ones age, experience and the team one plays in, yes, I do think Riewoldt is a 'far' better forward then Cloke, who, lets be honest only started really playing well when Collingwood started coming good.

If Cloke goes to GWS I'd love to see his output having all those kids around him.

Sadly for Pies fans, the following shot was captured by an amateur photographer during a secret GWS training session several weeks ago.
I can only assume the story will break in all the major newspapers shortly.

scaled.php

I watch a lot of AFL in general, not just Richmond, so I feel qualified enough to make a judgement call on something other then Richmond.

Riewoldt is younger, playing in a lot worse team, with little experience around him, Riewoldt is sublime on both sides of his body, is equal or better then Cloke as a contested mark, has a better aerial game, is more accurate/reliable at shooting for goal, is better defensively and also one of the best for scoring involvements.

So when factoring ones age, experience and the team one plays in, yes, I do think Riewoldt is a 'far' better forward then Cloke, who, lets be honest only started really playing well when Collingwood started coming good.

If Cloke goes to GWS I'd love to see his output having all those kids aroundO him.

Not equal in marking ability. Cloke is the best contested mark in 2000s. Easily.
Not as good defensively. Cloke is much fitter, a great stronger and tackles like Israel folau.
Cloke is better full stop. buddy is the only forward in the league better atm. Jr is a very good forward but not as good as Cloke - Cloke is also surrounded by players who kick goals and he isn't our only focal point as jack has been - a bit like fev was at Carlton. . U have A grossly over inflated opinion of jack. Are you confusing the Richmond version with a fit and firing nick from st. Kilda?

all i can do is ass-u-me, as you put it. im not friends with ablett, but it is my opinion that he left mostly for the money, leading to a breakdown in his relationship with the club due to the constant speculation and seeming half truths that were flying around.

i know i dont have the answer, and i never definitively answered it outside giving my own opinion. its all any of us can do, and the reason we are on an opinion based football forum.

it might be an 'unfair' claim to make, but so what? ablett aint going to care... maybe i do judge him wrong for it. oh well, again, my opinion is that the money got the better of him - sure there were other reasons to leave, and other reasons to stay. in the end -> money made up his mind.

the only comparison between the two is that one left to go to an expansion club, and one might. end of. this whole ablett thing started because i simply stated everyone had their price, and used ablett (still the only major player to shift clubs) as an example. thats all.

its my opinion that money decided him, and fine, that is unfair in your eyes. but its my opinion, and not a value judgment in any way. i have never stated in this thread whether he was right or wrong, good or bad, for doing it.

i also am of the opinion that cloke will leave if the money is too good to pass up. unfortunately, we live in a world where money has a massive say in things. but hey, most of these players either play where they were drafted, or where their dads played, so why not?

fwiw, ill state again i cant actually see cloke leaving collingwood. but, we'll know in a few months.
Thank you for a balanced response. It's always a surprise to find one on BF.

I am aware that opinions vary greatly but the starkest difference in opinions on GAJ is between those of Cats fans and the rest of the world. Who would blame Cats fans really? Rest assured that if Pendles or Cloke finish up playing for GWS I will join you but that doesn't change what most see in terms of GAJ's situation. Money will always be a big factor in an industry which provides such a small window in which to earn the big bucks but I still contend, and I believe it has been proven many times that it's not everything.

In the main, it's mid-tier mature players or young players with big potential who are most likely to leave a club for money alone. The reason is that mid-tier players tend to go because they are never going to get the money at their existing club because they are a known entity. Brown from Hawthorn to GWS is a perfect case in point. Not a great player but he does have some attributes that all clubs love. Younger players such as Scully have little emotional tie to their first club because they have little history there and in reality most clubs hold back young developing players so that they will mature into more rounded players later on.

GAJ and one or two other notables tend to be a little different and need more motivation than money alone. I still contend that regardless of the chicken and egg theory, GAJ had more motivation than just money. What caused that motivation in the end is moot. In addition, his QLD family connections were always going to ease the pain of a move north. Those things are never going to be motivation in their own right but add a big pile of money to the equation and the decision is a no brainer.

IIRC there was talk when Cloke signed his last deal at Collingwood, in regards to timing the length of that contract in order to coincide with the free-agency rules coming in.

Gone IMO.

Old man seems like a flog too.

Silvagni making no secret of what is needed for the GWS structure

GREATER Western Sydney list manager Steve Silvagni has stopped short of declaring an interest in Collingwood power forward Travis Cloke.But the Giants talent scouting boss confirmed that his new outfit will be on the lookout for a powerful, experienced key position forward like the brilliant Cloke when he goes back to the market place at the end of their first AFL premiership season.

http://www.sportsnewsfirst.com.au/articles/2012/03/26/cloke-attracting-giant-interest/

If Cloke goes to GWS I'd love to see his output having all those kids around him.

Wrong, wrong, wrong.

Cloke is only 2 years older than Riewoldt.

Cloke played well for Collingwood even when they were just a middle-run team.

Riewoldt is equal or better than Cloke as a contested mark.

How about I tell you how much football I watch? I watch every game and I review every game. So, for you to make such assumptions (because that's all they actually are) are not just reposterous but highly uninformed.

Wrong, wrong, wrong.

In your opinion.

Cloke is only 2 years older than Riewoldt.

For a KPP 2 years is a lot, lets not forget Cloke is also 10+ KGs heavier then Riewoldt, I expect as Riewoldt matures over the next couple years he to will build that core muscle.

Cloke played well for Collingwood even when they were just a middle-run team.

Playing well and playing to an Elite/Very good standard are 2 different things.

Riewoldt is equal or better than Cloke as a contested mark.

Yep.

How about I tell you how much football I watch

Please do

I watch every game and I review every game.

Great for you.

So, for you to make such assumptions (because that's all they actually are) are not just reposterous but highly uninformed.

Aren't you basically doing the same thing, making an assumption?

But hey if you think your opinion (Which after all that is all it is) is more valid then mine or any other persons then good for you. :thumbsu:

In your opinion.
:confused:

For a KPP 2 years is a lot, lets not forget Cloke is also 10+ KGs heavier then Riewoldt, I expect as Riewoldt matures over the next couple years he to will build that core muscle.

Cloke is also 3cm taller. Cloke at 108kg is one biggest players in the AFL, period. Your comment about Riewoldt being a better contested mark is ridiculous when Cloke absoultely smashed the amount of contested marks taken last year, but I guess you didn't know that. :rolleyes:

If the ball was kick to be a contest between Cloke and Riewoldt, who do you think would take the mark more often than not? Think about it, REALLY think about it.

You should watch more than 5 Collingwood games a year.

Aren't you basically doing the same thing, making an assumption?

No.

I reckon he is gone. My kids will be devastated, Travis Cloke is their favourite player. What do I say to my kids? No one cares..really.

Imagine if Manchester United had their best player poached in the EPL, there would be hell to pay.

Collingwood want to make themselves the Manchester United of the AFL but alas.

Andy Demitriou rules with such an iron fist that the Clubs don't really have a say.

Sure, allegedly they signed off on this....

with a gun to their head.

I reckon he is gone. My kids will be devastated, Travis Cloke is their favourite player. What do I say to my kids? No one cares..really.

Imagine if Manchester United had their best player poached in the EPL, there would be hell to pay.

Collingwood want to make themselves the Manchester United of the AFL but alas.

Andy Demitriou rules with such an iron fist that the Clubs don't really have a say.

Sure, allegedly they signed off on this....

with a gun to their head.

I loathe clubs losing their top players in this manner. Not saying Cloke is gone, 'cause how would I know, but it's an aspect of footy I don't like.
Sure, the counter argument is the new sides have helped deliver the mega media deal that, in theory, benefits the entire game, even the fans. But there's something that's being lost in the process. It's not just loyaly, and a commitment to a team, and the triumph of the sheer weight of doallars over all else, but it whacks a whole club, including its supporters, and deprives them of the golden years of once-in-a-generation players like Ablett and Cloke. I know I'd be be gutted if Buddy left under the same circumstances.

I loathe clubs losing their top players in this manner. Not saying Cloke is gone, 'cause how would I know, but it's an aspect of footy I don't like.
Sure, the counter argument is the new sides have helped deliver the mega media deal that, in theory, benefits the entire game, even the fans. But there's something that's being lost in the process. It's not just loyaly, and a commitment to a team, and the triumph of the sheer weight of doallars over all else, but it whacks a whole club, including its supporters, and deprives them of the golden years of once-in-a-generation players like Ablett and Cloke. I know I'd be be gutted if Buddy left under the same circumstances.

I would be absolutely and utterly shattered. I really do hope Cloke stays for the reasons above.

Is Travis Cloke going to GWS?