It's time to bring back Waverley

I think it is damn funny how shepp chose a name synonymous with welching for his alias after he got beaten in that bet. Waverley is a reminder of Hawthorn welching on their home area.

You clearly think it's funny. You've written this same post several times. :oops:

You know what else is at Waverley?

11 of these bad boys

130403_premcups.jpg

If it weren't for Geelong, we'd only have 8. And you'd have more flags than us. Thanks Geelong!

John-Kennedy-and-Michael-Tuck-with-the-premiership-c-6267172.jpg

810205-hodge-dew.jpg

4987156-3x2-940x627.jpg

Some of my absolute best memories of going to the footy are from Waverley in the 80s & 90s.

Great thing about the ground was that it was huge, rarely full to capacity and there was no bullshit reserved seating (well maybe in the members stand but we never sat there) so you could basically plonk your backside wherever you wanted so long as you showed up early enough. Yeah it had those shitty wooden plank seats that weren't as comfy as the MCG's bucket seats but there was more leg room.

Atmosphere wasn't great unless the ground was at least 2/3 full and yes it was freezing cold so bringing blankets or warm clothes was essential, yes the carpark resembled one of those prehistoric swamps you hear of mammoth fossils being dug up from and yes it was a million miles from nowhere BUT the place had a character that really grew on us and surface-wise it was absolute best of any ground in the league at the time, oh and the dimensions were absolutely perfect for football.

Having a kick on the ground after the game till it got dark then walking all the way back to Glen Waverley Station to catch the train home, those were fun times. Kinda helped that the Hawks were an absolute powerhouse in that era too, I mean the 91 GF in particular was a very special memory of mine what a wonderful day that was.

Yeah man I would be absolutely 100% behind the AFL bringing back glorious Waverley as an AFL venue. Sadly they won't because they're stuck up w***ers who would rather have a handful of unlucky clubs getting bent over by Jihad instead.

Some of my absolute best memories of going to the footy are from Waverley in the 80s & 90s.

Great thing about the ground was that it was huge, rarely full to capacity and there was no bullshit reserved seating (well maybe in the members stand but we never sat there) so you could basically plonk your backside wherever you wanted so long as you showed up early enough. Yeah it had those shitty wooden plank seats that weren't as comfy as the MCG's bucket seats but there was more leg room.

Atmosphere wasn't great unless the ground was at least 2/3 full and yes it was freezing cold so bringing blankets or warm clothes was essential, yes the carpark resembled one of those prehistoric swamps you hear of mammoth fossils being dug up from and yes it was a million miles from nowhere BUT the place had a character that really grew on us and surface-wise it was absolute best of any ground in the league at the time, oh and the dimensions were absolutely perfect for football.

Having a kick on the ground after the game till it got dark then walking all the way back to Glen Waverley Station to catch the train home, those were fun times. Kinda helped that the Hawks were an absolute powerhouse in that era too, I mean the 91 GF in particular was a very special memory of mine what a wonderful day that was.

The surface was the best part about it, but the seats behind the goals being so far back would suck these days.

You walked all the way back to Glen Waverley station? F***ing hell.

Yeah man I would be absolutely 100% behind the AFL bringing back glorious Waverley as an AFL venue. Sadly they won't because they're stuck up ******s who would rather have a handful of unlucky clubs getting bent over by Jihad instead.

Sympathy for Norf? :eek:

In the middle of arse **** Egypt with a two hour drive even from the boutique north western suburbs. A cold, windy shit hole where a man felt a suburb away from the play.

And if I go to the footy I want to ride on a ******* boat not this terra firma shit.

A bit like Tassie really, just the place to exile the Tassie Hawks for their Victorian games.

I loved Waverley. Boggy carpark, swirly winds, cold winters rugged up like a mofo, the Big V scoreboard - the memories are engrained!

Then as I aged, I started going to the footy with mates rather than family, and smuggled in slabs of carlton draught, ah the memories!!!

I remember the Hawthorn vs Fitzroy fosters cup grand final - the Hawks pumped us. :( but it was still a great night.

WTF are you on about? Keep posting about other users and you'll be on (another) forced vacation.
Waverley is a welcher. Pretty sure there is no reason I can't post on other users when stating facts. Also you implying you will go and mash the button???

No but what really must suck is being in a comp for 35 years longer than another team yet have less Premierships.

Ouch. :thumbsu:
Pretty sure that there is empirical proof Hawthorn were given a bigger better advantage than the Sydney Swans Cost of Living payments through their zones in the 1970s and 80s :oops:.

What was the shortest time it took for you guys to finally leave the car park after a game?

1 hour, 21 minutes for me.

5 minutes, and that is at a pies game. (50k+)

i would always park in the VFL members carpark cos that exit had the left arrow out of the ground. always able to leave fast.

wasnt a member.

That ****ing ground. Looked and felt like it had been built by the Soviet Union. Concrete bunker. The stands were built at too much of a lean angle so that if you weren't within 10 rows of the fence you were miles away from the action. Those shitty wooden benches. Always ****ing raining and the car park, don't get me started on the ****ing car park. Good riddance to the shittest ground ever to host footy games and I'm including Victoria Park in that assessment.

Yeah man I would be absolutely 100% behind the AFL bringing back glorious Waverley as an AFL venue. Sadly they won't because they're stuck up ******s who would rather have a handful of unlucky clubs getting bent over by Jihad instead.

I don't know if you're selling the prospect of Waverley or warning people off. Hell of a story:thumbsu:

I love those old wooden plank seats. If it's not crowded you can spread out a bit and put your stuff on the seat next to you, the only place I can think of that still has them is Kooyong. Hate the bucket seats they have everywhere now that fold up when you jump up to celebrate a goal :thumbsdown:

Just as well it's a sure thing that you have no trouble plonking back down on that raised plastic upright afterwards...

Many great times at Wavo.
Highlights were obviously 91 GF. My bro was thrown in the G/Wav lock up that night. Went into the dunnies after the game to piss, as he started his mate grabbed him by the waist and swung him around, pissing on all these ****ing angry dudes.
Another highlight was 87 Prelim, sat about 20 metres fom where Simon Eishold missed that sitter in the last, gave him the mother of all sprays. After Bucky went bang, we went sick, I started pashing some random bird behind me. Shit, isn't that what 17 year olds so.
Kicking footy's on the ground after the game. Bloody dangerous exercise.
Watching Bunghole kick 17 against the Tiges.

That ******* ground. Looked and felt like it had been built by the Soviet Union. Concrete bunker. The stands were built at too much of a lean angle so that if you weren't within 10 rows of the fence you were miles away from the action. Those shitty wooden benches. Always ******* raining and the car park, don't get me started on the ******* car park. Good riddance to the shittest ground ever to host footy games and I'm including Victoria Park in that assessment.
Shocking car park, so was Princes Park.
Agreed, unless you were sitting on the fence, you were miles from the action. And then with the surface being pretty much a bloody dome, if you were sitting near the you could hardly see the other end.

Many great times at Wavo.
Seeing that potato Sumich nail the post in the QF and therefore gifting the Pies their first flag in 32 years. lol Sumich.

It's time to bring back Waverley