News Izak Rankine, Gold coast holding Rankine to Ransom- #FreeIzak

What will be the trade with the Suns? (Crows posters only, NO opposition supporters)

I don't get the faux media outrage over this. Hell, they're reporting Karl Amon has signed at Hawthorn for 700 over 4. That seems infinitely more ridiculous to me.

And it's not like this is the first player to leave the Suns to go home. Just the first to go home to SA.

I mean, WTF?

What happens if Goldcoast refuses what they view as a lowball offer, then what? he goes to the PSD with $800k on his head and is taken by essendon (if not north or wc) who have made it known they want him.
No, he goes to the PSD with $1.3m on his head anda astatement to Essendon that he doesn't want to go there under any circumstances - exactly what Martin said to Melbourne (which was even in the same state).

I don't get the faux media outrage over this. Hell, they're reporting Karl Amon has signed at Hawthorn for 700 over 4. That seems infinitely more ridiculous to me.

And it's not like this is the first player to leave the Suns to go home. Just the first to go home to SA.

I mean, WTF?

First player of the year to request a trade. Media are bored with no finals this weekend. Crows fans are easy targets. A nice combination for the media to play with.

Taranto is certainly worth more than pick 16. I think GWS will look to another Victorian club for a better offer. GWS do lose a bit of bargaining power though due to their bulging salary cap problem, bit like Collingwood with Grundy.

Regarding Luke Jackson, you'd think freo will have to give up this years and next year's firsts or equivalent. Lucky for Melbourne that westcoast don't have first pick in the PSD.
But Freo's two firsts are worth a lot less than pick 5, which you suggest we need to give up for Rankine!

Hey mate - Assuming you are talking about my posts. You are pretty close. There is nothing to say that Izak will backflip. I don't suspect it will happen.

What I/we know is that a meeting was called to the club from Rankines party with the discussion of his worth to the SUNS. In my opinion something that should have been done before in exit interviews ect.

Sure, it COULD mean all the attention and things like the best and fairest have given him cold feet and making him want to stay.

But more likely in my opinion, his party are just trying to find his value should a deal not be reached between our two clubs.

Of course, I would love him to stay. As would most of the SUNS fans. I reckon you are pretty safe though. I caused a bit of a scene with my post I know, but there is only a small chance that there is more to it than the above.
Actually my post was just my take on things mate. I hadnt read your posts along similar lines.

to clarify are you saying this meeting with SUNS re his value has only been called in recent days and AFTER his decision to join the crows? If so, that’s a concern from a crows perspective certainly

Hey mate - Assuming you are talking about my posts. You are pretty close. There is nothing to say that Izak will backflip. I don't suspect it will happen.

What I/we know is that a meeting was called to the club from Rankines party with the discussion of his worth to the SUNS. In my opinion something that should have been done before in exit interviews ect.

Sure, it COULD mean all the attention and things like the best and fairest have given him cold feet and making him want to stay.

But more likely in my opinion, his party are just trying to find his value should a deal not be reached between our two clubs.

Of course, I would love him to stay. As would most of the SUNS fans. I reckon you are pretty safe though. I caused a bit of a scene with my post I know, but there is only a small chance that there is more to it than the above.
Ps how serious are his family issues from your understanding? The actual worse case scenario for the crows is obtaining Rankine, and something blowing up family wise back in SA meaning we don’t extract adequate value on field from possibly our highest paid player

Actually my post was just my take on things mate. I hadnt read your posts along similar lines.

to clarify are you saying this meeting with SUNS re his value has only been called in recent days and AFTER his decision to join the crows? If so, that’s a concern from a crows perspective certainly
these formal announcements get made after clubs come to terms. this is a suns PR exercise to show supporters they did everything they could. i applaud it on their side but hes not going to announce it then change mind after he had six months of thinking

Would you like to back that up with proof? No? Of course not, because it is bull crap. You were banned, by me, for being a passive aggressive flog on the board.

You were part of the reason why we had to make it SUNS only. Which is a bit heartbreaking because 80% of the supporters who venture across have been respectful and brought good opinions/insight. But like a lot of things in life it only takes a small minority to ruin it for everyone.

I don't venture across to other boards, as its tough to know what the posters are like.

What are your thoughts on:

A. What you think the Suns will get for Rankine.
B. What you would realistically want for Rankine.

Understand if you don't want to answer as this board has more crazies than yours.

It was yesterday. Unsure if the meeting was called yesterday or organised yesterday for next week, but I suspect the latter. I dont think there is too much to be concerned about

Re: Family. There are factors with family which influenced his decision to return home. Nothing sinister. I suspect that the money is good but if those family factors were not there he would have stayed. As you can probably tell from where I live, I have a little bit of understanding regarding indigenous culture and the pull of family can be very strong.

It's also my unconfirmed belief that when Izak initially said no to the Crows, the Crows went behind Izaks back via family. The only low move in this whole dealing in my opinion (if true). But I reckon all clubs probably do it including ours. Business is business.

I don't venture across to other boards, as its tough to know what the posters are like.

What are your thoughts on:

A. What you think the Suns will get for Rankine.
B. What you would realistically want for Rankine.

Understand if you don't want to answer as this board has more crazies than yours.

What I would want. 5 first rounders. Because we have the upper hand and F U. :p

What I think we will get? Just take the pick 5 and be done with it. Not make it too fancy, nor too messy. Just get it done.

I worry for Izak now regardless of which way he goes. He either stays and has the pressure of expectation because of what the club has made public in this situation. Or he goes to Adelaide and has the pressure of living in a footy town, on a huge salary, where inconsistency is not seen too kindly upon.

Pressure on gameday overall does not get to him. We see that with some of his performances. But the media/public pressure does. Even now he is not coping with all the attention.

In the end all the kid wants to do is play footy. We should all be praising him and his love for the game on that alone.

It was yesterday. Unsure if the meeting was called yesterday or organised yesterday for next week, but I suspect the latter. I dont think there is too much to be concerned about

Re: Family. There are factors with family which influenced his decision to return home. Nothing sinister. I suspect that the money is good but if those family factors were not there he would have stayed. As you can probably tell from where I live, I have a little bit of understanding regarding indigenous culture and the pull of family can be very strong.

It's also my unconfirmed belief that when Izak initially said no to the Crows, the Crows went behind Izaks back via family. The only low move in this whole dealing in my opinion (if true). But I reckon all clubs probably do it including ours. Business is business.
That last part is just a slur and unless you’ve got some basis for it pretty low.

Appreciate the insights. From the SUNS board you are deemed most reliable when it comes to intel from what I can gather. So sounds like a good source/s within the club…any intel re Crows going behind Izaks back or is that one total conjecture?

What I think we will get? Just take the pick 5 and be done with it. Not make it too fancy, nor too messy. Just get it done.

I worry for Izak now regardless of which way he goes. He either stays and has the pressure of expectation because of what the club has made public in this situation. Or he goes to Adelaide and has the pressure of living in a footy town, on a huge salary, where inconsistency is not seen too kindly upon.

Pressure on gameday overall does not get to him. We see that with some of his performances. But the media/public pressure does. Even now he is not coping with all the attention.

In the end all the kid wants to do is play footy. We should all be praising him and his love for the game on that alone.
As for the attention, where has it been driven from? Mostly your club, just look at Cochranes comments and the Vic media, who for some reason who have honed in on this move whilst largely ignored the number of GC and GWS players who have moved to Vic clubs.

Where’s the uproar over Torranto and Bruhns possible moves?

It is/was a real thing :p One of our posters thought it would be funny to ban Chief. Although Chief took the ban (and the $25) like a boss, he messed with said posters account, in good humour, for a while.

But hey - Donate $25 to the charity of my choice and ill have a Day Off too.

Pay $50 I will open the SUNS board back up to you

Pay $100 and I will open it up, with a licence to go as hard as you want at Yeeted Suns as you like
I never was banned from the Suns board, I can still post there. As I said before, while I may/do talk shit about "ALL" Clubs on my own board, I wouldnt disrespect another board and go there to troll, its not my style.

I only stopped because one poster got upset by my presence alone, lol. Probably because of this thread, so instead of engaging in an argument, I just stopped posting.

Thanks for that info, I didnt know you could. :thumbsu:

Is the ban instantaneous?

That last part is just a slur and unless you’ve got some basis for it pretty low.

My basis is what I have been told. I'm comfortable in my sources and know it is likely true. But I was very careful to say unconfirmed reports anyway

No need to worry about Rankine at all. There is zero pressure. We are in the phase of a rebuild, he is only at the beginning of his career with us, we know it will take time for both him, the team and everyone to gel.

He has a wonderful family network structure to lean on that he didnt have in QLD, not to mention the Club as well.

He will thrive better in SA than in QLD.

Had a day with my wife and kids just walking right through Surfers, and 'soulless' is exactly how I described it.

I've been to both Bali and Phuket, and both those places have far, far more life, soul and culture than the gold coast.

No one that lives on the Gold Coast goes into surfers paradise, that’s your first mistake….Surfers Is just for the Bogan tourist from down south that also holiday in Bali and Thailand

You’ll find the majority of the Suns players live about 15km south in Burleigh heads, a place you wouldn’t be calling soulless at all if you visited it, also a place the bogan tourists don’t visit

I’d highly doubt any of the Suns list have been to Surfers more than a couple of times in the years they have been on the list and I can guarantee you no players live there

As for the attention, where has it been driven from? Mostly your club, just look at Cochranes comments and the Vic media, who for some reason who have honed in on this move whilst largely ignored the number of GC and GWS players who have moved to Vic clubs.

For right or wrong man, I am not blaming anyone for the attention. Not AFC, not GCFC, not anyone. Its footy media, it happens. I'm saying the attention is there and it is not having a great outcome on Izak.

I wish he could just make up his mind without the outside influence and play footy mate. I love the SUNS, but I am footy first. I wanna see an indigenous kid running around doing what he loves. I couldn't care if it was for Adelaide, Gold Coast or the Tampa Bay Tiger Sharks. Please dont try and turn my comments into a shitfight between me and your club. Im not about that

Agree re expectations and pressure but I do feel he will become our next Eddie Betts but with a higher ceiling. He is an outgoing performer on-field. Playing in front of 40-50k die hard loud supporters for the team he loved growing up may well see his output go to another level than what is currently possible at GC. I think he will thrive on field but don’t dismiss the potential for off field pressures/family stuff

What are your views on his chance to partially transition to he midfield? How uniquely talented is Izak in your view? I personally have rarely seen a player with such creativity, goal sense, skills, pace and agility and so excited to see him at our club

Mate, this guy has integrity and sharing info in good faith. Not sure we need to give him a hard time let alone have him discuss the medias treatment of players completely irrelevant to GC

My basis is what I have been told. I'm comfortable in my sources and know it is likely true. But I was very careful to say unconfirmed reports anyway
thats really interesting and as a crows fan I am happy for my club to be ruthless and pull out all measures to get elite young talents in the door. It seems to have worked here.

thanks again

Agree re expectations and pressure but I do feel he will become our next Eddie Betts but with a higher ceiling. He is an outgoing performer on-field. Playing in front of 40-50k die hard loud supporters for the team he loved growing up may well see his output go to another level than what is currently possible at GC. I think he will thrive on field but don’t dismiss the potential for off field pressures/family stuff

What are your views on his chance to partially transition to he midfield? How uniquely talented is Izak in your view? I personally have rarely seen a player with such creativity, goal sense, skills, pace and agility and so excited to see him at our club

I dont dare say he will be better than Betts. But he will be a more versatile player with similar tricks. He will play in the middle at times but not always. More when you are looking for that moment of magic at a stoppage. His tank will always be the question along with consistency. But he is going to be special regardless.

No one that lives on the Gold Coast goes into surfers paradise, that’s your first mistake….Surfers Is just for the Bogan tourist from down south that also holiday in Bali and Thailand

You’ll find the majority of the Suns players live about 15km south in Burleigh heads, a place you wouldn’t be calling soulless at all if you visited it, also a place the bogan tourists don’t visit

I’d highly doubt any of the Suns list have been to Surfers more than a couple of times in the years they have been on the list and I can guarantee you no players live there
Yep can confirm have seen Suns boys many times around Burleigh and the Sth end of GC is by far the best. Burleigh is as popular as Byron these days and a great spot

One thing was certain, Geelong were never going to march Dangerfield to the PSD in 2015, because if they did, they wouldn’t have seen him again for at least another year. Carlton, Melbourne or Essendon would would likely have taken him in the PSD, at worst to trade him on to Geelong for plenty after 12 months.

Geelong would have readily shunted a Top 10 player out the door or more to get the extra collateral needed to get the Dangerfield trade with Adelaide done - including giving up on Henderson to allow for their future 1st.

We were a bit too generous.
No, Geelong wouldn't have given some of their aging players one last year, and used the additional cap space to make an offer to Danger that we couldn't match.

They had a LOT more players out of contract that year than we did.