News Izak Rankine, Gold coast holding Rankine to Ransom- #FreeIzak

What will be the trade with the Suns? (Crows posters only, NO opposition supporters)

Wow the delusion over on GC board is strong. They honestly believe there is a chance Rankine will stick around for 2 years. After what that clown board member said nobody would stay
It’s the same thing Swans posters were saying about Dawson last year, we probably have said the same in the past.

Trying to convince themselves they have more leverage than they do.

No, Geelong wouldn't have given some of their aging players one last year, and used the additional cap space to make an offer to Danger that we couldn't match.

They had a LOT more players out of contract that year than we did.

So at worst if we accept your account (we don't, they were committed to Henderson and your millionth attempt to re-write the events since do not change them) we would have substantially weakened a team that we had to compete with for premiership hopes in that era? Oh drats, jolly poor sport.

Wow the delusion over on GC board is strong. They honestly believe there is a chance Rankine will stick around for 2 years. After what that clown board member said nobody would stay
It’s odd thinking. Rankine has already done the tough bit. He has seen the season through without signing a new contract and announced his intent to leave.

He doesn’t need to do anything else now, just sit back at home until after trade period and leave it to his manager and the two clubs to go through the mechanics of it.

What I would want. 5 first rounders. Because we have the upper hand and F U. :p

What I think we will get? Just take the pick 5 and be done with it. Not make it too fancy, nor too messy. Just get it done.

I worry for Izak now regardless of which way he goes. He either stays and has the pressure of expectation because of what the club has made public in this situation. Or he goes to Adelaide and has the pressure of living in a footy town, on a huge salary, where inconsistency is not seen too kindly upon.

Pressure on gameday overall does not get to him. We see that with some of his performances. But the media/public pressure does. Even now he is not coping with all the attention.

In the end all the kid wants to do is play footy. We should all be praising him and his love for the game on that alone.
I've seen quite few posts from GC supporters dismissing our 2023 r1 pick and I don't understand why as it should be great to help pay for points if you do have 3 highly rated academy players likely to be bid on next year?

I did a mock up of GC having to match players bids at picks p3, p8 & p13 below using picks similar to this years, with and without our 2023 r1 pick (also assuming similar to our r1 pick this year).

The TL;DR version is without our 2023 r1 pick, the bids would leave GC with a 2024 r1 deficit of about 1200 points but about 420 with our pick.

Having a few high value picks would be much better than many picks of lower value if you're going to try matching several player bids, assuming the rule about only being able to take into the draft the number of picks you have lists spots for will apply next year.

GC 2023 academy bids
-----
p3=2234-20%=1787
p8=1551-20%=1240
p13=1212-20%=966

GC 2023 picks
-----
p7=1644
p25=756
p43=378

match p3=2234-20%=1787
p7, p25-->613=p31

p31=613
p43=378

match p8=1551-20%=1240
p31+p43=991-->249 first round deficit

match p13=1212-20%=966
no picks-->966+249 first round deficit

GC 2023 picks
-----
p7=1644
p8=1551 (AFC)
p25=756
p43=378

match p3=2234-20%=1787
p7, p8-->1408=p10

p10=1408
p25=756
p43=378

match p8=1551-20%=1240
p10-->168=p59

p43=378
p59=168

match p13=1212-20%=966
p43+p59=546-->420 first round deficit

He doesn’t need to do anything else now, just sit back at home until after trade period and leave it to his manager and the two clubs to go through the mechanics of it.
And stay OFF Social Media .....or Media in general

So unless I'm mistaken, there have been 5 players that have moved directly between Adelaide and Gold Coast. All 5 left the Crows to go there, none back. Bock, Lyons, Wigg, Greenwood, Atkins. You can argue how well that worked out for them, but honestly they can get stuffed. We have been screwed over by them while other teams have prospered.

One player wants to go the other way, suddenly it is all violins and sob stories? Where was all of those while we get raided almost every year? You could almost make a premiership team out of the players we've lost. The AFL media is the worst part about the footy industry and that is saying something.
We apologise GC for Wigg and Atkins.

I've seen quite few posts from GC supporters dismissing our 2023 r1 pick and I don't understand why as it should be great to help pay for points if you do have 3 highly rated academy players likely to be bid on next year?

I did a mock up of GC having to match players bids at picks p3, p8 & p13 below using picks similar to this years, with and without our 2023 r1 pick (also assuming similar to our r1 pick this year).

The TL;DR version is without our 2023 r1 pick, the bids would leave GC with a 2024 r1 deficit of about 1200 points but about 420 with our pick.

Having a few high value picks would be much better than many picks of lower value if you're going to try matching several player bids, assuming the rule about only being able to take into the draft the number of picks you have lists spots for will apply next year.

GC 2023 academy bids
-----
p3=2234-20%=1787
p8=1551-20%=1240
p13=1212-20%=966

GC 2023 picks
-----
p7=1644
p25=756
p43=378

match p3=2234-20%=1787
p7, p25-->613=p31

p31=613
p43=378

match p8=1551-20%=1240

match p13=1212-20%=966

GC 2023 picks
-----
p7=1644
p8=1551 (AFC)
p25=756
p43=378

match p3=2234-20%=1787
p7, p8-->1408=p10

p10=1408
p25=756
p43=378

match p8=1551-20%=1240
p10-->168=p59

p43=378
p59=168

match p13=1212-20%=966
From GC’s perspective.

Depends how highly they actually rate those academy kids, would they prefer to let one go if it means they can have a go at the top 6 of this draft potentially.

Also I’m not convinced we’d be keen on forfeiting our 2023 pick when we may potentially have trade plans to use it for JHF next season.

I did. A few people have quoted me similar - About his basic football knowledge. If someone wants to fill me in about that either here or PM I reckon its a story id love to here hahaha
Before footy knowledge you could learn how to spell 🤣
it's 'hear' not 'here'

AFL 2018 draft

1. Sam Walsh. Rising Star, B&F and All Australian.
2. Jack Lukosius. ???
3. Izak Rankine. ???
4. Max King. Club leading goal kicker x2
5. Connor Rozee. Club leading goal kicker, All Australian.
6. Ben King. Club leading goal kicker x2.
7. Bailey Smith. 3 x goals in a semi final. 4 x goals in a prelim.

But it’s Rankine (and Lukosius) who owe Gold Coast and should remain loyal, all while their fellow draftees from the top end of the super draft go on to achievements at their clubs.

It wasn’t Rankine who picked the Suns. It’s not Rankine’s responsibility to make the Suns viable. He only gets one career and so far the Suns have let him down.

GC 2023 academy bids
-----
p3=2234-20%=1787
p8=1551-20%=1240
p13=1212-20%=966

GC 2023 picks
-----
p7=1644
p25=756
p43=378

match p3=2234-20%=1787
p7, p25-->613=p31

p31=613
p43=378

match p8=1551-20%=1240

match p13=1212-20%=966

GC 2023 picks
-----
p7=1644
p8=1551 (AFC)
p25=756
p43=378

match p3=2234-20%=1787
p7, p8-->1408=p10

p10=1408
p25=756
p43=378

match p8=1551-20%=1240
p10-->168=p59

p43=378
p59=168

match p13=1212-20%=966

I agree with you 100% man. Rankines a sexy player and as fans we want something sexy back in return. But realistically and thankfully fans don't sit at the trade table and negotiate. We all sit here behind our screens and say what is right and wrong but in all honesty we have no idea. The head honchos doing the deals will do what they think is best for the club and will leave emotion at the door - Something we can't do haha.
Burgess has a way of dealing with tank issues - hes done it with fog. Dont make them into endurance athletes make them into spurt/sprint athletes. I'm sure thats what they have in mind when they say midfield. Start centre burst drift forward.... rozzee style

You are clearly a crows closet supporter or you would spend more time on your own board than this one.

Before footy knowledge you could learn how to spell 🤣
it's 'hear' not 'here'

Mate I am not sure what you're issue is with me. But if you do have a problem with me to the point you are going to flame me for a simple spelling mistake feel free to hit the block button. I don't know why you would have a jab first about coming here and being respectful and then 2 hours later when I have not responded quote me again to try and get a reaction.

If you think i'm not being respectful or whatever, please message one of your mods or admin and they can have a chat to me and ask me to leave. Otherwise just give it a rest and stop embarrassing yourself. I'm not here to cause harm and if you actually read my posts I'm on team Rankine not team GC/Adelaide regarding this situation. Everyone else seems ok with how i'm conducting myself so I really don't know why you have to keep at me?

I’ve lived here 20 years and would rather live in SA but due to family, work etc cant really move back home..

Definitely agree with the souless comments when it comes to Surfers.. but theres a lot more to the Goldy than just Surfers.. the southern “coolangatta” end of the coast is way better.. the Hinterland, tally and currumbin valley(s) has some awesome spots, the Pin/jacobs well area is great for a get away, its like an old school country fishing village, burleigh is pretty nice, then theres the beaches, weather and surf which is world class.. the tweed coast, which is pretty much just and extension of the goldy, is awesome.

Not sure why anyone would bother walking around Surfers though.. you be better off walking around Broadwater parklands which is just up the road and is great especially if you have kids.
Oh Clammy,

You're either working for the Qld department of tourism, in the local real estate/development industry or Gold Coast 2032.

Nice summary of your locale brother!😊

Ha.. that only works for players exiting our club apparently
If he is a Victorian wanting to return to Victoria.

Even when Danger left, I accepted that, tbh I didnt have an issue with him leaving he wanted to return home and raise a family.

The issue I had was that he was clearly worth two top 5 picks or something in that ballpark which Geelong should have given us.

If only you could trade PSD picks.

NM gives us JHF and thier PSD first for our first this and next year (et.al.)

Izak, let's go for a walk son.
Wow. I know what youre getting at here. Imagine that, glory be, shit would hit the fun. Hell I would even throw in a 2nd rounder to North as well.

2022 1st, 2022 2nd, 2023 1st for JHF and their 1st PSD, North would do that.