Traded Jack Bowes [Traded to Geelong with #7 for F3]

Gold Coasts list management team is an absolute joke.

$1.6m for Bowes last two years is downright irresponsible. Macpherson with a smaller but still grossly overpaid 23 contract to be realised.

And because of this they have to let genuine talent go to other clubs. Rankine this year and no doubt King will be up for grabs end of next.

So poorly run.

There are other players considering leaving that may mean you keep Bowes and pick 7.

That would be a better result IMO.
Our biggest problem is overpaying to keep players up here. That is now starting to either slow down or stop.
Fiorini looks like going, Sharp wants to go home to WA, Corbett and Burgess are better than VFL level and we still have Bowes and Macpherson back ended, Rory Thompson and Sam Day still on good money and realistically not playing in the AFL and we got Rory Atkins on a 5 year $400k contract.
Our board can't quite believe that we are basically pushing Bowes out who is an academy player from Queensland with now go home urge.
I agree with you though, it would be a better result to let a few go and keep him

Surely there would have to a pretty good pick involved as part of the Bowes trade?

I can't see the GC just handing over pick 7 to take him.

Maybe a downgrade in picks involving 7 and other picks involved

Depends on what they want, what the other club has and how pressing the cap issue is. I agree I can't see them doing say pick 18 for 7 and Bowes.

Gold Coasts list management team is an absolute joke.

$1.6m for Bowes last two years is downright irresponsible. Macpherson with a smaller but still grossly overpaid 23 contract to be realised.

And because of this they have to let genuine talent go to other clubs. Rankine this year and no doubt King will be up for grabs end of next.

So poorly run.
Can't argue about how it's been run. Really no different to GWS. Lots of high picks and can't keep them all. We've at least stopped just throwing money at everyone.
The Bowes contract was back ended during Covid when all clubs had to reduce expenditure as were a few others. Suns didn't cut player payments.
Where has the $1.6m figure been reported? I haven't seen it at all other than in Big Footy.

Can't argue about how it's been run. Really no different to GWS. Lots of high picks and can't keep them all. We've at least stopped just throwing money at everyone.
The Bowes contract was back ended during Covid when all clubs had to reduce expenditure as were a few others. Suns didn't cut player payments.
Where has the $1.6m figure been reported? I haven't seen it at all other than in Big Footy.
Bowes was on a decent contract until the end of 2020.

He signed for a further four seasons that year. I have no idea how Covid affected his payments but it sounds like he was given big coin and is still owed a substantial amount.

Clubs seem to have taken advantage of their poor list management for years. And yes, GWS has had a similar strategy, but not to the extent that GC pays exorbitant amounts to their unproven kids.

Bowes was on a decent contract until the end of 2020.

He signed for a further four seasons that year. I have no idea how Covid affected his payments but it sounds like he was given big coin and is still owed a substantial amount.

Clubs seem to have taken advantage of their poor list management for years. And yes, GWS has had a similar strategy, but not to the extent that GC pays exorbitant amounts to their unproven kids.
I am pretty sure GWS overpaid their top talent/picks too. Actually all top picks now get 400K in 3rd year around the league or even more in case of top 5.

GWS has at the moment by speculations 4 players on 1M+ (probably only Greene deserves it) and 4 players leaving which GWS would prefer to keep. In case of Suns nobody is on 1M if you want to believe speculations, highest paid is Miller on 800K. At the moment, it's only Rankine Suns would prefer to keep.

Too many picks devalued picks for Suns, can't bring another wave of top talents or you end up like GWS. 1-2 this draft should be enough. Suns already have enough top talent who are now entering prime and will need to be paid. Clearing players on good money who are not n the best 22, creating cap space to target top player in future or have money to pay Anderson/Rowell whatever is needed. Deferring contracts due to covid cap cut (I believe 1.5M) did have impact on Suns.

I am pretty sure GWS overpaid their top talent/picks too. Actually all top picks now get 400K in 3rd year around the league or even more in case of top 5.

GWS has at the moment by speculations 4 players on 1M+ (probably only Greene deserves it) and 4 players leaving which GWS would prefer to keep. In case of Suns nobody is on 1M if you want to believe speculations, highest paid is Miller on 800K. At the moment, it's only Rankine Suns would prefer to keep.

Too many picks devalued picks for Suns, can't bring another wave of top talents or you end up like GWS. 1-2 this draft should be enough. Suns already have enough top talent who are now entering prime and will need to be paid. Clearing players on good money who are not n the best 22, creating cap space to target top player in future or have money to pay Anderson/Rowell whatever is needed. Deferring contracts due to covid cap cut (I believe 1.5M) did have impact on Suns.
Agree with all of that.
But GC have the same salary cap constraints as other clubs and none are looking to give away a top ten pick to take on a players contract.

And if what you say is correct that Miller is the highest paid player on $800k, there are a bucket load of players on your list that are significantly overpaid.

The Covid cap cut shouldn’t be an excuse either as this wasn’t exclusive to GC.

Agree with all of that.
But GC have the same salary cap constraints as other clubs and none are looking to give away a top ten pick to take on a players contract.

And if what you say is correct that Miller is the highest paid player on $800k, there are a bucket load of players on your list that are significantly overpaid.

The Covid cap cut shouldn’t be an excuse either as this wasn’t exclusive to GC.
No excuse, just providing some context info. Except this season, Suns had the youngest list last 3-4 years and you still have to pay 95%. No doubt some players got overpaid to retain them and some still are.

As for in bold, I would wait for the actual deal. Nobody (except BigFooty fans) suggested that pick 7 is a free present, just that it's on table as part of the deal. Personally, I would expect downgraded 1st coming back but let's see. Similar to Brodie deal where basically Suns gave away with Brodie 2nd round pick and got downgraded 2nd round back. Maybe, I am be too optimistic.

No excuse, just providing some context info. Except this season, Suns had the youngest list last 3-4 years, no doubt some players got overpaid and still are.

As for in bold, I would wait for the actual deal. Nobody (except BigFooty fans) suggested that pick 7 is a free present, just that it's on table as part of the deal. Personally, I would expect downgraded 1st coming back but let's see. Similar to Brodie deal where basically Suns gave away with Brodie 2nd round and got downgraded 2nd round back. I am be too optimistic.
Yep, didn’t suggest that you wouldn’t get anything back for the player part of the trade. But incredible that a top ten pick is part of the discussion. Significantly different downgrading second rounders vs downgrading firsts.

Still waiting for Pick 2 to arrive for Brad Crouch, hey?

Crows fans always think that everything is going to work out just how they want it...but it seldom ever does.
We were never going to get pick 2 with the contract offered by the Saints.
What we got was up to them.

Every single clubs supporters hope for their clubs best outcomes. Some choose to join forums like this to talk about their club and what they hope will happen with them.
Then every so often a flog comes along and throws the mightier than thou posts around, all while lacking the self reflection to see that they also joined a forum to talk about their own team.

Yep, didn’t suggest that you wouldn’t get anything back for the player part of the trade. But incredible that a top ten pick is part of the discussion. Significantly different downgrading second rounders vs downgrading firsts.
Agree, it looks crazy but Suns are in different situation due to excess picks awarded to them in the last 3-4 years. I actually counted it including free pre-selections and came up with something like 12 1st and 2nd round picks. Incredible. Suns also loaded the list with top talent 3-4 years ago.

As I said, how many top picks or top talent can you have on your list who are now maturing and entering 3, 4, 5th+ year and demand salary increase especially when some are not in the best 22 at the moment (Fiorini, Bowes, Sharp)? It makes sense to make a decision and push out some players who are not in long-term plans and are on good money.

Here is corresponding Suns list (not all top talent) - Flanders, Andrew (2024), Budarick, Anderson, Rowell, Jeffrey, Luko, King, Ainsworth, Ballard, Powell, Sharp, Davies, Bowes, Rosas, Fiorini. I probably missed some.

I suspect Suns will bring only 1 top draftee this year or possibly 2.

Playing finals would make life much easier for Suns similar to Lions. I feel pretty good about next year but a good run with injuries is needed. Suns had 6 ACLs in the last 2 years and finished both seasons with 7-8 best missing. The competition is also so bloody even. A bit of luck is needed.

Rankine + Pick 7 + Bowes for Pick 5.

Most one sided trade ever ?
First time dealing with crows supporters in a trade thread?

I reckon old mate would’ve taken 15 minutes of contemplation before even posting that second guessing himself as to whether the crows were still paying too much in that trade suggestion.

I know he was a former top 10 pick, but it Bowes really worth taking the punt with the Salary he is on ?

I am happy Carlton are steering clear here.
We are apparently trying to dump Williams and McGovern and their contracts (no takers so far)

I also reckon something is a bit suss with this kid wanting out from only a couple of years in the system and being paid handsomely previously by Gold Coast.

My initial feeling is that the kid is being a bit selfish, but then I really don't know him at all and his reasons for requesting a trade?

Still very much in favour of Gold Coast and GWS having some form of (monitored) COLA reinstated. Not a good look for the league having them basically as feeder clubs to Southern/Eastern state clubs.

I know he was a former top 10 pick, but it Bowes really worth taking the punt with the Salary he is on ?

I am happy Carlton are steering clear here.
We are apparently trying to dump Williams and McGovern and their contracts (no takers so far)

I also reckon something is a bit suss with this kid wanting out from only a couple of years in the system and being paid handsomely previously by Gold Coast.

My initial feeling is that the kid is being a bit selfish, but then I really don't know him at all and his reasons for requesting a trade?

Still very much in favour of Gold Coast and GWS having some form of (monitored) COLA reinstated. Not a good look for the league having them basically as feeder clubs to Southern/Eastern state clubs.
I am pretty sure Suns are pushing Bowes out not the other way.

Pretty clear to me that extra salary cap and extra soft cap is most efficient assistance but it's not gonna happen.

Traded Jack Bowes [Traded to Geelong with #7 for F3]