Jack Ginnivan - Redemption arc

Has your opinion of Jack Ginnivan changed over the past 2 years?

• Yes

Votes: 67 26.8%
  • No

Votes: 183 73.2%

No I didn't. What did he do?

He's a ripper. He'll be fantastic to watch and like so many small forwards is going to be seriously loved by Hawks and seriously hated by others. You've got some good villains coming through to rile opposition fans.

He told Ken to "**** off" when Kenny was yapping

The poster boys of unsociable football are preaching about how to play sociable football. If you don't get that or can't see why someone would find it funny then you really shouldn't be talking about blatant stupidity.

Can you show me another instance of an AFL coach taunting opposition players or coach on the ground after a game?

Wouldnt be surprised if Mitchel starts to phase Ginivan outve the best 22 next year.
He might be covering more ground, pushing up and running back to the goals a lot more but his conversion is well down.
Like alotve hawthorn players he’s a free kick merchant and a wind up, if Sicily is going to play fwd more next year there’s a better than ave chance he’s gonna get distracted by the treatment heading Ginivan’s way if he keeps acting like a wa.ker.
Sicily acting like a hothead against fwds is one thing but doing it against defenders that’s a whole different thing.
If Ginivan being a pain in the arse on and off the field keeps going or if his actions keep pulling his team mates outve their game dealing with the fallout of his bullsh.t.
He’ll be out the door.

Can you show me another instance of an AFL coach taunting opposition players or coach on the ground after a game?

You Hawks will have him stabbing Ginnivan soon with a George Cross to Sicily for his heroic rescue.

AFL need to stop just responding to the media with their policy of negative story equals fine, particularly when the media is some ex-players of a club joining in a massive hissy fit of sore losing by that club.

I couldn't agree more with this:

You Hawks will have him stabbing Ginnivan soon with a George Cross to Sicily for his heroic rescue.

AFL need to stop just responding to the media with their policy of negative story equals fine, particularly when the media is some ex-players of a club joining in a massive hissy fit of sore losing by that club.

I couldn't agree more with this:

Using robbo as a reference point doesn't speak well for your point, has the moral consistency of mud

Moron spent all last week sooking up about Ginnivan saying "its a disgrace and arrogant" but will support Ken
And his Essendon biased article bringing up a point only desperate Dons fans use was equally pathetic

You can critise Ginnivan, but not keeping that energy with Ken's gloating is the height of hypocrisy

Using robbo as a reference point doesn't speak well for your point

Moron spent all last week sooking up about Ginnivan saying "its a disgrace and arrogant" but will support Ken
And his Essendon biased article bringing up a point only desperate Dons fans use was equally pathetic

You can critise Ginnivan, but not keeping that energy with Ken's gloating is the height of hypocrisy

I think Whately is a pretty good barometer.

The criticism of Ginnivan is that he gave Port a psychological edge to work idiotically. Anyone saying he did something outrageous is off their nuts. It's really only Hawthorn who should be shitty with Ginni.

I think Whately is a pretty good barometer.

The criticism of Ginnivan is that he gave Port a psychological edge to work idiotically. Anyone saying he did something outrageous is off their nuts. It's really only Hawthorn who should be shitty with Ginni.
Hawthorn have dealt with it internally, but people clutching their pearls over Ginni but saying "footy is an emotional game" are pathetic, be consistent

Was dumb by Ginnivan, but no a hanging offence like some claim it is , the hyperbole of "Ginnivan cost hawthorn a flag" is horrendous and clickbait bullshit

Hawthorn have dealt with it internally, but people clutching their pearls over Ginni but saying "footy is an emotional game" are pathetic, be consistent

Was dumb by Ginnivan, but no a hanging offence like some claim it is , the hyperbole of "Ginnivan cost hawthorn a flag" is horrendous and clickbait bullshit
Did it contribute to you losing the game?

Yep. 100% I admit these events over last weekend have reminded me exactly why I used to and still do hate Hawthorn. I can admit it, because I have a sense of reality.

Unfortunately there are three flogs in this thread, all supporting one team, who all want to celebrate the behaviour of every individual ever involved with said team, without a shred of criticism and want to get on their moral high horse, pontificate and crucify the behaviour of other team’s individuals. Despite the fact that most objective viewers consider it bad behaviour all round. And all the while, the said individuals of the original team, if we delve into the past have a conviction list as long as Joel Garner’s fastball.
Hating a football team is so weird

Life can be so much more when not worrying about the actions of others who could care less

I would say us not scoring as many points as Pt Adelaide would be the main contributing factor
Skill execution second

Take that idiocy elsewhere
Rubbish

However small, it was a contributing factor.
I like it how you think the idiocy is elsewhere.

Rubbish

Rubbish

The content typed by your fingers

It is only referenced due to a Pt win, wouldn't be if they lost
Pearl clutching by perennial victims and old timers
Dealt with by Hawthorn in-house

Rubbish

The content typed by your fingers

It is only referenced due to a Pt win, wouldn't be if they lost
Pearl clutching by perennial victims and old timers
Dealt with by Hawthorn in-house
It would t have been a contributing factor in losing if you didnt lose?

I see.

all supporting one team, who all want to celebrate the behaviour of every individual ever involved with said team, without a shred of criticism and want to get on their moral high horse, pontificate and crucify the behaviour of other team’s individuals.

Pretty spot on:

The only way you can be critical of Kenny and defensive of all things Hawk is to run with:

Their smartarse deserved an escalated response, whereas our smartarse didn't.

Or alternatively, go with Sammy's bizarre age based reasoning where he is outraged that a 60 year old was a smartarse towards a 21 year old, but is proud of a 30 year old professional athlete for being aggressive and threatening towards an out of shape 60 year old.

Rubbish

You can't possibly quantify this and you somehow think it's not idiotic?

I would argue the embarrassment of an 80-point thumping the week before would have had a lot more to do with with improved effort than a throw-away line from big mean old Jack Ginnivan.

Jack Ginnivan - Redemption arc