Oppo Camp Jack Ginnivan (Traded to Hawks 2023)

It'll be a long way back into the team
Lots of guys able to take that spot in the 23 and make something of it

And I have a feeling the speed in our fwd line with elliot, bobby and mcreery will become a noticeable part of our gamestyle

I don’t think this has anything to do with the morality of drug use. This is about him doing something illegal both in society and according to AFL rules. It is about him doing a stupid thing that has short term consequences for the club, and gives him a strike on his career.

It was something completely in his control and avoidable. Blaming the person who filmed it, justifying it because of his age, claiming a lot of other people take drugs, are all just excuses.

There are lots of angles this issues can be viewed from. I was just speaking to comments on the morality of drug use and AFL motives in enforcing bans and setting policy.

I agree that from a club perspective he has acted unprofessionally, most probably breached his contract and this will likely impact on team success this season. That is all completely his fault.

It’s the normalization of it that I can’t accept. Let’s just legalize it and let there be a free for all. And let’s see the outcomes……

Maybe then this ludicrous argument between alcohol and illicit drugs will no longer be a comparison.

At this moment I’d swap him for Grundy and you know how much I like Grundy.

The Bailey Smith outcome pissed me right off. And HQ have now painted themselves into a corner. Because their poster child Bailey had them exposed and looking like fools.

So they brought out the wet lettuce leaf.

Normalisation is just the truth. When surveyed, a third of 18-24 year olds tick yes to having used illicit drugs in the past 12 months.

I think the AFL have got it right on this. Demonisation of users and a zero tolerance policy doesn't work and is grossly unfair. Education, a confidential 3 strikes policy and a wet lettuce slap when an incident goes public is the way to go.

Dear Chris,

I write to you for the first time as CEO, a position I am truly grateful to hold –it’s been a humbling experience to receive so many messages from the Collingwood community.

Firstly, I want to thank our General Manager of Football Graham Wright for doing such a brilliant job as the interim CEO over recent months. Wrighty’s leadership and the broader Collingwood Executive team have been first class throughout the transition period and I thank them for that.

On Friday night I attended our Intra-Club match and Season Launch and it was great to connect with so many loyal Collingwood Members and supporters who came along to watch the game and then stuck around for the jumper presentations.

It was also great to meet many of our corporate partners, player sponsors, past players and the families of our current men’s players. We thank you for your unwavering support of our great Club.

There is something truly special about football clubs at every level of the game and Friday evening reminded me of just how much Collingwood means to people.

I had actually planned to send this note tomorrow but after the events which emerged last night, I thought it would be appropriate that you hear from me sooner and that I address the situation directly with you, our valued Members.

Over recent days, our Club became aware of vision being offered to media outlets for commercial gain which showed Jack Ginnivan with an illicit substance. Throughout the process that followed, Jack was strong on owning his behaviour and accepting responsibility for his actions.

As a Club, we are incredibly disappointed with Jack as our players are continually educated on appropriate behaviours and the standards expected as representatives of the Collingwood Football Club.

While we absolutely do not condone his behaviour, Jack is our player and so it is our responsibility as a Club to provide him with the care, support and continual education he needs as he continues his journey as a Pie. It is important to me that we support our people when they make and own their mistakes.

Jack has apologised for his actions and he is determined to learn from them in order to be the best person and footballer he can be.

As CEO of our Club, a key part of my job is to continue to listen to and connect with our Members and represent you as best we can across all areas of Collingwood. I want you to know that this commitment extends to all of our people across all areas of the Club.

Our organisation remains determined to get better and we will continue to invest in our people and resources to provide the best possible opportunities for our staff and athletes to achieve their potential. We’ve got a great team in place and all parts of our organisation want to continue to keep improving and going forward.

I look forward to building on the work of everyone at Collingwood – I want to be engaged and connected to our Members and supporters and will keep you updated over the course of the year.

Craig Kelly

Chief Executive Officer

From the “Letter from the CEO” email:

“Over recent days, our Club became aware of vision being offered to media outlets for commercial gain which showed Jack Ginnivan with an illicit substance. Throughout the process that followed, Jack was strong on owning his behaviour and accepting responsibility for his actions.”

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

We do have political parties who have a platform that includes legalizing / decriminalizing various substances. They don’t poll very well with the voters.

You think it’s detestable that governments follow the will of the people?
MODS: some troll has hijacked '76ws's account. Please shut down, we don't want the rep of our greatest mod tanished.

Troll: LOL. In a moment of stupidity I reacted to the ridiculous notion that the laws of this country represent a reasoned approach (medical, scientific or even common sensual) to the widespread problematic use of legal and illegal substances. I am not going to get sucked down some rabbit hole where people not voting for a fringe political party is supposedly a vote for the current hodgepodge.

Where do I draw the line between police state and anarchy? Good question. It' sorta the same as asking, how should it work?

Like this: all people should have the right to put whatever they like into their bodies. It's a basic democratic principle of individual liberty. Your body, your choice.

It’s not always that easy. Sometimes compromises need to be made between individual freedoms and the greater good.

Back in the 90’s in there were those who believed in the individual freedom of being able to go to the pub, getting maggoted, and jumping into a car and driving home. That’s how “Lucky Phil” became a thing. Fast forward twenty years and nobody thought JDG was anything but a “Bloody idiot” for DUI.

And young people typically aren’t the best judge of if and how the consequences of their actions might affect others.

But that can only happen with player agreement. In this case, in the off season -- or at least during the holidays and days off -- the club has no right to mandate player behaviours without the players agreeing.

In this case, if I was the club, I'd publicly say: "Everyone has the right to put into their bodies whatever they like, as long as they're educated about the consequences.

Illicit drugs are called illicit for a reason - it’s because they’re illegal (whether people agree that they should be or not). Footy players, airline pilots, anybody in general society can’t just arbitrarily decide that laws do and don’t apply to them.

And footy clubs can’t simply support their players’ freedom to decide which laws they’re going to follow (or not)

Take another example that might seem innocuous - parking. Imagine if it came out that any of our highly paid player(s) decided that the parking laws didn’t apply to them, they would openly flout them, and simply treat fines as the price of freedom.

Would you expect the club to respond with
“Everyone has the right to park wherever, whenever and for as long as they like, as long as they're educated about the consequences.”? Would have thought there’d be a backlash by the members against that.

Laws and morals do change. It wasn’t that long ago that same sex marriage was illegal, that it was illegal to play pokies in Victoria, that it was illegal for indigenous people to vote, that it was illegal for women to vote. But not sure that footy clubs (or the majority of their members) would want their players being poster people for the cause of illicit drug reform.

MODS: some troll has hijacked '76ws's account. Please shut down, we don't want the rep of our greatest mod tanished.

Troll: LOL. In a moment of stupidity I reacted to the ridiculous notion that the laws of this country represent a reasoned approach (medical, scientific or even common sensual) to the widespread problematic use of legal and illegal substances. I am not going to get sucked down some rabbit hole where people not voting for a fringe political party is supposedly a vote for the current hodgepodge.

Thanks, I think? 🤣

A fringe political party (or their policies) wouldn’t be fringe if there were a critical mass of support and people believing the issue was important.

Every change to our laws has started its journey to reform as a fringe issue. Environmentalism, Suffrage, SSM, Sunday trading.

Illicit drug reform has been fringe and remained fringe for a long time. You don’t think it was a fringe issue in the 60’s?

Lastly, and most significantly for me, Ginnivan did this knowingly and has ultimately made himself unavailable for games worth premiership points. He’s undoubtedly breached contract terms and created a Collingwood media frenzy. Ultimately it’s a negative on the ledger of a winning games and a flag this year.
This shits me.

Every AFL player is educated and knows better. And I do have a higher expectation given the high salaries my Legends membership helps pay.

Nailed it. I couldn't care less about someone doing coke or whatever the **** it was he was caught snorting. I care about players for my club sacrificing things to be the best they can be for the club I support. If he/they aren't willing to do it find someone who is.

Normalisation is just the truth. When surveyed, a third of 18-24 year olds tick yes to having used illicit drugs in the past 12 months.

I think the AFL have got it right on this. Demonisation of users and a zero tolerance policy doesn't work and is grossly unfair. Education, a confidential 3 strikes policy and a wet lettuce slap when an incident goes public is the way to go.
There is 2/3rds lying then

I don't have an issue with people doing drugs. We're all adults and we wear the consequences. But if you're going to take the money and perks that come with being an AFL player, then the expectations on you are a lot higher than some 20 year old kid playing Div 2 southern metro. Ginni has a lot of talent and he loves the spotlight, but at even at 20 he has to have more self awareness to not put himself in these situations. Personally I think he'll have to work hard to regain his spot in the 23.

There is 2/3rds lying then

That may be so …

… but if the 1/3 who ticked “yes” really hadn’t, and another 1/3 who ticked “no” really had, you end up at the same place.

FFS Jack!
I was never an AFL/VFL footballer, was pretty handy at suburban level and won my share of B&F's etc.
Used to train my arse off from December onwards, pounding the pavements, endless circuits around the Tan, weights etc etc.
This was back in the early 90's, I'd have some good nights out on a Friday/Saturday, a few drinks but nothing stupid because I wanted to be in decent shape for my Div 2 Team in the SFL. Busted my arse at my day job then looked forward to getting out on time so I could have an hour or 2 on the track before the daylight went.
I was getting $100 a game back then Jack, not the ****ing thousands you are on. I had to pay all of my own medical fees as well.
I was 20 back than, the same age you are now you muppet, but with less than 1/100th of your talent.
GROW THE **** UP

BTW, cocaine is classed as a Very Serious Drug, in most countries that matter, because it makes you feel great and strongly causes heart and brain damage. And highly-motivates you to GO BUY SOME MOOOOOOOOORE...."even though I know I shouldn't, Lolol...oooooooh.*in hell! Where did my life go?
My two sons around the same age group as Jack insist that it wasn't cocaine. They say the drug of choice amongst all the youth of today in Melbourne is MDMA.
Not as bad for you, cheaper and not as addictive.

FFS Jack!
I was never an AFL/VFL footballer, was pretty handy at suburban level and won my share of B&F's etc.
Used to train my arse off from December onwards, pounding the pavements, endless circuits around the Tan, weights etc etc.
This was back in the early 90's, I'd have some good nights out on a Friday/Saturday, a few drinks but nothing stupid because I wanted to be in decent shape for my Div 2 Team in the SFL. Busted my arse at my day job then looked forward to getting out on time so I could have an hour or 2 on the track before the daylight went.
I was getting $100 a game back then Jack, not the ******* thousands you are on. I had to pay all of my own medical fees as well.
I was 20 back than, the same age you are now you muppet, but with less than 1/100th of your talent.
GROW THE * UP

Buddy may or may not have snorted half of Bolivia

His takeaway from your story may be talent matters

FFS Jack!
I was getting $100 a game back then Jack, not the ******* thousands you are on. I had to pay all of my own medical fees as well.
GROW THE * UP

That position never ever works as an argument with young folks.

That’s because from young folks’ point of view, the older person is making a point about themselves.

“OK, Boomer” is a thing.

Hope this is a lesson for him and he has to really fight to get back into the team
Could be a bonus outcome from this brain fade

from my Delorean

And that's just the clean skins, I reckon you could name quite a few others quite easily.
In 2016, something like half the list failed their drug tests for illicit substances. Swanny did drugs openly and his biography was eye-opening, Howe's a keen party goer and there's a handful of other who play hard - they're not hard to pick.

The key issue is keeping it private...and the responsibility lies with the player.

Oppo Camp Jack Ginnivan (Traded to Hawks 2023)