Traded Jaeger O'Meara [traded to Hawthorn for pick 10 and GWS's 2017 2nd rd pick]

hahahaha!

Wow. So on the one hand the argument is that Gold Coast have to trade with Hawthorn or they'll get nothing. But on the other, you think it's feasible that JOM will actually sit out footy for 2 years if he doesn't get to put on the gold and brown?

Really?

Because I can tell you right now, if JOM said that - in the insanely unlikely event that he did - why wouldn't EFC pick him up anyway? Because then his choice is to either say "you know what EFC, you're alright, sorry about that little brain fart", or to sit out of footy for ANOTHER 2 years, at which point he hasn't played any footy for 4 YEARS, and then you think the Hawks will swoop in smugly?

Sorry, but... bahahahahahahahaha
Even if he sat out for two years he'd still not be a free agent of any description (unless the rules change). Unless Hawthorn are planning on having pick 1 in the preseason draft in 2018?

And an expansion on this thought if he had no interest to play at the dons why dose he not nominate him self for the national draft. Just like Luke Ball did to get to Collingwood.

Sent from my E6653 using Tapatalk
well let's see. Clearly to take that course of action he is completely jacked up on Hawthorn koolaid - because it's almost mind blowing to think that you guys actually think that for some reason playing for the Hawks is soooooo important over another Melbourne club that he'd do this, but for arguments sake let's go with it - that he has to play there or bust.

Yet he's then going to put himself through the uncertainty of having up to 17 other clubs have a crack before you? Just quietly umma suggest that if any club had the chance to swap pick 15 in a straight swap for Jaeger right now, they do it. So why the hell wouldn't they then just spend that pick on him in the ND?

A potentially busted up old Luke Ball is slightly different to Jaeger O'Meara, ya think?

Fair dinkum this is getting funnier and funnier

Who decideds what draft Jaeger nominates?

In the end he will pick a club that club will offer a deal that makes Gc happy and we all move on.
If he nominates Essendon they probably downgrade there 1st and trade there 2nd for him.

Let's say hypothetically he nominated a club like hawthorn and a trade is not reached. It wouldn't be out of the question for O'Meara to go through the PSD and if he draws a line in the sand and says he only wants to play at the hawks, why would essendon or any other team try to pick him up if he isn't invested or interested in that club.

Didnt work for the port kid who passed away when he said he wanted to go to Richmond

Let's say hypothetically he nominated a club like hawthorn and a trade is not reached. It wouldn't be out of the question for O'Meara to go through the PSD and if he draws a line in the sand and says he only wants to play at the hawks, why would essendon or any other team try to pick him up if he isn't invested or interested in that club.

Once you are in the draft you accept that you can be picked up by any club

well let's see.

There is no difference in the Nd argument and the Psd arguments.

Mate, I'm allowed to assume he wants to play for the Hawks. I don't have to tiptoe around it I support hawthorn I want the Hawks to do well. Stop drinking your own koolaid. Trying to nitpick peoples arguments like your some sort of an authority. Yeah it is getting funnier.

so much this
Why have you been argueing so much, just because club supports try to hypothesise him landing at there club. Like you the fun police? Anyway glad we agree on something.

Rioli the king doesn't really matter, he will announce us as his preferred destination... as he had known where he wants to go prior to rejecting Gold Coast deal & then Gold Coast threatening to send Jaeger to the PSD. Pretty easy to read, anyone who can't read that has problems.
I hope he nominates the Hawks and I'm quite confident, I think it's a positive sign for us he hasn't nominated yet, but I'd imagine the Hawks would want it announced after our finals campaign, only because if he nominates us now, imagine all the trade scenarios that will be thrown around. It would be a distraction we don't want.

People dont need to get defensive it was just hypothetical.
The point I'm trying to make is if he nominates a club, a trade can't be worked out and he says I only want to play for a certain club. Why would any other team invest in a player who doesn't wanna be there. It would be demeaning to the rest of the playing list and would create disharmony amongst the club would it not?

People dont need to get defensive it was just hypothetical.
The point I'm trying to make is if he nominates a club, a trade can't be worked out and he says I only want to play for a certain club. Why would any other team invest in a player who doesn't wanna be there. It would be demeaning to the rest of the playing list and would create disharmony amongst the club would it not?

Because his manager has indicated to the club with the number 1 selection in the preseason draft that he'd be happy with ending up at Essendon.

I think wherever he goes he plays footy next year (if fit). Most likely he chooses Hawthorn, Essendon, or possibly both.
  • Whatever he chooses would be contingent on passing a medical, agreeing to a playing contract (which fits in the salary cap), and the clubs agreeing to a trade deal.
  • If he nominates both clubs, then it'll be a matter of who can give Gold Coast the better deal. Gold Coast haven't really encouraged him to act in their best interests though.
  • Three-way trades or something along that line could work, or if the relevant club can find an appropriate player that they're willing to send north in lieu of picks.
  • Future trading rules state that clubs can either trade next years first, or any/all of the other picks next year (and must use two first round picks in every four year period, which is a rolling time frame). They can't trade both next years' first and next years second/third/etc.
  • If Gold Coast chuck the tanty they're threatening, then he has the option of nominating for either the national or the pre-season draft. Gold Coast don't get a say in that, they just delist him and he chooses where to go from there.
  • He has a right to privacy with regards to his medical history, Gold Coast can't tell anyone about his knee without his permission and he has the right to refuse a medical at other clubs.
  • He also has the option of setting his own salary, and any club that picks him up would automatically be agreeing to pay that salary by picking him. He could easily price other clubs out.

I have no idea why they would threaten to send him to the draft unless they're holding up a warning sign to non-Essendon clubs. If they actually do it, it'd be a classic example of cutting off your nose to spite your face. No doubt Essendon will take him if he does end up in the draft, and he'd either get over the concept of Hawthorn or – as another poster said – Essendon then trade him to Hawthorn at the end of 2017 (at the earliest), thus turning PSD1(2016) into decent picks.

Heppell is an a grade mid. Better then Taylor Adams lol
Do you see us caling Taylor Adams an a-grade mid? I can think of at least 20 mids in the game that are significantly better than Heppell. He's a very good b-grader and Essendon are in for a nasty surprise next season if they are pinning their hopes on him.

Not saying he wants to come to Essendon or he doesnt but if its worse case scenario hes fine with it

DB has stated it numerous times and considering his hate for us id say he isnt just making it up

FWIW i dont think he will elect Essendon buit will be a tough negotiating process between GCS and nominated club
My point was his management wouldn't be doing their job if they didn't reply to the statement from the GC saying "He can go to the draft". His management had to fire back with he's happy to go to Essendon in the PSD. His management is simply calling the gold coasts bluff and that alone will give them leverage to get JOM to his club of choice. If he wanted to go to Essendon, IMO he would've nominated them by now.
Ps yes I'm a Hawks supporter and yes I want him to be in the brown and gold next year, but I'm NOT stating the Hawks is his preferred club, I'm only reading it as I see it.

Rofl they might rise but theyre not suddenly rising to the top 6 and if they do then the trade is horrible for GC.

The only club that trade is good for is hawthorn
Are you really Rolling on the floor laughing? Because that's twice you've used that. Where you lying on the floor to begin with and then started rolling and laughing? Or were you standing when you started Rolfing? Either way I hope you weren't holding a coffee or hit your head on the way down to the floor!

i hope all these hawks supporters have parental permission to be on this forum

ooh, another one! Hahaha nice melt! :D

Got any more big guy? Your insults are as shit as your internet temperement
Coming from a fellow Hawks supporter, much respect lance,
Mate, was just trying to lighten the mood in this thread as things have been getting pretty personal. My intention wasn't make a personal attack. I just have a very dry sense of humour and rofl and lmao is well overused by younger members of my family so you could say it does my head in!
Once again no offence intended

Because his manager has indicated to the club with the number 1 selection in the preseason draft that he'd be happy with ending up at Essendon.

Source?
From my understanding there has been virtually no comments from jaegar or his manager about a prefered club and avenues to get to a new a club. The only comments about PSD came from gold coast.
So my point remains (hypothetically) why would a club take a player who does not want to play there at the risk of upsetting the rest of the playing list and club.
If Jaeger came out and said I only want to play for a certain team and I have zero interests playing anywhere else, I can't see any club picking him up other than his desired choice. Potentially he could slip to which ever club he nominates in the PSD. Just cause essendon has the first pick doesn't mean they will select him especially if he categorically rules them out of the race for his signature.

Traded Jaeger O'Meara [traded to Hawthorn for pick 10 and GWS's 2017 2nd rd pick]