Traded Jake Carlisle [traded w/ #23 and #44 for #5, #24 and Craig Bird]

Good player Carlisle. Good on Saints for winning him over. They have a good list on the way up. I wanted him at the right price. Understand the feelings by most that they trumped Carlton.

Carlton have lessons to learn. The decision not to win Carlisle at all costs is a great leap fwd for the Blues administration. We gave up a short sighted player win for a long term rebuild of structured wages.

For Saints, it is different. He really does push them a couple of pegs and if on park, will push them towards the 8. He wouldn't do that for Carlton hence the different valuation.

It will be
Hooker
Pearce
Bennell
Fyfe
McCarthy

As I thought, all sorted..So at the moment you have Pearce...as a key defender, which pearce is that exactly?
The one who has played a handful of games...

I get why you want Hooker and Hurley now...

keep dreaming..when was the last time we gave you a good player...we just offload the duds you like to take...
So Paddy Ambrose anyone?

Good player Carlisle. Good on Saints for winning him over. They have a good list on the way up. I wanted him at the right price. Understand the feelings by most that they trumped Carlton.

Carlton have lessons to learn. The decision not to win Carlisle at all costs is a great leap fwd for the Blues administration. We gave up a short sighted player win for a long term rebuild of structured wages.

For Saints, it is different. He really does push them a couple of pegs and if on park, will push them towards the 8. He wouldn't do that for Carlton hence the different valuation.

This thread needs more posts like this... well thought out and spot on mate

As some of you might already know. Carlisle will today (Thursday) make it official that he wants to go to St Kilda.

Hopefully it's as simple as pick 5 for Carlisle. Essendon are apparently saying a at least a first round pick. So pick 5 should be more than enough if St Kilda are willing to give that up for him.

I hope it's a win win for both clubs. I hope Carlisle plays great footy & Essendon get a future gun from his pick.

Click bait.

Gillo is well meaning and all but maybe also gets ahead of himself, but he certainly seems to make a few obsess over him.

Bailey Rice yes would love him to be at CFC next year. I'm a bit young to remember the 95 premiership and 99 GF but father Dean was a club champion and like all teams, if the fathers shared success at their club we would want the son to be drafted to that club. My opinion is that Dean Rice had a great deal of more success at CFC than what he did at StK. But if doesn't nominate us then we will have to move on very quickly

Carlisle wouldn't bother me one bit. His very good but not great. I think in a different team will become much better but not overly dissapointed if doesn't come across
We have Weitering in this years draft anyway

Bailey Rice yes would love him to be at CFC next year. I'm a bit young to remember the 95 premiership and 99 GF but father Dean was a club champion and like all teams, if the fathers shared success at their club we would want the son to be drafted to that club. My opinion is that Dean Rice had a great deal of more success at CFC than what he did at StK. But if doesn't nominate us then we will have to move on very quickly

Carlisle wouldn't bother me one bit. His very good but not great. I think in a different team will become much better but not overly dissapointed if doesn't come across
We have Weitering in this years draft anyway

Rice will choose the Saints Gilbo

As some of you might already know. Carlisle will today (Thursday) make it official that he wants to go to St Kilda.

Hopefully it's as simple as pick 5 for Carlisle. Essendon are apparently saying a at least a first round pick. So pick 5 should be more than enough if St Kilda are willing to give that up for him.

I hope it's a win win for both clubs. I hope Carlisle plays great footy & Essendon get a future gun from his pick.
What has Carlisle done in his career to warrant Pick 5?

You think this discussion hasn't been had in 299 pages?

When Carlton was in the picture, some people were throwing pick 1 of the main draft in the equation. So, I don't need to explain what's going to go on in this thread...

Just hit the ignore button and enjoy life. You can revisit once the trade is actually over.

He hasn't.
More likely to be around that 10-15 range IMO.
I know, but Essendon supporters keep saying a straight swap is fair. I'm just curious as to how they've come to the conclusion he is worth that. No b&f, no all Australian, out of contract....

Whatever happened to Two Planks ?
He's hovering. I'm guessing he woke up, read the AFL article about St Kilda, raced on here to post his "inside scoop" before school and saw everyone already knew and will slink off to continue under his new alias.

Even Saints supporters agree he is worth more than their second.

Looking at their first 2 picks, of course we want their first.

Wouldn't you do the same?

imo, looking and observing from the outside:

Carlisle was disillusioned
Carlisle wanted to leave Essendon
Carlisle is a bit of a scatterbrain
Carlisle is a north of the city guy
Carlisle wants to play CHB
Carlisle wanted Carlton or Footscray
Footscray didn't really want Carlisle
StKilda needed a youngish but experienced high end CHB
Carlisle was perfect
Alan Richardson vouched for him at StKilda
StKilda decided to have a big crack
Carlisle likes Richo
Carlisle doesn't like Seaford
Carlisle hopes Carlton are as keen as the Saints now are
Carlton seem set on Weitering and Plowman and maybe even Tomlinson
Carlton may finally be starting to build a list the right way
Carlton don't match St Kildas offer by a fair way
Carlisle chooses the Club offering him big $'s,5 years, CHB, a coach he knows and likes already and a promising List.
StKilda get their man
Saints fans happy but a bit nervous
Carlton fans a bit disappointed but happy/hopeful their Club are no longer drongos
Bomber fans still on their knees

Good luck Jake and Saints.

Lets just replace this entire thread with your single post :D.
For where the Saints are right now a big front ended contract doesn't worry me too much.
The part that worries me is how much future talent we will give up to get him.

I can't see saint kilda giving up pick 5 for a player that is uncontracted and has nominated the club.

I'm getting "go home five" vibes from that sort of trade; read, Essendon get absolutely screwed. Saint Kilda's second could absolutely be what the trade ends up being.

I know people bring up the PSD a lot but this isn't looking good for Essendon. No other club could match 700K over 5 years. So the risk for Carlisle going to the PSD and not getting to the saints is actually really low.

Very shit situation for Essendon to be in, kind of know how that feels.

You are dreaming if you think we will give up pick 5 for a player who is out of contract, wants to leave, has nomintaed a club and still has wada hanging over his head. Id offer our 2nd rounder and be like take it or leave it or he walks. but a pick in the 15 range is a bit more fairer.

Even Saints supporters agree he is worth more than their second.

Looking at their first 2 picks, of course we want their first.

Wouldn't you do the same?
2 second rounders should get it done. Pick 5 won't happen, a possibility of a deal being done around next years first bit Essemdon would be giving something back.

Hang on. Don't we have the pick before St Kilda in the PSD?

Yeah, would you take him again though?

I assumed the club wasn't insane but if it came to that there's no reason why Essendon wouldnt be allowed to, it'd iust be so incredibly stupid.

Carlton ---> don't want to pay 700k
Brisbane ---> Have money to burn but don't want an unhappy player who wants to leave. (Have enough of those already)
Suns ---->Could actually be an option but I can't see Carlisle not being cranky at being on the coast
Essendon---> Yeah Nah
Saint Kilda ---> Bingo obviously.

Maybe Essendon could benefit if the lions come out and say they'd take Carlisle in a draft if it came to that? They've already done that for Dangerfield, haha.

Traded Jake Carlisle [traded w/ #23 and #44 for #5, #24 and Craig Bird]