Jake Carlisle Updates

I like that Jake can handle the sledging that gets thrown his way, because we're counting down now...

Rd 17 July 14: Essendon vs St Kilda, Friday night footy. He is gonna cop it all week, and all through the game. Those disgusting injecting scumbags and their flogtacular fans won't let him have a moment's peace. I hope he stomps all over Joe Daniher's head and keeps him to 3 behinds and rises above the baiting he'll get.
At least they won't be calling him a drug cheat...

From a partisan perspective, the worst thing about this is giving the assembled football mob the chance to dredge up all our past stupidities again...

Jake sure as hell owes his new(ish) teammates for that at least.

Particularly after we've gone to so much effort to change the public perception of the club
Absolutely spot on Barrels........hasn't Jake learnt anything about the absolute perils of social media??????

Hasn't he yet realized that once it's on Social media....it's out there for everyone to see.

Just watched TF...Sam McClure had great delight showing what they had just "received to hand"...I thought.."ol no"

I suddenly thought of Tracey Grimshaw saying...."and breaking news"

When they showed the tweet that Jake "liked" ...I nearly fell off the couch....given there was a player meeting today about events on the weekend......and the shitstorm over the last 24 hours....how could he be so stupid ?????

It just gives various parts of the media to come at us again.

Absolutely spot on Barrels........hasn't Jake learnt anything about the absolute perils of social media??????

Hasn't he yet realized that once it's on Social media....it's out there for everyone to see.

Just watched TF...Sam McClure had great delight showing what they had just "received to hand"...I thought.."ol no"

I suddenly thought of Tracey Grimshaw saying...."and breaking news"

When they showed the tweet that Jake "liked" ...I nearly fell off the couch....given there was a player meeting today about events on the weekend......and the shitstorm over the last 24 hours....how could he be so stupid ?????

It just gives various parts of the media to come at us again.
Doesn't think before he speaks old Jakey, have witnessed this 1st hand LOL

Having listened to Wayne Carey talk about the psychological distress that this has caused himself, Murphy, and Murphy's wife, let me get this clear:
I think you've nailed it FOFjt.

Wow...what a shitstorn since just after 11.am yesterday...thanks Purple !

I couldn't help but wonder today as the shitstorm was really gathering momentum.......what if Jake hadn't got crunched in that pack.....would we or the media being talking about this.

Stuff them all Jake! It's true... off camera these morons would be saying Murphy is a pansy... which he is... you wanna throw comments like he's a drug cheat then better hope there's no skeletons in your closet Murphy... wimp
Yeah, you go sledging a bloke, apparently a number of bluescum were into him.
Little did the weak campaigner know that Jakey had some retaliation.

Poor Murph didnt like it and mouthed off only when Carlisle wad injured.

When he got put off his game and booed by the crowd, ran to the media to complain.
The truth has come out. Murphy sledged and copped it back, could dish it out but could not take it.

Gutless

Watching the replay, and of course things happen off-screen, but when Murph and Carlisle are in the shot during play or stoppage, at no stage have I seen any verbal between them.

Until late in the third quarter, Carlisle slightly misjudges an aerial ball that he's running back with, probably could have spoiled it, Williamson marks (and ends up kicking the goal from 25 out), 1;20 left in the quarter.

Murphy is a little off to the side running into the 50 when the mark is about to be taken. Bee lines towards Carlisle and starts giving him some lip, Carlisle pays no attention to the little flog, is about to haunch over with hands on knees while Williamson is walking back to take his kick. Murphy is still chatting and hasn't taken his eyes of Carlisle walking behind him, clearly says something that makes Carlisle snap his neck around (wouldn't surprise me if it was Murph calling a cokehead tbh because Carlisle looked to be fine ignoring him until he said something in particular), that's when Jakey takes his mouthguard out so I can imagine that's when he spat back the comment relating to Murph's missus.

Williamson kicks the goal, Murphy's smiling going over to pat Williamson on the back to celebrate the goal. Yeah looking real distressed there mate.

Then obviously after that, another goal is kicked and Murph wants to act like a tough guy.

Sure some back and forth could have been happening between those two specifically during the game, but I definitely haven't noticed it. Seems to me like Murph wanted to be a smartass to Jake and copped more than he bargained for.

#standbyjakey

Jeez after 45 years of footy, I've heard all this before on the field and off..wives, family, girlfriends, booze, physical attributes..everyone and everything gets a run out there when someone is trying to put you off your game. Is this Murphy guy the prize sook of all time?
Yes he is.

It is pretty ordinary to be bringing up wives though. This is a woman you love, want to spend your life with, have kids with. All's fair in love and war, but I think once you cross that line you're taking it up a notch, certainly to the level where your victim can justifiably be extremely p-ed off and have no hesitation venting even if you're lying on the floor slowly dying.

If someone talked about my wife that way, I'd happily watch him or his teammates die as I gave him a serve. "Happily" isn't even the right word.

These players are not names on a screen, they are not part of a video game, they are real living people who go home to their families at the end of every game and they feel love. They play a sport that we are slaves to, but they are not our pawns. A bit of empathy please.

I don't actually know what happened, but from what many are suggesting, I think that a line was crossed and either you say "OK both teams ask and give no quarter, no holds barred" in which case all the weekend's actions are fine, or you say "Hold on, we need to have some standards here" and in that case, the actions of both groups of players need addressing.

I'm happy for the rivalry against the Blues to have more spice, as I hate that club, but I personally would like to believe that we can be decent, bearing in mind that it is professional sport and not actual tribal warfare.

EDIT: I really have no idea what was said, so if it turns out that the sledge didn't involve Murphy's wife then I take it all back. However, judging from the response from Murphy and St Kilda, I'd say that that line was crossed and St Kilda acknowledge that.

It is pretty ordinary to be bringing up wives though. This is a woman you love, want to spend your life with, have kids with. All's fair in love and war, but I think once you cross that line you're taking it up a notch, certainly to the level where your victim can justifiably be extremely p-ed off and have no hesitation venting even if you're lying on the floor slowly dying.

If someone talked about my wife that way, I'd happily watch him or his teammates die as I gave him a serve. "Happily" isn't even the right word.

These players are not names on a screen, they are not part of a video game, they are real living people who go home to their families at the end of every game and they feel love. They play a sport that we are slaves to, but they are not our pawns. A bit of empathy please.

I don't actually know what happened, but from what many are suggesting, I think that a line was crossed and either you say "OK both teams ask and give no quarter, no holds barred" in which case all the weekend's actions are fine, or you say "Hold on, we need to have some standards here" and in that case, the actions of both groups of players need addressing.

I'm happy for the rivalry against the Blues to have more spice, as I hate that club, but I personally would like to believe that we can be decent, bearing in mind that it is professional sport and not actual tribal warfare.

It's not like it's a shock to Murphy that opposition players 'know' his wife. It's pretty common knowledge that she dated a number of footballers before hooking up with Murphy (which is all her prerogative and good on her).

I'm not sure what Murphy expected if he's mouthed off at JC (when the obvious retort from someone of Jake's somewhat limited intelligence was always going to be brutal).

As for Jake liking Rors tweet, well that's just Jake being Jake. Very good footballer, not a candidate for Mensa.

Jeez after 45 years of footy, I've heard all this before on the field and off..wives, family, girlfriends, booze, physical attributes..everyone and everything gets a run out there when someone is trying to put you off your game. Is this Murphy guy the prize sook of all time?

I know what you mean, but it seems though those days might be behind us and people are ready to be a little less personal, especially around delicate emotional issues. You never know what's in the head of the player. Best to just stick to funny stuff I'd think.

It's not like it's a shock to Murphy that opposition players 'know' his wife. It's pretty common knowledge that she dated a number of footballers before hooking up with Murphy (which is all her prerogative and good on her).

I'm not sure what Murphy expected if he's mouthed off at JC (when the obvious retort from someone of Jake's somewhat limited intelligence was always going to be brutal).

As for Jake liking Rors tweet, well that's just Jake being Jake. Very good footballer, not a candidate for Mensa.

That's fair enough, but I don't blame him for being angry about it either and like I said, if someone had said that to me I wouldn't stop myself getting in the face of an oppo player who was lying on the ground just in case he was badly injured. In fact if he was badly injured I'd make sure he heard my voice. I'd be pretty angry. So maybe Murphy bit off more than he could chew, but I'm not going to string him up for being human.

EDIT: I really have no idea what was said, so if it turns out that the sledge didn't involve Murphy's wife then I take it all back. However, judging from the response from Murphy and St Kilda, I'd say that that line was crossed and St Kilda acknowledge that.
I get what you are saying but this is a different world here in fishbowl footy land. Murphy's wife is one of those people who spend thier life on instagram and doing other inane crap all day she's like the Aussie Kim kardashian. I doubt she cares about anything but how much fame she is getting. I don't want to judge but I give them 2 years max. Mark is a cute little fellow and she probably thought he'd look cute in a chihuahua in a bow tie kind of way on her Insta.

Perhaps, but he might love her. I don't know their relationship, but I suppose they have kids together? She could be the next Kim Duthie (uegh) but M... I'm losing this argument.

Jake Carlisle Updates