James Hird - most overblown retirement ever ?

http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=5357

The AFL and Toyota today announced an exciting new dimension to its activities around the 2007 Toyota AFL Finals with the introduction of the Toyota AFL Premiership Cup Ambassador.

James Hird, a dual premiership star with Essendon, was announced as the ambassador who will be 'keeper of the Cup' in the week leading up to the 2007 Toyota AFL Grand Final.

I had to look through four pages before someone actually revealed the reason, which I was sure was common knowledge.. Thanks dave_27.

After all the bitching and moaning on here when Hird was announced as the first ever ambassador, I guess either people have short memories, or just love to have a bitch and moan. I suspect the latter.

A premiership cup Ambassador? WTF?

Too much money down there at AFL house where now they are creating the most silliest of titles and jobs.

iI really don't think that the two TV deals has been any better for the game, it's just given the afl hangers on more reason to stick around and do nothing - the afl are creating phony titles for them to do so.

Argh footy is annoying me in melb atm...its beyond over saturation its just sad.

:thumbsdown:

Yeah, probably fair enough, but he feeds it and it makes me sick to be honest. He's well below the top tier of footballers I've seen - Carey/Voss/Dunstall/Ablett etc (not including Buckley or Daicos due to obvious bias) - yet he's revered as one of the top few to play the game.
LOL, Bucks and Daics among that top tier? Even with bias you'd be hard pressed to include them. Even Banger is on a tier below those blokes (it's nothing to be ashamed of, all great players).

Vossy just had a press conference and that was pretty much it.

James Hird is one of the best players I've seen, but the hysteria surrounding his retirement is obscene.
Vossy announced it over the off-season though...it's kind of a shame how we didn't know which game was going to be his last (well, we had an idea but I thought he could have squeezed maybe one more year out of his body since he was contracted). If he did have a farewell, there may have been a media frenzy, particularly in Brisbane.

Don't know why Hird was at the GF parade though - maybe his Toyota contract has something to do with him being there?

I am personally sick and tired of James Hird. One Flag One Brownlow and that is all yet he is paraded around like he has been the best ever.

One flag - are you an idiot, or just doing a good job impersonating one?

If you think a bit harder you may remember Hird won a flag in 93 and captained one in 2000. I reckon that adds up to 2 using my limited maths ability.

He is paraded around like one of the best players ever simply because he is one of the best players ever.

If only a few people would put their club loyalties and bias aside for a moment and appreciate great players.

Yeah, probably fair enough, but he feeds it and it makes me sick to be honest. He's well below the top tier of footballers I've seen - Carey/Voss/Dunstall/Ablett etc (not including Buckley or Daicos due to obvious bias) - yet he's revered as one of the top few to play the game.

But you're right, it's more the media beatup of him I dislike as opposed to Hird himself...

Any criminal charges against Jim? Any women ever overdose in a hotel with him? Did he ever root his best mates wife? Did he ever leave the club who drafted him?

Obvious troll is obvious.

You do realise that he was in the parade because he was employed by the AFL to be the "official" bearer of the Premiership Cup who presents the cup at all official Grand Final Functions. Ohhh.. :eek:

It is also no surprise to see Collingwood supporters posting in this thread, they are obsessed with him.

Firstly I am not surprised that Collingwood supporters are posting on this thread as it is on the main board and is open to all supporters.

Just for the record I think Hirdy was a fantastic player and ambassador for the game. Hird was one of the first players groomed by the AFL to take a bigger role on in the media and on camera. This was an AFL initiative and Hird was very good at it. Buckley was also groomed in the same way. All AFL players are now trained in handling the media and presenting well on camera. You cannot watch the players on "the couch" or on the "footy show" one day with interest and then whinge they are "media whores" the next. It is mainly to promote the game and yes some high profile players do benefit from the exposure financially, Good on them.

As to being obsessed with Hird, no, but you may be, you are on this thread too.

Now don't get me wrong, Hirdy is a champion of the game and will be rightly remebered as such. But, I can't recall any player's retirement being such a long drawn out overblown process.

I ventured down to watch the GF parade today, and who should be in one of the cars but James ****ing Hird !!!. Sorry, isn't it meant to be for the clubs participating in the GF ??.

A send-off at Subi, then at the G, then at the GF tomorrow plus 20,000 media suck pieces is obviously not enough for James, he also has to rain on the Cats-Power parade.

At least guys like Archer, Kouta and Roo had the decency to not use the GF parade as another medie whore opportunity.

Just retire Hird and get the bloody thing over with !!!!!
mate he wasnt raining on geelong or port's parade.....excuse the pun

jimmy has been a champion I think we all agree....now he's working with the AFL as an ambassdor for the premiership cup tour or something....im not sure exactly of the position name

so why would the ambassodor for the cup tour be accompanying the cup on the parade?? go figure!!

This thread is funny. Collingwood supporters getting into the man that tore them apart by calling him a media whore.

Hird coudlnt wait for the media to shut up.

I'm jealous that the football public rates Hird above a lot of players.

Your premiershipless (former) captain being one of them.
I heard James Hird sleeps well at night knowing that he has a premiership medal on each one of his bedside tables, unlike one collingwood player i know

James Hird - most overblown retirement ever ?