James Magner

prynny_22

Apr 4, 2004
Cranbourne
What does everyone think of James Magner (#23) from Dandenong Stingrays?

He is 178cms tall and 82kg's so a well built Midfielder/Tagger who steps up when needed and can find the pill while tagging.

He also played for Hailbury in the APS this year and was rated by alot of posters (in the schools forum) as a top 10 player in the schools comp.

Was very unlucky not to be named in the Best for the stingrays over the weekends Grand Final as he was one of 5 players who kept them in the game.

He was selected in the first Vic Metro Squad but was struck down with a thumb injury. Which did lower his chance's of getting drafted with an early pick.

He is going to the VIC Screening camp.
I think he has the protential to go at a late 1st rounder but will maybe go around the 40s 50s.

prynny_22 said:
I think he has the protential to go at a late 1st rounder
Oh that's VERY ambitious.

Full credit to him on the weekend, I have not yet seen the replay and seeing it live from high in the stand it's not always the best view. He appeared to be taken by nerves early and fumbled around a bit, but really after half time stepped up.

He did average 19.6 possies per game, I set 20 as a benchmark figure for a midfielder so he's basically done that, but I prefer many smaller players ahead of him.

19.6 possies per game. One of them games would also be the one where he got injured hehe.

For a TAGGER i think that is even better tho. He has tagged in plenty of games showing a fair bit of aggression (which clubs like)

I've just watched the first half and a bit of the third qtr it is fair to say Kevin Bartlett is quite a fan of Magner. 5 touches in the first 5 mins of the 3rd qtr and kept saying how good he'd been.

Wasn't too bad up til half time, went better than I first thought having only seen the game live until now.

you seem to love him ey prynny..... how did you go in trial matches prynny, also footyman hes right i woull like to hear anyone elses comments on magner

jimmy is a freak, best over head mark in the TAC for his height, he has the build that an afl club is after (no need for them to waste 2 years on building him up) he can run all day and he has agression. i reckon hil go late 40s

Yeah he is ok, but with is attitude towards not wanting to play School footy this could be a problem for future drafting clubs. Also has a temper on him but that is good on the field.

bigonemate said:
you seem to love him ey prynny..... how did you go in trial matches prynny, also footyman hes right i woull like to hear anyone elses comments on magner

na mate didnt play. one of my mates did tho, Troy Tharle Adams, keep that name in mind ppls.

Magner is just a top player bigonemate, always goes in hard. Been told he is a little diffrent off field and is a good bloke. Back on the footy topic, would really like to see him go to a AFL Club nxt year

i no jimmy and he dosent mind a party but hes switched on.. and he does take his hard at the ball character of field he dosent mind a fight especaly for a mate

i actually go to school with him tigertown, reason ive been told he didnt want to play school footy is because he wasnt given a chance in year 11, told he wouldnt make the team so when he actually made a name for himself in year 12 the coach wanted him and offered him a scholarship but he ended up breaking his thumb and screwing it all up, he wanted to play with stingrays because they had put the effort into making him a half desent player, what do you think will happen to him in the big november footyman, and vic mate hes not really a fighting type unless really ********ed off

Hardly a kid. Hes 25. Nothing wrong with that though. Melbourne are in desperate need of middle-aged players to take up the slack of their poor drafting.

Magner is doing alright Melbourne isn't. Melbourne could have had Valenti in there too if they didn't delist him. Stupid decision by Melbourne!

Valenti showed nothing while at Melbourne, and if he's such a sure thing to succeed at AFL level why hasn't he been picked up again?

Moloney and Sylvia are also clearly better AFL midfielders at the moment B_C.

James Magner