Jarrad Schofield

ImperialPurple said:
fair comments all around...

*smile, shake hands*

Rd 1 here we come, hope we kick some Port butt, we are in with a chance -as we always are these last couple of years - but won't be holding my breath for it...

Doesn't it restore some faith in Port Power supporters! (other than vinegartitsWA).

Maybe they were referring to Fabian Francis as the third (or first) high profile player to nick off. He was good.

Porthos said:
Maybe they were referring to Fabian Francis as the third (or first) high profile player to nick off. He was good.

Pity we were able to stuff his career up.

purplesoul said:
Doesn't it restore some faith in Port Power supporters! (other than vinegartitsWA).

I feel the love, and its return to you all. :D :D (lots of smiles for you all)

*waves and leaves the room.....until next time ;) *

ImperialPurple said:
Hit a nerve have we...?

When the Princess of Trolls stops coming on OUR BOARD to do something other than stir and put-down, then perhaps we won't feel the need to deliver come-backs.

Port is a successful club - good on them.
Port won this years GF - good on them.
Port has players leaving despite all this - why is that.

Frankly I don't know and I don't really care... but maybe some of the Port people, who despite the success they have had, still seem to want to play the "bully-boys" may want to ask that question. Maybe they don't. Like I said, i don't care.

But PPWA comes here with regular monotony to troll and shyte-stir. Fix up your own crap before dishing it out, that's all.

Now who's getting touchy?

Kapow!!! said:
From wehavethepassion (thanks to error 404) from the AFL website (I think):

1. West Coast Eagles; $2,800,000
2. Brisbane; $2,180,000
3. Collingwood; $2,070,456
4. Geelong; $1,220,000
5. Adelaide; $1,200,000
6. Fremantle; $1,100,000
7. St Kilda; $1,000,000
8. Essendon; $649,000
9. Kangaroos; $140,000
10. Hawthorn; $101,000
11. Sydney $100,000
12. Melbourne; $25,000
13. Port Adelaide (break even)
14. Western Bulldogs $-693,364
15. Carlton $-900,000
16. Richmond $-2,194,974

As for your board lying to your members, well, they're worried about their business, of course they're gonna lie to cover their ar$e!

Wrong! - Think you will find this is a bit inaccurate. And by the way if it is the AFL web-site this has been known to be wrong you know.

Malibu#27 said:
Yes they did offer him a 2 year contract towards the end. First year of the contract was on a reduced number, the second year was at (just over) AFL base salary, but to be re-negotiated based on 2005 performance.

In other words - if he had an ordinary year next year he would have been looking for a second job packing shelves in 2006 to make ends meet.

So when Jarrod says that he "simply did not want to stay" ... what he means is "he could get more money at Fremantle, without the pressure to perform".

any other spin on this is a blatant lie.

Malibu - I honestly think he would have stayed if this was on the table immediately, however he has had his little girl on the waitlist of a private school here for the last couple of years (and she can attend in 2005 - ? coincidence) so I think if we are being honest - it is more than $'s and ability to get a game.

I think once he had made his mind to go that was it.

Plus I know he is easing off in his career, however he was good enough to make your best 22 for the entire season and you thought enough to try and keep him (regardless of the contract details).

Summary - it aint a JC deal and he is far more important to us than you - undoubtedly in 2005 we have got better though and you have not (though you have put a few pennies away for the future).

There ....now is that OK by all of our Port visitors? - if not take your tooth and beanies and go home ;)

PortProudWA said:
I feel the love, and its return to you all. :D :D (lots of smiles for you all)

*waves and leaves the room.....until next time ;) *

See ya on your next visit deb *waves to the port power supporter as it leaves*

Kapow!!! said:
You are talking to the 40 year old psyco Port supporter from WA. Are I don't mean you're normal psyco, I mean bogan psyco with a massive hatred for purple. Trust me, both Docker azza and myself had the "pleasure" of talking to her via MSN...fun experience :rolleyes:

Yes, I remember that well. Like Hoggy said she's a nutbag. I even copied and pasted the conversation on MS Word. I can show it if anyone interested.

docker_azza said:
Yes, I remember that well. A true nutbag. I even copied and pasted the conversation on MS Word. Ill try and upload it and sent it to people and Deb if interested.

Just hang on Azza, I'm friends with deb and am allowed to call it by name. I don't think you are so it's best you refrain from doing that.

Go port power.

Well it's official, he's under investigation. First Fabian, now this!

http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/realfooty/articles/2004/12/15/1102787144558.html?oneclick=true

Schofield faces draft probe

By Craig O'Donoghue and David Reed
December 16, 2004

The Port Adelaide midfielder's move to Fremantle has sparked an AFL draft-tampering investigation.

Fremantle recruit Jarrad Schofield faces a $50,000 fine and his career is in jeopardy after the AFL yesterday launched an investigation into claims he had tampered with Tuesday's pre-season draft.

AFL investigations officer Ken Wood has been instructed to review Schofield's drafting. Schofield, asked on Tuesday whether he had told other clubs he would retire if drafted by a club other than Fremantle, said: "I left that to my manager."

Ron Joseph, Schofield's manager, did not return calls last night.

Schofield's father, Neil, contacted Kangaroos coach Dean Laidley to say Schofield would retire if picked by the Roos. The Roos had a pick before Fremantle and chose Lance Picioane.

AFL rule 17.1 (b) says that anyone who is part of any action "which would be likely to have the effect of preventing, hindering or discouraging a player from accepting employment with another club if drafted by that club" will be guilty of conduct prejudicial to the draft.

AFL football operations manager Adrian Anderson said the investigation would start immediately. "We just need to gather some facts about what has or hasn't happened and decide whether we need to do anything about it," he said.

The league has severe penalties for draft tampering, including:

- Fines of $50,000 for the player or $100,000 for a club.

- The club losing the services of the player for up to three years.

- The player being prevented from playing for up to three years and excluded from upcoming drafts.

- The club being precluded from up to four drafts.

Andrew McKay, Robert Pyman and Brett Chalmers were all found guilty of draft tampering in 1993. Chalmers was fined $30,000 and banned from playing for Collingwood for three years while McKay and Pyman received $10,000 fines. The trio all advised clubs they wouldn't play for them if drafted.

Fremantle football manager Steven Icke said he did not know Neil Schofield and wasn't aware that he had contacted the Kangaroos until after the draft. Kangaroos football manager Tim Harrington and Carlton football manager Grant Williams said they had not spoken to Joseph.

Icke said his club had nothing to hide.

"If they (the AFL) want to go down that path, it would be a wasted exercise," he said. "They can look into it, but it would only waste valuable manpower so close to Christmas.

"Jarrad knows that he plays in a national competition so he signs away the right to choose the club that he plays for.

"I think he was saying that if he'd been chosen by a Melbourne-based club he would have had to decide what to do. He... just wanted some certainty."

- West Australian

If a player has said that will retire rather then play for another club, they should just be banned from the league.

Kangaroos just should have called his bluff.

Swans did it to that collingwood player (cant remember his name - but it was on that doco The Draft) and he ended up playing for them even though he said he wouldnt.

docker_azza said:
Yes, I remember that well. Like Hoggy said she's a nutbag. I even copied and pasted the conversation on MS Word. I can show it if anyone interested.

Was our conversation that interesting was it that you had to save it??? Copy and paste and send to whom ever you want......Nothing I say in there will surprise anyone?? What a sad person you are, gee I wonder how many people you do that to, someone like you would be very hard to trust!!

School boys playing school boy games, it was your port mate Phatredge that set that whole thing up, he added me to messenger, then invited you to in....Why maybe to stir up a converstation, I have no idea.

Maybe you could be like IP and Purplesoul as well and start leaving private messages for me, must have really hit a nerve with quite a few and left a mark!!

Well I dont have time for any more games......do we have to start to get serious do we!! Time for work, maybe some of you should try it sometime, you might learn a bit more and learn to talk footy instead of slanging!! Dear me, I might get banned from the Freo board......guess I can live with that ;)

Enjoy the journey!!

PortProudWA said:
Maybe you could be like IP and Purplesoul as well and start leaving private messages for me, !

now, now... you and i both know that my PM to you was perfectly civil and had nothing whatsoever to do with you trolling our board. An honest and above board question from a POV of interest about your undying support for your club. In fact it even paid you a compliment or two... an open and could I say, almost friendly exchange ensued... where we shared some of our experience and history of supporting our respective clubs, and it was left at that. Don't now put a negative spin on it and make it sound like I was hassling you.

My only reference to you trolling has been in this thread. And you do troll and stir on our board, that you can't deny. Not one word was mentioned in that PM, or any that followed after that during that exchange. So at least keep the insinuations accurate.

fat wombat said:
It'd be a sad way for him to end his career.

If that should prove to be the case and I very much doubt that it will or even if he and/or the Dorkers get fined it will be due mainly to his old man who is an absolute knobhead. He was a knobhead way back when Jarrod was at Wesley.

YAKUZA said:
If that should prove to be the case and I very much doubt that it will or even if he and/or the Dorkers get fined it will be due mainly to his old man ........

Agree... except I would have said Freo or Dockers... but we all know what to expect from yak there.

The AFL have to investigate to save some face with this one.

For anything to actually happen firstly to Schofield Jr and secondly to FFC, they would have to:

(i) prove that Jr put Sr up to it, or
(ii) prove that Jr knew about the call prior to it being made but did nothing to stop it, or
(iii) prove that Jr should have been responsible for rectifying a situation that was not of his creation after he found out it had happened
(iv) FFC knew about it and didn't stop it
(v) FFC found out after the event and did nothing to rectify the situation

Lots of ifs, buts, maybes, he saids, she saids, etc... I would think that the AFL would want to avoid something like this ending up in court where they would have to prove that Jr and / or FFC was in fact doing the wrong thing.

If he was, then he should suffer the consequences, absolutely, but you would have to think that it's unlikely. The Roos have said that they didn't speak to his manager so it was not official, there's nothing in writing... I'm not defending him, because at this stage I have no loyalty to him whatsoever, I just think that it would be a pretty hard case to prove.

As far as the club goes, everyone involved has stated categorically that the club knew nothing about it - you would have to hope that's the truth and that they wouldn't be dumb enough to get into something like this... Again difficult to prove liability you would think.

On the "logical" side of the coin (I know it's hard to bring logic into a discussion about the AFL...) - If you're 30, just played in a premiership, want to go home to play out the last couple of years of your career, then face the prospect of moving somewhere else again, how is it a crime to say... well I really don't want to go to Melbourne, I want to go home, so I'll just give the game away if that's how the scenario pans out.

Wouldn't a club rather know that player x will give it away if they pick him, so they can use the spot on someone who will be playing... if Norf picked him up, could they have held a gun to his head and say "you're playing for us whether you like it or not - no retirement for you buddy, until we say you're good and ready"... I would have thought a club would prefer to know.

Maybe that's just my "humanist" nature coming out, but players are just commodities in the business of footy aren't they...

Jarrad Schofield