Jarrad Schofield

I think this one is a bit different from the Brett Chalmers situation where he was starting out and wanted to play for Collingwood all along. Schofield is 30 and is putting his family first as he wants to raise his kids in Perth, I cant see a problem with that.

I don't think he was bluffing.

I think his motivation is different to the Brett Chalmers situation, but the same rules apply.

If the AFL want to introduce free agency for over-30s or something like that, then thats all good - I doubt anyone would disagree with it being introduced.

But right now that rule isn't in place, and as such not investigating this draft tampering would set a bad precedent.

Porthos said:
not investigating this draft tampering would set a bad precedent.

Assuming guilt Porthos...

like so much on these boards guys are hung, drawn and quartered prior to being found guilty of anything.

Perhaps you should have said "possible" draft tampering... it's not even "alleged" as yet as the investigation is yet to begin.

But yeah, you're also right - the rules are in place so they should do the righty by following it through. Until changes are made, all players have to live and die (or should I say play or retire) by the rules. If he, or his manager has stuffed up, then hang him out to dry. Just reckon maybe the "unofficial father phone call" might be a bit of a grey area....

A draft can be tampered with without it being charged as draft tampering. Its like the difference between an assault and someone being charged with Assault.

Even if blame can't be directly apportioned with a fine or whatever, there is no doubt that the draft has been tampered with.

ImperialPurple said:
....When the Princess of Trolls stops coming on OUR BOARD to do something other than stir and put-down.....
PPWA cruises all the boards to dispense Alberton flavoured opinions. I suggest not getting too fired up. Even we cop it if we waver at all in what we say.
Good luck Schoey. Good luck Freo (within limitations).

Docker_Brat said:
Can't people ignore that fat Port feral trolling over here? She was even deemed to be too feral for a Port forum and that's saying a lot.

I've been blocked from that site too.....all it says really is how pathetic the people running it are.....to be blocked for putting up information about the round 1 function next season is pretty pathetic.

And back onto Schofield....As much as I will not miss him at Port, I sure hope this isn't the end of his career.

Port1978 said:
I've been blocked from that site too.....all it says really is how pathetic the people running it are.....to be blocked for putting up information about the round 1 function next season is pretty pathetic.

And back onto Schofield....As much as I will not miss him at Port, I sure hope this isn't the end of his career.

I think I might come along to that ;)

Porthos said:
A draft can be tampered with without it being charged as draft tampering. Its like the difference between an assault and someone being charged with Assault.

Even if blame can't be directly apportioned with a fine or whatever, there is no doubt that the draft has been tampered with.

A fair comment Porthos, and yes I agree.

There was tampering via the phone call by Schofield Sr, I just think that people should be careful with labelling Jr guilty if he, in fact, is not. The facts about which none of us know, apart from an article which appeared in the paper.

Personally, I reckon "meh" as far as whether Schofield plays for Freo or not next year. My concern is that the club stays clean through what will be a muck-rake.

Also from a fairness POV, that a player (regardless of who he is) is not labelled because of a situation he was not responsible for. But like I said... "meh" about him playing for us.

Of course, that would change if he kicks the winning goal to defeat Port by <6 pts in Rd 1 next year.....

Just as an aside... how many times do you reckon the F-word has been uttered, muttered, screeched and screamed around FFC HQ in the last 24 hours?

Should we be giving the folks at the Guiness Book of Records a call?

Docker_Brat said:
Can't people ignore that fat Port feral trolling over here? She was even deemed to be too feral for a Port forum and that's saying a lot.
Yes I've been banned from that place too! Maybe we weren't feral enough?? There are some places I'd rather not visit personally, like jails, gutters and TPFP-all have much in common.

I hope Schoey does well for you guys, but we won't particularly miss him. More an indication of the quality of our list, and the youngsters who couldn't get a game last year than anything.

Docker_Brat said:
I think I might come along to that ;)

If you want to attend you have to book it through me, and I'll tell you straight......You have two chances, none and buckleys!!

And yer IP our convo (pm) was civil, but you seem to have two faces.....one here, one there. Me, I am the same no matter where I am.....I am even worse if you meet me. I am as one eyed as they come, and IP you know how much!! And like Powerstuff said, even Port Supporters cop it from me if they waver.....To me my Club comes first!!

If Pav and Schammer had left you guys in the same circumstances that Carr and Schoey have left us......what you would'nt say something....You don't know until that happens to you, and one day it will ....maybe not those two but one day it will, and then and only then will you understand me (well maybe).
Are you that negative to out side comments, that is what is good about BF.....you get a bigger picture, you may not like it......but keep to footy!!

You tend to think there is something wrong with Port because 2 players left after winning a Grand Final.

Did you ever stop to think there maybe something wrong with your club, that they see it as and easy path home, a easy club to walk into for good money......Schofield sure as hell did. Not ever once has either Josh Carr or Schofield said that they see Freo as a successful club.....Peter Bell said it when he come back, but these two never have. They have put them selves before any club.....YOURS and MINE.

Schofield used your club, simple as that, and you let him! I would rather not have a player play for us, than one who never wanted to come there in the first place!! You can welcome him all you like, but if it was me, it would burn deep inside after knowing that he had said that he never ever wanted to play for Fremantle!!
Does he have the passion to play for you with his heart, no I dont think so.

Schoey.....he got greedy, he stuffed up and now we just have to wait and see what happens. Football is his job, and looks like now he may get sacked, and he has no one but himself, his dad and his manager to blame.

Port1978 said:
Because you want to see what an AFL premiership cup looks like, right? ;)
Actually held the 1998 one and of course the 2002 SANFL trophy, I spent several minutes prising off the Port plaques with a screwdriver. ;)

PortProudWA said:
If you want to attend you have to book it through me, and I'll tell you straight......You have two chances, none and buckleys!!

Oh you poor thing, taking this thar intarweb so serious like. By the way, you're on the wrong forum.. again.

Supporters from all over Australia are more than welcome, and please contact me for any questions.

I support the Hydey, so therefore I'm welcome. ;)

coasting said:
The Hyde Park Hotel, is that dump still open? You're a brave, brave man.
How can you refer to the Hydey as a dump? You precious knob.
One of the best pubs in the world as far as I'm concerned. Great for music, great for watching sports, great staff, great location, great bottle shop, great people.....seriously, you're an idiot. :mad:

Docker_Brat said:
Oh you poor thing, taking this thar intarweb so serious like. By the way, you're on the wrong forum.. again.

Supporters from all over Australia are more than welcome, and please contact me for any questions.

I support the Hydey, so therefore I'm welcome. ;)

You can try and get in if you like......Our functions are for Port Supporters only. But try if you like, I know we have some blokes there that would love you to ;) I'd like to see that!! Are you really that desperate to see a Premiership cup.....ohhhh hang on I guess you are!!

On someone calling it a dump, it is by far the best hotel in WA for Football supporters of all teams, if Freo or WCE are playing interstate the game is always on live there!!
Most WA Supporter groups go there. St.Kilda, Collingwood, Essendon, Adelaide Crows, Carlton, Western Bulldogs. They go there because the Hydey does the best for football.

coasting said:
The Hyde Park Hotel, is that dump still open? You're a brave, brave man.

It is far from a dump, it's a great hotel, especially for footy supporters. If you think someone's "brave" for going there then you must be a complete wuss.....but then you are an E-girls supporter, aren't you? :rolleyes:

PortProudWA said:
You can try and get in if you like......Our functions are for Port Supporters only. But try if you like, I know we have some blokes there that would love you to ;) I'd like to see that!! Are you really that desperate to see a Premiership cup.....ohhhh hang on I guess you are!!

Do I have to be the bouncer again? ;)

Jarrad Schofield