Player Watch Jason Horne-Francis - You were always one of us

2010 thru 2012 Port were just as bad as North are now, but the club still managed to keep all the Victorian players it wanted to keep. Maybe JHF's decision was less about the wins and losses, and more to do with a terrible club culture and poor treatment.
Well, what did North think would happen when you drop a player for visting his mum on mother's day

When 3 of your recruiting staff resign on the same day you know they have a big problem. Glenn Luff came from Champion Data, was their head analyst.

North Melbourne has lost three of its key recruiters, who are reportedly “frustrated at the club over its management”.

The club confirmed on Tuesday that list boss Glenn Luff and national recruiting manager Mark Finnigan had resigned, while national recruiting officer Ben Birthisel also handed in his resignation.

North Melbourne GM of football talent Brady Rawlings talked down the sudden exits. “I don’t think there’s ever an ideal timing for when you lose staff. It’s always a challenge,” he said on 3AW’s Sportsday. “We’ve had two staff members that have been approached, one through another AFL club (Finnigan) and one through a completely different industry which he’s been studying for (Birthisel).

Finnigan joined North Melbourne in 2006 as a part-time employee before becoming full-time in 2011.

Luff joined the club as head of game analysis in 2018 and became the list manager shortly before the 2019 draft.

Birthisel worked at the club in a variety of roles over the last decade before becoming national recruiting officer in 2019.

The shock moves come after AFL journalist Caroline Wilson said this week the leaks coming from North Melbourne were “disturbing” and indicative of a poor relationship between coach David Noble and some players.

The idea of players from any team "running through" or "lining up" an opponent in this day and age are quite laughable.
For Starters, most of them are friends and don't want to maim each other. Secondly, no one wants the lengthy suspension that would ensue. About the only guy who might consider such an act would be Taylor Walker, because he's stupid, and he has no friends.

Every time I think we paid thru' the nose I look at his highlights package. Outside of Koch blundering in with clumsy dumb comments

I thought we played it beautifully. Of course Donuts was front 'n' centre getting it done hey Kane you snivelling weasel.

Crawl out of Ken's Khyber Pass and try to do your job with some semblance of balance.

Norf feel jilted but any sympathy I had for them evaporated when I went to their board.

What a tumble dryer on maximum heat that was. An echo chamber of bile and vitriol. You've doubled your money on JHF and with

the AFL's largesse a golden opportunity to reset your club has been handed to you on a plate.

Welcome to Port Jason, get a good pre-season into ya and feel the love on Family Day.
Yeah, the north board was as bad as I've seen on here.

They started last year with a #1 pick.
Based on this trade period and the AFL, they have about 6 picks in return.

I wonder what help we got in 2011/12?

There are North Melbourne supporters on Twitter who I once respected who are basically salivating over the thought of Zurhaar lining up Horne-Francis when we play them. The way the media has covered JHF's time at North has to have contributed to the complete unhinging involved. Again, that he is a 19 year-old kid (and Zurhaar is 25, with a good number of years of weight gain etc behind him) gets completely overlooked.
Would players in this day and age even care about him leaving...at least enough to 'line him up'? If that were the case there would be shirtfronts on new recruits multiple times every week with the number of 'go home' or 'better offer' movements each year. It's a part of footy.

finbarr beat me to it, same sentiment

When 3 of your recruiting staff resign on the same day you know they have a big problem. Glenn Luff came from Champion Data, was their head analyst.

North Melbourne has lost three of its key recruiters, who are reportedly “frustrated at the club over its management”.

The club confirmed on Tuesday that list boss Glenn Luff and national recruiting manager Mark Finnigan had resigned, while national recruiting officer Ben Birthisel also handed in his resignation.

North Melbourne GM of football talent Brady Rawlings talked down the sudden exits. “I don’t think there’s ever an ideal timing for when you lose staff. It’s always a challenge,” he said on 3AW’s Sportsday. “We’ve had two staff members that have been approached, one through another AFL club (Finnigan) and one through a completely different industry which he’s been studying for (Birthisel).

Finnigan joined North Melbourne in 2006 as a part-time employee before becoming full-time in 2011.

Luff joined the club as head of game analysis in 2018 and became the list manager shortly before the 2019 draft.

Birthisel worked at the club in a variety of roles over the last decade before becoming national recruiting officer in 2019.

The shock moves come after AFL journalist Caroline Wilson said this week the leaks coming from North Melbourne were “disturbing” and indicative of a poor relationship between coach David Noble and some players.
Might be something in Nobles blood.
I reckon only the Crows can match North for such disappoiting first round draft picks.

Nice to wake up this morning and have no real skin in the trade game of note. Esava would be a nice get if it happens at a good price, but the 2 deals done yesterday make for a relaxing end to trade week.
I think whether we get Esava or not has a massive impact on our chances next year.

On SM-G975F using BigFooty.com mobile app

They're all good players, but their midfield is still a toilet.
What according to Matt Rendell ''Rankine is all we need. Our midfield is stacked''

Granted Matt Rendell is cooked... he is not the only one on trade radio nowadays that has turned to :poo:

Imagine, in this era, pinning your hopes on this happening. No lads, if you heroes want to get your "revenge" on JHF you'll have to confront him yourself, which you won't, because you're a bunch of overweight nerds.

Remember when those same fat nerds wet their pants over Butters accidental hit on Simpkins?

The idea of players from any team "running through" or "lining up" an opponent in this day and age are quite laughable.
For Starters, most of them are friends and don't want to maim each other. Secondly, no one wants the lengthy suspension that would ensue. About the only guy who might consider such an act would be Taylor Walker, because he's stupid, and he has no friends.
Thats a weird way to spell Fogarty

As deranged as the Shitboners have been about JHF leaving, even they’ll get over it before Crows idiots do.

Diseased_Kevin is a case in point.

Troll reacting on another team's board, regarding a topic that has nothing to do with their club, is certainly not a sign of a stable mind.

Good old Kern

He's just throwing everything at it to keep his job this year. He's effectively thrown away the future.

I really hope this isn't another jack watts 2.0

On paper we've done brilliantly, but we did brilliantly in past trade periods and somehow kens made a meal of it.

Come on donuts.
heck mate if you can’t even enjoy this it might be time to give following the footy away.

Also there is the retribution. Run through us we run through you. In a brawl (not that it would ever come to that) I'd take Port's list over Norf's without hesitation.

Imagine, in this era, pinning your hopes on this happening. No lads, if you heroes want to get your "revenge" on JHF you'll have to confront him yourself, which you won't, because you're a bunch of overweight nerds.

That’s not fair. There are also underweight nerds.

How dare he question the great leadership of a club that had won 8 of their last 50 something games.
I can’t remember the full story, but didn’t Troy Chaplin do that too when we sucked?