Player Watch Jason Horne-Francis - You were always one of us

Man, I know the guy is young and therefore not every game will be like this.. but I reckon he’s already our best field kick
Wonder if he will get tagged next week or soon. He was that good. Brisbane backed their midfield to go head to head, with no defensive mindset.

He's so solid across the shoulders and hips already. Scary to think he probably hasn't finished growing, let alone gymwork to come.

Seems to have a really low centre of gravity, like a panther or something. Incredible acceleration and balance. Insane passing skills.

After 1 game, he's rivalling Tredders for my favourite-ever Power player to watch.

PORT ADELAIDE
Trade out:
Picks No.8, 43, 53, 57, 2023 first-round pick, 2023 second-round pick, 2023 third-round pick
Trade in: Jason Horne-Francis, Junior Rioli, 2023 second-round pick (tied to Collingwood), 2023 future third-round pick (tied to Fremantle)

Looks good atm! Effectively two first rounders and junk got him and Rioli!

I agree with the comparisons to Buckley and Dustin Martin for JHF, but I'm also getting Russell Ebert vibes with his low centre of gravity and power running.
High praise indeed! :)

I caught up with my dad in the last quarter and the first thing he said was that JHF reminded him of Russell Ebert. I never saw Russell play but dad did, reckons the way JHF moves, from his running gait to disposal, really reminded him of Russell.

I was saying he reminded me of a young Nathan Buckley.

Really couldn’t have asked for more on debut, early in the game I was just looking for flashes, like you’d hope to see from any young player, but to have such a complete game for us was better than I could have hoped. We’ve got a great one in the making.

The thing about JHF that must be taken into consideration when comparing that type of game to the excellent round 1 performances of Daicos and Sheezel, is that he did it in the heat of midfield battle, most often opposed to Lachie Neale at stoppage. Their 35 possession games were rippers but intercepting and mopping up at HB. It was JHF’s forward of centre run, carry and forward 50 entries that made his game electric.

Sheezel was great, and I think he will be an excellent player for them, but even the most die hard north fans would have to be hoping that he ends up playing a much more significant mid/forward role than the loose half back he was playing on debut yesterday. It’s the same role that daicos plays, gets a lot of cheapies around the back and from short kicks into space. Awesome for fantasy footy, but you would expect more into the future.

Anyone know what's happened to the AFL player ratings twitter account? Usually they post the summaries from the games as they happen, but it's been radio silence this year.

Would love to compare the three kid's games on that metric.

Loved the pace and power. Elite kicking. Plus damaging positioning, the clearances weren't backwards handballs (which can still be handy) they were front of the contest sprinting away clearances. Kind of knew all that.

The thing that surprised me was the in close decision making and timing with his hands. Couple in there that Sam Mitchell would have been proud of. One on the left to release Rozee. Another where he knew the time and space perfectly so could draw in two then release again to Rozee

If he keeps his head and gets the right people around him, we could have the complete package.

Anyone know what's happened to the AFL player ratings twitter account? Usually they post the summaries from the games as they happen, but it's been radio silence this year.

Would love to compare the three kid's games on that metric.
For anyone who's interested, I found the player ratings on this site: AFL Player Statistics

Nick Daicos - 19.1
JHF - 18.9
Sheezel - 10.4

Junior Rioli our highest rated player.

Don't know much about his personality but I hope the leadership team guide him well as a future leader that is grounded with good humility because being a purely focused individual may rub his team mates the wrong way.
How good was it after the win the first person waiting for him in the race was Boaky. The boys sure do seem to get around him considering he’s such a bad team mate.

For anyone who's interested, I found the player ratings on this site: AFL Player Statistics

Nick Daicos - 19.1
JHF - 18.9
Sheezel - 10.4

Junior Rioli our highest rated player.
Seems that the AFL player ratings on twitter hasn't continued for this year which is a shame.

The graphical version with quarter by quarter breakdowns was really useful to gauge consistency throughout a game, who lifted when it mattered etc.

In that vein I'd love to see what JHF racked up in the 3rd.