Opinion Jeff Kennett News, Media etc.

How do you know I’m not? I’m not offended by Jeff. Is my opinion illegitimate?

Are YOU getting it yet?
One person not being offended by a comment directed at them does not mean all people it was directed at won't be offended or make that comment ok to the wider public.

How do you know I’m not? I’m not offended by Jeff. Is my opinion illegitimate?

Are YOU getting it yet?
You clearly didn’t get it because you made the exact casually racist remark that Kennett did by claiming that Kenett wasn’t taking about the color of their skin but that these people are “new arrivals” because of how they look.

We don’t know they are new arrivals. You’ve judged them as such, like Jeff, because of how they look.

It’s casual racism.

Would you have judged them as “new arrivals” if they were white?

It’s pretty easy nowadays to recklessly condemn someone as racist just because they may have used race as a means to distinguish.

I’m Asian and I couldn’t care two hoots. I think several of you need to jump off the hyper-PC bandwagon and lighten up a little ... or a lot.
So to say someone doesn't know how to do their job because it is assumed they are from another country or race isn't racist? Good to know.

One person not being offended by a comment directed at them does not mean all people it was directed at won't be offended or make that comment ok to the wider public.
Just wrong.
But that is my opinion

If the true intent wasn't to offend then the offended can get stuffed.

I'm an old bugger so screeching doesn't work on me. If my intent is not to offend who is to say that my thoughts aren't pure.

Just wrong.
But that is my opinion

If the true intent wasn't to offend then the offended can get stuffed.

I'm an old bugger so screeching doesn't work on me. If my intent is not to offend who is to say that my thoughts aren't pure.
I don't think what I'm saying is offensive so it's not doesn't work mate.

There is a difference between saying what you said was offensive and that you meant it to be.

People get so busy defending the person's intent that they ignore their words, and some people use that to get away with saying what they intended to.

You clearly didn’t get it because you made the exact casually racist remark that Kennett did by claiming that Kenett wasn’t taking about the color of their skin but that these people are “new arrivals” because of how they look.

We don’t know they are new arrivals. You’ve judged them as such, like Jeff, because of how they look.

It’s casual racism.

Would you have judged them as “new arrivals” if they were white?

I judge the likelihood that someone is good at basketball by their height. Does that make me heightist?

Sheesh don't go overboard people. More moral outrage what a surprise. Read the article in context. He is hoping that the people policing our game are properly equipped. He said he was not sure.

I have had 'new arrivals' drive me half way around Melbourne in their cabs to get 1 km. They could not speak English and could not find there way around. Then I had no 'discuss' the fare. That went well. There are other examples where 'new arrivals' are out of their depth on occasions. It is not racial.

Jeff is already aware this is a sensitive issue with fans and the crowd controllers need to be up to the task.

To say he is being overtly discriminatory or prejudicial is dumb.

Think the issue is what it always is with racist thoughts.
They're out of your mouth before you know it and even then you're not really aware of what you've said.
El Jeffo wasn't making that assertion based on knowledge of the security forces backgrounds at hand, he was making it because THEIR FACES LOOK DIFFERENT TO WHAT HE RECKONS AN AUSSIE WHO'S BORN AND BRED LOOKS LIKE.

You know, except for the Chinese who came here to work the gold rush, the Eastern Europeans escaping persecution during the first and second world wars, the Italians in the 50's and Greeks in the 60's and 70's who set up some nifty eating establishments, the Lebbos, the Vietnamese etc.

I mean multicultural Australia has only kind of known (and mostly accepted) it was multicultural LOOKING for 40 years or so
years, so yeh, Jeff just had a whoopsie throw back moment and thought he was Archie Bunker talking to Edna.

This wasn't a reasoned supposition.
It was baseless racism.

What does an Australian look like compared to a new arrival?

It's easy to defend with a "oh but it's by the actions of" no not really. Security have been instructed to act accordingly. Your borderline racist for saying that an olive looking dude doesn't understand. The AFL/stadium have come out and said yeah they instructed the dudes to do it

Jeff, you've had some close calls. Doubling down on this was ridiculus. Should of taken the loss. You've now put so much unwanted attention on our club as a whole because of your position

Take the L and consider resigning.

Think the issue is what it always is with racist thoughts.
They're out of your mouth before you know it and even then you're not really aware of what you've said.
El Jeffo wasn't making that assertion based on knowledge of the security forces backgrounds at hand, he was making it because THEIR FACES LOOK DIFFERENT TO WHAT HE RECKONS AN AUSSIE WHO'S BORN AND BRED LOOKS LIKE.

You know, except for the Chinese who came here to work the gold rush, the Eastern Europeans escaping persecution during the first and second world wars, the Italians in the 50's and Greeks in the 60's and 70's who set up some nifty eating establishments, the Lebbos, the Vietnamese etc.

I mean multicultural Australia has only kind of known (and mostly accepted) it was multicultural LOOKING for 40 years or so
years, so yeh, Jeff just had a whoopsie throw back moment and thought he was Archie Bunker talking to Edna.

This wasn't a reasoned supposition.
It was baseless racism.
So is Jeff racist or did he just make a racist comment

I would like to think that Jeff is not a racist. But his comments were definitely racist. If he continues to double down on his statements and refuses to offer an apology then yes many people will begin to consider him to be a racist. People can make mistakes and that is okay, so long as they acknowledge them, otherwise it becomes an issue.

So to say someone doesn't know how to do their job because it is assumed they are from another country or race isn't racist? Good to know.

People used to say Asians are slow drivers and they had a prevalence to own Volvos. I tended to agree with this even though it relates to my ethnicity. It may be stereotypical but it ain’t racist/derogatory.

Secondly, your interpretation of what Jeff said is your inference based on your perception not what was actually said.

I think in our souls we're all a little racist. We mostly feel safer around people who look like us and sound like us and act like us, and if we grow up around and with people who are completely different to our own physiologies we mostly adopt ourselves into their world and culture because love and acceptance are everything.
The evolved parts of our souls have come to understand that others who traveled here from different lands are pretty decent folk for the most part and we must always start from that place and thinking. And that it takes time, generations, for them to get the full hang of that special Aussie shwag. Because once you're one of us, an Aussie is your best friend from pub to battlefield.
It's harder than we acknowledge, it takes work, but makes your heart feel good when you make someone else feel good, feel known, feel accepted.
It's what we all want.

Those who let out racist thoughts in statements are just a little bit more down the racist spectrum, for them it's even harder to keep those meandering thoughts and opinions constantly stifled.
Jeff was being racist when he said it, and I think less of him for sharing because it legitimizes demonisation of minorities by others much further on the racist hate-o-meter who feel empowered, or at least less restricted in voicing their inner hateful fear filled conspiracies.

I've also seen Jeff unequivocally hug, embrace, and share with people of all walks of life, and have no doubt those moments were pure and he also lives his life as best he can.
But with Jeff, the impulse control, the little voice inside him that is so completely Napoleon and reckons his every view is just as likely to be right as ANYONE elses, can't and won't be always controlled.

I just reckon he's the wrong fella for this job. He's good at the immediate crisis stuff, can lead undoubtedly, but his footy IQ I reckon is pretty average and he swings his dick like he authored the game.

To what do you attribute my ignorance? My own immigrant status? Perhaps my half-immigrant children cloud my judgement.

I can now see a whole lot of reasons that all your assumptions about me completely outweigh my actual experience and beliefs. God, how did I ever come to a different opinion about bigotry and its affect on me? I’m such a fool.

Thanks for belittling me into a better place. Us immigrants are ignorant. It’s good you’re speaking for Cognilio as well and assuming his beliefs based solely on his name. I didn’t realise there was so much runway in ignorance and hypocrisy. I should have been listening to these arguments years ago rather just standing on my own feet and doing my best.

I’m such a fool. Thanks a million.

What? I didn't attribute your ignorance to anything, that is not relevant to the conversation.

I made no assumptions about you at all, I simply highlighted an issue in your thinking about what constitutes a racist comment. I have no idea where your background lies or how your life journey has brought you to this point and that is completely irrelevant anyway.

Belittling you?? I'm simply trying to educate people about racism and make a stand against it. At what point did I mention your immigrant status of which I had absolutely no knowledge of anyway?

As for Coniglio, I didn't assume his heritage because of his name, I simply know that he has an Italian background because he has publicly stated it.

You aren't a fool, nobody is perfect. But I do think you could reflect on how Jeff's comments could affect some members of our community.

What? I didn't attribute your ignorance to anything, that is not relevant to the conversation.

I made no assumptions about you at all, I simply highlighted an issue in your thinking about what constitutes a racist comment. I have no idea where your background lies or how your life journey has brought you to this point and that is completely irrelevant anyway.

Belittling you?? I'm simply trying to educate people about racism and make a stand against it. At what point did I mention your immigrant status of which I had absolutely no knowledge of anyway?

As for Coniglio, I didn't assume his heritage because of his name, I simply know that he has an Italian background because he has publicly stated it.

You aren't a fool, nobody is perfect. But I do think you could reflect on how Jeff's comments could affect some members of our community.

Mate, I don't need any of your help learning about bigotry. Half the bigotry I face are people who are so kindly my betters trying to teach me about my first hand experience.

The arrogance is overwhelming.

Mate, I don't need any of your help learning about bigotry. Half the bigotry I face are people who are so kindly my betters trying to teach me about my first hand experience.

The arrogance is overwhelming.

I never specifically tried to help you, if you don't want my support then that is fine you can go about your life as you already were. I'm now very confused what your issue with me is?

However I have had people thank me for calling these comments out and those are the people I'm doing it for. You may be strong enough to walk on your own, but many people like to have others on their side and it is those people who I do it for.

I think in our souls we're all a little racist. We mostly feel safer around people who look like us and sound like us and act like us, and if we grow up around and with people who are completely different to our own physiologies we mostly adopt ourselves into their world and culture because love and acceptance are everything.
The evolved parts of our souls have come to understand that others who traveled here from different lands are pretty decent folk for the most part and we must always start from that place and thinking. And that it takes time, generations, for them to get the full hang of that special Aussie shwag. Because once you're one of us, an Aussie is your best friend from pub to battlefield.
It's harder than we acknowledge, it takes work, but makes your heart feel good when you make someone else feel good, feel known, feel accepted.
It's what we all want.

Those who let out racist thoughts in statements are just a little bit more down the racist spectrum, for them it's even harder to keep those meandering thoughts and opinions constantly stifled.
Jeff was being racist when he said it, and I think less of him for sharing because it legitimizes demonisation of minorities by others much further on the racist hate-o-meter who feel empowered, or at least less restricted in voicing their inner hateful fear filled conspiracies.

I've also seen Jeff unequivocally hug, embrace, and share with people of all walks of life, and have no doubt those moments were pure and he also lives his life as best he can.
But with Jeff, the impulse control, the little voice inside him that is so completely Napoleon and reckons his every view is just as likely to be right as ANYONE elses, can't and won't be always controlled.

I just reckon he's the wrong fella for this job. He's good at the immediate crisis stuff, can lead undoubtedly, but his footy IQ I reckon is pretty average and he swings his dick like he authored the game.
I asked the question as I find a lot of what you say interesting regardless if I agree with them or not.
I asked also on this subject because of your experience of living in the states might have given you some added insight into the discussion taking place here.
Cheers

Geez, this reads like he really means it :rolleyes: The real cop out here isn't the fact that he is walking it back with his tail between his legs after doubling down this morning but the fact that he is deflecting to make it appear that it was only about "the words" he used. He should resign.

Opinion Jeff Kennett News, Media etc.