Opinion Jeff Kennett News, Media etc.

Which in itself is completely illogical.

The AFL would lose a fixture (Haw v Coll) which has averaged 65000 for 15 years

Kennett’s irrational hard on for the map aside how important is Tasmania actually for our football club?

It would be nice if we had a CEO that could properly communicate the clubs strategy with its members

I’m thinking that is Tasmania’s short term negotiating goal

I for one don't want 3 more seasons of Jeffs' "blow ups"!
Hold an EGM & get rid of this verbose & inept individual.
Want a fresh face will heaps of passion & bright new ideas at the helm. Someone who bleeds Gold N Brown.
We are after all starting a new era & Jeff is so plaid.
Gold N Brown?

My initial offering on Tasmania may have been unpopular but I stand by it. The club has been softening up the fans for a Tasmania move. From putting the name Tasmania on the jersey "iT's jUsT a sPoNsOrShiP" to ground announcers calling the team the Tasmania Hawks at the venue.

I considered Tasmania $ a necessity in 2002 to keep Hawthorn away from the front of the Victoria exit queue but even by 2002 the TV deals had made the quantum leap to protect every club no matter how dire the situation. Another 1996 wasn't happening nor was another Fitzroy we just didn't realise it given the continued leaps in the TV deals thereafter.

If anything Tasmania diminished Hawthorn's market share and hindered the club's ability to carve out more of the Melbourne market during the successful run and four premiership years. Instead of competing with the Big 4 for sponsors we were on a government teat. And the club has been complicit and basically the AFL's primary agent in preventing Tasmania getting their own team. Which they should. Hawthorn may have "done some good things" in Tasmania building a fanbase but all we've really done is poison the waters for a generation that will make it even harder for a standalone team to gain traction because 20 years of kids may have grown up supporting Hawthorn that otherwise wouldn't. We're footy's Cortez and we just completed the Tasmanian inquisition.

As for location and identity, the club no longer plays at Waverley or trains at Glenferrie and the vast majority of fans follow on TV. So does it really matter if the franchise relocates? As long as they sign an iron-clad MCG-Grand-Final style contract guaranteeing the number of games in Victoria (unlike Fitzroy/Brisbane getting screwed on the number of games they play in Melbourne) then they can exist as a Launceston-based club with a significant Melbourne following.

My initial offering on Tasmania may have been unpopular but I stand by it. The club has been softening up the fans for a Tasmania move. From putting the name Tasmania on the jersey "iT's jUsT a sPoNsOrShiP" to ground announcers calling the team the Tasmania Hawks at the venue.

I considered Tasmania $ a necessity in 2002 to keep Hawthorn away from the front of the Victoria exit queue but even by 2002 the TV deals had made the quantum leap to protect every club no matter how dire the situation. If anything Tasmania diminished Hawthorn's market share and hindered the club's ability to carve out more of the Melbourne market during the successful run and four premiership years. Instead of competing with the Big 4 for sponsors we were on a government teat. And the club has been complicit and basically the AFL's primary agent in preventing Tasmania getting their own team. Which they should.

As for location and identity, the club no longer plays at Waverley or trains at Glenferrie and the vast majority of fans follow on TV. So does it really matter if the franchise relocates? As long as they sign an iron-clad MCG-Grand-Final style contract guaranteeing the number of games in Victoria (unlike Fitzroy/Brisbane getting screwed on the number of games they play in Melbourne) then they can exist as a Launceston-based club with a significant Melbourne following.
Thankfully mate, you're in the low minority in this matter!

Why is anyone listening to Don Scott or even asking his opinion. This goose recently told anyone that would listen that we were cheating the salary cap and had a slush fund in tasmania. 🤦‍♂️

Exactly. He is the Sky News equivalent for anti-HFC commentary.

I considered Tasmania $ a necessity in 2002 to keep Hawthorn away from the front of the Victoria exit queue but even by 2002 the TV deals had made the quantum leap to protect every club no matter how dire the situation. Another 1996 wasn't happening nor was another Fitzroy we just didn't realise it given the continued leaps in the TV deals thereafter.

If anything Tasmania diminished Hawthorn's market share and hindered the club's ability to carve out more of the Melbourne market during the successful run and four premiership years. Instead of competing with the Big 4 for sponsors we were on a government teat. And the club has been complicit and basically the AFL's primary agent in preventing Tasmania getting their own team. Which they should. Hawthorn may have "done some good things" in Tasmania building a fanbase but all we've really done is poison the waters for a generation that will make it even harder for a standalone team to gain traction because 20 years of kids may have grown up supporting Hawthorn that otherwise wouldn't. We're footy's Cortez and we just completed the Tasmanian inquisition.

You called it a franchise. This isn't US sports. Hawthorn is more than just a franchise. In fact it's not really a franchise at all. Sorry Jeff.

The Hawthorn Football Club was based at Glenferrie Oval. HFC is the modern franchise continuation of that.

I appreciate you being willing to present a view that will be really unpopular. But we simply wouldn't have invested so much in Dingley if this was true mate. Buckley's chance we move. Everyone knows this, which makes Kennett look like a total flog.

Aaah, and then they forgot all this, and accidentally bought Dingley, getting tens of million in private funding, and then $15 million from the federal government, to develop and move there.

I bet someone on the board gets his ass kicked over that little faux-pas...

Why is anyone listening to Don Scott or even asking his opinion. This goose recently told anyone that would listen that we were cheating the salary cap and had a slush fund in tasmania. 🤦‍♂️

To be fair he makes a hellava lot more sense then el presidente when it comes to this topic.

Which in itself says a lot about Kennett’s stance

Interesting that we haven’t heard a response from him since Friday but a further 3 tweets about the lock down

The Hawthorn Football Club was based at Glenferrie Oval. HFC is the modern franchise continuation of that.

noun
noun: franchise; plural noun: franchises; noun: the franchise
  1. 1.
    an authorization granted by a government or company to an individual or group enabling them to carry out specified commercial activities, for example acting as an agent for a company's products.
    "Toyota granted the group a franchise"
    • a business or service given a franchise to operate.
      "fast-food franchises dot the roadside"
    • a general title or concept used for creating or marketing a series of products, typically films or television shows.
      "the Harry Potter franchise"
    • NORTH AMERICAN
      an authorization given by a league to own a sports team.
      "the two cities will be awarded franchises as the teams join the National League"
    • INFORMAL•NORTH AMERICAN
      a professional sports team.

Yep

An 85,000 member based club, who has drawn 48,000 to their home and away games at the MCG since 2000 located in a city of 40,000 residents :drunk:

Who writes this shit

Yep

An 85,000 member based club, who has drawn 48,000 to their home and away games at the MCG since 2000 located in a city of 40,000 residents :drunk:

Who writes this sh*t
Small correction, Launie has over 80,000 residents.

Apart from that small factual edit, you are right...it remains a ludicrous suggestion.

AECC1634-0801-4475-B3DC-E0ABD4F89216.jpeg

Gold N Brown?
'Golden Brown' is a great song by The Stranglers. Whenever someone
taunts me with the "poos & wees' jibe about our colours, after questioning
them as to whether they are 3 years old, I start singing this song. Our unofficial
theme song.

I am aware the song is about heroin, but I prefer to ignore that.:cool:

Battle of the dinosaurs.

Don Scott v Jeff Kennett.

them as to whether they are 3 years old, I start singing this song. Our unofficial
theme song.

Cracking tune!

theme song.

It's also the color of yummy toast.
Chocolate & caramel.... whats wrong with these people:think:
LOL when oppo. fans call our colors poo & wees - I just mention to them without those 2 body functions your dead!

It's also the color of yummy toast.
LOL when oppo. fans call our colors poo & wees - I just mention to them without those 2 body functions your dead!

I just tend to remind them of how many more flags we have - because 90% of the time the ones using that childish taunt are Geelol flogs.

I should add that’s it’s a ****ing joke that a club like ours, still a powerhouse off the field and with more political clout than most of the comp has been reduced to the sort of conversations usually reserved for minnows - all because of Jeff’s comments.
Talkback radio is having a field day, polls and questions about whether we should move to Tassie, questions over our viability as a club, threads all over social media, Bigfooty even our own board asking what would happen if we move. The PR hit we’ve taken as a club due to these comments cannot be understated.

I should add that’s it’s a ******* joke that a club like ours, still a powerhouse off the field and with more political clout than most of the comp has been reduced to the sort of conversations usually reserved for minnows - all because of Jeff’s comments.
Talkback radio is having a field day, polls and questions about whether we should move to Tassie, questions over our viability as a club, threads all over social media, Bigfooty even our own board asking what would happen if we move. The PR hit we’ve taken as a club due to these comments cannot be understated.

BuT He’S JuSt NeGoTiAtInG - YoU JuSt DoN’t GeT iT

AD2E50CC-A246-4B2A-9B4A-C4453C342D94.jpeg

I should add that’s it’s a ******* joke that a club like ours, still a powerhouse off the field and with more political clout than most of the comp has been reduced to the sort of conversations usually reserved for minnows - all because of Jeff’s comments.

Yeah, it's pretty ****ing despicable for a president of the HFC to suggest relocation. No matter what game he thinks he's playing.

Imagine how quickly they'd have come for him if it was Garvey who said this?

Opinion Jeff Kennett News, Media etc.