Rumour Jeremy Finlayson under investigation - 3 game suspension

The current timeline is stupid and should be called out as such, we have gone way too far and precious about everything. There are so many thing wrong with the world but as a society we seem to make way too much of nothing issues like this instead.
I absolutely agree that its gone to far, the hysteria has unfortunately clouded the simple things, like try not to use language that insults people for just being who they are.

I think there should be an AFL approved swear word that the players can use and not get in trouble for. The AFL should form a committee with representatives from minority groups to reach a consensus and then players can be educated to only use that word in future.

Calling someone an effing c or a p***y is misogynist. In fact using the word effing could be a slur on anyone who has sexual relations.

Here's a thought - just play footy

Tell that to Essendon as well.

This has a bit of Zorko and Petty vibe to it, a week later we will probably find out the Essendon players were no angels as well.

Will he play the mental health card?

Given his personal circumstances at home i think that would be very likely.

Having said that while said stress im sure did contribute to his state of mind thats no excuse for such an awful act.

Tell that to Essendon as well.

This has a bit of Zorko and Petty vibe to it, a week later we will probably find out the Essendon players were no angels as well.
It's all a load of nonsense. The point of any slur is it is intended to offend and put the recipient off. The problem with 2024 is you can't offend anyone anymore. So just get on with the game and if you're talented enough, your ability will be the slur. Of course that will offend those less talented....

Pity the Afl didn’t get there knickers in a knot over the snorting of coke.Have a listen to this lot on here attacking anyone who has any common sense.Attack attack anyone who doesn’t agree with there left leaning garbage.How will you cope if anything remotely serious happens in your life.The Media goth at the mouth over this garbage fine the guy educate and move on.This site has become laughable.
lmao melt harder son.

lmao honestly what a piss weak generation we live in now, racist slurs I can understand but seriously homophobic? fmd leave it on the footy field. Anyone on here who’s actually played a game of footy you know you get called heaps of things on the field.

The comments on that video is full of people completely missing the point that Colin Farrell's character is making.
Video won’t load but guessing from your comment, is that “The Gentleman” near the boxing ring with Farrell and the black boxer scene?

This isn’t sticks and stones mate. And times change, it is not acceptable to use that kind of language, especially with kids potentially hearing it. The AFL spends a lot of Time and money supporting gay people. Hardening up isn’t good enough. Findlayson needs to be better, you do too.

The rumor is he called someone a f****t and it was caught on an umpires mic.

If true You can’t be throwing that word around in this day and age. It was dumb and he will cop a good wack for it but he apologised straight away and owned up to it. So credit to him there.
I said 1 word would warrant a reaction and he said that 1.

Clarkson got a fine for the same thing as Finlayson. Walker actually vilified an indigenous player.
Yep he did and deserved and paid his penalty. The other guy on the other hand escaped any punishment for his disgusting comment he made... make what you want of that. Yep i agree what Finlayson said was childish but the goalposts have moved and the players do know what line not to cross.

Sent from my SM-S918B using Tapatalk

lmao honestly what a piss weak generation we live in now, racist slurs I can understand but seriously homophobic? fmd leave it on the footy field. Anyone on here who’s actually played a game of footy you know you get called heaps of things on the field.
wondering what carries greater weight in terms of severity with these social standards these days. racial or homophobic comments?

If we’re comparing to the Tex situation, he was targeting an indigenous player with his abuse, whereas JF was using a slur unconnected to that person’s identity. I think it’s not as bad. But because it’s Port there will naturally be the inflated sense of it being “time to make an example”.

Lol why should homophobic comments on the field be acceptable

If we’re comparing to the Tex situation, he was targeting an indigenous player with his abuse, whereas JF was using a slur unconnected to that person’s identity. I think it’s not as bad. But because it’s Port there will naturally be the inflated sense of it being “time to make an example”.
remembered an NRL player doing something similar last year with a homophobic comment, got 4 weeks from recollection. A few weeks ago an NRL player of Maori descent called an indigenous player a monkey and got 8.

Or is the offender himself judged on his “story”

He is indigenous and has a wife dying of cancer.

2 pretty big cards to play in the court of public opinion.

Rumour Jeremy Finlayson under investigation - 3 game suspension